9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Travel Guangzhou / Canton, anyone going ?

LovelyGrace
post Aug 15 2010, 06:29 PM

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Aug 14 2010, 05:53 PM)
my next trip to Guangzhou will be in April next year.
going for my yearly shopping trip. tongue.gif
Hey, me too~!! Any good hotel to recommend? smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Aug 15 2010, 09:55 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(LovelyGrace @ Aug 15 2010, 06:29 PM)
Hey, me too~!!  Any good hotel to recommend?  smile.gif
i usually stay at Jia Mei inn at Shang Jiu Lu.
they charge less than RM100 per night and the rooms are quite okay. but you have to ask to see the room before you choose the room. cause sometimes got very strong smoke smell. it's very convenient for me cause you just step out of the hotel and there is shopping left and right. food is all over the place so you wont get hungry also.
joeylny
post Jan 10 2011, 08:27 PM

555 posts

Anyone stayed in hostels in guangzhou.
Planning to stay in guangzhou for bout 10 days.
Any place is a must see or worth to go?
cruise? food?
have u travel to other places nearby guangzhou.

sleepchild
post Feb 10 2011, 11:03 PM

70 posts

Tumpang~~smile.gif

anyone knows how to go shanghai from guang zhou?...if lets say by flight any recomended tour agency?

Thanks!
munkeyflo
post Feb 11 2011, 12:54 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

By flight then take plane lor.
Try checking out different airlines for their domestic travel routes.
PrinceHamsap
post Feb 13 2011, 06:59 PM

Legendary
1,637 posts

Any u fella going?

booking hotel thru the cantonfair website or via airasia packages? laugh.gif
DrezzUp
post Mar 18 2011, 10:05 PM

41 posts

Jus got back from GZ. Stayed in Home Inn Hotel Changshou Lu East.This is a chained group. Can booked thru Ctrip.com or elong.com which is cheaper. Got to prebooking otherwise the hotel is fully booked especially furing weekends or whenever GZ is having expo, exhibition or any other events.They have got free bradband in the room. Room & toilet very clean. Got food just outside the hotel street. Walking distance to shangxiajiu pedestrain street. 15 min walk to Metro station. But remember not to choose room 206 if u r sensitive people smoking n they have window however facing a wall of a next building. Bad view.

Pearl delta river cruise must go.Fantastic view at night. just go to Tian zi pier. They schedule for departure.Take approx 1hr 30 min cruise. Just buy bottom deck @ RMB60 n can actually go to their upper deck to take picture. need not sit downstair.Good to have downstairs cos if it rains, u got place to hide.Upper open deck @ RMB70 - The differerence is only titbits .

Shopping area ShangXiaJiu, Beijing Lu (a bit more expensive),Yide lu (wholesale area for dried seafood & herbs)

Food - egg noodle (wan tan mee),dim sum (can go to Shang Xia Jiu - Tao Tao Ju Restaurant. Quite reasonable 4 person - 18 plates of dim sum cost us RMB154.There r 3 floors, therefore u must go all the floors to get yr food.Like buffet. Bring along d card they place on yr table, so tat each time u take food, they will stamp on it..cool ah), cheong fun, soups etc..just eat anything u can find on d street.
munkeyflo
post Apr 28 2011, 06:50 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Just got back from GuangZhou yesterday morning.
Spend almost RM1.5k on shopping alone. tongue.gif

Stayed at Home Inn Hotel on Shangjiu Lu. Was originally JiaMei Inn but now changed to Home Inn. Clean and comfortable rooms. Price was around RMB200+ for 2 beds room, can fit 4 person. Prices during expo period is at least double. A bit far from subways though. But shopper's paradise. It's located on ShangJiu Lu and just walk down to enjoy ShangXia Jiu Lu. Walking distance to Zhuang Yuan Fang, another shopping paradise, lots of small shops that you can bargain and product quality not bad as well.

We walked to HaiZhu Nan Lu for wholesale shopping and also Yi De Lu for dried seafood. smile.gif
Further up Yi De Lu is Shoe City where all the wholesalers for women shoes are. But most of them don't sell one or two pairs. Have to get like at least 6 pairs to buy from them.

IMO, Tao Tao Ju is overrated.
I like the Cheong Fun & Porridge shop opposite Home Inn Hotel on ShangJiu Lu. Prawn cheong fun cost about RMB10 while porridge some cost RMB5 only. Oh and Pearl Milk Tea is very nice over there! There's also a shop selling Egg Tarts at ShangXia GuangChang. The egg tarts are veryyyyy delicious! I miss them already. tongue.gif
SUSXabrius
post Oct 1 2011, 03:40 PM

»»───Knee───►
1,486 posts

Story:

It's my first time flying to Guangzhou, China (the first time I went to China was the time I flew to HK and then went to Shenzhen)

The main purpose of me going there is to find some relatives that I have only met them once in Shenzhen, and I intend to visit my grandfather's "kampung" and their respective tombs...

