4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

ozak
post Sep 2 2009, 09:07 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Sep 2 2009, 08:41 PM)
Any suggestion on FREDDIE MAC (FRE)? Last quarter profit back by US gov.
I not sure bro. I m just a beginner. notworthy.gif Maybe sifu danmooncake or sifu zamans98 can help you.
ozak
post Sep 3 2009, 08:16 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 3 2009, 01:33 AM)
Financials want to bounce back... C and BAC made some moves.

Jumped into FAS for quick buck: 300@67 with trailing stop 0.5 tongue.gif

Added on September 3, 2009, 2:00 am

Opps! Got stop out at 67.30
Only 30cents small profit.    sweat.gif
What is 'trailing stop' mean? notworthy.gif
ozak
post Sep 3 2009, 01:27 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 3 2009, 09:17 AM)

Added on September 3, 2009, 9:28 am
It trails the current price by a) percentage or b) points or price  nod.gif
It is used to protect your profit.
For example if price rises, the sell limit order adjust itself automatically and trail below the current price.
Very useful as exit strategy tool in volatile market.

More info:
http://www.bmoinvestorline.com/WhatsNew/trailingstop.html
http://beginnersinvest.about.com/od/invest...cktrading_8.htm
Thanks danmooncake. notworthy.gif In optionsxpress, there is alot of option in buy/sell columm. Including the trailingstop. That make me rclxub.gif
ozak
post Sep 3 2009, 10:07 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 3 2009, 09:27 PM)
I don't day trade all the time.. only when the market move within a price channel that I like.

>In NYSE can ride on the bear right?
Yes!

If the market is too high or price too expensive, just ride the bear.
If the market is oversold, take the bull train.  biggrin.gif

That is why people keep saying you can make money by being a BULL or a BEAR. Only the Pigs get slaughtered.
Man, sifu danmooncake praise is very deep. Really can't understand rclxub.gif
ozak
post Sep 4 2009, 10:26 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Sep 4 2009, 07:00 AM)
Any advice on how to transfer money from maybank to sogotrade?
You can TT also. Take 6hr to arrive at your acc and can start to trade liao. But limited amount can transfer and expensive commision fee.
ozak
post Sep 20 2009, 03:25 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Sep 20 2009, 10:01 AM)
The TT fee for Maybank should be RM25 while the 3rd party usually charge USD 15.
In order to convert, you must pay RM 2 commission plus the conversion loss about a few cents per USD.

Can anyone recommend me of the local company that offers online cross-border cheap trading?  brows.gif
Read back few pages and you have the all the rate charge for TT and trading.
ozak
post Sep 22 2009, 08:22 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cloud9_lee @ Sep 22 2009, 06:00 PM)
Besides Etrade.com, which brokerage firm has bank account with brokerage account combined?

I have account with Etrade.

I am asking this becoz it would be easier to transfer money using ACH (USA interbank transfer).
Can I transfer the money to other person bank acc? Example my sister US bank acc.
ozak
post Sep 23 2009, 10:51 PM

17,018 posts

Bullet haven't arrive yet. sad.gif
ozak
post Sep 25 2009, 11:06 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(jeremyhiew @ Sep 25 2009, 10:58 PM)
the brokerage is very very attractive.. so im surveying whether it is a secure trade web...u trade before ? cashing out the money before ?
http://myinvest89.blogspot.com/ THE RISE OF A NEW BLOG
Read back and you know it is safe or not. But nothing is safe. Trade as your own risk. icon_rolleyes.gif
ozak
post Sep 28 2009, 11:06 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Sep 28 2009, 10:22 AM)
Read this post on how to open, BTW I have not try it. The post owner said he made it.

I open myself while visiting US last June not through this method

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=26223583
I m thinking to open one also. Thanks for your info. Seems like not so difficult to open a US bank account from here but need some leg walk.

How about if I ask some relative to mail the form to me here and submit back to them via mail to open an acc? And using my relative US address? Is this possible without going to US?
ozak
post Sep 28 2009, 05:53 PM

17,018 posts

Walau. RM200k must balance in thier acc? That is high. Rather invest to stock.
ozak
post Oct 3 2009, 12:15 AM

17,018 posts

Quing BAC at 15.8.
ozak
post Oct 12 2009, 12:16 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 11 2009, 10:59 PM)
mynewuser, one thing to confirm: are you sure maybank only charge RM 10? and US charges USD 23?
from my previous experience, maybank charge RM25 while US charge US15.
I am moving to Sogo soon. May be we can share some experiences. smile.gif
Maybank charge RM10 and US charge US21-23. I TT to Chase bank optionexpress 2x liao.
ozak
post Oct 12 2009, 12:24 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Oct 11 2009, 09:54 PM)
For those who want to have cheaper way of withdraw money from sogotrade. Another option will be ACH to GHz and tt back to malaysia. But can we trust GHz?
If I not mistaken, trading acc name must be same with US bank acc name. Only than can transfer the money using ACH. Maybe for security.
ozak
post Oct 12 2009, 12:45 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 12 2009, 12:26 AM)
Perhaps you are transfering to Singapore?

