9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel Guangzhou / Canton, anyone going ?

louyit
post Jul 24 2012, 09:55 AM

226 posts

Hi, i'm going to Guang Zhou in early January 2013, guess it's winter right? Anybody here mind to share some travel itinerary in Guang Zhou please? By now, I'm more concerned about booking my accommodation first, any good hotels/inn/apartment/boutiques to recommend?
oneeleven
post Aug 4 2012, 04:37 PM

1,515 posts

WARNING - Guangzhou Airport SIM card from China Unicom

There is a China Unicom counter that aggressively hawks SIM cards as you go through in transit. When asked, they said their card will work anywhere in China. It cost RMB100 with only RMB49 usable, and only valid for 3 months, which is far more expensive than others.

I had a few hours layover, so thought what the heck, just get one for use when I get to my destination. They took quite a long time installing it into my phone, and could hear them passing rude remarks about non-Chinese inquirers.

Upon arrival in the other province, I could not make calls and could not send SMS, not even check balance. My local contact took me to a CUni outlet where I was told they have separate admins and could not do anything about it. Finally I got a friend in Guangdong to contact CUni and activate voice calling which was charged as roaming. Sending SMS still was not possible although incoming OK. Balance could be checked only by adding the Guangdong prefix 020 to the system number.

So, it DID somewhat work everywhere in China, BUT.....
wjchay
post Aug 14 2012, 02:24 PM

645 posts

I am going to GZ mid Nov. Anyone knows where to get value for money leather jackets?

I know there's Baiyun Leather wholesale and Yisen Leather, which are popular, but do they sell 1 unit? Otherwise, is Shangxiajiu lu better?

Andy0625
post Oct 29 2012, 05:49 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Any recommendations of Hotel to stay around Baiyun International Airport? Please help!
Andy0625
post Oct 29 2012, 05:49 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Any recommendations of Hotel to stay around Baiyun International Airport? Please help!
cherwwy
post Dec 22 2012, 10:12 AM

Hi, anyone knows how to go to Guangzhou from Macau?
I'll be going in early Jan.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by cherwwy: Dec 22 2012, 10:13 AM
ryan18
post Dec 22 2012, 10:31 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(cherwwy @ Dec 22 2012, 10:12 AM)
Hi, anyone knows how to go to Guangzhou from Macau?
I'll be going in early Jan.

Thanks!
cross the border to zhuhai and take a bus from there or you could take the CTS bus from macau tower

This post has been edited by ryan18: Dec 22 2012, 10:32 AM
cherwwy
post Dec 22 2012, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Dec 22 2012, 10:31 AM)
cross the border to zhuhai and take a bus from there or you could take the CTS bus from macau tower
Thanks Ryan18. I will google the timetable & details smile.gif
fantagero
post Mar 17 2013, 10:58 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

Hi, will be going to GZ this weekends.
just wondering is there a mall to shop for camera/dslr stuff?

kubiz
post May 27 2013, 06:37 AM

74 posts

Hi all,

As i am about to travel to guangzhou, i would love to know the life there, the living expenses, the traveing experience, the food they eat, and anything related. I wish someone could help me. Haha thanks.
stimix
post May 27 2013, 08:14 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(kubiz @ May 27 2013, 06:37 AM)
Hi all,

As i am about to travel to guangzhou, i would love to know the life there, the living expenses, the traveing experience, the food they eat, and anything related. I wish someone could help me. Haha thanks.
Thread merged. Guangzhou food is Cantonese style for sure. Living expenses almost similar to kl but the hotels are cheap
samlee860407
post May 27 2013, 09:37 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(kubiz @ May 27 2013, 06:37 AM)
Hi all,

going with girl? bring them go 十三行, for a shock of your life but beware that the gals might not come out until they close shop. but they close early anyway, their business start from 6am to 12pm like that lolx

anyway, guangzhou street usually got loads of roadside stalls, while restaurants, all kinds of chinese foods la, Szechuan, hunan, Xinjiang (china muslim) food, etc etc, but of course most is canto food la.

hotel is cheap. the hotel i stayed is east asia hotel, stayed at their refurbish room, i think 1 night only RM150 which is very good. Their old room sux to the max though tongue.gif

there's this kind of transport in guangzhou, a modified motorcycle where the rear can sit 2 people. IMO more dangerous than those tuk tuk in thailand, but i still sit, haha

oh yea....most taxis there are meter taxi, and are cheap compare to malaysia
kubiz
post May 27 2013, 09:56 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 27 2013, 09:37 AM)
going with girl? bring them go 十三行, for a shock of your life but beware that the gals might not come out until they close shop. but they close early anyway, their business start from 6am to 12pm like that lolx

anyway, guangzhou street usually got loads of roadside stalls, while restaurants, all kinds of chinese foods la, Szechuan, hunan, Xinjiang (china muslim) food, etc etc, but of course most is canto food la.

