Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalker, Classic CCG in your computer

TSquarantined
post Dec 16 2007, 01:08 PM, updated 18y ago

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Magic: The Gathering is a computer game published by MicroProse in April 1997 based on the collectible card game Magic: The Gathering. It is classified as abandonware. [1]

The game takes place in the plane of Shandalar, where the player must travel the land and fight random enemies to gain cards, and defeat five wizards representing the five colors. The player must prevent one color from gaining too much power, and defeat the planeswalker Arzakon, who has a deck of all five colors. Adventure game and role-playing game elements are present, including inventory, gold, towns, dungeons, random battles, and character progression in the form of new abilities and a higher life point total. An oversized version of Aswan Jaguar was included in the game box.

-From Wiki

Duels of the Planeswalker is basically an upgrade with more cards and it allows online play. Anyone hungry for some (FREE!!) MTG action?? biggrin.gif PM me if you want to get the game.

This post has been edited by quarantined: Dec 16 2007, 01:18 PM
Scavengers
post Dec 16 2007, 02:22 PM

380 posts

dude..if can run on winxp.. i would really appreciate if i can get a copy
last time i check, it can only be run on win98 smile.gif
n changes need to be done b4 running on winxp
kudos if u can make it work~

This post has been edited by Scavengers: Dec 16 2007, 02:26 PM
TSquarantined
post Dec 16 2007, 03:40 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

No worries. It work in XP. smile.gif
jimmythw
post Dec 16 2007, 03:53 PM

308 posts

Last time i play this game using Pentium 166Ghz only. After few years i wan to play then install to Pentium 4 1.7Ghz, then the motion of the games are like flying. Is it too fast for a new computer to run this game. So i quit already the game. If i'm not mistaken it also is winxp.
Guardian
post Dec 16 2007, 05:01 PM

819 posts

Eh,with those new expansions?If it's,I am interested,thanks.
TSquarantined
post Dec 16 2007, 06:17 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Nope it's all old skool. Until Chronicles/4th Ed only.
ashburn98
post Dec 16 2007, 10:12 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

It works on XP all right. Played probably hundred of hours until sicked of it. Black Vise is broken, trust me.

I made so many decks that raped the pc until I made a rule for myself everytime I played the story mode, I have to try something new (and ban TimeWalk, for pc to stand half a chance).

The last 2 decks I had with this game is a 40 card B/W land denial deck with Black Vise as win condition. Balance, Lotus, Moxes, Mine Strip, Demonic Tutor, Sword to Plowshares, Land Tax, Neryewell Disk, Armaggedon, Ivory Tower.

The other deck is just plain bully. Moxes, Lotus, Recall, TimeTwister, Regrowth, Demonic Tutor, Sword to Plowshares (and Distingerate, in case), Animate Artifact, Kormus Bell, Sleight of Mind, Ivory Tower, Library of Alexendria, Jeweled Bird (in case ante screws me). Pure bully, remove from the game all his creatures, artifacts and lands. Win condition can be anything, I'll usually just use a 4/4 Bell to kill it off.

Good times, but how I wish for a new Shandalar game (MTG:Battleground s*cks royally).

Added on December 16, 2007, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(quarantined @ Dec 16 2007, 06:17 PM)
Nope it's all old skool. Until Chronicles/4th Ed only.
Correct, even sealed deck tournament I'd played till bored.

This post has been edited by ashburn98: Dec 16 2007, 10:27 PM
TSquarantined
post Dec 16 2007, 11:41 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Some cards are overly powerful while some are *beep*! And I kept getting stupid rares from the sealed boosters/starters. LOL
Scavengers
post Dec 17 2007, 12:24 AM

380 posts

well... since most of my MTG frens turns to WoW or console gaming,
i guess this is the program i can turn too.
already played 30 duels. black n blue rulez smile.gif
lck
post Dec 17 2007, 07:58 AM

