Proton Saga Aeroback.. Petrol Consumption Problem, RM75 for 380km only, normal?

SUSXfX
post Dec 17 2007, 03:33 PM, updated 18y ago

57 posts

I am driving a Proton Saga Aeroback-Manual aged about 3 .5 years.

My petrol consumption is approx RM75 for 380km to 400km only, about RM0.20 per km, is that normal?

I have checked my tire pressure which I pumped 220 for front wheels and 210 for back wheels and I seldom switch on my air condition unless weather reaches about 35 degress celcius hot. I have cleaned my air filter oso.

Hope you guys can point out what happen to my petrol consumption. Thanks

This post has been edited by XfX: Dec 17 2007, 03:58 PM
redhawk
post Dec 17 2007, 04:02 PM

111 posts

my city almost 3 years. roughly rm60 about 400km. city drive only. if long distance, should be more milleage. check your engine timing, driving skill etc.

turning off you aircon might not a good idea. when you open your window, your car will have more drag/resistance/heavier which will cost more petrol than turning on the aircon.

my 2cent opinion only.

QUOTE(XfX @ Dec 17 2007, 03:33 PM)
I am driving a Proton Saga Aeroback aged about 3 .5 years.

My petrol consumption is approx RM75 for 380km to 400km only, about RM0.20 per km, is that normal?

I have checked my tire pressure which I pumped 220 for front wheels and 210 for back wheels and I seldom switch on my air condition unless weather reaches about 35 degress celcius hot. I have cleaned my air filter oso.

Aggronax
post Dec 17 2007, 04:05 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

your previous full tank and goes to how many km ?
SUSXfX
post Dec 17 2007, 04:13 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(redhawk @ Dec 17 2007, 04:02 PM)
my city almost 3 years. roughly rm60 about 400km. city drive only. if long distance, should be more milleage. check your engine timing, driving skill etc.

turning off you aircon might not a good idea. when you open your window, your car will have more drag/resistance/heavier which will cost more petrol than turning on the aircon.

my 2cent opinion only.
Ok, eventhough i off my aircond, i will not open my window bcos i know tat once i open ur window the car will have more drag due to aerodynamic kind of thing. Correct me if i wrong.

Added on December 17, 2007, 4:19 pm
QUOTE(Aggronax @ Dec 17 2007, 04:05 PM)
your previous full tank and goes to how many km ?
Around RM65 for 400km on highway and 350km for city drive.

This post has been edited by XfX: Dec 17 2007, 04:19 PM
singchaii
post Dec 17 2007, 04:32 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

Check your air filter, spark plug and when you do your last service? retune your AFR and try again.
demio121
post Dec 17 2007, 04:39 PM

2,084 posts

20sen/km for a Saga Aeroback is not normal. My 11yr old 2.0 gives me better consumption.

apart from what the others recommend you to do, please also check if there is any leak in the exhaust system. A leak in the exhaust will make your car lost power, thus you tend to tekan more.

good luck.
sonic_cd
post Dec 17 2007, 04:49 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(XfX @ Dec 17 2007, 04:13 PM)
Ok, eventhough i off my aircond, i will not open my window bcos i know tat once i open ur window the car will have more drag due to aerodynamic kind of thing. Correct me if i wrong.

depends on the speed. the car @ going at.
Aggronax
post Dec 17 2007, 04:58 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

QUOTE(XfX @ Dec 17 2007, 04:13 PM)

when u last time services? now wat km ? wat part u change for last service?
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 17 2007, 05:00 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

my family's 1996 Saga is doing around that mileage...and its re-he-he-ally problematic. Suppose your car got some big problem now.
redhawk
post Dec 17 2007, 05:19 PM

111 posts

maybe it's time for engine overhaul rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Dec 17 2007, 04:58 PM)
the_catacombs
post Dec 17 2007, 05:30 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

if for my case, its normal... sweat.gif
zeist
post Dec 17 2007, 06:04 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Mine slightly better than you a little. tongue.gif
barrylin
post Dec 17 2007, 06:23 PM

KILL ME PLZ
1,084 posts

Simple conclusion

VERY EXPENSIVE LAAAAAAAAAAA
the_catacombs
post Dec 17 2007, 06:32 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(barrylin @ Dec 17 2007, 06:23 PM)
Simple conclusion
VERY EXPENSIVE LAAAAAAAAAAA
expensive buy this one loh...

