Should I buy the iphone now?

TSfipoch
post Dec 29 2007, 12:46 AM, updated 18y ago

487 posts

Hey all,

I have just the right enough amount of money to get my hands on and start using an iphone. I'm kinda new to the phone actually and looking forward on getting it.
With the release of the iphone just around the corner (Early 2008 i think? Correct me if im wrong) in Malaysia, do you guys think I should get the unlocked version now (As seen being sold widely in Garage Sales area) or wait for the official release in Malaysia and get it at any authorized dealer?
I'm also confused on whether the unlocked iphone would void the warranty from apple or not. Please enlighten me.

Thanks in advance.
lonewalker
post Dec 29 2007, 12:59 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(fipoch @ Dec 29 2007, 12:46 AM)
With the release of the iphone just around the corner (Early 2008 i think? Correct me if im wrong) in Malaysia

Ok i am correcting you now, during the release of the iPhone in UK, Steve Jobs said that there will be a 3G version, and earlier at mac world he mentioned 2008 as the release for the Asian markets. He did not say "early '08". Edit: 11.59pm (GMT+8) 31st Dec 2008 is still 2008

Mabey you dun care about 3G you would do well the current available iphones.

This post has been edited by lonewalker: Dec 29 2007, 08:22 PM
lokgotz
post Dec 29 2007, 01:40 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

and the 2008 release is not "malaysia" release.....it's ASIA...asia is pretty big....

if you can wait, why not...it still beats unlocking and turbo-simming the current ones....

i'd say wait for it if u can.....if not, get one from garage sales....
boring
post Dec 29 2007, 05:31 AM

307 posts

2008 released in Asia. Asia doesn't mean Malaysia. Malaysia also never in Apple map. Most likely Japan will get it 1st, nearest maybe Singapore. Dunno what year it will come to Malaysia.

Anything you do with the iPhone like jailbreak it, unlock, install 3rd party actually void your warranty. Apple won't cover it. So unlocked iPhone owner take the risk, anyway when restore the firmware.. Steve Jobs also can't tell whether it's already unlocked previously biggrin.gif
funnyTONE
post Dec 29 2007, 05:44 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Nahh... iPhone is overhyped. For a 2k phone, you get to brag about it for a month or two at most. After that, it'll be just another phone. After 6 month, it'll arrive at our shores. And by that time, you'll just wish you had bought a better phone. happy.gif

What is your other choices anyway?
lordsharingan
post Dec 29 2007, 06:52 AM

やった!!
656 posts

maybe you should discuss it in the iphone forum instead...
Balok
post Dec 29 2007, 06:54 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i heard at Malaysia the price rise to RM 2.5K sad.gif

BTW when will the 2nd Generation IPhone will go out?
lordsharingan
post Dec 29 2007, 07:05 AM

やった!!
656 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Dec 29 2007, 06:54 AM)
i heard at Malaysia the price rise to RM 2.5K sad.gif

BTW when will the 2nd Generation IPhone will go out?
lol.. if u search properly maybe u can get it cheaper but theres a very small chance.. 2nd gen iphone? u can find more about it here . Info on iphone

search for it! or just view the iphone forum.
INFeRNO
post Dec 29 2007, 07:40 AM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

Wait for Macworld, then make your decision.
tinkerbel
post Dec 29 2007, 09:57 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

I too suggest holding back the purchase until it gets into Msia. Am quite sure we will get it though we're not on Apple's map smile.gif it's just a matter of time that's all smile.gif
lonewalker
post Dec 29 2007, 08:20 PM

204 posts

Plus.. its a shame if it came locked up into some crappy mobile service provider like AT&T in the US
PetroToxin
post Dec 29 2007, 11:38 PM

1,179 posts

Well. If you can wait. Then wait.

If you cant. You know what to do laugh.gif
ioriamd
post Dec 30 2007, 11:26 AM

Tok Bali RC Club
672 posts

if Buy Now
-can use this gadget immediately
-catching other eyes to our latest gadget
-use turbosim,pss,dll
-illegal..nahh...
-must install 3rd party sware to fix for asian version phone

if WAit for Asian Release
-legal
-have to wait..waiting is killin....donno when(maybe mid 2008)
-can update latest software from apple without hassle
-3g (donno yet)
-no need 3dr party sware...all setting is for asian

somthin i miss? just write what in my mind onli
blu3chip
post Dec 30 2007, 11:30 AM

447 posts

play the waiting game like me, get the 3G one which has been said to be released next year.

in the mean time get an ipod touch. smile.gif
Balok
post Dec 30 2007, 12:05 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i don't really use phone, so IPod Touch is good enuff smile.gif

if buy IPod Touch at least can use most of the IPhone function, without phone and camera
TSfipoch
post Dec 30 2007, 12:43 PM

487 posts

Thanks for all the feedback biggrin.gif
Looks like I'm gonna wait. Gahhh!!!
I lost my phone a few months ago, and now I'm stuck with a Nokia 1115.
I do use phone and listen to music a lot.
Thanks and thanks again, especially the comparison made by ioriamd.
QD_buyer
post Dec 30 2007, 09:33 PM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

Bro

kalau barang ada lagi

wa kasi tau lu!
babyk
post Dec 31 2007, 12:55 AM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

if it is going to launch in Asia, only those country with Apple Store will have it...Malaysia is excluded...so don't waste your time
gpsp
post Dec 31 2007, 01:04 AM

93 posts

If launch in Asia, most probably in China and Japan first since the "AppSupport" only support these 2 Asia countries. Since there is no EDGE in Japan, we might see 3G compatible iPhone in Japan.

If you need one, get before the new fw 1.1.3. as the jailbreaking/activating will not be easily done (encryption with RSA key now on FW). So even with *SIM, you will not be able to use the 1.1.3 phone.

Currently, the FW 1.1.2 iPhone can be jailbroken/Activated, and unlock with *SIM patcher.

Jusy my 0.0000000000000000002cts
uncleberg
post Dec 31 2007, 02:13 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Dec 31 2007, 12:55 AM)
if it is going to launch in Asia, only those country with Apple Store will have it...Malaysia is excluded...so don't waste your time
Quoted for truth. Just snap up a 1.1.1 iphone while you can.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0226sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:24 PM