~^happy^~
591 posts

Hi quarantined, this games is good as last time I do have the game in my shelf and sadly I could not find it and I am looking forward to get this game's...
temptation1314
post Dec 17 2007, 08:29 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

w00t!!! sure brings back old memories when I still own a win98 rig..
For the lulz... Black and blue rulez forever... sweat.gif
lck
post Dec 17 2007, 12:51 PM

~^happy^~
591 posts

Hi All, I just wanna ask that does anyone have any CD for this MTG...if you do please pm me for the info...tq
shyghost
post Mar 13 2010, 12:35 PM

113 posts

I'm sorry to revive this old game thread. Just wondering if anyone check out the latest revision to this game made by fans. Here is the Readme file in spoilers... notworthy.gif

To those who played this game before, Please leave your comment about the new revision.

I've just installed the game and trying to play it again. Quite a lot of new cards and i appreciates if a diehard MTG fans give your opinion...

Thanks...

PS: Now if i can only get my Jagged Alliance (mod by fan) Open source game to work... It would be a great start to the 2010 year. nod.gif
ashburn98
post Mar 13 2010, 12:52 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Thanks for the PM, shyghost.

Will download and try it but since you got it installed, can you give us the step by step installation guide? Appreciate it.
shyghost
post Mar 13 2010, 01:02 PM

113 posts

Err... Installed the directX 9c and after restart, I've installed it by clicking autorun.exe. Don't forget to unrar first.

Now i haven't overwrite the xtra folder into the game directory yet but it seems that i can start the game without doing it.

There are a lot of cards I've never seen before but then I'm not very good with the game in real.

Hope this helps!

This post has been edited by shyghost: Mar 13 2010, 01:03 PM
ashburn98
post Apr 1 2010, 09:42 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Bumping this thread with question.

First off, there are new cards, fantastic. The non fantastic part is how to install even more the new cards.

(1) You can already play MTG: Duels of Planewalker after installing the ISO.
(2) The extra cards is in the Deck Builder. However, not all the extra cards are in the Deck Builder. This is where the problem starts. I do not know if there was another zip file of all the cards.
(3) The mods are fixing more and more bugs of all the cards and you cannot just simply bantai/copy paste because it crashes the program.

Need someone who was able to install all the cards to give some pointers.

Added on April 7, 2010, 4:59 pmOk, I got the game up and there might be a few of the forumers interested in getting back into this game.

I'll edit this post with installation instructions later tonight.

This post has been edited by ashburn98: Apr 7 2010, 04:59 PM
eehtsitna
post Apr 15 2010, 11:01 AM

356 posts

Fellow planeswalker.

Can anyone point out the exact program we should get? I managed to download Mok's manalink 2.0 but my antivirus identify it as a trojan horse.
Instant_noodle
post Apr 15 2010, 01:19 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

OMIGOSH!!! blink.gif shocking.gif

MUST... RESIST... TEMPTATION...

anyways,

any tourney-like rules being applied? can i haz powder 5 in the deck for it's OH-PEE-ness?
alex82
post Jun 2 2010, 01:15 PM

^_^
371 posts

it out on steam @ $9.99

http://store.steampowered.com/app/49400/

so gonna buy it
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 01:24 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

eh no pricing yet la.

available june 2010
already june liao wor.

sheet i want it too.

Added on June 2, 2010, 1:26 pm9.99 only? O_O

eh, got pricing in the list, but not on the product page itself?

but, 9.99?
it gonna milk us dry on the cards is it lol.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jun 2 2010, 01:26 PM
alex82
post Jun 2 2010, 01:34 PM

^_^
371 posts

nola paying 9.99 you get the full game with 860 cards..you dont have to buy booster pack.

but they will release more expansion to mlik us dry

expansion 2 will cost about $4.99

This post has been edited by alex82: Jun 2 2010, 01:37 PM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 01:41 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

oooh. i see.

once we have a card, we can use it 4 times in our deck?
or must have 4 cards to use it 4 times in our deck?

or details not known yet?

