Man. BAC so red. Wish I have more bullet to average down.
Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?
Oct 23 2009, 12:58 AM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Man. BAC so red. Wish I have more bullet to average down.
Oct 26 2009, 08:19 AM
QUOTE The Weekly Report For October 26th - October 30th, 2009 Commentary: The best analogy I can think of for the markets this week is that they have been sprinting on a treadmill. There were some volatile moves back and forth, but in the end, the markets ended up going nowhere. There were some large moves higher in individual stocks such as Amazon.com (Nasdaq:AMZN) and Apple(Nasdaq:AAPL), but it wasn’t enough to swing the indexes into the positive column for the week. The promising breakouts from last week have basically stalled, although most of the indexes remain above their breakout areas. Bottom Line There are some clear signals of weakness appearing in the markets, but as of yet there is still not a valid reversal signal. The market remains above prior support and in a near-term lateral range. This coming week should offer additional clues. If the indexes fail their breakouts, they could be in for a more prolonged consolidation or lateral trading range. The key level on the downside remains the September lows; if these are breached, it could signal a more protracted correction. I get this from chart advisor. What does it mean? Very deep financial language for me. |
Oct 26 2009, 10:53 PM
Queing BAC at $15.5.
Oct 27 2009, 12:16 AM
Oct 28 2009, 08:32 AM
Oct 28 2009, 11:08 AM
What you guys think about this few stock?
GE SI FAN GCTAF VWDRY SUZLON GE, SI and FAN are list in US. But I not sure where this GCTAF, VWDRY and SUZLON are list. All this are involve in renewenergy industry which ve huge contract pontential. And some already have full of hand of contract. I m in for long. Added on October 28, 2009, 11:12 am QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Oct 28 2009, 12:33 AM) At night this thread is LIVE! This post has been edited by ozak: Oct 28 2009, 11:12 AM |
Oct 28 2009, 11:33 PM
Oct 31 2009, 12:00 AM
Nov 2 2009, 10:18 AM
From Chart advisor
QUOTE The Weekly Report For November 2nd - November 6th, 2009 Commentary: Volatility shot through the roof this week, as measured by the iPath S&P 500 VIX Short-Term Futures ETN (NYSE:VXX), which tracks the CBOE S&P Volatility Index. This index measures investor sentiment based on implied volatility for the S&P 500 and is commonly used as a "fear" index. With VXX surging over 10% this week, it shows fear flooding back into the marketplace. In response, market indexes suffered a string of losses this week, shedding most of their recent gains. Bottom LineWhile all has not been lost for the major indexes, this week's price action should not be ignored. There have been signals of weakness for several weeks now, and it appears that at least one market has broken down already. With the breakdown coming in a group that should be leading the way, caution is warranted at this point. The last three days in the markets have been very wide in range, and volatile too. This makes for an emotional environment, and it is often best to step aside at times like this and wait for a lower risk environment. The markets are quickly becoming oversold and approaching what should be strong support levels, so it may be that a snapback is soon to come. The key will be how the markets react to the next bounce, and whether that bounce will be used as a launching point for another down draft. The October lows remain the line in the sand for now, and will be pivotal in the coming week. |
Nov 3 2009, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 3 2009, 01:17 AM) Financials are selling off!! Walau! This drama so suspend one. But.. not in panic mode yet. Added on November 3, 2009, 1:38 amQ 1000 @ C for 3.80 Let see if it fills during this downward pressure. Update: Moved down to 3.75, small caps selling. DJ will see red.. now. Heck.. too many dip buyers..come mon, we need it to tank tank tank! Update: 2:26am - Bounced back to green again.. Time for coffee break Update: 3:00am - Coffee break over, Dow red again.. selling pressure underway. Update: 4:40am - Market coming back up.. wants to close higher. Selling pressure dimming. Want to be a bull again. Update: 4:45am - Oh heck, market wants to go higher now.. BUY!!! Update (closing):5:01am - That's it! Bulls win. Market doesn't want to tank. Tomorrow, we'll rally. |
Nov 12 2009, 10:58 AM
Nov 14 2009, 02:58 PM
Nov 16 2009, 11:48 AM
Here is the weekly report. I don't no how to paste those chart. Care to explain in simple language?
