Badminton gear, racquets, shuttlecocks, shoes etc..

cchanmt
post Apr 2 2005, 04:50 PM

468 posts

to me..racket tension for better players should b around 25lb++..for regular players,22lb should be sufficient for regular player the string yonex bg65 is good enough as for better players..bg 66 is good.if u string too hard..the shuttle cant fly too soft not enough power to kill.as for my experience,i dont think it is the racket frame but the material used to determine the max tension.correct me if i'm wrong
cchanmt
post Apr 2 2005, 11:29 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(ma43q @ Apr 2 2005, 04:56 PM)
try BG68 TI at 22Lbs. i am using that for quite some time now. too high tension is also not good for your racquet frame and also your wrist & arm.

i heard that official BAM tension is about 22-23 only
dude,with respect....like i said 22lb is for regular player...try puttin 22lb for a competitive level n u will end up the 1st round casualty cos ur shots just lack the power for a kill.for your info,some national player even had 30lb or more..one of the coach in bam whom i know is puttin 28lb for all his racket..of course..it takes a toll on your racket when its tight..so be smart about it..be honest to yourself and if u think you r not good at it..22lb is good enough..25lb++ is for the competitive ones..the concept is the same as overclockers...u want a regular one,stay with the original setting..you want the fullest from your racket..take risk..of cos..calculated one..my experience..26-27lb is still ok for any racket so far..whether its rm100+ or rm200+.ask the guy doing the stringing and he'll tell you the same thing i told you..peace out thumbup.gif ..majulah sukan untuk negara thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cchanmt: Apr 2 2005, 11:30 PM
cchanmt
post Apr 4 2005, 06:02 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(ma43q @ Apr 4 2005, 02:09 AM)
"be honest to yourself and if u think you r not good at it..22lb is good enough..25lb++ is for the competitive ones..the concept is the same as overclockers...u want a regular one,stay with the original setting..you want the fullest from your racket..take risk..of cos..calculated one..my experience..26-27lb is still ok for any racket so far..whether its rm100+ or rm200+.ask the guy doing the stringing and he'll tell you the same thing i told you..peace out  ..majulah sukan untuk negara"

majulah sukan untuk negara sounded so lame

hmm.. i dont mind going beyond 25++lbs as u suggested but i rather stay within the limit of my racquet. well, the national players can afford to risk their racquets because they are sponsored. in addition, they are professional. they need to utilize every single advantage they can find on to win any game.

honestly, i am playing badminton out of a hobby and past time, and it is just a game to me. as long as i feel comfortable with it, i am fine.  good or not good at higher tension is another matter altogether but accidentally cracking an expensive racquet after paying it with my own hard earn cash is something else i cannot bear with. 

breaking a RM100-200 ringgit  is nothing much to me. but risking breaking an armortec 800OF and breaking armortec 700 due to over tension is something that is my concern and for me , not a smart thing to do. honestly i am just playing safe.

overclocking a racquet? this is the first time i heard unless i mistook your meaning. well, if u took the term overclocking as in overclocking a pc, then it is far more complicated then just adjusting the orginal setting of the mobo. there are a lot more factors involved.

i dont know whether u have ever look at the rubber beads on the racquet frame and how the string "bite" into the beads and at a higher tension, u actually will see that the string actually bite thru' the beads and resting and biting into the frame itself.  i have seen this on few RM100-200 ringgit racquets. by the way, do u mind sharing with us on what racquet you used so far? and what strings you used for such high tension?

the architecture of the racquet frame also play a very important role in determining the max tension for it. Of course the material also is another contributing factor. However, material use and the composition will also determine the weight distribution of the racquet / racquet frame. i  noticed that there are certain racquets that has different sizes of grips and weight for the same model. this also (one way or another) influenced the max recommended tension. this is true for some racquets that i came across . if i am not mistaken, it happened to MP88 of the first generation, and second generation. well, i could be wrong.
dude..do you know the "rubber" beads are replaceable?of cos i've seen such things such as the string resting on the frame due to strong tension and also due to the person who restrings the racket for you did not either turn the beat 180degrees(meaning the opposite site of the beat)or change the new bead for you..but to me...usually i'll change the bead everytime i restring.i'm using yonex bg66 and i'm using yonex musclepower 88.regarding the tension of the string,i'm 90% positive that will not do any harm on watever racket u r using as i've experienced try many things with my racket..of cos in the process i break some racket...i was a state player but now too old d.. biggrin.gif i'm not trying to show that i'm good in this field but this is my opinion.every good rackets have a good distribution on the weight but you have to remember...it will b balanced without the string n grip.but when u put them on....its a different story..like me,i personally like my grip to b "fatter" therefore i wrap 2layers of grip thus making it fatter n more heavier..i believe you hv seen before that they skip stringing a "hole" at the bottom of the frame..(i personally dunno y..but i just follow) but there are also ppl who skip the top part of the frame and the bottom part...then making the swing much much lighter than usual.all i'm saying is,we dont only look at the books but it counts on the amount of experience we have on them.there was once i was given a chance to use a racket model that taufik hidayat used(and eventually break it intentionally after losing to lee tsuen seng) of cos,good racket has a better feel...but it still falls back to your skills...as for your hobby wise..i personally won't recomment u to use stronger tension cos if you don't use it often or get used to it..it is rather hard to hit the shuttle full court..so end up u leaving that particular racket aside or even cut off the string...i would like to apologise if i'm a bit rude or sarcastic in my words..i dont mean it..at times,we dont know what we r writting and only realise it afterwards...so..respect to all of the hardcore badminton crazy ppl... notworthy.gif peace out