last time when i play hard copy one, standard build is 60 cards per deck, 12 - 15 land
max 4 cards per card type

Added on June 2, 2010, 1:42 pmfuiyoh. 9.99 how come the price is so affordable one?

dun care la.
will grab once its out haha.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jun 2 2010, 01:42 PM
alex82
post Jun 2 2010, 01:46 PM

^_^
371 posts

i belief the rule are the same as b4, unless they change it
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 01:57 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

ooooh okay.

the universal stack rule "last in first out" is still there right?

deimos: i cast fireball! burn alex
alex: i counter spell your fireball
deimos: i counter spell your counter spell!

alex: ok i counter spell your counter spell!

O_O
alex82
post Jun 2 2010, 02:03 PM

^_^
371 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 2 2010, 01:57 PM)
ooooh okay.

O_O
this i'm not sure. hopefully the rule is still the same.

have to wait for it to release only to test it out

http://www.wizards.com/Company/Press.aspx?...CookieSupport=1

This post has been edited by alex82: Jun 2 2010, 02:06 PM
Instant_noodle
post Jun 2 2010, 02:14 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 2 2010, 01:57 PM)
ooooh okay.

O_O

spell sink > counter spell
steam is releasing old micropose version or something else that 's similar to Magic: Online??
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 02:31 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 2 2010, 02:14 PM)
spell sink > counter spell
steam is releasing old micropose version or something else that 's similar to Magic: Online??

i looks very new and fancy.
i dun think it is a re-release of old mps version.

http://store.steampowered.com/app/49400/

mtg online? i hope not.
H@H@
post Jun 2 2010, 02:40 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

IINM, Counterspell is an Instant card. The pecking order of spell effects is
Instant < Interrupt < Mana Source

So, an instant can be cast the same time as another Instant, but not for an Interrupt or Mana Source... So, yes a Counterspell can counter another Counterspell. It can't counter a Mana Sink or Dark Ritual.
Abyssio
post Jun 2 2010, 03:00 PM

196 posts

An interesting take on an online card game that doesnt allow deck customization. Therefore no additional boosters to buy, voids the "spend less and get owned" arguement.

I'm quite optimistic that Planeswalker wont release glaring unbalanced expansion decks in the future. Perhaps subtle one smile.gif. Checking out the deck list right now and see how stock and expansion decks compare.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 03:02 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jun 2 2010, 02:40 PM)
IINM, Counterspell is an Instant card. The pecking order of spell effects is
Instant < Interrupt < Mana Source

So, an instant can be cast the same time as another Instant, but not for an Interrupt or Mana Source... So, yes a Counterspell can counter another Counterspell. It can't counter a Mana Sink or Dark Ritual.
eh i thought no more interrupts liao? all interrupts classified as instants liao.

spell priority based on stack rule.
last in, first out.

so if i have enuf mana and have counter spell on hand, i can counter spell your mana sink.

Added on June 2, 2010, 3:10 pmi believe dark ritual is an instant too, and yes i can counter that.

example.

start of round
stack:
====

H@H@ spends x1 black mana to play dark ritual
stack:
====
dark ritual, H@H@ gains x3 black mana

deimos spends x2 blue mana, plays counter spell to counter dark ritual
stack:
====
counter spell, canceling H@H@'s dark ritual

H@H@ plays mana sink against counter spell
stack:
====
mana sink, canceling Deimos's counter spell

Deimos plays another counter spell against mana sink
stack:
====
mana sink, canceling Deimos's counter spell
counter spell, canceling H@H@'s mana sink

no more cards being played. the stack resolves: last in, first out
stack:
====
4. dark ritual, H@H@ gains x3 black mana
3. counter spell, canceling H@H@'s dark ritual
2. mana sink, canceling Deimos's counter spell
1. counter spell, canceling H@H@'s mana sink

#1 counter spells dispels mana sink
#2 mana sink canceled, not played
#3 counter spell dispels dark ritual
#4 dark ritual canceled, not played