QUOTE The Weekly Report For November 16th - November 20th, 2009 Commentary: The bulls managed to add their the impressive rally, while the U.S. dollar continues to struggle. This story seems to be the dominant theme for the past several months, but many investors are wondering how much longer it will continue. The chart for the S&P 500, as represented by the S&P 500 SPDRS (NYSE:SPY) ETF, is trading near the same level where it peaked in late October. As you can see from the chart below, there are definite bullish and bearish cases to be made given the position of the index; the best bet may be to wait a few more days to see if the price is able to close above the high that was created in October. Bearish traders will likely be pointing to the development of a possible double top pattern, which could be used to suggest that the rally is running out of steam. Two critical areas to watch here are for a close above the October highs or a retest of the support of the nearby 50-day moving average. The Diamonds Trust Series 1 (NYSE:DIA) ETF has bounced nicely off the support of its 50-day moving average and continues to make higher highs. Many traders will maintain their bullish stance on the market until the bears are able to send the price below the 50-day moving average for several consecutive days. Despite the broad market strength, the iShares Russell 2000 Index (NYSE:IWM) ETF continues to look relatively unhealthy. IWM set a lower low last week, and couldn't muster enough strength to move above its October high like its larger-cap counterparts. At this point, the 200-day moving average is within striking range and could suggest that the recent weakness could continue. The Powershares QQQ ETF (Nasdaq:QQQQ) had another strong week as traders sent the price above the October high. The 50-day moving average seems to be acting as a very strong level of support and will be used by traders to suggest that the rally should continue. Traders will keep a close eye on this index to see if the bulls will be able to keep the price from falling below the newly-formed support level (dotted line). Bottom LineThe action this week clearly shows the conviction of the bulls and the strength of the market rally. It will be interesting to see if the bulls can continue to send prices higher in the coming week. The small caps are still underperforming their larger counterparts, but in general the pressure still seems to be to the upside. As a trader, one of the most important traits is learning when to tone it down and step aside until better risk versus reward opportunities arise. It looks like we could still be experiencing one of those times. This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 16 2009, 07:28 PM |
Nov 16 2009, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 16 2009, 05:02 PM) then go to ur screen, tat u wan show whole world press 'print screen' on keyboard go to 'paint' & paste it there u can play around to censor anything save file, then attach to lyn By the way, already paste the chart to the post. |
Nov 16 2009, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(MikTeg @ Nov 16 2009, 08:17 PM) ozak, really think that these news really affect your trading process? (well, yeah, it does, what I meant was - authorities say smth and manipulate the market, people react, trends change etc., but I think these report are worth nothing) - opinions rule =) Thanks. Not really effect me. I invest mostly. Buy and sleep. |
Nov 21 2009, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 21 2009, 12:20 PM) any stock for us to look at, in pharmaceutical? OK. Here you are. Some pharmaceutical stocks to consider. Spot some good pharmaceutical stock? Let me know. tis thread is making snail progress, in selection of other stocks / etf for day trade & swing trade but its way much better than zero progress (such as reading up on Jesse Livermore QUOTE The Hottest Sector for 2010 This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 21 2009, 01:19 PM2009 is fast coming to an end, to the great relief of many investors. While the market has staged a nice comeback since the spring and the economy seems to be slowly righting itself, things are still rough out there. Jobs are increasingly hard to come by, and consumers have been keeping a lid on spending. At this point, a lot of folks seem to be eager to just get 2009 over with already and hope that the new year will usher in meaningful economic improvement. But while no one knows exactly what next year has in store for us, there is one sector of the market that many in-the-know fund gurus are expecting big things from. A clean bill of health According to a recent survey conducted by FTI Consulting, fund managers at many of the world's largest investment firms are looking to health care as their favorite sector in 2010. Among survey respondents, 15% cited health care as their top pick for next year, compared to 12% who chose technology. The report suggests that although managers are favoring cyclical recovery stocks right now, they believe that financially solid health-care names with solid cash flows should do well in the coming year. This outlook comes even as much of the health-care sector has struggled to capture the gains that many other areas of the market have in 2009. For example, biotechnology firms Amgen (Nasdaq: AMGN) and Gilead Sciences (Nasdaq: GILD) are both in negative territory year-to-date, despite the general market being up more than 20%. Of course, the looming unknown on the health-care horizon is the massive reform bill currently working its way through our legislature. While the details are still being hammered out and the bill's future is uncertain, there's likely to be a lot of cash flowing into this sector if reform becomes a reality, and a resulting sector boom is not out of the question. Regardless of how you feel about the prospect of health-care reform, it's hard to argue that the potential benefits to this sector won't be significant if reform does work its way through. Paging Dr. Profits One big-name manager who has thrown his lot in with the health care sector is Bruce Berkowitz of the top-rated Fairholme Fund (FAIRX). Thanks to Berkowitz's