AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V4), Cockcroach AMD :P

AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 02:28 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

no bro, im comparing based on ratio. Then what do u think of value rams? i believe 70-80% of computers in the world are using them, thats alot dont you think? yet, ive seen more crucial RMAs than value rams.

Well, its just my humble opinion from running a computer shop =) i dont sell crucials because this is what i heard from my contacts.

Added on January 16, 2008, 2:30 amAnd also another comparison would be Harddives, just a rough estimation, i sell 3 brands in my shop, WD, Seagate and Hitachi. nearly 60% of my customer buys hitachi because they are cheap and Seagate only takes approx 15% of the pie while WD eats the remaining 25%. But the weird thing is, ive never encouter any RMA with hitachi, while for seagate, there's at least 1-3 pcs a month even with the low sales rate.

This post has been edited by AoiNatsume: Jan 16 2008, 02:31 AM
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 12:23 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

corsairs/kingstons bro.
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 02:09 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

bro db, already sms u liao sweat.gif
i left the reciept at home... was assuming that it will arrive today because it was shipped out the first thing in the morning yesterday. Hasnt arrive bro?
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 02:15 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

lol ericz, thats the symptom many of people using crucials are having. THey wont just die on you, suddenly they will need ALOT of voltage to run.
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 02:36 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

try instlaling using another price of ram, if still fails means your tracersa re beyond rescue bro.
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 03:29 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

hehe, great to hear it reached you thumbup.gif
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 04:12 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 16 2008, 03:45 PM)
not only crucial. other ram will also behave like that... especially micron chips. why? because they feed too much current. not voltage...but current.

reduce the drivestrength that should reduce the risk.

high drivestrength = ram killer

but not all motherboard has drivestrength setting in the bios, so u have to use 3rd party tool like systool or something.

why it's always crucial? because everybody buy crucial... easy to find at garage/bulk section. tell me how many ppl bother to buy corsair or ocz nowadays  tongue.gif
yea very true indeed, another thing is that, crucial are bloody cheap. If ur looking at OCZ, dont bother anything lower than PC8000, anything below PC8000 does not comes with D9GMH
AoiNatsume
post Jan 17 2008, 10:29 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

hey bro DB, the AMD OVerdrive which u download cannot be used with the 7xx chipset. You have to use the beta version, ill send it to you via MSN tonight as ive forgotten where ive downloaded it from.

I notice alot of issues using the 790FX chipset as well. But none of them are like yours... my main issue now is only very low max vcore (1.47) the max i can push is only 3.4Ghz now able to pass prime 6 hours, and as for vdimm, i can go up to 3.2v. ANother issue would be the ram timing, there is a problem with the TRAS and TRC, no matter what i set in bios, once booted in windows it always shows 18. both of them shows 18 clock.

Beside this 2 problem, ive got no other complaints, the K9A2 Platinum is indeed a great board. Btw bro, whats your max vcore on that board?
AoiNatsume
post Jan 17 2008, 11:02 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Jan 17 2008, 10:49 AM)
basically it's like an enhanced version of TA690G,
but currently the bios still buggy , need bios update badly  laugh.gif
i will give my very final conclusion once i complete all the test  brows.gif
memset cannot work under 790FX bro, even the software sensors are still buggy. Speedfan/Everest detects my +12v rail @ 8v sweat.gif
Scared the crap out of me when i saw it, tested psu with multimeter and its actually stable.

Indeed new chipset is very buggy.
AoiNatsume
post Jan 17 2008, 01:10 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

yes, its used to power up PCIE2.0 GFX

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0375sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:37 PM