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jun 2 2010, 03:10 PM
H@H@
post Jun 2 2010, 03:12 PM

6,727 posts

There are no more interrupts and Mana Source? Have I been out of the loop that long? Seriously? Is this for the game or the actual CCG? If its the latter, that's a pretty big change in rules.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 03:18 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

ya, when i played, erm, 6th edition back in 2000 - 2002 i think all interrupts = instants liao.

its for the collectible card game oh.
eh when is the last time you played magic the gathering oh?

when i last played it since back in 2002 everything is based on stack rule liao. unless they changed the stack rule.

hmmm let me google the rule book see how.

Added on June 2, 2010, 3:19 pmwah. now is 8th edition liao.
i dunno what are the current rules liao.
but i believe stack rule should be same lor.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jun 2 2010, 03:19 PM
H@H@
post Jun 2 2010, 03:21 PM

6,727 posts

I last touched MtG around 2002 (Around the time the Affinity ability was introduced)... I think I still saw Interrupts... or maybe they were removed back then and I just never noticed.
temptation1314
post Jun 2 2010, 03:25 PM

2,287 posts

LOL, I played MTG on 1st gen during 1994 or 1995 i think.
Stopped right after UPSR on 1997... doh.gif

UPSR man, AM I THAT OLD? cry.gif

Might have to relearn everything again....
Instant_noodle
post Jun 2 2010, 03:27 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

yes they removed interrupts during 6/7 edition, any printed 'interrupt' count as 'Instant'

btw, anyone interested with the story line?

the brothers war is nice, weatherlight did clean up most of the old stories (Urza died cry.gif ) but i still wonder about Mishra, is he still alive??
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 03:28 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

johnny,
i'm older bah.
i finished my upsr in 1993

http://www.wizards.com/magic/rules/en_8e_rulebook.pdf

Card Types:
Artifact, Creature, Enchantment, Instant, Land, Sorcery

Zones:
Library, Hand, In Play, Graveyard, The Stack, Removed from the Game

Added on June 2, 2010, 3:30 pmThe Stack
The stack is where spells and abilities wait to resolve after they’ve been
played. They stay on the stack in the order they were added to it.

How does it work? A player with priority plays a spell or ability, and it
goes on the stack. That player can add more spells or abilities to the top of
the stack or pass. If the player passes, the opponent gets priority and may add
spells or abilities to the top of the stack or pass. Priority goes back and forth
this way until both players pass in a row.

When both players pass, the spell or ability on the top of the stack—the
one played last—resolves. After each spell or ability resolves, the active player
gets priority again.

Here’s an example. You control Glory Seeker, a
2/2 creature. Your opponent plays Shock to
deal 2 damage to it. Shock goes on the stack.
You respond to the Shock with Giant Growth,
which gives the Glory Seeker +3/+3 until the
end of the turn. Giant Growth goes on the
stack, on top of Shock. That means Giant
Growth resolves first, making the Glory Seeker
5/5 until the end of the turn. Then Shock
resolves, but it doesn’t deal enough damage to
destroy the pumped-up Glory Seeker.

Here are some things that don’t go on the stack:
• If an ability produces mana, it doesn’t go on the stack. You get the mana
immediately.
(DTA: oooh so dark ritual cannot be countered. my bad. sorry, H@H@)
Σ• Static abilities don’t go on the stack. They “turn on” as soon as the permanent
with the ability comes into play.
• When you play a land, you just put it into play. Land cards aren’t spells, so
they don’t go on the stack.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jun 2 2010, 03:30 PM
talexeh
post Jun 2 2010, 05:37 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,100 posts

Still can't add the game to cart even though the release date is 01-June. sad.gif
evofantasy
post Jun 2 2010, 05:41 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

hmmm from a person that used to play magic in tournaments, u can counter spells that produce mana...
spells no matter what still use the stack (which is why u can counter the rituals for dstorm)...
on the other hand, mana abilities (tap for mana) does not use the stack (lands, elves etc)
ChcGamer
post Jun 2 2010, 05:58 PM

