Badminton gear, racquets, shuttlecocks, shoes etc..

Petre
post Apr 7 2008, 10:22 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

hi, just sharing somethign here, not promoting or selling.

i borrowed this prince badminton racket from a friend last week and the racket feels very powerful. the racket is bought 8 years ago but kept in the closet until last week.

anyone is using prince rackets as well? the shape is weird but i wonder whether that contribute to its power. the string tension is not too high.

any comments? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Petre: Apr 7 2008, 10:22 AM
Petre
post Apr 7 2008, 01:59 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Apr 7 2008, 01:45 PM)
If I am not mistaken.. those Prince are made in Taiwan.. and now a day no longer can find any Prince like that..  today Prince look like normal racq n made In China...
oh i see. from forum i read they are based in the US. but looks like now they have new line of badminton rackets out, all with the weird design.

Petre
post Apr 7 2008, 03:56 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Apr 7 2008, 03:26 PM)
wah that prince racket looks weird....isnt prince specialised in tennis racket?
hi mois. yah, weird ho. when my fren bring it over i was giggle a bit coz weird ma. then also never seen prince badminton racket, ingat is squash

but when i try, fuyoh, not bad, better than my armortec250 (at 21lbs)

by the way, i got my armortec250 restrung at 25lbs (previously 21). will try it out besok

anyway, anyone got info on yonex strings? what is hard feel, soft feel, medium feel? tak faham langsung. and got string that produce louder sound when hit the shuttle cock. any use? or just for the pleasure of the year onli?
Petre
post Apr 7 2008, 04:55 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Apr 7 2008, 04:35 PM)
about string i dont know though...for me, bg80 only can last about a month...bg66 around 2-3 weeks...
wah 25lbs? its very hard le....btw just got my armortec 900t at 4pm just now......

actually i ask the guy to do 24 for me, mana tau he do 25. miscommunication between their staff

anyway, i try hit hit then feel good. i like when i can 'feel' my racket when i contact the ball. previously with 21, i feel like the racket cannot control, like whip something hard hard but don really 'connect'

anyway, see what happen besok when i try the racket. hope its good

so u r using the same racket as lee ching wei d laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Petre: Apr 7 2008, 04:56 PM
Petre
post Apr 15 2008, 01:56 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

do power players normally go for big grip?

Petre
post Apr 16 2008, 09:40 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Apr 15 2008, 09:39 PM)
for me la, i think power player prefers g4 grip....bigger grip can produce more power but less control i think...
i'm no expert but now my racket is 25lbs with small grip. i find it ok in terms of power and control, both at the same time. previously i cant get either power or control from the racket because two reasons: first, the grip too big, second, the string was 21lbs. now i fixed both issues i find i'm very satisfied with the racket. i use armortec250, biasa biasa onli compare to mois sweat.gif but good enuf for ordinary players like me

just sharing...
Petre
post Apr 16 2008, 02:42 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Apr 16 2008, 02:17 PM)
wah 25lbs already? geng huh...i havent tried 27lbs yet...cox dulu i try 25lbs, feel weak lo...

might try 27lbs again.... brows.gif
but of course smash still biasa biasa. not advanced player but i guess the configuration suits me best at the moment laugh.gif
Petre
post Apr 17 2008, 09:01 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(scrubiee @ Apr 17 2008, 01:10 AM)
the higher the tension the more control you have
the lower the tension the more power you have

unless u have strong arms go for higher tension! mine is at 24-25

if you want power get a head heavy n a stiff racket

the thinner the string the better the repulsion BG 66 NBG 98 both strings are 0.66mm
but obviously the thinner the easier it breaks haha BG 80 is a good 1 too
i thought is the other way round? sweat.gif laugh.gif

Added on April 17, 2008, 9:02 am
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Apr 16 2008, 10:14 PM)
i never really bother to take note of the lbs used... maybe it's 22 or 23 or whatever number...but the most recent one, i think it was pretty high and i have problems delivering powerful smashes....
i think like mois (and others) have mentioned - the head weight (or rather the balance point?) will give you more power... a few grams will make the difference

This post has been edited by Petre: Apr 17 2008, 09:02 AM
Petre
post Apr 17 2008, 03:48 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(scrubiee @ Apr 17 2008, 03:43 PM)
yes im using nanogy 95 on my arc 10 im going to get 98 after my 95 breaks haha

uh regarding tension i got this from this article
"There is always the temptation to go higher in tension, but this is a case of bigger is not always better. Higher tension does not give you more power as mentioned above, beginners should always start with lower tension of around 20lbs, adjust it to 22-23lbs when you progress to intermediate and only go up to 25+lbs if you are gain more power in your technique. Using the inappropriate high tension will make the racket unresponsive, decreased power, and will easily cause injury."

http://www.badmintoncentral.com/badminton-...ent/view/91/33/

heres the link correct me if its wrong ok?

Added on April 17, 2008, 3:45 pm
String tension affects the playability of the string as much as the string itself. The general rule of thumb is that the harder you can hit, the tighter your tension can be. A higher tension rewards a hard hitting while robs power from a light hitter. On the opposite end, a lower tensioned string helps light hitter with a better timed trampoline effect.
yah, i was refering to that article when choosing string tension as well.

but from my recent experience of using 21 and 25 in 2 sessions of play, i would say i think 25 reward me far better and, think it was not as bad as teh article may have suggusted. to be honest, changing to 25, no regrets whatsoever and i'm thankful i did.

but that is only my opinion and my experience. better let the sifus elaborate on this smile.gif
Petre
post Apr 17 2008, 04:44 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(scrubiee @ Apr 17 2008, 04:25 PM)
haha because ur a hard hitter!
if u give a kid a 25 lbs i think he would cry n his whole arm would hurt lolz
hehe, if u see me play i dunno whether you will still call me a hard hitter. i dun really smash a lot but maybe more 'drives'. i'm not strong enough to make powerful smashes yet nod.gif
Petre
post Apr 17 2008, 10:52 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(scrubiee @ Apr 17 2008, 08:20 PM)
im looking for kakis to play at my condo sad.gif till now havent find any haha dont dare to ask randoms if i could join them lol
scrubiee u say u r a kid? hmm.gif

by the way, where are you?
Petre
post Apr 18 2008, 05:19 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(scrubiee @ Apr 17 2008, 04:25 PM)
haha because ur a hard hitter!
if u give a kid a 25 lbs i think he would cry n his whole arm would hurt lolz
this ler smile.gif
so where r u?
Petre
post Apr 18 2008, 05:44 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(scrubiee @ Apr 18 2008, 05:31 PM)
pantai hillpark
near kampung kerinchi
also 10minutes away from bangsar
currently called bangsar south i think
but my condo is still pantai hillpark haha
oh, me penang. too bad, sometime my hands itch, wanna swing racket haha
Petre
post Apr 21 2008, 12:06 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Apr 21 2008, 11:18 AM)
guys...
anyone tried modding their racket to be head heavy?

what kind of tape did you put? i think i dowan to use the cheap black tape which we can buy from supermarket...
any recommendations?
tie a rock? brows.gif

tonite take pic of items which i initially planned to mod but din do in the end
Petre
post Apr 24 2008, 09:30 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

i reli envy those who can spend so much for rackets laugh.gif
Petre
post Apr 30 2008, 09:38 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

i agree with what mois said about wrist strength. he been saying it to me many times too. no matter what your wrist still need to have enough strength.

as for racket, if not sure, can always refer back to yonex carbonex. from then on, just buy what suits your budget

me thinks...

by the way, my palm sweats and its annoying coz i cant grip nicely. sigh, need to use towel grip already. i've taken off the ori yonex grip on my AT250. (i better off with small grip)
question is, anyone else got same problem? mind share how to counter the problem etc?

This post has been edited by Petre: Apr 30 2008, 09:39 AM
Petre
post Apr 30 2008, 11:33 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(paradiseboy @ Apr 30 2008, 11:16 AM)
like u said, change to towel grip or may be can use a towel wristband to wipe your hand sweat away without using the thick towel grip.
tat should be the cheapest solution nod.gif

btw, i've seen players using talcum or some powder on tele. tat day saw at shop, fuyoh. expensive... small bottle somemore sweat.gif
Petre
post Apr 30 2008, 01:27 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(scrubiee @ Apr 30 2008, 12:13 PM)
try using Karakal PU Super Grip and see hehe
where are you from btw?

Added on April 30, 2008, 12:19 pmIn my humble oppinion i think 21lbs is super low, its like the strings that comes with the manufactured rackets.

If you have played badminton before try going for 23lbs =D
i'm in penang, but same home town with mois nod.gif
Petre
post May 8 2008, 05:27 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

regarding string sound, does it benefit the shot at all? i see at the back of the packaging got all these mumbo jumbo which i dun realli catch.

replusive power, feel (hard medium soft), sound etc.

someone mind enlighten me on that? notworthy.gif

does smaller mm produce more power etc?

This post has been edited by Petre: May 8 2008, 05:27 PM
Petre
post May 8 2008, 06:21 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(kubuk @ May 8 2008, 05:52 PM)
Yes, it is believed that bg-66 has the strongest power a string will ever have. But got sacrifice also. Low durablility. A few smashes break liaw.

Neh, when you hit the shuttle.. the dampness of the string determines the feel. Wether you feel it hitting hard or soft depends on the nature of the string.

Dont think so.. Thick strings normally coated with TI contributes to loud bangs but dont there there is any use. Thats my opinion of course.

Power means power la..
what does it mean when the packaging say 'soft feel' and 'hard feel'?

1.8750sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:28 PM