CLOSED

sogoatticus
post Feb 16 2008, 05:09 AM

672 posts

guys..going to buy a GT at LYP tomorrow..may i know which is the best among GT?i've known the highest clock were ZOTAC 8800GT AMP and ASUS 8800GT TOP..the ZOTAC got crash prob when play crysis rite?so ASUS TOP good or not?or MSI OC Edition?or any other brand for reccomend?

This post has been edited by sogoatticus: Feb 16 2008, 05:13 AM
sogoatticus
post Feb 17 2008, 12:23 AM

672 posts

bought my Zotac 8800GT AMP! 512MB from ATE for RM899..

tested 3dmark06 at 1280X1024 at default setting n the score 10.6k

improve 1k from my previous gc MSI 8800GTs OC 320mb

any bottleneck?spec as in my sig
sogoatticus
post Feb 17 2008, 03:08 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Feb 17 2008, 11:11 AM)
try to oc your proc. mine can get 12k 3dmark06
bro ur pc spec?

QUOTE(ltcbomd @ Feb 17 2008, 11:29 AM)
So cheap alr... last time i bought (b4 CNY) above RM900...maybe newest card come out very soon???
ya quite cheap among other shops..i surveyed all over LYP and ATE the cheapest..but they sell XFX quite expensive.

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 17 2008, 03:01 PM)
OC is diff case.... without OC his score for both SM shud be slightly higher and reach around 10k for reference clock speed 600/1800... those OC to 700/1900 or 700/2000 shud score way higher like ~11k-12k+ by default without OC

below is the pic where i OC my E6750 and Asus TOP at the same time........ and also where i change my proc to Q6600
so u mean my spec should get around 11-12k score? cry.gif
sogoatticus
post Feb 17 2008, 06:11 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(any1else87 @ Feb 17 2008, 03:51 PM)
sogoatticus, i just bought my zotac 8800gt amp not long ago also. What is the temp of ur GPU core? mind posting the screenshot of hwmonitor?
here is my temp..i just alt tab from dota..if not sure around 54 C..how bout urs?i dont see many ppl using zotac..but it produce tis sound somtimes when i run 3dmark..u got any useful link for this zotac gc?the thg i like this zotac is the cooling...temp very low thumbup.gif
QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 17 2008, 04:35 PM)
actually do u all realize that 3dmark06 score is the total of 3 score which is SM2.0, SM3.0 and CPU score? thats why people always say it is CPU dependant

So SM2.0 and SM3.0 is ur graphic card score and CPU score is ur processor. i dont know about others, but im more interested in SM score since they represent ur GPU capability....

a normal 8800GT shud score roughly 10k, mid factory oc shud be around 11k, and 700mhz core factory OC shud be around 12k.... and remember the score is CPU dependant too.... so u can always try to OC ur processor abit to check whether it is bottlenecking ur GC anot

kindly correct me if im wrong..
ya i think u r correct..ianho can get around 14k coz he use C2Q

This post has been edited by sogoatticus: Feb 17 2008, 06:12 PM
sogoatticus
post Feb 17 2008, 06:38 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Feb 17 2008, 06:34 PM)
mine is a AMD 64X2 5600+ AM2
2G value ram at 667MHz
Zotac GT 512 AMP
3DMark06 result is about 11,300 to 11,900. (fluctuate)

hope this help..

by the way, no OC for processor and GFC
y i got 10.6k? :(my proc ok wat?

This post has been edited by sogoatticus: Feb 17 2008, 06:40 PM
sogoatticus
post Feb 17 2008, 09:48 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Feb 17 2008, 09:29 PM)
oc ur cpu la..
ur cpu can easily reach 3.0ghz stock vcore  biggrin.gif
ya but the temp will be the prob later cry.gif
sogoatticus
post Feb 18 2008, 01:41 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Feb 17 2008, 10:42 PM)
Can what.I take stock HSF to 3.29 on 6550 before.E6550 good example can go pretty high.Stock vcore try 420bus.
ur idle n load temp oced at 3.29?

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 17 2008, 11:48 PM)
u shud play other more 3d intense gaming... dota isnt intense at all.. >_<"..... or try ATItool to see ur load temperature after 30mins of ATItool running scan artifact
owh..how i know u wan my load temp..i tot u wan idle temp..played crysis for around 20 minutes till 68C
sogoatticus
post Feb 18 2008, 03:10 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(longpants @ Feb 18 2008, 03:00 AM)
My 8800 GT TOP is the that looks like this:
(which is also known as the reference version).

Well this is my experience to share with you guys la. Hope so u guys wont be harsh on me - no offense. This is my first time using a so-called high end GC (i know its not the highest of "the high end" YET) since i needed to revamped a new comp. well, I had no prob using the comp until i tried playing hard-core 3d games like Crysis. It hanged so often after playing like 10 or 20 minutes of it. So, i figured out there must be something wrong somewhere. I went to log  my temp using the nvidia software bundle. And guess what, i was surprised that my gc could actually boil an egg for me - 90C. and imagine getting a new comp with a so-called TOP edition GC and still hang. Then i switched to rivatuner to increase my fan speed and had the comp for better air flows with cable management. But I still conclude that the stock cooler seriously s*ck like mad wei.  I couldn't believe at first that nvidia could build such a stupid dumb fan for its GC.