Ngau
1,534 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 2 2010, 03:28 PM)
Here are some things that don’t go on the stack:
• If an ability produces mana, it doesn’t go on the stack. You get the mana
immediately.
(DTA: oooh so dark ritual cannot be countered. my bad. sorry, H@H@)
Σ• Static abilities don’t go on the stack. They “turn on” as soon as the permanent
with the ability comes into play.
• When you play a land, you just put it into play. Land cards aren’t spells, so
they don’t go on the stack.
I thought dark ritual can be countered? It is considered a spell and still goes on the stack

Your bolded part is for ability. Lets say for Llanowar Elves ability which cant be countered

There are cards that can counter ability such as
Instant_noodle
post Jun 2 2010, 06:11 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Jun 2 2010, 05:58 PM)
I thought dark ritual can be countered? It is considered a spell and still goes on the stack

Your bolded part is for ability. Lets say for Llanowar Elves ability which cant be countered

There are cards that can counter ability such as

i liek the pictar, but still prefer the old version

i dun think creature's ability can be countered. effects from creatures like prodigal sorc (1 damage) or hypnotic spectre (random discard) can only be avoided, but not countered

ChcGamer
post Jun 2 2010, 06:19 PM

Ngau
1,534 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 2 2010, 06:11 PM)
i liek the pictar, but still prefer the old version

i dun think creature's ability can be countered. effects from creatures like prodigal sorc (1 damage) or hypnotic spectre (random discard) can only be avoided, but not countered
Is that a new llanowar elf pic? I stopped long time ago lol

Creatures ability can be countered with the card bind i posted above but only if its an activated ability.

Remember pernicious deed which was very famous? Certain people were so afraid of it that they put bind in their sideboard(i started this lol)

In case you dont know, i link here
Instant_noodle
post Jun 2 2010, 06:56 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Jun 2 2010, 06:19 PM)
Is that a new llanowar elf pic? I stopped long time ago lol

Creatures ability can be countered with the card bind i posted above but only if its an activated ability.

Remember pernicious deed which was very famous? Certain people were so afraid of it that they put bind in their sideboard(i started this lol)

In case you dont know, i link here

oddly both links you posted not working... i blame TMNut!!!

oh, ghay card detected
luckily never encountered it in 'Magic the Gathering 2009 Edition' (mentioned by previous poster)

about the prev card you mentioned:
ok, never thought this card being mentioned here

will go home and check steam site to ensure steam release is the actual release from Wiz of Coast (well, they said there's gonna be pc/ ps3 releasing this year), after i had my 3 hours of WoW wink.gif
evofantasy
post Jun 2 2010, 07:05 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

@ instant_noodle
anything other than mana ability/ ability-less lands comes into play uses the stack...
upon going onto the stack, u have the option to continue on adding things onto the stack or pass priority...
if u pass ur priority, the opponent then have the priority to do things (putting things onto the stack)...
only until both player pass the priority, the top of the stack resolves...
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 10:07 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

ooooh i see.
thanks for clarifying!

yeah i was wondering also.
cos i think again, the rule mentioned ability that produces mana.
dark ritual is an instant cast spell, not an ability, so it can be countered! biggrin.gif

but i dun think ppl will go and counter dark ritual, unless he feels like the player is gonna cast something dreadful. O_O
evofantasy
post Jun 2 2010, 10:48 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 2 2010, 10:07 PM)
ooooh i see.
thanks for clarifying!