kevinlim001
post Dec 17 2007, 06:52 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

ya some of the members already point out there... it wont be wise if u turn off the aircon and wind down the window as the air resistance ll affect ur car drag which eventually required more power to run where ur leg ll be heavier thus FC is high icon_rolleyes.gif
ahsin
post Dec 17 2007, 07:06 PM

Freak9u
1,144 posts

my wira FC almost same with u ... full tank RM 75.. less than 400km...
Aggronax
post Dec 17 2007, 07:10 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

seem nothing really increase ur FC too much ~ maybe you stop the car too much ~
ahsin
post Dec 17 2007, 07:12 PM

Freak9u
1,144 posts

dude.. ur car is auto??
SUSceo684
post Dec 17 2007, 09:03 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Dec 17 2007, 06:52 PM)
ya some of the members already point out there... it wont be wise if u turn off the aircon and wind down the window as the air resistance ll affect ur car drag which eventually required more power to run where ur leg ll be heavier thus FC is high icon_rolleyes.gif
that drag increase only applies above 60 or 70 kmh

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Dec 17 2007, 07:10 PM)
seem nothing really increase ur FC too much ~ maybe you stop the car too much ~
idling in jams too much.. tune down ur no-aircon idle to 600-650rpm and dun use aircon
imperialrealcs
post Dec 17 2007, 10:21 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(redhawk @ Dec 17 2007, 04:02 PM)

my 2cent opinion only.
how can u compare honda city with saga?
EFi vs carburator?
CVT vs conventional 5 speed manual gear?
newer vs older? (in term of technology and age)

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 17 2007, 05:30 PM)
if for my case, its normal... sweat.gif
that because u use weber monster laugh.gif

QUOTE(ahsin @ Dec 17 2007, 07:12 PM)
dude.. ur car is auto??
he stated there, manual..
singchaii
post Dec 17 2007, 10:55 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

I think, no different with my 9 months old LMST. RM75, can go around 400km. I drive average 120-130km/h, with high rev to 5-6k rpm.Change exhaust system somemore.

This post has been edited by singchaii: Dec 18 2007, 12:14 AM
N33d
post Dec 17 2007, 11:18 PM

896 posts

u shud be happy
my dad wira only do 325km from RM70 petrol
0.215sen/km
sucka3
post Dec 17 2007, 11:25 PM

F e I c H a I 23
1,199 posts

i tot the fc is control by the style u drive....rev all the way..or..proper driving...no?as mine full tank can exceed more than 380km i think... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sucka3: Dec 17 2007, 11:26 PM
SUSceo684
post Dec 17 2007, 11:27 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

this saga since its carbie needs to be in tiptop tuning all the while in order to save fuel. use 10w40 oil instead of 20w50. fuel filter is rm6-8..every 40k km replace lah, since so cheap.
zacevox
post Dec 17 2007, 11:30 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Dec 17 2007, 10:55 PM)
I think, no different with my 9 months old LMST. RM75, can go around 400km/h. I drive average 120-130km/h, with high rev to 5-6k rpm.Change exhaust system somemore.
rclxms.gif

the fastest proton car in the world
sucka3
post Dec 18 2007, 12:11 AM

F e I c H a I 23
1,199 posts

lol....typo error nia.... sweat.gif
zacevox
post Dec 18 2007, 12:13 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

kidding only ma. tongue.gif

don't take hard feeling~
singchaii
post Dec 18 2007, 12:14 AM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Dec 17 2007, 11:30 PM)
rclxms.gif

the fastest proton car in the world
sorry.. typo. Is 400km. sweat.gif sweat.gif
zacevox
post Dec 18 2007, 12:17 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

hehehe,just joking:P

just want to add:

my friend saga rm10 can get max 60km. sometime even 50km only..
frequency
post Dec 18 2007, 12:22 AM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

mine iswara 2001 experience heavy FC also recently...
thnk possibly due the heavy tyres dunlop Formula D001.....

petrol naik, fc naik......soon gona eat tanah

quick_shaq
post Dec 18 2007, 02:18 AM

872 posts

7 years old iswara aeroback
mine RM50 could go 320km
RM70 could go more than 400km for sure..
if i'm not mistaken could go up to 450-480km
city and highway driving...