hotel is cheap. the hotel i stayed is east asia hotel, stayed at their refurbish room, i think 1 night only RM150 which is very good. Their old room sux  to the max though tongue.gif

there's this kind of transport in guangzhou, a modified motorcycle where the rear can sit 2 people. IMO more dangerous than those tuk tuk in thailand, but i still sit, haha

oh yea....most taxis there are meter taxi, and are cheap compare to malaysia
Thanks, admin for the transfer.

Oh, thanks i am going there for quite long to work, maybe. So i was wondering what can i expect from. How much a mineral water will cost. And some early warnings of the place i am about to go. It is good to have a head start and know the area first, communication, and etc
samlee860407
post May 27 2013, 10:03 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(kubiz @ May 27 2013, 09:56 AM)
Thanks, admin for the transfer.

Oh, thanks i am going there for quite long to work, maybe. So i was wondering what can i expect from. How much a mineral water will cost. And some early warnings of the place i am about to go. It is good to have a head start and know the area first, communication, and etc
ahh...work. then different. The air pollution there is bad compare to Malaysia . Mineral water I can't clearly remember, but I think not much different from what you buy at 7-11

public toilets are dirty (well, Malaysia toilet are the same too).

maybe you can be a bit more specific on what you want to know. tongue.gif
ISFJ
post May 27 2013, 11:54 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 27 2013, 10:03 AM)
ahh...work. then different. The air pollution there is bad compare to Malaysia . Mineral water I can't clearly remember, but I think not much different from what you buy at 7-11

public toilets are dirty (well, Malaysia toilet are the same too).

maybe you can be a bit more specific on what you want to know. tongue.gif
I went to Guangzhou earlier this month and was shocked to see the filth at the public toilets there. I must say it is worse than the public toilets in Malaysia. Mineral water is relatively cheap, can get them for a few RMB. And yes - air pollution; be prepared to see very dusty cars there. Also, the air smelled of urine as well and I saw people puking on the streets and children happily using the streets as their public toilets.
samlee860407
post May 27 2013, 11:59 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(ISFJ @ May 27 2013, 11:54 AM)
I went to Guangzhou earlier this month and was shocked to see the filth at the public toilets there. I must say it is worse than the public toilets in Malaysia. Mineral water is relatively cheap, can get them for a few RMB. And yes - air pollution; be prepared to see very dusty cars there. Also, the air smelled of urine as well and I saw people puking on the streets and children happily using the streets as their public toilets.
yes. guangzhou streets is dirty compare to some other china towns (shenzhen, zhuhai )

really wonder...why HK which is just beside them, the people are so civilized in using toilet....while there...

but nanjing air is much more polluted though
kubiz
post May 27 2013, 08:06 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 27 2013, 11:59 AM)
yes. guangzhou streets is dirty compare to some other china towns (shenzhen, zhuhai )

really wonder...why HK which is just beside them, the people are so civilized in using toilet....while there...

but nanjing air is much more polluted though
Oh man! Really? Issit that bad? Is cantonese a main language for them?
So i should avoid eatting on the streets then. I heard chinamen are b****es. Heh
stimix
post May 27 2013, 09:18 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For cleaner Chinese cities, have to go North, those in Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai & Hangzhou are clean.. and yes cleaner than all the cities in the South inc KL
stimix
post May 27 2013, 09:18 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Except the haze..
samlee860407
post May 28 2013, 07:24 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(kubiz @ May 27 2013, 08:06 PM)
Oh man! Really? Issit that bad? Is cantonese a main language for them?
So i should avoid eatting on the streets then. I heard chinamen are b****es. Heh
yea...streetfoods are plenty...but see u dare to eat or not lo. some of them located by the main road....wee...the pollution from cars....haha

mandarin is still the main language since almost all of them speak it

QUOTE(stimix @ May 27 2013, 09:18 PM)
For cleaner Chinese cities, have to go North, those in Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai & Hangzhou are clean.. and yes cleaner than all the cities in the South inc KL
shenzhen and zhuhai quite ok ma....around the same as KL/penang if not better.

but guangzhou...meh

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:35 PM