[Nokia Nseries- N81 Official Thread], "Entertainment made simple...never ends"

Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 4 2008, 02:41 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Hi there all!!
Hmm, although I am not yet a N81 user.
But I'm very much interested in this phone.
Have gone through the comments that are left here.
But 1 question still.
Is the camera really that bad?
Can it at least compare to N76's 2MP camera? xD
Anyway, I will be trailing this thread for updates.
Thanks all.
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 4 2008, 05:03 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Jan 4 2008, 03:00 PM)
Its not that its really sucks, it just that everyone expects at least a 3.2 mp and autofocus for this price. But for me the price is ok, the camera is average for me, it can give a good picture outdoors but under limited lighting it is on the noisy side, but if your using it for the wallpaper on the phone or just keeping it in the phone, it is very usable, just don't  expect it to be good as a digital camera.
QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 4 2008, 03:34 PM)
Ya, as zzzz52 said...the camera/photo quality is not that really sucks, it just that everyone expects at least a 3.2 mp and autofocus for this price. Juz dun compare the photo quality with N93 or N95's photo. Btw, the N81's photo quality in 2mp phone category can consider is very good already. Dun expect much... tongue.gif
If compare v N76's 2mp camera, i think the quality is almost the same.  biggrin.gif
Ahahaa, ok..
Well, its true.
Even I was expecting AT LEAST 3.2 MP camera with the new N series and price.
But o well, like someone stated before, "it's functionality overcomes it's flaws"
LOL~
Anyway, whats the average AP price for this phone?
Im doin a survey and noticed alot posted RM1.4k. (Planning to get 1 soon xD)

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Jan 4 2008, 05:04 PM
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 5 2008, 12:11 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Umm.. come on guys..
Make some noise~~!! This is too quiet!
Talk more bout this phone~ xD

Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 7 2008, 10:42 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Hey aarex..
I think those pictures are not bad..
It's almost at it's best @ 2MP IMO.. xD
and..
umm, yeah..
gonna get it soon..
im getting IMPATIENCE too~~~ xD

Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 8 2008, 11:23 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Omg..
This is too quiet..
So any new discoveries of the phone?
Talk about it.. = ="
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 8 2008, 09:34 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Jan 8 2008, 06:01 PM)
Yeoo....ya know what? I have been using my N81 here in -35 celcius and it works perfectly. LOL.

Even though it doesn't have a built-in GPS but I still like the NokiaMap. I download maps and store it, still works like a GPS too. But not real time.

@aarex
Mine's 8GB original, bought it for RM2200+
Woahhh shocking.gif
-35 celcius!
Where are you in that temperature?
LAWL, 2nded aarex's question.. xD
If NokiaMap is like as you described, it's almost like GoogleEarth right? or?

Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 9 2008, 11:32 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 9 2008, 02:56 AM)
The N81 normal/standard is using 2GB MicroSD card while the N81 8GB is using 8GB internal flash memory. The standard version features a memory card slot, the other has none but offers the exciting 8GB of onboard memory. The Nokia N81 (standard) will be available in Cobalt blue or Graphite grey color while the N81 8GB is available only in Cocoa brown color. Juz the memory and the color diff only...
N81 is a n-gage platform phone ler, sure can play n-gage game lo and it also comes with dedicated gaming keys.  biggrin.gif
hmm.gif  Any others question u wan to ask be4 u go to buy it?
Haha..
Very detail and well explained..
Faster go get ur N81 mantero, then tell us ur discoveries.. xD
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 12 2008, 11:06 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(momorac @ Jan 12 2008, 10:23 AM)
Just courious if we can sort the file and put it to its own folder manually instead the player automatically sort it for us?  hmm.gif

About the camera,i encountered the same problem as all N81 owner...performance very bad under  low light situations sweat.gif compared to my gf N76 (same 2mega camera)

when u slide the phone, u will hear the plastic sound ( like it's very fragile ).Seems it's not very solid like other nokia slide phone...I have tested 6500 slide and N95 but the slider is totally different,u can feel the solid build....

As for the keypad,i rarely used to type sms since i only make a free video call thumbup.gif

Overall i'm satisfied wif this phone.... whistling.gif
Yeah, pls check out for ur curiosity..
I would like to know too.. ^^

And ermm, is the camera really that bad? *2nd time asking this question* >.<
How is it compared with N76's camera.
Is the quality almost the same?

Ohh no..
The slide doesn't feel solid and have some plasticky sound?
Damm.. coz the phone just look dam solid and sleek~
I've tried 6500 slide and it feels quite strong/solid.
Guess i gotta go check the real phone and feel it for myself.. haha..

Waiting for more feedbacks on this phone then.. xD

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Jan 12 2008, 11:08 AM
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 14 2008, 11:51 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Heya guys..
Just lurking around..
~.~
Still need to wait after CNY only get this phone..
Can't wait.. xD

Ohh yeah btw guys, just wanna ask about the navi-wheel.
Can it be used while browsing for sms's?
As we all know it can only be used in multimedia atm.

