Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?
GHz
Aug 31 2009, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 31 2009, 06:48 PM) Already make a deposit last week and traded liao.  Security is my main consent, so I choose optionxpress since many member here have experience with it. Yes, security is everyone main concern. I hope its fine with SOGO.
GHz
Aug 31 2009, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Aug 31 2009, 08:46 PM) Short AIG pre-market? Is that possible? Is there any match order during pre-market? Or is it just base on que?
GHz
Aug 31 2009, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Aug 31 2009, 10:42 PM) damn, not even close, everything off low. No trade la like this.. Even AIG recovered. My buy que not fill in.
GHz
Sep 1 2009, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 31 2009, 11:26 PM) The financials seem to have clawed back some since opened. Anyway, next month the banks are about to release more foreclosures holding back into the market. This mean bad news for real estate because inventory will surge back. Opps: AIG drops below 10% Be warned, AIG is still not good for Longs. This is just a trader stock. That's it as Barron has pointed out. When or at what price you estimate that we safely can long AIG & also C.
GHz
Sep 1 2009, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 1 2009, 11:01 AM) I would stay away from AIG. But for C.. when I think I would start a position on pullback below 4.50. Thanks for your view. QUOTE(eslife @ Sep 1 2009, 11:15 AM) Heard that AIG fundalmental not strong. CITIGROUP still best choice. Other stocks? One of my watch list is GE. Currently at $13.9. Before recession it was price at about $30-$40
GHz
Sep 1 2009, 06:41 PM
pre-market aig almost -6%, c almost -4%
This post has been edited by GHz: Sep 1 2009, 06:57 PM
GHz
Sep 2 2009, 09:32 PM
a lot of financial stock drop fast now. FRE, FNM drop ~15%
GHz
Sep 2 2009, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 2 2009, 09:38 PM) That is why true investors stay away from those. These two are for traders play or "goreng" only. Traders just buy it, after it has gone up 30% and dump it on the late comers and they're holding the bag.  I agree with you. C drop below 4.5 now, do you buy any?
GHz
Sep 2 2009, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 2 2009, 10:00 PM) For those who wanted more info current view on FNM and FRE, go to THESTREET.COM Search on the articles: Watching Fannie and Freddie (many different parts), just read all of them. Yes just read it. If they break up what happen to the shareholder?
GHz
Sep 3 2009, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(honglun @ Sep 3 2009, 12:02 AM) What's happening to AIG? Why is it up? Damn. I just short it before it went up.  "AIG increased 5.1% to $37.83 after China Strategic Holdings Ltd is interested in acquiring 60% stake in Taiwan based Nan Shang Life Insurance Co controlled by AIG. China Strategic filed with the Hong Kong Stock Exchange to raise HK$7.6 billion to pay for the stake. " & for vonage investor "Vonage Holdings Corp surged 29.3% or 42 cents to $1.85 after the Internet phone telecom carrier said that Apple Inc approved its mobile application for iPhone and iPod devices. The availability date of the application has not been released. Recently Vonage also released world unlimited calling plan that includes 60 countries for $24.99 a month."
GHz
Sep 3 2009, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(honglun @ Sep 3 2009, 09:29 AM) GHz, where did you get your news or info from? I'm always clueless about stock price movement.  That particular news coming from http://www.ticker.com/market-update/AIG,-N...age-Rise/34374/
GHz
Sep 3 2009, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 3 2009, 01:37 PM) Yes..US brokerage trading tools are more sophisticated than KLSE brokerage. I like TD AmeriTrade because of its tools and it has patterns searching and so forth. Do AmeriTrade allow non-US resident to open account online? This post has been edited by GHz: Sep 3 2009, 04:28 PM
GHz
Sep 3 2009, 09:47 PM
news for C
"The company said Thursday that shareholders also authorized the board of directors to complete a reverse stock split any time before June 30."
Another story,
Citigroup Inc. shareholders have approved final arrangements that will result in U.S. taxpayers owning a 33.6% stake, the company said Thursday.
The final approved proposal authorizes but doesn't require that Citigroup's board effect a reverse stock split, at one of seven ratios, at any time prior to June 30, 2010.
This post has been edited by GHz: Sep 3 2009, 09:56 PM
GHz
Sep 3 2009, 10:14 PM
Guys, any recommedation for ETFC. Good play or not?
GHz
Sep 4 2009, 06:58 PM
News on GE,
When the economy begins to turn around, one of the stocks I'd own in a Sioux City second is General Electric (GE-$12.68) even though its dividend sucks. This $170 billion revenue company traded at $42 a share in 2007. This year, GE expects to earn $1 a share with net profit margins of 6.5 percent compared with 2007 earnings of $2.28 and net profit margins of 13 percent. That's quite a flop. GE is one of the largest, most diversified companies in the galaxy with 310,000 employees in 114 countries. It's in the water-treatment business, makes jet, turbine and electric engines, sub-sea drilling systems and floating rigs. GE is in insurance, aerospace products, commercial and military maintenance for aircraft, ships, helicopters, and health care products. GE is in NBC, TV, cable and satellite, lighting, electrical equipment, power generation, security technology, business and consumer finance, etc. GE positions itself as a world leader in every market it competes in. And GE's enormous global presence allows management access to more information about the direction of economic data than its competitors, giving management dibs in emerging economies. This is an impressive company and I'm comfortable suggesting a potential $30 stock price in the coming five years.
GHz
Sep 9 2009, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Sep 9 2009, 06:05 PM) pre-market looking weak. SHORTs all up  Your fund already credited? What is your target today?
GHz
Sep 12 2009, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Sep 11 2009, 11:58 PM) Debbie, its MBTrading. www.mbtrading.com Easy to open, no need to mail them the forms. Just send online via e-mail will do. Open account: 48hrs, funding 72 hours and you need to download their proprietary software to trade. $5 per trade. flat rate. When did you register? When i register recently, they ask me to send all the documentation by post.
GHz
Sep 18 2009, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Sep 18 2009, 06:20 PM) May I know how long telegraphy transfer will take to wire money? I am using public bank and firstrade account. I heard it should be instantly. No wire money transfer does not instantly credited to your account. It may takes 1 or 2 days if not longer. Instant worldwide money transfer currently offered by Citibank but only between Citibank account worldwide. They called it Citibank Global Transfer. The charge is cheap too. Unfortunately Citibank Malaysia does not offer this services.
GHz
Sep 18 2009, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Sep 18 2009, 07:31 PM) oh my god, C price is raising but my fund dunno when can reach.. Added on September 18, 2009, 7:33 pmIs it possible to use paypall and credit card to fund the trading account? When did you make the transfer? I guess it should reach broker bank account in 1-2 days & another 1-2 days to credit into your trading account. No you can't fund share trading account with credit card. You could do that with forex account but not for share trading account.
GHz
Sep 24 2009, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(mH3nG @ Sep 24 2009, 11:02 PM) I suppose you get what you pay for. Some of us would probably never need a live chat anyway so they're probably better off with sogotrade.  You are right. I am one of it.  Been trading at SOGO for the past 1 month. so far so good. I never use their chat services.