yeah i was wondering also.
cos i think again, the rule mentioned ability that produces mana.
dark ritual is an instant cast spell, not an ability, so it can be countered! biggrin.gif
but i dun think ppl will go and counter dark ritual, unless he feels like the player is gonna cast something dreadful. O_O
u haven seen dragonstorm decks yet ^.^
those decks were the beast during 2007 season
Instant_noodle
post Jun 4 2010, 09:24 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

checked last nite and found out that is the same one

since i have no cc (becoz i can't entrust myself with such spendable wealth...) and paypal, i might as well wait for either cd or ps3 release... cry.gif
evofantasy
post Jun 4 2010, 09:27 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 4 2010, 09:24 AM)

since i have no cc (becoz i can't entrust myself with such spendable wealth...) and paypal, i might as well wait for either cd or ps3 release...  cry.gif
why not play MTGO?
or the real card itself...
the community is pretty much still alive in msia...
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 4 2010, 09:31 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 4 2010, 09:24 AM)

since i have no cc (becoz i can't entrust myself with such spendable wealth...) and paypal, i might as well wait for either cd or ps3 release...  cry.gif

you can get Edison83 or Deimos to help you buy the game on steam.

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 4 2010, 09:27 AM)
why not play MTGO?

hoho real card manyak mahal yo.
expensive hobby.

evofantasy
post Jun 4 2010, 09:32 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 4 2010, 09:31 AM)
you can get Edison83 or Deimos to help you buy the game on steam.

hoho real card manyak mahal yo.
expensive hobby.
not really...
i earn $$$ from my MTG years..
just that i dun have the time to keep up with it >.<
temptation1314
post Jun 4 2010, 09:38 AM

2,287 posts

might be buying, pre-purchase get 1st expansion for free smile.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 4 2010, 09:57 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

hoho can pre purchased liao.
pre purchase get free 1st expansion oh?

yay buy liao. biggrin.gif
Instant_noodle
post Jun 4 2010, 09:58 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 4 2010, 09:27 AM)
why not play MTGO?

i had limited cards for odyssey/mirrodin (mostly swamps, but got 'kamahl, the pit fighter' off some card vending machine brows.gif ) but it is not enuf to construct a deck, and:

1. no fwen to pway with. most of them were too ah-beng/ ah-lian for techno music rather than sit down and pway this kind of geek-ish/ nerd-ish game.

2. price. earlier years during school time i did stumbled across few unlimited/ 7th edition deck that was too costly for me to get one

3. game mechanics: new keywords like threshold, buyback, flashback, landfall, vigilance etc had me looking to new rules just to understand what are those stuff stand for. sad.gif

last time i went to some shop in sungei wang (aka RL undercity... fukken maze shakehead.gif ) with fwen as 'tour guide', i see whole bunch of peeps there talking strategic and playing... no brainer Y*-G*-*H CCG...

plus i need to feed my addiction.

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 4 2010, 09:57 AM)
hoho can pre purchased liao.
pre purchase get free 1st expansion oh?

yay buy liao. biggrin.gif

srsly, i'm getting buttock-hurted
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 4 2010, 10:03 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

you can pre purchase also one mah. biggrin.gif
definitely can find players to play with. biggrin.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Jun 4 2010, 10:04 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

pre-purchase what?
you guys can play MTGO? I've been trying to run this stupid thing. Can't work.
talexeh
post Jun 4 2010, 10:23 AM

3,100 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jun 4 2010, 10:04 AM)
pre-purchase what?
you guys can play MTGO? I've been trying to run this stupid thing. Can't work.
Look at the title of the thread you're in. doh.gif

MtG: DotP is MTGO but with fewer cards & no deck-building feature. It's a simpler version & cater more towards new & casual players.
temptation1314
post Jun 4 2010, 10:31 AM

2,287 posts

There's already got 2nd Expansion on the game @ Xbox.
So expect more expansion to come with more advance cards.

and no GFWL PLEASE!!! Lol
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 4 2010, 10:33 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

xbox?
fuuuuu omfg yes fxxkk yes no gfwl arghhhhh.

Available: June, 2010
Pre-Purchase Duels of the Planeswalkers

Pre-Purchase now to receive the 1st Expansion for free!
$9.99 USD
Add to Cart

Pre-Purchase Offer

Pre-Purchase Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers and receive Expansion 1 free!

