MacBooks
MacBooks
Dec 26 2007, 04:28 PM
4,925 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Any freebies with your macbook peanutz?
Dec 26 2007, 04:36 PM
423 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Yup, one Targus backpack and 1GB RAM free.
You can add in an additional RAM of 1GB for extra RM100. |
Jan 2 2008, 03:55 AM
12 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Ampang |
QUOTE(gnome @ Dec 24 2007, 10:42 PM) Sorry wanna tumpang for some question. I will be getting a macbook soon (probably in 1st or 2nd week of Jan) so I wanna ask where is the best place to get one? MacStudio or Machines? and which one has the best offer? I've got mine from MacAsia at One Utama (bought during PC Fair Apr '07 though), and the staff / sales person who sold it to me was really helpful for a very novice person like me (since I knew nothing about Apple products prior to that 'xcept how cool it is to have one). He gave me crash course on using Mac for first time user and helped me add ons some applications I wanted.Thanks in advance p/s: I was checking the current pricing for MacBook 13.3" Core 2 Duo 2.2GHz (Black), and it's now at RM 5,459 (last updated on Nov '07) heh. Just few months before at PC Fair in April '07, I've bought the same at RM 5,999. Meh... if only I've waiting for few months more, it sure can save me RM540.. ..but at least I've got my free iPod Shuffle, free sleeve cover, and free wireless mighty mouse.. (PC Fair has its advantages). This post has been edited by iirnii: Jan 2 2008, 03:56 AM |
Jan 4 2008, 05:48 AM
63 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Jan 4 2008, 12:36 PM
423 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Apple certified RAMs are RAM sticks that Apple certify to be used with their products. Now, since that the RAM's structure are all the same among other companies the only thing you need to look out for is build quality.
When I got my MB, they gave me Kingston RAMs which have good reputation for making quality RAMs. So don't be duped by sellers saying you must use Apple certified RAMs in your machine. |
Jan 4 2008, 12:46 PM
I see.
Can anyone tell me plz, which colour of MB is the best for frequent usage? I read that the white one gets decolouration and yellowish quite easily while the black one, gets smudges. Which one is not that serious? |
Jan 4 2008, 02:09 PM
410 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Jan 4 2008, 04:38 PM
828 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Get a cheap 3rd party notebook and you won't be worrying about the looks. Your only concern then would be how to get Deluge running on OS X.
Jan 4 2008, 07:52 PM
1,666 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
i tot Macworld is in 15 January
Jan 7 2008, 02:23 AM
256 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(daenvgiell @ Jan 4 2008, 12:46 PM) I see. Mine is white and the other color is black. If worried about frequent usage I got the transparent plastic case from day 1 and there is not a scratch. For the keyboard u can get the rubber skin and the track pad there are transparent protectors as well. I use mine with an external lcd all the time and therefore the lid is closed and therefore I have a screen protector as well. I have not got any discoloration from any part of my MB and it's been 9 months. Rather than spending a bit more on the black edition shud consider upgrading the RAM's to 2G with Kingston, it's perfectly alrite for me up till now.Can anyone tell me plz, which colour of MB is the best for frequent usage? I read that the white one gets decolouration and yellowish quite easily while the black one, gets smudges. Which one is not that serious? |
Jan 7 2008, 08:37 PM
Ah, that is like wrapping up every surface of MB. Wont we lose the 'feel' of the original MB?
Is it possible to change the whole casing? |
Jan 8 2008, 01:31 AM
256 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(daenvgiell @ Jan 7 2008, 08:37 PM) Ah, that is like wrapping up every surface of MB. Wont we lose the 'feel' of the original MB? It is possible to change the whole casing but it'll cost a lot. As for the 'feel' factor, u'll feel right at home especially when u know that nothing much can cause any scratch to the surface and therefor better resale value if ever u decide to sell it in the future.Is it possible to change the whole casing? |
Jan 19 2008, 07:01 AM
976 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Newcastle Upon Tyne |
i think the white one is good enough...
Jan 19 2008, 07:21 AM