This post has been edited by cchanmt: Apr 4 2005, 06:07 PM
cchanmt
post Apr 9 2005, 11:52 AM

468 posts

agree!sub forum badminton crazy peeps
cchanmt
post Apr 20 2005, 09:56 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(ma43q @ Apr 15 2005, 07:05 PM)
hey guys, i am playing with veteran players aged 40 to 50... its soo funny when i recalled the first time i played against these experienced players... i was practically "washing the court" for them.. i was "running" on the court.. but cannot reach the shuttle on time

so basically there is no shame to joining a group that plays better... it is the one way to learn and gain experience.

of course there is another way, get a coach!!
i believe we need both the combination.coach+sparring partners...in training u just learn the proper way and skills...but with your sparring friends u learn the experience and the application of strokes u learned from ur coach..such as overhead down the line smash and etc..u mite get it right in training..but during game...its different.u need2try it out on ur own..and make it a habit..cos in training..your coach mite give u a nice shot so that u can execute it nicely..but in the game its different..there's different speed&movement involved..when i was 13..i used to play with all the older 40-50 year old ppl...its not wrong and it does not make u look dumb even though u cant beat them..or they caught u with their double motion strokes..it is with that that we learn from it and improve as a player..
cchanmt
post Sep 2 2005, 09:27 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(herberton @ Aug 17 2005, 12:54 PM)
Hi, I just broke my racquet last week. So, now I looking for either one of the brand as below:-

1. yonex that made in taiwan/china; coz cheaper and some1 say the quality still there since there are certified factory by yonex it self.

2. carlton air blade series

3. beddini or bedini; can't remember already.

So, my budget is below rm200. Can you tell me where can I buy with the good price? Currently im working in Penang but sometimes I also will go back to KL one.

p/s: if possible, please provide me the shop name also. Thank you.
QUOTE(herberton @ Aug 24 2005, 04:21 PM)
Im staying in Penang, that day I went to few shop to look for any good racquet. I saw the yonex muscle power 66 cost rm195 but made in taiwan. For me, the weight of this racquet is just nice to me. Feel so sweet when u hold it on your hand. And actually when you hold this racquet you can feel that this racquet is very powerful and strong one. If not mistake, Im going to buy this racquet liao...

So, any comment/experience to this model? FYI, I heard that the yonex's frame are easily broke when it hit to other racquet. Izzit true? Just worried about this; coz nobody want to spent abt rm200 to buy a easy broke racquet...

p/s: anyone of you heard about one local made brand "Vomino"? Caused I saw one model which clone the yonex's latest model -- Nano Speed. I compared this two racquet, very similar in terms of weight, quality of color painting; really almost the same. The major different is the price loh. This Vomino cost only rm200 while yonex's Nano Speed cost few times of this Vomino. So, anyone of you try this Vomino model?
QUOTE(herberton @ Aug 25 2005, 08:32 AM)
I only saw muscle power 25,30 and the higest is 66.
price are as below:
muscle power 25=rm129
muscle power 30=rm175
muscle power 66=rm195

Remember all these model are made in Taiwan. Im not sure whether these is the best price for these model or not. But, if anyone of you know where can get cheaper. Please let me know. My previous racquet already cost rm169. So, probably this time I will increase my budget to buy muscle power 66. Because that day I tried it, its really feel so sweet...

p/s: Maxter, do you stay in penang?
QUOTE(herberton @ Aug 29 2005, 08:32 AM)
Im decided to buy a racquet for the budget ard rm220, so which one these model is better? I saw the carbonex 9 Tour sp, seems very durable and light. And, I only saw the carbonex 21 special; but i do not know how it is for 21 sp...

So, any comment to these racquets? Any one using it now? Please advice.

