Opinions for casing air flow, CM Elite 330/331

TSlongpants
post Dec 24 2007, 06:37 PM, updated 18y ago

260 posts

SIFU SIFU of LYN,

I need opinions to cool down this rig. I want to get more fans. But before that, need suggestions and opinions from first before doing anything. Hope so you guys not to be too harsh on me. blush.gif
GC TEMPERATURE - Idle 60~63c, Load 70~80+c
AMBIENT TEMPERATURE - Idle - 50~51c, Load 60~65c
But, when i open my casing and use fan to blow in, GC TEMP Idle - 53~55c, Load - 65~70c
Anyway, my budget is about 100 bucks on everything(fans, accessories, modding without voiding warranty) i can do to cool this rig down.

THANKS A BUNCH!

This post has been edited by longpants: Dec 25 2007, 03:15 PM
shirohamada
post Dec 24 2007, 07:25 PM

944 posts

i know.
just leave the side panel open. XD
otherwise thats about right.
you could punch some holes on the side panel so the air intake to the cpu is better. is that stock cpu fan? the case fan perform better than that. ditch it and rig the case fan.
meGATron77
post Dec 24 2007, 07:32 PM

248 posts

bro go get aftermarket vga cooler la. buy artic cooling S1 only RM110 if not mistaken tongue.gif btw how much u bought asus en8800gt? drool.gif does it supposed come with glaciator heatsink juz like i read from asus website? hmm.gif
sniper on the roof
post Dec 24 2007, 08:17 PM

23,414 posts

A couple suggestions:

1) simplest, cheapest and best result. Add a fan on the bottom of the vga card using chopstick mod

2) Or add a fancard.

3) Move your Hdd to the highest slot (it's unnecessarily obstructing the intake now) and change the rear exhaust to a 12cm fan. Almost no result but sure hell's more elegant.

SUSAllnGap
post Dec 24 2007, 08:41 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

change the rear fan to 120mm fan
add holes on the side panel and whack in a 120mm directly on the GC area

btw, what proc is that ?
kinda high end stock AMD heatsink there
cschun86
post Dec 24 2007, 08:44 PM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Dec 24 2007, 08:41 PM)

btw, what proc is that ?
the proc are AMD X2 6000+ or maybe 6400+,
only this 2 model come with such stock cooler...
gth517
post Dec 24 2007, 09:57 PM

40 posts

yeah, a bit different. but is it necessary to change that stock cooler? or it is more better then after-market cooler. for examples of cooler... let's say an affordable cooler, Artic Cooling freezer 64.
hypermax
post Dec 24 2007, 10:14 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(longpants @ Dec 24 2007, 06:37 PM)
SIFU SIFU of LYN,

I need opinions to cool down this rig. I want to get more fans. But before that, need suggestions and opinions from first before doing anything. Hope so you guys not to be too harsh on me.  blush.gif
Idle 60~63c, Load 70~80+c
But, when i open my casing and use fan to blow in, Idle - 53~55c, Load - 65~70c
Anyway, my budget is about 100 bucks on everything(fans, accessories, modding without voiding warranty) i can do to cool this rig down.

THANKS A BUNCH!
Add a 120mm blowhole on top of the casing which act as exhaust. That really helps a lot as hot air tends to rise.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 24 2007, 08:17 PM)
A couple suggestions:

1) simplest, cheapest and best result. Add a fan on the bottom of the vga card using chopstick mod

2) Or add a fancard.

3) Move your Hdd to the highest slot (it's unnecessarily obstructing the intake now) and change the rear exhaust to a 12cm fan. Almost no result but sure hell's more elegant.
May i ask what's a chopstick mod?? I am interested too.
ocz
post Dec 24 2007, 11:39 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Bro,theres still a cable management probs in your rig. notworthy.gif

About the ventilations,put a 120mm fans for exhaust.
On the front part,i believe theres a place to put another 120mm fans for intake.

If its still not enough,make a hole of 120mm on top to place a fans.

boyz
post Dec 25 2007, 01:42 AM

Your Humble Vaudevillian
1,523 posts

Replace the front and back fan with 120MM with speed controller fans. For eg. Silverstone, or any other brand. Std air flow for the stock CM 330 or 331 fan is not that good. Its too weak to push or blow. i recommend 2000RPM fans and above. When u r gaming then u might want to quicken the speed. but u r idling then u can lower the fan speed.

Added on December 25, 2007, 1:43 amAdditionally if your budget increase get the Fan for your GC, the PCIE fan from Vizo might help lower the temp for gc/casing.

