cherroy
post Feb 23 2010, 02:24 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplety @ Feb 23 2010, 02:11 PM)
Dear sifus,
  I got one noob question, hope you all can recommend.

I have RM 1M cash, which I dun need to use for the time being (4-6 years).
I do not know anything about shares.
If I want a low-risk, high dividend shares, what should I buy?
Can recommend maybe 2-3 counters??

1. Nestle?
2. BAT?
3. Digi?    - can last good dividends for another 6 years?
4. BJToTo?    - can last good dividends for another 6 years?
Do know anything about shares, then keep the money in FD.
End of story. smile.gif

1)2)3) are indeed good dividend stocks.

But as said, if one doesn't know anything, better don't touch anything. Knowing and understand the risk you are taking is the first priority thing to do.

cherroy
post Feb 25 2010, 11:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ Feb 25 2010, 10:53 PM)
First: call the Share Registrar (Symphony - or whoever) and tell them your situation. They probably won't give a **** about your problem and they may not even pick up the phone.... hmm.gif

So then your next move is to call the company direct and tell them you are a shareholder and ask to speak to the head of Treasury. It's the Treasury Department in the company responsible for the divvy payments.  nod.gif

Tell them your situation and they should be able to check the records and get you your divvy cheque.... rclxm9.gif

P.S. If that doesn't work, suggest you call Jason's Mum and she may tell you what to do...... laugh.gif
Most share registrar is quite professional in dealing this kind of issue. Comopany registrar is appointed solely for dealing this kind of issue.

Phone them directly and with a formal letter sent generally will do the job.

cherroy
post Feb 26 2010, 12:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ Feb 26 2010, 01:12 AM)
Maybe your experience is better than mine but I can guarantee that the best way to get what's owing is to deal directly with the people who have a legal responsibility to pay you what is owed to you....and if they don't  - then escalate from there.
My experience once, the div cheque didn't arrive after payment date passed 3 weeks or so. Give them a call, being asked to write or fax over the details, then after few working days, receive a call from them, they confirm the cheque is returned to them due to delivery issue, verifying with me about details again, then resend, after few days, received.

My opinion, this kind of issue, I don't think need to 'speak to the boss'.
May be some new staff don't know the procedure.
Jusy my view.

I think KLSE should implement fast on direct bank in dividend which has been proposed, make thing easier to all parties. This is schedule to be at the end of 2010, if not mistaken.
cherroy
post Feb 26 2010, 03:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Feb 26 2010, 02:57 PM)
Don't worry, they won't, that provide incentive for them to do so.
In other countries already have such systems in place, just give them your account number and the money can wire to you on the date without miss. No delay, no commission, no lost in transit etc... Just too bad, no pass on of saving... tongue.gif
Nowadays, e-banking already quite established. Online transfer should be adopted.

With a simply few click or directive to bank, money already in your account, instead current method, share registrar or company need
get the cheque printed
seal in envelop
post it
post service need to use train service and manual postman to deliver
after you receive, still need to go to bank to bank in the cheque (which might cost a few RM loss due to parking, petrol, and most importantly time)

Go through a big circle as compared direct bank in.
cherroy
post Feb 27 2010, 04:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sohkeong @ Feb 27 2010, 03:58 PM)
CCB u still get 25% (although previous 30%++) ...but not sure you will still get it or not this half...nobody knows

btw, i wanna know this year top 10...this list is from last year
Those are in the form of special dividend, can be kind of capital repayment or distributing previous accumulated unpaid profit or due to extra-ordinary gain in asset disposal etc, which is not sustainable in the long run, that's why we see although dividend yield is 20-30%, share price doesn't react to lower down the dividend yield. As normal market place, it is very difficult to find a stock that has >10% sustainable yield, because if company actually can give that kind of yield, then share price will go up, which lower down the yield, as everyone will chase to buy the stock already.

Any realistic expectation from the dividend yield is come from annual earning aka EPS from operational business.
cherroy
post Mar 3 2010, 03:31 PM

25,802 posts

Just found about e-dividend issue, which depositors can provide details after April.
http://www.klse.com.my/website/bm/regulati..._Depositors.pdf
cherroy
post Mar 5 2010, 10:09 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Mar 5 2010, 08:25 AM)
I believe that the only way to categorize a good high dividend stocks, it must meet below criterias
1. Dividend must be sustain or growth every year.
2. Dividend must be paid by company consistently for the past 10 years, 15 years or more.
3. Dividend paid out must be coming from the profits from core business. Not coming from selling of others assets.
4. Dividend paid out must not be coming from debts or loans.
5. Dividend yield at least 2 folds of current FD rate.

..................... Thus with above criterias, i wonder what the good counters are............
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Mar 5 2010, 09:55 AM)
is there such counter in KLSE that meet all condition above?
The answer is yes, there is a few name.

BAT, PBB, Guiness, Panamy, Tanjong, KLK, PPB etc.. (still got others, at least this is some name I familiar and constant monitoring one)
cherroy
post Apr 21 2010, 04:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(IEE @ Apr 21 2010, 03:55 PM)
does par value has any effect on dividend payout

let say, a company pay 3sen per share as dividend

given RM1 or RM0.5 as par value, has any difference on the dividend payout?
Par value has no effect on a company ability to give out dividend.