DaViDcHiN
post Dec 18 2007, 03:14 AM

2,720 posts

Oh? I am diring Saga Manual 1.3 too, same with urs, n my fren bought a new Saga, oso same figure, so i think is normal la...
quick_shaq
post Dec 18 2007, 04:46 AM

872 posts

i do believe that city driving and also heavy right foot could coz high FC for saga....
if i drive like rev gila one damn sakit oo...
tried b4 but as for now rev up to 4k max is enough...
is emergency or in a rush only rev up to 6k thumbup.gif
nvr tried up to 7k b4
but seen in the youtube all those guys doing it ...
Is it safe for 4G13 to rev up to 7k ? (stock car that is)

SUSXfX
post Dec 18 2007, 08:36 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Dec 17 2007, 04:58 PM)
Last service on Aug'07 but i have yet to reach 5,000 km and i have change the back part of the exhaust paip

Added on December 18, 2007, 8:37 am
QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Dec 17 2007, 06:52 PM)
Eventhough i off the aircond, i will not wind down the window.

Added on December 18, 2007, 8:38 am
QUOTE(ahsin @ Dec 17 2007, 07:12 PM)
dude.. ur car is auto??
manual

Added on December 18, 2007, 8:43 am
QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Dec 18 2007, 03:14 AM)
Oh? I am diring Saga Manual 1.3 too, same with urs, n my fren bought a new Saga, oso same figure, so i think is normal la...
Dun u think it's a bit unreasonable? 1.3 liter engine + manual compare to other Toyota cars like Vios 1.5 liter + auto and Vios got better FC?

Malaysian car is a malaysian car... haih.. me a bit regretted to have purchased this car. Should have buy a Myvi.

This post has been edited by XfX: Dec 18 2007, 08:43 AM
bizzy
post Dec 18 2007, 10:28 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(quick_shaq @ Dec 18 2007, 05:46 AM)
i do believe that city driving and also heavy right foot could coz high FC for saga....
nvr tried up to 7k b4
IM USING 4G13 i guess i did that before, no worry u have rpm cut. when u reach to red line it wont let u go anymore futher and it wont hurt ur car badly but a bit of coz if u do it all da time.

my max while i drive fast 6k++ rpm

and yea my car used to drive 60RM 350 to 380km proton satria here. always 3k rpm to 5km rpm. [i cant drive slow]

city drive of coz.

and now dunno is my throllete body problem or else 60Rm 300km to 320km

but proton car around 300 to 350km is consider normal. cuz ton of people drivin gasoline mileage around there.

can over 340 that is happy news.

me also find my car trouble why suddenly gone 50km >.<

only thing to find out is change pipe and thollete body {SINCE KINDA SPOIL}
[cuz my car idle 700 to 1400rpm on aircorn, if off 700 to 1000Rpm too]

==========
xfx and ur question, 1st thing 1st. u compare both cars price [different right?] smile.gif . and 2nd vios is below 1000kg, 3rd vvti more newer tech den our proton, 4th u are using siemen ECU [not mitsubishi] , all the technology is different. sure u can eat more den vios la. like last time i used to drive a4 audi 2.0T [2006] 130Rm can run 700km,

and myvi manual can run 60 to 70rm i forget can run below 500km i guess.. around 400 to 480km?

and myvi auto can run 320 to 360km.

kevinlim001
post Dec 18 2007, 12:12 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(quick_shaq @ Dec 18 2007, 04:46 AM)
nvr tried up to 7k b4
better dun our member tried red line and burns some of his electronic components sweat.gif
bizzy
post Dec 18 2007, 12:18 PM

369 posts

arrr mayb is about the time LOL. but me never face it hahaha
kevinlim001
post Dec 18 2007, 12:19 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(XfX @ Dec 18 2007, 08:36 AM)
Last service on Aug'07 but i have yet to reach 5,000 km and i have change the back part of the exhaust paip

Added on December 18, 2007, 8:37 am

Eventhough i off the aircond, i will not wind down the window.

Added on December 18, 2007, 8:38 am

manual

Added on December 18, 2007, 8:43 am

Dun u think it's a bit unreasonable? 1.3 liter engine + manual compare to other Toyota cars like Vios 1.5 liter + auto and Vios got better FC?

