Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

gnsumas
post Dec 8 2009, 08:23 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Ignore the Hz.

In practicality, its pretty much useless.

Get the Bravia because it is 1080p, which is actually of use.
gnsumas
post Dec 14 2009, 01:22 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

jaggies is the game fault la...

when gt5 demo come out, come back and post
gnsumas
post Dec 14 2009, 01:28 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

720p is the worst reso around...

You can never find a 1280x720 tv/monitor doh.gif
gnsumas
post Dec 14 2009, 01:36 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

what game you playing?

what is the monitors native resolution?

gnsumas
post Dec 14 2009, 01:41 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Tekken 6 rclxub.gif

Wait Friday, download GT5 demo.

See if got jaggies then brows.gif

Tekken 6 isn't even native 720p rclxub.gif
gnsumas
post Dec 14 2009, 01:48 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

do proxy download
gnsumas
post Dec 14 2009, 01:52 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(franstormer @ Dec 14 2009, 01:52 AM)
sry dun undersstand that sad.gif im noob in IT stuff
btw can i like use my pc to download the demo game then transfer into my ps3? dun feel like switching on my ps3 for such long hours to wait fdor the download to complete
go the FAQ thread

gnsumas
post Jan 10 2010, 03:19 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(Brian O'Connor @ Jan 6 2010, 04:04 PM)
Its okay.I'll try to find it at lowyat plaza if I goes there.If not maybe I'll use my big bro's credit card to purchase it via online.Thx for da info. smile.gif
You don't need a HDMI switcher smile.gif

One way could be hooking up your PC and 360 to a VGA box (most have VGA and component in and VGA out).

Another way could be hooking up PS3 and 360 to HDMI and DVI (one use HDMI, one use DVI)

VGA box around RM100, HDMI>DVI around RM50. Much cheaper than HDMI switcher icon_rolleyes.gif
gnsumas
post Jan 10 2010, 03:50 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(gothmy @ Jan 10 2010, 03:34 PM)
my tv is SAMSUNG Series 4, 450
at the moment, if I want to play using HDMI, I had to use my ALTEC LANSING speaker for the audio.
Is your audio settings output set to HDMI?

Try turning on Audio Multi-Out, if still cannot.
gnsumas
post Feb 2 2010, 09:18 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Feb 1 2010, 10:12 AM)
Sony BX or EX 40 series? tongue.gif

the only diff i see is that it has 2 extra hdmi and ECO ambient tech on the EX and yet it's rm500 extra
I guess there would be differences in actual panel quality and colours and stuff
gnsumas
post Feb 3 2010, 05:41 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(bestdo @ Feb 2 2010, 11:42 PM)
Guys, i'm planning to buy a LCD Tv for my ps3, should i buy Samsung or BRAVIA?? I think BRAVIA is like so damn expensive.
Samsung is enough.

If you use an expensive TV like a Bravia and don't calibrate it the extra dollars are wasted anyway laugh.gif
gnsumas
post Feb 3 2010, 07:41 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(yeahh @ Feb 3 2010, 07:17 PM)
is there like a proper calibration guide for the tvs??

i have no idea man ... i bought the Sony KLV-40S550A ... open and just play ps3 on it only ...

didnt do any calibration ....

care to teach? smile.gif
You need to find calibration screens.

When you have calibration screens, they usually display a bunch of colours.

When your TV can display every shade of colour in every different screen, it should be roughly calibrated (sorry, no time to go into specifics now)
gnsumas
post Feb 3 2010, 07:53 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Feb 3 2010, 07:48 PM)
Calibration is hidden.. I mean the service mode. TV menus aren't enough to complete the job
I use the AVS HD free calibration screens.

Granted, getting it burnt cost me RM80 (Sony Style burning services), but the BD is definitely worth the cash (it was either that, or importing it for RM250)
gnsumas
post Feb 4 2010, 04:06 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(disket @ Feb 4 2010, 12:51 PM)
Sony Style got BD burning service??
nod.gif

But I can only confirm the Curve branch icon_rolleyes.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top