Expansion 1

Take on Magic's iconic dragon Planeswalker Nicol Bolas, one of the new opponents featured in this Duels of the Planeswalker expansion. Plus, three new playable decks; three new unlockable cards for each of the eight original decks, three new puzzling challenges, and new Two-Headed Giant co-op levels. Put your spell-slinging skills to the test and defeat the new single-player campaign to unlock Sarkhan Vol's and Jace Beleren's new Planeswalker decks!
About the Game

The hit strategy game Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers is now available on your PC. Unleash an arsenal of fantastic creatures and devastating spells as you battle your way through a series of iconic Planeswalkers, diabolic puzzles, and online challengers.

Core Game

Available in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish; the Duels of the Planeswalkers core game features eight unique player decks, deck customization with unlocked content, single player and cooperative campaigns, 8 challenges, ranked and unranked online single player and cooperative play, leader boards, and more!

can customize decks la.
Abyssio
post Jun 4 2010, 10:40 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 4 2010, 10:33 AM)
xbox?
can customize decks la.
Customization means you can only add in some unlocked cards only for that particular deck.
talexeh
post Jun 4 2010, 10:42 AM

3,100 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 4 2010, 10:33 AM)
xbox?
can customize decks la.
Not sure if you're "customize deck" = my "deckbuilding". biggrin.gif According to the Steam MtG forum, "Warning: MTG has NO deckbuilder!". unsure.gif

This post has been edited by talexeh: Jun 4 2010, 10:43 AM
temptation1314
post Jun 4 2010, 10:42 AM

2,287 posts

yea, it's only customize, not deck builder.
But then again, as a TCG's player, deck or no deck builder also same la.
Instant_noodle
post Jun 4 2010, 10:47 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

tempting... indeed tempting...

giving there's a choice between u n edison83, mr Deimos... hmm.gif

considered throwing extra condom sample so i can te..

OH WAI-

/lf gurlfwen
temptation1314
post Jun 4 2010, 10:55 AM

2,287 posts

^lulz.

I'm so gonna click PAY NOW.... :S
evofantasy
post Jun 4 2010, 10:56 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 4 2010, 09:58 AM)
i had limited cards for odyssey/mirrodin (mostly swamps, but got 'kamahl, the pit fighter' off some card vending machine brows.gif ) but it is not enuf to construct a deck, and:

1. no fwen to pway with. most of them were too ah-beng/ ah-lian for techno music rather than sit down and pway this kind of geek-ish/ nerd-ish game.

2. price. earlier years during school time i did stumbled across few unlimited/ 7th edition deck that was too costly for me to get one

3. game mechanics: new keywords like threshold, buyback, flashback, landfall, vigilance etc had me looking to new rules just to understand what are those stuff stand for.  sad.gif

last time i went to some shop in sungei wang (aka RL undercity... fukken maze shakehead.gif ) with fwen as 'tour guide', i see whole bunch of peeps there talking strategic and playing... no brainer Y*-G*-*H CCG...

plus i need to feed my addiction.

srsly, i'm getting buttock-hurted
sg wang too mana lalabengs for mtg >.<
most mtg players are in pj/subang area...

and no other tcg currently have events in hotel ballrooms rclxms.gif
Instant_noodle
post Jun 4 2010, 11:09 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 4 2010, 10:56 AM)
sg wang too mana lalabengs for mtg >.<
most mtg players are in pj/subang area...

and no other tcg currently have events in hotel ballrooms  rclxms.gif

2x buttock-hurting experience within 2 hours.

i dun own a car and mostly relied on in-city rail road transportation (star and putra, some extent monorail and LOOOONG waiting KTM). Public transport suxx so bad here that i had to walk becoz i'm too stingy to take a cab a environmental
fwenly dude

do you know that the residential area short cut from Putra station to industrial area (notably a large milk manufacturing workshop) has many wild dawgs?

