Wii firmware hacked?, Does this mean we over paid for our mod?

TSbola
post Dec 30 2007, 12:48 AM, updated 18y ago

222 posts

http://wiinintendo.net/2007/12/28/the-wii-officially-hacked/
dammit! me and my lack of patience!
vmad.gif
nub
post Dec 30 2007, 12:59 AM

265 posts

Hey, you got to play your console just a few months after launch. Isn't time gold?
TSbola
post Dec 30 2007, 01:58 AM

222 posts

sadly i just got mine last week sad.gif
navilink
post Dec 30 2007, 09:15 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

what does it mean firmware hacked? means we get to play both PAL and NTSC games on one machine? sorry for the noobness tongue.gif
nub
post Dec 30 2007, 04:15 PM

265 posts

Although, from what i understand, the hacked hardware means that you can expect homebrew software that actually utilizes the whole of the wii's hardware capabilities. So far all the homebrew software were running in legacy Gamecube mode(the GC has been around for a while), like the media center thingie and the patching software for modchips.

I'm guessing you'll still need a modchip to actually run the homebrew software, but you can at least expect freeware stuff that does more neat stuff using the wii remote and shit.
BlueBerry~
post Dec 30 2007, 10:14 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

It says its hacked for homebrew. Not region-free or pirated discs.
roticanai
post Dec 31 2007, 02:42 AM

35 posts

Lots of mod chip oso stated homebrew only, but they able to load up pirated disc...
BlueBerry~
post Dec 31 2007, 09:42 AM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(roticanai @ Dec 31 2007, 02:42 AM)
Lots of mod chip oso stated homebrew only, but they able to load up pirated disc...
True. But the video clearly shows the possiblity for homebrew, not pirated discs.

0.0150sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:43 PM