Thank you,
dude...carbonex 9 tour sp is a very old model d..very very old1....i'm from penang..which shop do u go to?
i recomment u to go to "wei sports centre" at batu lanchang market there...price is affordable...check them out n see....
dunno is it spelled as vomino or domino..but its a local brand...cyclone is a local brand as well....erm....mp66 is good...not bad..but for 195..its a bit expensive..i got it at 160+bg 66 string...if i'm not wrong...if u dont12try yonex..u can always go for proace....its a good brand...my personal favourite is sweetspot 2000...try it and see...its more flexible than mp66..and i feel...it has more control...dunno how2explain it here..but...erm...mp66..is more to a attacking racket...while sweetspot has more control..hehehehe..dats how i feel..dont flame me..just my 2cents notworthy.gif

cchanmt
post Sep 2 2005, 06:05 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(herberton @ Sep 2 2005, 02:52 PM)
I went to the shop in town area, found cab 21 special=rm170. Vomino has one model which clone yonex's nano speed=rm200. Dunno is good or not.
dont buy..they break easily..trust me...
i've been seein a lot of those racket break easily cos i used to b a state player..and cyclone got sponsor some of the player...hehehehe..useless wan...da racket..try go wei sports n see...
cab 21 also very old d..should b old stock...i said SHOULD b la...my predictions only la...try going to wei sports...i'm not promoting it..nor i hv any connections..but i find the shop stuff quite affordable tongue.gif

cchanmt
post Sep 3 2005, 10:03 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Sep 3 2005, 08:16 PM)
AHAA ~~ guess what ... im using carbonex 8 TOUR SP !!
hmmm if im not mistaken its like nearly 8 yr old ... or izzit 9 ? XD
well nevermind about that ... i dont give a damn how old that thing is ... as long as its light and playable ... thumbup.gif for me ...

anyways i wanna know which string should i use so that i could use less strength but the shuttlecock will fly further ...
NOTE : im a light badminton player
carbonex 8 is the best..i had all the version...i think..hehehehe...from the T joint to the 1piece carbonex 8...then carbonex 8 tour sp..unfortunately..all patah d..heheheheso u can imagine how tight i had my strings...last time..
anyway..i'll suggest u use bg65 is good enuf...tension also 22lb is enuf kua...or less... tongue.gif

cchanmt
post Sep 4 2005, 02:42 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Sep 3 2005, 10:20 PM)
what is bg65 and tension 22lb ?
string is yonex bg65
22lb is the tension
cchanmt
post Sep 8 2005, 08:17 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(bwky398 @ Sep 5 2005, 11:01 PM)
herberton,

I thought you can get MP66 (Taiwan made) for RM195? How come now looking for CAB 21SP at higer price? I thought MP66 is higher grade than CAB 21SP.
agree thumbup.gif

QUOTE(herberton @ Sep 6 2005, 08:22 AM)
I read a lot of forum/discussion that saying that nowadays the yonex racquet a easily broken even without hit any object(dunno how true it is). Besides, MP66 is made in Taiwan not in Japan. I also heard from the boss, they say those yonex that made in taiwan; the graphite is not that durable and strong. Because they cannot pull the string too tight else will easily broke a smash...

So, now thinking to get the old yonex model instead of the new generation model. It just like buy insurant loh. Feel more safe even you play rough with the racquet. But who knows, when I went to the Racquet World; I cant see any Cab 21sp but muscle power made in taiwan and china. Dunno sold out or what. I should ask the boss whether can order Cab 21sp with the price rm220, but I didn't coz rushing to leave KL. Now a bit regret loh...

Actually, beside this Cab 21sp, I also aimed for Carlton Airblade series. The price is rm190 without string and grips. I see a lot of Carlton racquect, they usually more durable that yonex (this is only my opinion, plz correctly me if i am wrong) although they also made in Taiwan. So, if I cannot get Cab 21sp with the price around rm220. Definately I will buy Carlton Airblade.
dude...i suggest u go for the mp series...the racket break for no apparent reason is not that "simple"...he must hv had a crack due to this previous clash with some1's racket thus causing a weak point in the racket...then..when the u coincidently hit the weak point,it breaks..or temperature is also a factor...stringing tension is also a factor...its not that easy to break it...no matter wat..yonex will hv a certain QC to achieve...it mite b lower a bit..but still...
y not u try pro ace...its quite durable...trust me...
QUOTE(bwky398 @ Sep 7 2005, 04:21 PM)
Hi, any Isometric users here?
used to use it...but now..i'm not so crazy about any series...i go to the shop..i "feel" the racket...if i like it..i buy..but i prefer square headed racket..dunno y tongue.gif