timely stock picks, Fairholme has outpaced 99% of all large-cap blend funds over the past five years. Berkowitz has allocated a whopping 36% of its stock portfolio to health-care companies, with top holding Pfizer (NYSE: PFE) alone making up almost 13% of the entire fund. He also has slightly smaller bets on biotech firm Forest Laboratories (NYSE: FRX) and health-care insurer WellPoint (NYSE: WLP). Berkowitz may be on to something. While many investors are hunkering down with bonds and relatively staid consumer stocks, now may be the time to act to capitalize on 2010's hottest trend. Health-care stocks are at the bottom of the barrel when it comes to this year's top performers, so valuations are still relatively reasonable. Once the sector takes off, you'll have already missed out on a lot of potential gains, so the time to stock up on high-quality health-care names is now. Scheduling a checkup So how can you make the most of a coming resurgence in the health-care sector? Well, if you want specified exposure, you can always go with an exchange-traded fund or actively managed fund that invests exclusively in this corner of the market. One of the better actively managed funds out there is T. Rowe Price Health Sciences (PRHSX), which has racked up an 8.4% annualized gain over the past 10 years. The fund tends to favor small- and mid-cap names like Alexion Pharmaceuticals (Nasdaq: ALXN) and biotech drug firm Cephalon (Nasdaq: CEPH), so there's lots of growth potential in this portfolio. However, if you do buy a sector-specific fund like this, make sure to keep your overall allocation small to avoid undue risk. But you don't necessarily need dedicated health-care exposure to capitalize on a boom in this sector. Even by maintaining a diversified overall portfolio, you'll still reap the benefits. Health-care stocks typically have a major presence in most broad market mutual funds, so you'll still have reasonable exposure. In fact, according to Morningstar data, the average large-cap growth fund has almost 15% of assets allocated to the health-care sector. So assuming you've got wide market coverage, you'll be able to profit from a health-care boom without changing anything in your portfolio at all! There's a lot of uncertainty and hesitation surrounding the health-care sector right now, which makes it an ideal time to think about getting into the game. If the experts are correct, the payoff next year could be just what the doctor ordered! |
Nov 22 2009, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 21 2009, 01:21 PM) hmm... i suggest u let me know instead, how u plan to trade it? come & test ur skills with the market, learn & gamble bersama-sama I really no idea which one to pick. as usual, below for livermore, speculator & gamble lovers onli, categories other than tat, dun click it & spoil ur day This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 22 2009, 08:37 PM |
Nov 23 2009, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 23 2009, 12:32 AM) but i was thinking along the lines of u simply choosing one, to paper trade since u never trade before Yes the stock is massive. For me, every stock look like good to me. guess the info seems massive, oh well... |
Nov 23 2009, 09:38 AM
Some weekly report for you guys.
QUOTE The Weekly Report For November 23rd - November 27th, 2009 Commentary: The bulls managed to send the major financial indexes higher in the early part of the week, but unfortunately, the momentum was unable to continue as mixed economic data caused traders to question the conviction of the market recovery. As you can see from the chart for the S&P 500, as represented by the S&P 500 SPDRS (NYSE:SPY) ETF, the 111.30 level acted as a strong level of resistance and many are now wondering if the index is heading for a deeper correction. The S&P is still trading within an established uptrend and technical traders will continue to hold a bullish outlook on the market until the index closes below the support of the ascending trendline near the 106 level. The Diamonds Trust Series 1 (NYSE:DIA) hit resistance near 104.60 and the newly-formed doji candle is suggesting that the short-term pullback could continue. Traders will watch for the 101 level to act as support. [attachmentid=1318434] The iShares Russell 2000 Index (NYSE:IWM) ETF continues to look relatively unhealthy. IWM recently set a lower high, and it couldn't muster enough strength to move above its October higher like its larger-cap counterparts. Many traders will watch for the index to find support at its long-term moving averages. The bad news for bullish traders is that there are not many support levels between the current level and the 200-day moving average, which is currently near $52. This chart suggests that the pullback could end up being much sharper than many were anticipating. [attachmentid=1318436] The Powershares QQQ ETF (Nasdaq:QQQQ) was hit hard in the second half of the week. The lackluster earnings report from Dell Inc. (NYSE:DELL) didn't help the case for a move higher. However, the diverging moving averages shown on the chart are a clear indication that the long-term uptrend in technology stocks is still intact. [attachmentid=1318439] Bottom Line The action this past week clearly shows that the conviction of the bulls and the strength of the market rally continue to be in question. The late-week pullback has caused many to wonder if the rally is running out of steam or if this is a brief period of consolidation before another leg higher. The small-cap stocks are still underperforming their larger counterparts, but in general, the long-term pressure still seems to be to the upside. |
Nov 26 2009, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 26 2009, 12:25 AM) ozak, u still doing paper trade? since here, lots of u love company that sit on cash & do nothing with it Paper trade? You mean trade without real money? Never try before. I direct go in and invest.can u pick 1 stock to paper trade from below shorter list, as the last 100 stock i gave was massive for me i choose lz, u wanna gamble & pick 1? Will try it from your shorter list. |
| Change to: | 0.0506sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:03 PM |