I've seriously thought about getting a 3rd party cooler. But the warranty thingy seriously bangs my mind out of it.
another 88GT TOP user review.. thumbup.gif

lucky i din buy this gc..all shops in lowyat sold out d..dun blame nvidia bro..blame ASUS for the fan and heatsink..
Compared to ZOTAC AMP! heatsink they have ventilation near the fan unlike the ASUS TOP..
The shop seller told me only 3 company approved by nvidia to OC till 700/200 for GTs..eVGA,ZOTAC and forgot the other one..i cant confirmed on this..maybe he lied..
if i were u i use 3rd party cooler..if u keep sending to them for warranty then when u gonna use the card..somore takes weeks after u get back ur card..i cant stand that
sogoatticus
post Feb 18 2008, 01:03 PM

672 posts

does monitor response time can effect the 3dmark score?coz mine 5ms
sogoatticus
post Feb 19 2008, 07:16 AM

672 posts

if sli 8800gt how much power needed?510W enough?
sogoatticus
post Feb 19 2008, 03:11 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(any1else87 @ Feb 19 2008, 11:10 AM)
st56f efficiency is bout 80 plus percent. so roughly bout 450 watt. On high load, i dont think so it will be enuf. If u check the usual configuration on nvidia site, they use at least 650 or 750 to be on the safer site.

Added on February 19, 2008, 11:16 amsogoatticus , ur temp on hwmonitor almost the same like mine. hmm. maybe it's my casing airflow. i need to mod it edy. When u play games like COD4, bioshock, wat is the load temp? mine got up to 66 c , and i think that during gameplay the temp is higher then when u minimize to check temp on hwmonitor. Am i rite?
my casing only cheap powerlogic casing..bad airflow but i use Evercool rocket to blow my gc..it reduce the temp around 2-3C..30 ringgit evercool rocket...come get 1.. thumbup.gif ..my zotac temp max i saw was 68C after straight alt tab from Crysis..come get ur rocket!!! thumbup.gif
sogoatticus
post Feb 19 2008, 04:43 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 19 2008, 04:08 PM)
no problem... but im dont deserve to bcom sifu yet... still alot need to learn from those really expert out there.. tongue.gif

the formula: (DC Output[to hardware]) / (AC Input[from wall]) = Efficiency
how do u measire the DC output power used?any equipment/software?

QUOTE(Cartridgest @ Feb 19 2008, 04:21 PM)
8800GT 1GB ASUS owner here! just bought couple days ago. I also wonder, where can I always check for the latest driver for tis gc? is there any local website? or international?
get from nvidia website ma..

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

choose ur card and OS
sogoatticus
post Feb 20 2008, 03:31 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Feb 20 2008, 01:04 PM)
Wokey...tonight i'll try the ati tool  brows.gif

can anyone tell me the difference between palit normal 8800gt and sonic  hmm.gif
Sonic is the OC version..
650 core
2000 momory
1625 shader

got 1 forummer selling 9600...3rdmark06 13k running on Core2Extreme..hope 88gt price go down so cheaper for me to SLI thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sogoatticus: Feb 20 2008, 03:33 PM
sogoatticus
post Feb 21 2008, 12:24 AM

672 posts

ya fast gc only not enough..need good proc as well
sogoatticus
post Feb 23 2008, 08:35 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(Core_Trace(R) @ Feb 23 2008, 02:07 AM)
yeah...but if sli the 9600gt, it probably can beat my card with that price.....but sli will not happen to me..haha
sli eat a lot of $$$, need nice psu, mobo, stable driver n cooling.

wana ask any ZOTAC 88GT AMP user experienced high pitch noise when running Crysis 3dmark?

sogoatticus
post Feb 24 2008, 02:12 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Feb 23 2008, 09:36 PM)
is it not ur fan noise??
isnt 8800gt fan supposed to be noisy ke?? especially those hsf with the small 65mm fan??
i've read some reviews on the web they also experienced the same.but the noise is not that loud and its not a prob.

and the noise is not from the fan coz i tried stop the fan using my own hand and still the noise occurs
sogoatticus
post Feb 24 2008, 07:04 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Feb 24 2008, 02:35 PM)
is a high pitched noise?? if it is then maybe it's the noise coming from ur mosfets..
if im not mistaken, dfi p965-dark s got the same problem  hmm.gif
its not a problem actually and the noise u can bearly hear it if u using speakers and lotsa fans..

if u running low end graphic game there wont be any noise produced..

just crysis n 3dmark..im not dissapoint or any..jus wurry if my gc only make the sound then i have to send back warranty lor..but seems like most of the ZOTAC AMP! produce the sound..scared if the chip burnt or blow..lol

0.0358sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:56 AM