The ability to give how much dividend is always come from how much a company can make profit.
cherroy
post Jul 13 2010, 11:04 AM

25,802 posts

The reason why company rate it as special div, is because normally ordinary div, final div, company want to commit to it as same as every year, aka generally a portion of the profit made of the year.
Special div - company doesn't commit nor promise to shareholders, generally the decision is made based on excess cash availability.

Having said that, there is no rule or whatever standard name coding about it, they can lum sum it together and called it final div as well. But normally company management want to make it clear to shareholders so generally, the above practice is adopted.
cherroy
post Dec 14 2011, 11:00 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Dec 14 2011, 10:36 AM)
actually im abit blur with the dividend announcements like:
A) 4 sen per ordinary share of RM1.00 each
B) 4 sen per ordinary share of RM0.50 each
C) DIVIDEND OF 4% LESS TAX

izzit all A,B,C are the same RM40 for total 1000 shares?
A) B) is same.

C) not enough info.
If C face value is Rm1.00 each, then yes, Rm40
If C face value is RM0.50 each, then, RM20.
cherroy
post Dec 19 2011, 12:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Dec 14 2011, 10:36 AM)
actually im abit blur with the dividend announcements like:
A) 4 sen per ordinary share of RM1.00 each
B) 4 sen per ordinary share of RM0.50 each
C) DIVIDEND OF 4% LESS TAX

izzit all A,B,C are the same RM40 for total 1000 shares?
QUOTE(rayng18 @ Dec 19 2011, 12:11 PM)
Sure or not?

I tot

A) RM40
B) RM20
C) if RM1.00 par, RM30
    if RM0.50 par, RM15
B) Stated clear 4 cents, not 4%.

cherroy
post Dec 24 2011, 10:59 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tohca @ Dec 24 2011, 10:07 AM)
Thanks for sharing. Yes it is a very useful list. But Panajie has an awesome list of div cum growth stocks in her portfolio, however most are very highly priced stocks. Not within reach of humble investors like me.
Nowadays per unit is 100 shares already.
There is no such thing of high priced stock that are not affordable.

Nestle is Rm50, you bought 100 shares = RM5k
Another dividend stock is Rm5.00, you bought 1000 share = RM5k.

If both have dividend yield of 5%.
You get the same amount of dividend from your 5k invested, aka Rm250.

Don't be influenced by the stock price, Rm0.50, RM5.00 or RM50.00.
If they have the same dividend yield, they are the same.
cherroy
post Apr 11 2012, 09:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(apple1188 @ Apr 11 2012, 04:08 PM)

Panasonic Japan has nothing to do with Panamy.

QUOTE(apple1188 @ Apr 11 2012, 04:32 PM)
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/anpth/100210.jsp

Added on April 11, 2012, 4:38 pmhttp://www.btimes.com.my/articles/panatvf/Article/

KUALA LUMPUR: Panasonic Malaysia Sdn Bhd expects sales for its current fiscal year ending March 31 2012 to be RM1.85 billion, short of RM500 million from the initial target of RM1.9 billion.

Managing director Jeff Lee said the company suffered five per cent drop in sales due to Japanese earthquake and tsunami as well as Thai flood.

"The natural disaster has affected our stock supply and shortage of deliveries," he told reporters after the launch of Panasonic new Smart VIERA televisions (TV) and Eco refrigerators yesterday

Panasonic introduced 30 new TV models of which 12 models are Plasma TVs, 16 models light emitting diodes (LED) TVs and two models of liquid crystal display (LCD) TVs as well as seven new Eco refrigerator models from Econavi, Inverter and Top Freezers.

The firm targets to sell 250,000 units of its new TV units and 135,000 units of new refrigerator products between now and end of the year.

Lee said the current trend in consumers electronic industry is toward "greener gadgets" which are smarter, more energy-efficient devices.

"Consumers now want more eco-friendly options on how to use them efficiently and comfortably for the enrichment of their lifestyles.

"To meet this demand, Panasonic has been aggressive in accelerating its efforts to manufacture and promote consumer electronic products that are smart and eco features," he said.

Currently, Panasonic's local market share for Plasma TV is above 45 per cent while LED and LCD is 15 per cent. Meanwhile, its market share for refrigerators stands at 22 per cent.

With the launch of new products, Panasonic hopes to maintain the 45 per cent market share for Plasma and more than 20 per cent for both LED and LCD, as well as achieving 24 per cent of share for refrigerators.

Read more: Panasonic: Sales may drop to RM1.85b http://www.btimes.com.my/articles/panatvf/.../#ixzz1riegfvBK

Added on April 11, 2012, 4:41 pmBtw, i think more people prefer SONY, SAMSUNG, LG than panasonic. Panasonic is an old brand, its like outdated and trying hard to improve.
You already get the answer from the quote, whether people prefer or not.
45% market share for Plasma, 20% for LED/LCD, 24% of refrigerator, and a sizeable market share for air-con as well.

Added on April 11, 2012, 9:49 pmSony got produce air-cond, refrigerator? blink.gif

Panamy is all about home appliances, not electronic gadget.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 11 2012, 09:49 PM
cherroy
post Apr 12 2012, 10:19 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 12 2012, 07:41 AM)
Not exactly........just the biz models are different.

Panasonic Japan holds a substantial shareholding in Panamy. Thats why we see Jap directors
everytime. Not sure how much though...........

says here..
Panasonic Japan is its parent company, yes.
But operational wise, profit issue has nothing related to Panasonic Japan business issue.
Even Panasonic Japan making huge loss or huge profit, has nothing to do with operation of Panamy.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0408sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:57 AM