Malaysian car is a malaysian car... haih.. me a bit regretted to have purchased this car. Should have buy a Myvi.
My car also same .. LMST before my first tank only give me around 350km for RM80+ imagine that??? then now my car RM70 can go for 400km-430km if u go highway i can reach 480-500km on RM70+. So kinda reasonable my highway FC is compitable with my aunt Vios. Her Vios RM0.1400 sth.. my is like RM0.143 sth.

MyVI FC also not as good as u think car underpower becos of the MyVI body. THen more fuel to be burn. I would suggest u go for City IDSI if u got budget sell ur car and buy a City IDSI got power (compare to LMST) + low FC.

Some members is rite how would u compare carbie to EFI? Do u know wat is VVTI? VVTI use ECU to control the fuel injection. Where carbie use ur leg to control the fuel flow. if u wan ur FC better than Vios or City u must think better than ECU. thumbup.gif

Added on December 18, 2007, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(bizzy @ Dec 18 2007, 10:28 AM)
IM USING 4G13 i guess i did that before, no worry u have rpm cut. when u reach to red line it wont let u go anymore futher and it wont hurt ur car badly but a bit of coz if u do it all da time.

my max while i drive fast 6k++ rpm

and yea my car used to drive 60RM 350 to 380km proton satria here. always 3k rpm to 5km rpm. [i cant drive slow]

city drive of coz.

and now dunno is my throllete body problem or else 60Rm 300km to 320km

but proton car around 300 to 350km is consider normal. cuz ton of people drivin gasoline mileage around there.

can over 340 that is happy news.

me also find my car trouble why suddenly gone 50km >.<

only thing to find out is change pipe and thollete body {SINCE KINDA SPOIL}
[cuz my car idle 700 to 1400rpm on aircorn, if off 700 to 1000Rpm too]

==========
xfx and ur question, 1st thing 1st. u compare both cars price [different right?] smile.gif . and 2nd vios is below 1000kg, 3rd vvti more newer tech den our proton, 4th u are using siemen ECU [not mitsubishi] , all the technology is different. sure u can eat more den vios la. like last time i used to drive a4 audi 2.0T [2006] 130Rm can run 700km,

and myvi manual can run 60 to 70rm i forget can run below 500km i guess.. around 400 to 480km?

and myvi auto can run 320 to 360km.
saga a/b got ECU meh?

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Dec 18 2007, 12:22 PM
stormyz
post Dec 18 2007, 12:45 PM

Thread Killer
595 posts

my 4g13 wira drive to melaka from subang wif rm 50 petrol. 185 km (go into melaka and exit) + 150 km ( drive out from melaka , sesat in nilai 3 before come back to subang )

wif 4 passenger

185km + 150km = 335km

335/50 = rm0.067 / km

and i tot my fuel consumption is so high.. after reading this thread.. oh well.. mine still doing good i guess..

This post has been edited by stormyz: Dec 18 2007, 12:46 PM
GoldenHawk
post Dec 18 2007, 01:54 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

For all you guys having FC problems, you should check the following
1. Is your engine leaky (i.e: Constantly loosing lube, white smoke, etc.)?
2. Your driving habits (redlining or late-shifting)
3. Car maintenance (type of lube used, service frequency).

If you have generally good maintenance habits & your car has little or no damage symptoms, I'll suggest cleaning the carb & retuning the AFR.

Carb cleaning can either be in the the form of a complete service, where you carb is taken apart, cleaned & re-assembled by a reputable mechanic or the simpler spray-cleaner technique (carb cleaner in a can).

As for re-tuning your AFR, please find a mechanic that owns & knows how to use a timing gun + emission analyzer, proper AFR tuning equipment. Most of the Proton service centers should have them.

My 2 cents smile.gif

BTW, I get about 12.8KM/L or RM0.15/KM on a good day (mixed cycle). Given that my engine is already consuming a little black oil & the tuning is slightly off, I'd say it isn't too shabby tongue.gif

This post has been edited by GoldenHawk: Dec 18 2007, 01:56 PM
hiansitt
post Dec 18 2007, 02:08 PM

~nobody~
1,358 posts

my iswara, 97 a/b
maybe due to aging of engine (never overhaul so far), RM50 give approx 250km in city driving.. (same as rm0.20perkm)