I've got my Visa, and i'm flying with Tiger Airlines from Changi, Singapore... While my other relatives are flying from KLIA (Airasia)

Arrival time is 15 min later than the 5 other relatives flying with AirAsia...

I would like anyone here to give me tips in China, especially Guangzhou and BaiYun Airport... Since it was my first time going there...

Add:
After that, I will fly back from Shenzhen by Airasia to KL then take another Airasia back to Singapore... arrival 1515, departure for the next plane is 1730, enough time to check in rite?

Original Thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2053867
kons
post Oct 1 2011, 06:17 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

Baiyun is a pretty new airport, and it will cost around 150 RMB to 200 RMB to take cab from airport to city. I don't know about other public transport rate, last time I went there was back in 2008.

2 hours and 15 minutes, you might spent 1 hour to retrieve your luggage (usually won't be so long), and left you have 30 minutes to check in only. And Air Asia now starting to charge for counter check-in, I guess you can do web check-in first in ShenZhen.
SUSXabrius
post Oct 1 2011, 06:31 PM

»»───Knee───►
1,486 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Oct 1 2011, 06:17 PM)
Baiyun is a pretty new airport, and it will cost around 150 RMB to 200 RMB to take cab from airport to city. I don't know about other public transport rate, last time I went there was back in 2008.

2 hours and 15 minutes, you might spent 1 hour to retrieve your luggage (usually won't be so long), and left you have 30 minutes to check in only. And Air Asia now starting to charge for counter check-in, I guess you can do web check-in first in ShenZhen.
There will be someone picking me up, 1 less thing to worry.

My only worry is the airprot being very crowded as National Day holidays has been just over.
kons
post Oct 1 2011, 10:02 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Oct 1 2011, 06:31 PM)
There will be someone picking me up, 1 less thing to worry.

My only worry is the airprot being very crowded as National Day holidays has been just over.
Nah, won't be a problem when arriving there. Probably need to allocate more buffer when departing through Bai Yun. The security and immigration process for Bai Yun is incredibly slow, althought not as slow as some airport, the last time I was there, it took a full 1:30 hours from check-in to the boarding area.
munkeyflo
post Oct 2 2011, 09:46 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

The airport is easy to navigate around. Unless you don't know how to speak their language that is. It's pretty simple. If someone is coming to pick you up then thats even better. I don't think you'll have any problems. It's very big so even crowded also not a problem.

Btw, there's a lot of buses to town which is very cheap. I take the bus to town everytime I visit GZ. smile.gif
AngelLingLing
post Oct 2 2011, 10:30 PM

31 posts

any lrt from airport to the shopping area? or only busses?
munkeyflo
post Oct 3 2011, 09:10 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

If there's any train/subway to the city, I would like to know as well.
As far as I know there's none, that's why I'm still taking the buses when I'm there.
RegentCid
post Oct 3 2011, 11:55 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Oct 2 2011, 09:30 PM)
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Oct 3 2011, 08:10 AM)
If there's any train/subway to the city, I would like to know as well.
As far as I know there's none, that's why I'm still taking the buses when I'm there.
Come on...Just spent some time...do some research....How can you people go Vacation without studying the places first?

Guangzhou such a big city...almost more advance than Kuala Lumpur...such big and advance city how can it no subway at all?

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/comm..._Metro_MapA.png
stimix
post Oct 3 2011, 06:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The MRT system in Guangzhou is much more advance than KL for sure and wth the addition of the newest line and probably the longest city-to city MRT connecting to Zhuhai which is >120km South of Guanzhou and this MRT max speed at 200km/hr mind you

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guangzhou%E2%...s_Rapid_Transit

munkeyflo
post Oct 9 2011, 12:24 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 3 2011, 11:55 AM)
Come on...Just spent some time...do some research....How can you people go Vacation without studying the places first?

Guangzhou such a big city...almost more advance than Kuala Lumpur...such big and advance city how can it no subway at all?

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/comm..._Metro_MapA.png
Any idea how's the ticket price like?
I check the map, the place I usually go to have to change few lines. =.= while if I take bus less hassle. If lots of luggage won't be nice travelling via subway.
Kampung2005
post Oct 9 2011, 01:14 PM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
3,028 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Oct 9 2011, 12:24 PM)
Any idea how's the ticket price like?
I check the map, the place I usually go to have to change few lines. =.= while if I take bus less hassle. If lots of luggage won't be nice travelling via subway.
Very cheap.

However, if you arrive at Guangzhou station (Guangzhou railway station), the metro station is extremely crowded.
onlinetradermy
post Oct 21 2011, 08:18 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Oct 2 2011, 10:30 PM)
just take the metro/lrt from airport
u can go direct to Guangzhou Railway Station (shopping paradise)
the metro is cheap and fast....no traffic jammed hehe
at GZ railway station already got many shopping plaza...

yup GZ is a shopping paradise...
buy many2 more cheap hahaha

This post has been edited by onlinetradermy: Oct 21 2011, 08:20 AM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.3537sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:33 PM