cchanmt
post Sep 12 2005, 07:28 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(herberton @ Sep 12 2005, 02:50 PM)
Im not familiar with Penang coz i juz move from KL to here, so can you please tell me more about how to go "wei sports centre" at batu lanchang? I decided want to have a look that centre.
...oooh....dat explains y..i dont get any replies from u...
ok...erm...do u know batu lanchang market?
or to b more erm..general...do u know about a junction directly after petronas petrol station on ur way to tesco from...masjid negeri?its best u pm me..and i'll tell u details...or add me in msn cchanmt@hotmail.com
if i'm slow2reply u..and u need a faster answer..
dropby at the penangkia club at the kopitiam section...there r lots of ppl there ready to help u..cos they r all from penang.. tongue.gif

cchanmt
post Sep 18 2005, 02:09 PM

468 posts

haih..very sad..i just broke my mp55...
but i can tell..its a strong racket la...very strong one...
judging from the tension of the string and the knock i had with my partner's racket...(his broke directly after the clash)...mine broke a month later..hehehehe...this is wat i suspected...due to the weak point created after the clash...
but when the mp55 broke...u can really see..the carbon is very strong indeed...very very hard2explain why i say its strong...but..wow..its good!!!
cchanmt
post Sep 19 2005, 07:01 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Sep 18 2005, 03:51 PM)
How many models does Muscle Power (MP) series have?

I have seen MP100, MP99, MP66, MP44, MP30, MP23,......
dunno lo...
a lot i guess...pricing also vary a lot tongue.gif
cchanmt
post Sep 21 2005, 09:39 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(pskk @ Sep 20 2005, 10:29 AM)
[attachmentid=73011]
sorry forgot to adv that the MP 44, 66 and 88 i saw are made in Japan and not Taiwan..
any other shops in Penag with a good selection of rackets i can view?

cchanmt,
u mentioned 'Wei sports' in Batu Lanchang...will try to find the place if not will ask for your help.

tried to add the Yonex selection chart for all here, not sure if successful.
thks.
yeah..wei sports....i bought my mp from there..dunno still got bo..
anyway...from the way u describe...mp suits u da best...i used2hv a mp55...broke d..haih..sad... tongue.gif
if not yonex..proace is good... thumbup.gif
cchanmt
post Sep 23 2005, 03:16 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(pskk @ Sep 20 2005, 10:29 AM)
[attachmentid=73011]
sorry forgot to adv that the MP 44, 66 and 88 i saw are made in Japan and not Taiwan..
any other shops in Penag with a good selection of rackets i can view?

cchanmt,
u mentioned 'Wei sports' in Batu Lanchang...will try to find the place if not will ask for your help.

tried to add the Yonex selection chart for all here, not sure if successful.
thks.
dude...dont go there d...there no more racket d....dunno y...asked him he say racket now very cheap d...
i'm suspecting something is a miss...mayb he wanna tutup kedai d doh.gif
cchanmt
post Sep 28 2005, 12:10 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(herberton @ Sep 27 2005, 09:15 AM)
Agreed, that day when I went to Wei Sport. Guess what? I can't see any new racquet lah... Maybe you are right, they going to tutup kedai....

So, end up i bought the cab 21sp with the price rm220 include string and grips. Haven't try it yet, coz busy with something else. Probably next week will try it out.
sorry ya dude..making u go all the way there for nothing...i wanted to tell u wan...but i guess its too late... doh.gif
sorry dude notworthy.gif
cchanmt
post Sep 30 2005, 09:38 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(herberton @ Sep 30 2005, 08:49 AM)
Curetly im staying in Pulau tikus, penang. Just wonder if that is group which lack of people to play? I wish to play badminton at least once a week, but no kaki lah.

So, any group can let me join?

p/s: Im not a very good player... but its not that easy to beat also...
mayb u wanna join the penangkia weekly badminton session...sunday..afternoon.1-3pm
cchanmt
post Nov 6 2005, 10:30 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(tidus 2 @ Nov 6 2005, 01:55 PM)
I`dont think yonex is good for beginners I prefer carlton n prince because most of them r made of titainium n it is quiet cheap n light.but yonex crbonex is made of steel so it is much heavier.
blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
i find charlton rackets heavy...
prince still produce rackets ah?
btw,
yonex has good quality...the QC is good to...
of cos when u compare a yonex rm 100 racket with another branded racket with similar price...the difference is not much...probably similar...
but when u use a more expensive racket...from yonex...the balancing of the racket is diff..weight distribution is also diff...u can really feel the diff...
i find titanium rackets more vulnerable to break...i dunno y..always break at the point where they claim it has titanium mesh...mayb its just me..but i really find my theory quite reliable...i broke 3 titanium rackets...all also at the point where they "claim" has titanium mesh...

just my 2 cents tongue.gif

0.0468sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:38 PM