@stormyz
calc wrong, is 50/335 = RM0.15perKM
GoldenHawk
post Dec 18 2007, 02:09 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(stormyz @ Dec 18 2007, 12:45 PM)
my 4g13 wira drive to melaka from subang wif rm 50 petrol. 185 km (go into melaka and exit) + 150 km ( drive out from melaka , sesat in nilai 3 before come back to subang )

wif 4 passenger

185km + 150km = 335km

335/50 = rm0.067 / km

and i tot my fuel consumption is so high.. after reading this thread.. oh well.. mine still doing good i guess..
I thought my maths were bad unsure.gif
Either it's still bad or your maths is just as good as mine.
I calculated 335KM / RM50 = RM0.14925373134328358208955223880597/KM unsure.gif
tcting
post Dec 18 2007, 02:14 PM

No more GTI
1,448 posts

It all depends on how you drive and what kind of traffic you are facing...
bizzy
post Dec 18 2007, 02:15 PM

369 posts

well that day i check my car and my friends said my car has mitsu not siemen ecu...

me also cheap proton suppose alll proton also are the same ?

well im not sure about the car fully detail i only know some part from my knowledge that i face before and i saw and i learn from others that kinda pro friends?

haha burn gas is ok as long as it fast and not burn too much can d smile.gif

-====

like golden hawk said is rite.

check and check. once u check the money need to spend and spend smile.gif

yes i got engine oil leakin too so... arrr spend again. i dunno how much i spend once the proton start to spoil. it just never end spoil..

just wish to buy half cut and settle all of the problem ...

stormyz
post Dec 18 2007, 02:29 PM

Thread Killer
595 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Dec 18 2007, 02:08 PM)

@stormyz
calc wrong, is 50/335 = RM0.15perKM
QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Dec 18 2007, 02:09 PM)
I thought my maths were bad unsure.gif
Either it's still bad or your maths is just as good as mine.
I calculated 335KM / RM50 = RM0.14925373134328358208955223880597/KM unsure.gif
oopss... whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

my bad..wrong calculation laugh.gif

nvm...i still happy wif rm0.15/km blush.gif
SUSXfX
post Dec 18 2007, 03:10 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Dec 18 2007, 01:54 PM)
For all you guys having FC problems, you should check the following
1. Is your engine leaky (i.e: Constantly loosing lube, white smoke, etc.)?
2. Your driving habits (redlining or late-shifting)
3. Car maintenance (type of lube used, service frequency).

If you have generally good maintenance habits & your car has little or no damage symptoms, I'll suggest cleaning the carb & retuning the AFR.

Carb cleaning can either be in the the form of a complete service, where you carb is taken apart, cleaned & re-assembled by a reputable mechanic or the simpler spray-cleaner technique (carb cleaner in a can).

As for re-tuning your AFR, please find a mechanic that owns & knows how to use a timing gun + emission analyzer, proper AFR tuning equipment. Most of the Proton service centers should have them.

My 2 cents smile.gif

BTW, I get about 12.8KM/L or RM0.15/KM on a good day (mixed cycle). Given that my engine is already consuming a little black oil & the tuning is slightly off, I'd say it isn't too shabby tongue.gif
Mind to share what is 'Crab' and 'AFR'? Me a car noobie.
kevinlim001
post Dec 18 2007, 09:43 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

not crab is carburetor
afr is air fuel ratio..
it can be adjust from the carburetor itself not its not recommend for u to adjust urself as u may mess up with the timing. its recommended for u to send back to proton Service centre or sent to a reputable and trusted mech to adjust back ur AFR.
U may need to check ur air filter, spark plug, and ur engine oil. see ur engine oil is at constant marking or drop from time to time.. if ur engine start to burn ur engine oil ur FC confirm bad already.. cry.gif
singchaii
post Dec 18 2007, 09:47 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Dec 18 2007, 09:43 PM)
not crab is carburetor
afr is air fuel ratio..
it can be adjust from the carburetor itself not its not recommend for u to adjust urself as u may mess up with the timing. its recommended for u to send back to proton Service centre or sent to a reputable and trusted mech to adjust back ur AFR.
U may need to check ur air filter, spark plug, and ur engine oil. see ur engine oil is at constant marking or drop from time to time.. if ur engine start to burn ur engine oil ur FC confirm bad already.. cry.gif
yeah.. Find a trustable mech to adjust AFR using o2 sensor machine..

0.0245sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:22 PM