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Jan 14 2008, 01:02 PM
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 15 2008, 11:01 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 14 2008, 02:54 PM)
Oic, after CNY ya..thn u need be to more patient lo.  laugh.gif

wink.gif The answer is cannot...hehe! The Navi wheel navigation is only usable in the multimedia menu, music player, and photo gallery only.
Ahaha.. haizzz.. hand damm itchy edii ><.
Have to be patience lor, wat to do.. haizz.. xD

QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 15 2008, 12:08 AM)
Oic, ur ori screen protector at the camera lens thr. pls take it off...thn will be ok liao. U try n c!  biggrin.gif
Btw, indoor pic is not tat good..coz lack of lighting.  Outdoor will be ok.  laugh.gif
LOL, Aarex..
U dam pro arhh..
Got screen protector also u know.. ahakzz.. xD

Ehh, and btw guys..
I've found this site, not sure whether u guys interested anot..
But have a try..
n81street.com

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Jan 15 2008, 12:19 PM
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 16 2008, 10:00 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Ooo..
Da pics looks not bad.. xD
At least I think it wont disappoint me..
^^
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 18 2008, 11:22 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(icyken @ Jan 17 2008, 07:48 PM)
Does anyone of you uses crystal casing to protect your n81? I use around 3 weeks and so fast got crack liao. Is it normal? zzz
Wahhhh..
So fast crack?
Which part may i ask? = ="

QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 18 2008, 01:14 AM)
Haha...i also got use, 2 weeks nia...pecah also.  sweat.gif  doh.gif
Aarex..
U also pecah edii?
Which part? = ="
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 21 2008, 11:10 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

YO guys.. Im back.. xD
Have a question for all u N81 users.
Has anyone's navi pad paint peel off? the silver 1.
Because I've seen some comments from other place that the paint might peel off.
And if it did really peel off, I wonder if we can bring it so somewhere to re-paint?
curious.. ^^

And btw, can u guys lock ur files or any images in this phone ?

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Jan 21 2008, 11:20 AM
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 21 2008, 02:39 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 21 2008, 01:46 PM)
Navi pad paint peel off??  hmm.gif My phone still need wo..almost 1 mth nia.  laugh.gif but i think wun peel off 1 la...NOKIA wo...u think china phone meh!  tongue.gif
Ahaha, yeah.. Hopefully wont so easy wear off la.
Coz I see some ppl comment other place..
Maybe they use it too excessively edi.
xD.

QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 21 2008, 01:46 PM)
Lock files or images - u need to use 3rd party software.  biggrin.gif
Owhh...
Do u know which program?
Coz i might wanna use it once I get my phone.. xD

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Jan 21 2008, 02:40 PM
Vengeance_Mad
post Jan 22 2008, 09:31 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 21 2008, 02:56 PM)
hmm.gif I forget the name of tat software liao...Last time i use in my 6630 n N70 nia.
Will try to find for u... icon_rolleyes.gif  Btw, whn u buy ur baby? haha...
Haha, thx~
Will look for you once I got my baby.
*so anticipating*
I think most prolly after CNY lorhs..
haihs~ can't wait, can't waitt~~

QUOTE(aarex @ Jan 22 2008, 03:01 AM)
Due to many owners of N81 asked me bout the question on how to update/upgrade the firmware. So, I already add in the Guide on Updating N81 Phone Firmware in the first page of tis thread. Hope tis help u all... icon_rolleyes.gif
Ahaha, thx again to Aarex for his support & assist!.
thumbup.gif
Vengeance_Mad
post Feb 21 2008, 10:55 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Hey there guys & aarex,
Im about to be an owner of N81!!
YeahHhhHH!!
Although not yet, but already excited!!
xD~
umm, btw aarex..
Ill need u to guide me thru all those software thingy as this is my 1st time using symbian phones.
Hope u dont mind yea..
blush.gif

Vengeance_Mad
post Feb 21 2008, 04:31 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Hey aarex,

I should be getting my phone tonite. xD rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif
Btw, where do I find the nokiamaps already ar?
And also, any of u guys know the firmware that will enable me to secure my folders wif password?

Vengeance_Mad
post Feb 21 2008, 11:07 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Hey guys..

Just got my N81..
very happy with it!!!!
but i need some help~
Hmm..
1st is ; My friend try to send songs to me but they give me memory full, but actually still alot space.
2nd ; Unable to use WIFI at mcds.. dunno y? and idea?
3rd ; how to use the nokiamaps?

^^
Thanx in advance!
Vengeance_Mad
post Feb 25 2008, 09:37 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(vip @ Feb 22 2008, 01:35 PM)
1st, i assume that ur fren is sending the song to u thru the bluetooth, nokia phone will receive the file in the inbox first ,that means ur internal memory is full,so clean up ur internal memory,so save the file into the mass storage

2nd:did the McD provide the free wifi? or secured wifi?

3rd:nokiamap actually use it with gps, but u still can use it offline jz create the route,but u can,t navigate it.

jz my 2cent icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeap, for the 1st problem, resolved edi.

For 2nd problem, I'm not too sure bout it.
Hmm..

For 3rd, that day I've managed to do alil browsing on NokiaMaps..
Used it awhile, and it looks like google earth.
Not sure how can utilize its function.

Btw, add me into the list..
xD thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Feb 25 2008, 09:39 AM
Vengeance_Mad
post Feb 25 2008, 07:14 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Feb 25 2008, 03:11 PM)
-[Date of Purchase] ([Versions-2GB/8GB] [Ori/AP] [Price])-
Thanks n welcome to the club... rclxms.gif
Bought on 21/2/08, 2Gb, AP !