Below is the list I got from Maybank:

You are using OptionExpress? I got an account but they charge a lot.. Is it good?
From Peninsular Malaysia   
=================
    * Between towns where the cost of wire for a minimum 2-minute call is 8 sen

Free

* Between nearby towns e.g. between FT and Negri Sembilan/ Selangor

RM1.60

* Between towns other than the above

RM3.20/as per telephone directory
      East Malaysia RM6
      Singapore RM10
      Brunei RM25
      Other countries or TT covers via Singapore (excluding Foreign Worker's Telegraphic Transfer (FWTT)) RM25
Not spore. The success transaction did state that the fee is RM10. It is US address JP morgan chase NY.

I in longterm. So not really that expensive. They do offer US9.99 if you trade over 10 stock.
ozak
post Oct 12 2009, 01:03 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 12 2009, 12:51 AM)
Just opened account with Just2Trade. The process is fast, just like SOGO.

Sogo sucks, been 7 working days, still saying account under processing. MB was fast. Zecco also fast. Think or Swim also fast but Zecco n THink - I didnt follow up with them. High price.

Just2Trade platform looks nice, quite the same with MBTrading but JavaBased. means I can trade via Browser. Yay.

Will update you all my experience with J2T.

P/S Ozak - I wired international using Maybeng few times, it is still RM25 plus some other charges. Transaction over the counter.

Yours should be online?
Yes, I using online to TT. Here is the success transaction I copy a portion from pdf that I keep.

Transaction details Status: Accepted
IMT reference no.: MTUT2708SJY003
Reference number: 1333843537
Transaction date: 27 Aug 2009
Transaction time: 16:39:25
Foreign
currency:
USD2,030.00
Amount (RM): RM7,249.13
Charge: RM10.00
New balance: ------------
Currency USD
Rate: USD 1= MYR3.5710
ozak
post Oct 14 2009, 12:17 AM

17,018 posts

Brought 120 share of C at 4.79.
ozak
post Oct 16 2009, 12:43 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 16 2009, 12:39 PM)
HI guys, what are the minimum units must buy in us stocks ? I see some of you buy 500. Is it same for all types of stocks ? Thx.
1 unit share.
ozak
post Oct 17 2009, 12:07 PM

17,018 posts

Thinking of sapu more on C. C down, USD down and ringgit high. Gain exchange. Buy more.
ozak
post Oct 20 2009, 02:40 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Oct 20 2009, 01:47 PM)
aiyah... dun say like tat  shakehead.gif "If I have seen further it is only by standing on the shoulders of giants - Sir Isaac Newton"

i also went thru the same process as u all & it was others who assist me way much earlier & guide the way for me.
so, i just doing my part in this trading field. well, hope the newbies can set up their ac & do the rough job soon. as they hav a long learning curve way to go. tat is if they r still interested...

appreciate tat we try to exchange knowledge here & u all assisting the newbies on starting up & taking their baby steps in trading. any ideas how to make tis thread alive?  or wat r we even doing on tis thread?  yawn.gif constructive criticism is much appreciated if possible haha, coz i can be wrong too  biggrin.gif

hmm do u guys try set up a list of stocks to trade on a fortnight basis? or maybe track which industry is performing? or wat stock performing in that group? who knows, maybe can attract some newbies instead of onli 4 of us communicating with each other. or maybe the newbies can ask us about their stock selection, what to read, which courses is better, method use & etc. we alwiz learn sumting new everyday, no matter how silly or sophisticated the query is  nod.gif

http://www.reuters.com/finance/industries/allIndustries

eg. like one of the post on options calendar spread, maybe the poster can elaborate further, so we can learn more & share his/ her experience on options & futures trading

coz if tis thread is dead, no point the 4 of us continue this for fun  brows.gif  so i'll monitor it awhile, if thread smells dead, looks dead, feels dead, then it is dead  rclxm9.gif

aapl, will never know got pullback or wil breakout further. follow the money...
This thread is very much alive. And better than last time. Thanks to sifu here contribute. Even thru I didn't post much, but I read it everyday to learn from sifu here. ( I still pening with the graph and the language sifu talking here) rclxub.gif And I did learn alot from here how to open acc, TT money and till trade.

I m still very new and didn't have much knowledge on stock. But because of this thread, I brave myself into US market and invest. sweat.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0263sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:00 AM