This post has been edited by boyz: Dec 25 2007, 01:43 AM
noprob
post Dec 25 2007, 01:47 AM

1,982 posts

sory , had to ask .. the side panel is it customize or stock with the case ?
TSlongpants
post Dec 25 2007, 03:30 AM

260 posts

Thnx the reply guys. Couldn't reply just now. Went for Xmas countdown. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
QUOTE(meGATron77 @ Dec 24 2007, 07:32 PM)
bro go get aftermarket vga cooler la. buy artic cooling S1 only RM110 if not mistaken tongue.gif btw how much u bought asus en8800gt?  drool.gif does it supposed come with glaciator heatsink juz like i read from asus website?  hmm.gif
my budget below $100 until I go get part time job dude. cry.gif
I bought it for $960 +- (but my whole comp package aroung 3.2k) AND i dont think it is the glaciator heatsink u are talking about.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 24 2007, 08:17 PM)
A couple suggestions:

2) Or add a fancard.

1)I wonder what is the chopstick mod
2)Fan card - I saw a lot of them in BULK there. But don't know whether is it good enough to suck air out or not.
3)DEFINITELY Note that! notworthy.gif
QUOTE(AllnGap @ Dec 24 2007, 08:41 PM)

btw, what proc is that ?
Oh about the 12mm fan at front and the smaller fan at rear. I reused that 80mm fan from my old comp and then i switch the 120mm CM fan to the front. But, it is no use ler, I really need a 12mm fan at rear!

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Dec 24 2007, 08:44 PM)
the proc are AMD X2 6000+ or maybe 6400+,
only this 2 model come with such stock cooler...
Ooops.. Ya the Proc is X2 6000+, my bad sweat.gif

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 24 2007, 11:39 PM)
Bro,theres still a cable management probs in your rig. notworthy.gif

If its still not enough,make a hole of 120mm on top to place a fans.
1)I'm still new at cable management. I've tried tying all the cables together at putting some of it at the back of the panel, but still not enough "clean", i guess. sad.gif
2)Should i worry about warranty for casing if i want to mod? and don't think i Have the budget to do that yet . sad.gif
QUOTE(boyz @ Dec 25 2007, 01:42 AM)

Added on December 25, 2007, 1:43 amAdditionally if your budget increase get the Fan for your GC, the PCIE fan from Vizo might help lower the temp for gc/casing.
Vizo Dual propeller fans? is it good?

QUOTE(noprob @ Dec 25 2007, 01:47 AM)
sory , had to ask .. the side panel is it customize or stock with the case ?
Erm.. It's stock. AND I know it is different than the website one.
reez07
post Dec 25 2007, 07:22 AM

74 posts

use what thermalpaste?
lohwenli
post Dec 25 2007, 10:43 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(longpants @ Dec 25 2007, 03:30 AM)
Should i worry about warranty for casing if i want to mod? and don't think i Have the budget to do that yet .  sad.gif

Vizo Dual propeller  fans? is it good?
Don't bother with those slot cooling fans, most of them either don't cool well or cause exessive noise. I can see that the main problem with your case is your exhaust fan. Thats why there is so much difference when you open the case and when its closed. The temps you get when the casing is open is the typical temperature of a 6000 processor running on the stock cooler, you cannot really hope to get any better than that without changing to a better 3rd party cooler.

Don't worry about casing warranty..not likely you'll ever need it..anything that would damage your casing enough to make you want to claim warranty would probably void the warranty in the first place (and unfortunately, in that kind of situation I doubt your hardware would survive too).
Vervain
post Dec 25 2007, 11:03 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

if can cut off the grills or holes to accommodate a single big hole. use higher cfm fans rather more fans.
zzloo
post Dec 25 2007, 11:12 AM

Hmm..?
2,139 posts

buy 2 Delta..
reez07
post Dec 25 2007, 11:17 AM

74 posts

but delta fan very noise la...
if u dont mind its ok lor...
Vervain
post Dec 25 2007, 02:07 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

just add VR to control the fan speed. full speed when you're pushing the pc, low speed when idle. works for me.
TSlongpants
post Dec 25 2007, 03:12 PM

260 posts

Oh. I think some of you got it wrong about the temperature. The temperature of the idle and load of, 60~63c - 70~80c is my GC temperature NOT MY CPU. The temperature is taken from RivaTuner.

MY BAD! MY BAD! so so sorry about that sad.gif rclxub.gif

Added on December 25, 2007, 3:16 pmAnybody can teach how turn on the system and cpu temperature in Rivatuner?

Added on December 25, 2007, 3:28 pmFOR 2000 rpm 12mm fans, What other brands other than silverstone, coolermaster, etc?

This post has been edited by longpants: Dec 25 2007, 03:28 PM
sannielyk
post Dec 26 2007, 04:58 PM

83 posts

This thing can be help u a lot . smile.gif

This post has been edited by sannielyk: Dec 26 2007, 05:01 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled