Mountain Biking, ~ version 4.0 ~, Ride Till You Puke

mushr00m
post Mar 2 2008, 11:40 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Mar 2 2008, 10:49 AM)
guys,

any of you gone to the new bike shop "bike botique" at damansara perdana located behind ikea? how is it ? hmm.gif
ahaha.. I went there already.. It's a nice setup.. Mostly the cater only road bikes... Cervelo..

I took some photos.. Let see whether I still have those pics on my 2nd phone..
mushr00m
post Mar 3 2008, 10:22 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Mar 3 2008, 12:37 AM)
yea... prob wif KSH and Bikepro is entry level is not worth their time.  i walk in KSH and they fella said "T-Bolt ar... we mostly do high end bike here".  I walk in BikePro, the fella shout across the shop "got any cheap fork to sell ar???".  someone came out wif an abused Fox and wanted RM300 for it.

my prob is my T-Bolts is new.  pay rm850 for it and its oni 2 week old.  clearance so no warranty, can't go back to the seller.  am thinking of searching thru BBS for new fork some don't want.

neway, thanks you all for your advise.  noobs like me kinda lost at time.
wah low weih... You bought it new meh?? some more 2 weeks only aaa... Sori la.. I tot you bought it 2nd hand...

Ic.. the shop owner shouldn't be like dat mah.. at least should provide some service for the fork... hai lat loh like this..

Sori for you man.. What fork are you using now? RST Capa T5/T8?
mushr00m
post Mar 3 2008, 11:36 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(dvng @ Mar 3 2008, 11:07 AM)
most lbs in town is not qualify to service high end fork..even bikepro sent their fox fork to singapore for full service..ksh..forget about them..their marzocchi fork are prone to seals leak and god knows where they sent it to (btw ksh is SEA marzocchi dealer)...reason is..fork seals and bushing and the small stuff that goes into the fork are expensive therefore the lbs doesn't have spare parts..even if they have they are not qualified to strip and replaced the parts and tuned the fork..rockshox is serviced by ginhuat who send it back to taiwan/singapore i supposed..bottomline..get a fork which has warranty..at least..

hehehe.. luckily mine only service by project maheez.. tapirtuned...
mushr00m
post Mar 3 2008, 02:53 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 3 2008, 02:27 PM)
BBS have some nice stuff there hehe...

Dart 2 at rm280 and RST Capa at rm130 lol..
BBS do have those forks selling for cheaps... but be careful.. some of these forks might be replica as well... If anyone is really into biking, get yourself some decent forks.. it could be the best investment on your bike..
mushr00m
post Mar 3 2008, 02:55 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Mar 3 2008, 02:51 PM)
Mine is Capa T4.

looking thru BBS now.  replacing my fork will be fun.
RST Capa T4 is kinda old.. possibly 2 years back... no wonder it leaks.. You might wnat to look for Capa T8 or get some rockshox lower ends...

Added on March 3, 2008, 3:03 pm
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 3 2008, 02:55 PM)
low end fork like an RST Capa got replica wan merr? sweat.gif
You'll be surprised.. but not the T4 model la... da T5 and above...

This post has been edited by mushr00m: Mar 3 2008, 03:03 PM
mushr00m
post Mar 6 2008, 12:06 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Mar 6 2008, 11:47 AM)
I think the guy is refering to santa cruz superlite....which with XT components is good stuff...but expensive.....new complete close to 10 K?? ohmy.gif ...is it a complete bike or frame with some xt compnoents?
errkkk... SC Superlight for RM10K.. hmm.. most probably it comes with

SC Superlight Frame, Fox Talas, Hope Moto V4 brakes, full complete XT parts, Selle San Marco saddle, Thompson seatpost and stem, Spinergy wheelsets..

if like this can laa... Spinergy Wheelsets cost aroung RM2.6K, Fox Talas around RM2K, Thompson parts around RM400,
frame it self is around RM3200, Hope moto brakes around Rm1400.. XT parts around RM650..

How much already?

mushr00m
post Mar 6 2008, 04:34 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Mar 6 2008, 04:15 PM)
she is malaysian but living in singapore, got other hot chicks liek her but live in malaysia preferably in the klang valley kah?
HOt chick like her? very hard to define leh... But I do stumble upon some hot chicks as well while still ridin gin FRIM.. ahhh... those were the days...
mushr00m
post Mar 6 2008, 05:32 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Mar 6 2008, 05:27 PM)
yea... looks good.  i got mine @ RM850 minus all those goodies.  why... why... i buy mine so fast???
hehehe.. ilek bro.. never regret what you buy.. it just plain dumb luck..
mushr00m
post Mar 7 2008, 10:00 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(akchang @ Mar 7 2008, 09:42 AM)
My next upgrade will be FOX fork...Not sure which one yet biggrin.gif
If you are into XC then get the Talas 32, if you are moving towards AM/FR, then take the Talas 36.. If you are into DH, then get the Talas 40..

Be prepared to add difference are 1K++ for every upgrade...
mushr00m
post Mar 7 2008, 10:52 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Mar 7 2008, 10:42 AM)
Akchang frame is like mine.....can only use 100mm fork max.....so if Fox...only can use the F100 series...vanilla, talas, etc...too long  sad.gif
aisey.. cannot meh... ishk.. like dat get the F100 series loh.. if not then akchang change frame oso la... drool.gif
mushr00m
post Mar 7 2008, 12:10 PM

809 posts

I'm using Boxxer Ride for my Stinky.. Now looking for either Marz 66 or Domain for the Scrap...
mushr00m
post Mar 7 2008, 03:08 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 7 2008, 03:01 PM)
hey any comments on which 1 to get?

deciding on either the dart 2 on BBS or a Suntour XCR from an LBS hmm.gif

the latter is more expensive...
If it was me, then I would go for the Suntour XCR...
mushr00m
post Mar 7 2008, 03:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 7 2008, 03:16 PM)
or any other fork in the 300-400 price range?

now i have rm260 still saving....

requirements are...

stiff,plush(gt angle very slant),tahan,100mm

that is all the requirements i need...

read the XCR review and some of em' are not bad while some of em' says its utter crap..

the reviews are comfusing rclxub.gif

reviews says they bottom out on 5-6ft drop and seeing they're not asians,their weight shud be similar to mine lol....

bottoming out at 5-6ft ain't a problem for me coz usually i won't go that far sweat.gif
argkkkk.. 5-6"ft drop using these forks aaaa? crazy aaa.... for me ain't gonna trust these forks if wanna do 5-6'ft drop..
mushr00m
post Mar 8 2008, 01:33 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(andy511 @ Mar 8 2008, 12:39 AM)
u guys knw whr exactly is bicycle world in taman melawati?? any public transport can reach there??
hmm... public transport sure got one... but not sure what no# la...
Been there but don't know how else to guide you.. All I can remember some landmarks there are there is a Secondhand household dealers there.. Something like Cash Converters...

Try googling it .. If I recalled that there had been someone put up a map for it..
mushr00m
post Mar 8 2008, 11:10 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(andy511 @ Mar 8 2008, 03:54 PM)
near zoo negara huh..tats very near setapak ady lo..
hmm..i'll ask my frens studying in tarc..
aaaa.. I think if not mistaken it is quite near to TARC...

Added on March 8, 2008, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(smokey @ Mar 8 2008, 03:08 PM)
hi guys...
do u guys dare to cycle on LDP, seremban highway or north south highway?
i wan to try to reach seri kembangan by cycling from bkt jalil...is it possible?
i measured the distance using google map is about 10km...
from Sri Kembangan to Bukit Jalil is ok as long as you follow the inner road... the one which is parallel to the NKVE.. I saw last time a group of roadbikers cycle there...

Added on March 8, 2008, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(andy511 @ Mar 8 2008, 09:47 PM)
hmm..tat day u guys say the reign at bike pro can buy izit??
worth it bo?? been thinking bout it.. how much do u tink its worth??
Giant Reign? good for XC/Trail riding.. Tested in FRIM and Kiara.. ok la.. not bad.. Pricing aaa? Last time someone selling off bundled with Talas and Avid Code around RM3500..

Added on March 8, 2008, 11:24 pmyayyyyyy.. tomorrow unveiling the Stinky for the first time in Bukit Cermin...

I'll try to upload some pics of my bike soon.. Meowster, can help to update profile k..

Cheers...

This post has been edited by mushr00m: Mar 8 2008, 11:24 PM
mushr00m
post Mar 9 2008, 01:05 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(andy511 @ Mar 9 2008, 12:14 AM)
tat 1 still juz can say buy er..consider gud average bike..a really gud 1 cost 14-20k..hehe..
14K-20K? wah lau weih... For less than Rm7K also you can get a good complete bike... It is all depends on what you are going to do with the bike...

mushr00m
post Mar 10 2008, 12:47 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 9 2008, 08:49 PM)
ah well the marz is crap...

do not judge the book by its cover..

in this case,the previous owner -.-"

Added on March 9, 2008, 8:52 pmanother question is where got sell epicon? sweat.gif
Why don't you try to check with Tat Seng Cycle... If I'm not mistaken... they do have some suntour forks..

Added on March 10, 2008, 12:49 am
QUOTE(me0wSter @ Mar 9 2008, 10:29 PM)
Don't know why.. I find it harder to get service in KSH..
meow, go to the Centrepoint branch.. Jun is managing that place.. futhermore not many customers.. But they don't opened on Mondays..

This post has been edited by mushr00m: Mar 10 2008, 12:49 AM
mushr00m
post Mar 10 2008, 11:59 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(ch1ck3n @ Mar 10 2008, 11:49 AM)
well u urself said it, full of people.
they r short on manpower.
not deliberately ignoring you guys.
even the regulars have to wait..
sweat.gif

jz a small tip, if u can go during weekdays thats the best.
yeah man... KSH is a small shop, with only a few experience people.. You need to have a good timing to go there...

So far, in the afternoon, try going there around 3pm - 5pm... in the morning, try be there by 10.30.. so far I have not encountered any problem yet with their service..
mushr00m
post Mar 10 2008, 03:44 PM

809 posts

had my first ride after 2 months break... My Kona Stinky serves me good... Most of my frens like the plushness of the Boxxer and the DHX 4.0..

My bike specs..

Frame - Kona Stinky 05
Rear shox - Fox DHX 4.0
Fork - RS Boxxer Ride (tapirtuned)
Stem - Thompson X4 50mm
Headset - Aerozine
Handlebar - Truvativ DH Riserbar
Grip - ODI short grip.
Shifter - SRAM Attack
Brake - Shimano hydraulics with 8" rotor front and 6" back.
FD - Deore
RD - XTR 08
Crank - Truvativ Husselfelt with ISIS bb.
Pedal - Odyssey
Wheelset - WTB with Novatec hubs
Tyres - Kenda Nevegal 2.3 (front and back)

meow, help to update the profile.. thanks...

This post has been edited by mushr00m: Mar 10 2008, 03:46 PM
mushr00m
post Mar 11 2008, 01:41 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(maxguy @ Mar 10 2008, 04:03 PM)
holly cow, how much u spend on your ride?mind to share here, i m noob with mtb
Around RM6k la.. The frame, fork and rear shox are 2nd hand.. Other are new stuff..

Added on March 11, 2008, 1:43 am
QUOTE(ch1ck3n @ Mar 10 2008, 11:17 PM)
dat is frame oni rite?

nice ride, mushroom!
i oledi changed my ride to a haro x6 hahah but didnt post pics yet..
darn..but your bike is sexy!
thanks guys.. aaahh... the Haro X6.. the 08 model izit with the adjustable rear travel.... nice ....I have tested my frens bike..Goin down Bkt Cermin is kinda smooth...

Added on March 11, 2008, 1:46 am
QUOTE(myaho2 @ Mar 10 2008, 06:40 PM)
damn bro....bike looks cool esp with the boxxer fork....the xtr rd look nice.... thumbup.gif ...how about the 2nd bike?
thanks... the Kona Scrap project will start in the next 2-3 months la bro.. now pokai aledi...

This post has been edited by mushr00m: Mar 11 2008, 01:46 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0532sec    1.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:39 PM