This post has been edited by Instant_noodle: Jun 4 2010, 11:10 AM
evofantasy
post Jun 4 2010, 11:13 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 4 2010, 11:09 AM)
2x buttock-hurting experience within 2 hours.

i dun own a car and mostly relied on in-city rail road transportation (star and putra, some extent monorail and LOOOONG waiting KTM). Public transport suxx so bad here that i had to walk becoz i'm too stingy to take a cab a environmental
fwenly dude

do you know that the residential area short cut from Putra station to industrial area (notably a large milk manufacturing workshop) has many wild dawgs?
well i only got my car this year...
previously i've been traveling by public transport >.<
Aeon_Clock
post Jun 4 2010, 11:24 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

oh, didn't realize there was a new Magic game for PC. The cards in this game are free unlike MTGO where you have to buy boosters?
alex82
post Jun 4 2010, 11:27 AM

^_^
371 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jun 4 2010, 11:24 AM)
oh, didn't realize there was a new Magic game for PC. The cards in this game are free unlike MTGO where you have to buy boosters?
you prepurchase the game now you get the core game and expansion 1 total about 850 card.

no booster to purchase unlike MTGO
NicJolin
post Jun 4 2010, 11:29 AM

Stop monitoring =)
1,053 posts

Bought the game laugh.gif
Liuism
post Jun 4 2010, 11:31 AM

1,866 posts

hey, i got some old expansion cards since tempest
dowan to keep it already, sell it off maybe?

This post has been edited by Liuism: Jun 4 2010, 11:33 AM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 4 2010, 11:32 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

lol the first post should be edited to reflect the actual new mtg dotp game. not the old one by mps.
alex82
post Jun 4 2010, 11:36 AM

^_^
371 posts

prepurchase now and get blacklotus for free

This post has been edited by alex82: Jun 4 2010, 11:42 AM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 4 2010, 11:38 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

omfg black lotus is old school uber rare artifact card.
Aeon_Clock
post Jun 4 2010, 11:44 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 4 2010, 11:32 AM)
lol the first post should be edited to reflect the actual new mtg dotp game. not the old one by mps.
yep, very misleading. Search returned 1998 game shakehead.gif
Instant_noodle
post Jun 4 2010, 11:44 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 4 2010, 11:32 AM)

i think the old one should be kept since the fan made version supplements much of the missing cards after the support ended. and it's one of memorable game made by microprose

QUOTE(alex82 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:36 AM)
prepurchase now and get blacklotus for fee

is that a real black lotus? drool.gif
alex82
post Jun 4 2010, 11:46 AM

^_^
371 posts

ya real unlimited black lotus
Aeon_Clock
post Jun 4 2010, 11:46 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(alex82 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:27 AM)
you prepurchase the game now you get the core game and expansion 1 total about 850 card.

no booster to purchase unlike  MTGO
very nice. Will definitely get the game and play with you guys biggrin.gif
Instant_noodle
post Jun 4 2010, 02:18 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jun 4 2010, 11:46 AM)
very nice. Will definitely get the game and play with you guys biggrin.gif

ps3? steam?
temptation1314
post Jun 4 2010, 02:25 PM

2,287 posts

^Er, I go start a new thread about this new MTG then.
We leave this thread to it's own old MTG
ChcGamer
post Jun 4 2010, 02:28 PM

Ngau
1,534 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 4 2010, 02:25 PM)
^Er, I go start a new thread about this new MTG then.
We leave this thread to it's own old MTG
Yes, please do cause i'm interested to know more about this new MTG also

Now kinda confused which is which
Aeon_Clock
post Jun 4 2010, 05:18 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 4 2010, 02:18 PM)
ps3? steam?
I'd rather play on Steam smile.gif
I think their community is larger.
leyley
post Jun 9 2010, 10:36 PM

2,096 posts

And its much better choices there
Instant_noodle
post Jun 10 2010, 11:10 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

anyone has new deck skins?

updated mine to include zendikar block but the cards are still in vintage skins sad.gif

0.0348sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:19 AM