Was wondering if i changed the CPU to 6000 will it has like.. say....maybe 10% or more difference?
running crysis benchmark only gets about average of 37fps on 800x600 high settings...
CLOSED
Dec 26 2007, 06:34 PM
189 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
hey guys, i was wondering... how much does a CPU affects framerates? I've got Asus 8800GT recently, but I really think my game is not running as fast as i expect. my CPU is AMD X2 4200+, ram is Trancend 2Gig.
Was wondering if i changed the CPU to 6000 will it has like.. say....maybe 10% or more difference? running crysis benchmark only gets about average of 37fps on 800x600 high settings... |
Dec 27 2007, 10:03 PM
Dec 28 2007, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(skymyxe @ Dec 27 2007, 10:10 PM) Using 8800GT as well? My guess is your CPU is bottlenecking your performance. Mind to share your system configuration. erm, CPU: AMD X2 4200+ (think is 2.4Ghz)RAM: 2GB Trancend motherboard: ASUS M2NE i also think that my CPU is the source of the bottleneck... just would like to check with you guys. anyone ran crysis benchmark? the GPU and CPU performance also gave me around 37fps average on high settings @ 800x600 (not very high, the option's disabled for me). think that's a little bit low for this baby ASUS 8800GT 512MB (not TOP). However, not sure if i should use the smartdoctor utility to Overclock it or not, i just set it to use smart hyperdrive thing. forgot the name... and set to CPU. but didn't notice any real difference also. Any idea guys? |
Dec 28 2007, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(skymyxe @ Dec 28 2007, 02:51 PM) lol, never done any overclocking b4... is it safe? hahaha...was thinking of getting a newer CPU after a few months.... quadcore perhaps. anyway, what's the framerate u guys are getting for crysis? the reason i'm asking is i think it's the most demanding games out there at the moment... btw, mine's running dx9... not even dx10... also a puny 37fps... |
Dec 28 2007, 03:05 PM
LOL, the reason i'm using 800x600 is i wanna try to max out the fps i can squeeze outta the card. i dun mind a bit more choppiness around the edge if i can get more fps.... not that i wanna see it in 800x600. my normal threshold is 1024x768
Dec 28 2007, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(skymyxe @ Dec 28 2007, 03:09 PM) 1024x768? I'm running at 1280x1024 with high settings playing COD4 with my 7900GS. S'up with your 8800GT? For sure you need to OC more of your CPU and it's safe la. Provided you know how to do it. lol, never done any OC b4. read up some help online, ppl said go to BIOS, change something like the FSB. like change to a certain number or what? hahaha. sorry, really have no idea. Anyone can enlighten me? i mean, now default is 2.4Ghz... can OC to 3Ghz? i dun wanna get any more extra cooling fan or anything.. just by default. if it's too hot the processor is suppose to cut off power automatically rite? or it'll burnt?? |
Dec 28 2007, 03:40 PM
well, was thinking of probably getting a newer CPU but seeing this link whereby the compare the different CPUs and 8800GT.. it didn't have that much significant difference at all..
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/$...grade/page5.asp should be around 10fps difference... i was hoping for probably 15 - 20fps jump... but then again i can run CoD4 with max settings no prob at 1024x786. probably i SHOULD OC my CPU.... |
Dec 28 2007, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(Breaktru @ Dec 28 2007, 03:40 PM) @Qool , try raising the resolution from 800x600 to 1280x1024 . See how big is the difference . If it's small , then a very big chance your CPU is bottlenecking . hey, u're right. I changed my settings to the one like yours 1440x900/noAA/4xAF/ all high setting and ran the test... surprisingly, the frame rate difference was only 4 - 5 fps... guess it really is my CPU.... I finished Crysis @ 1440x900/noAA/4xAF/ all high setting , benching it I got around 35FPS FYI . damn... gotta OC my CPU. any noob guide to do so for AMD CPU? read up they just require to change the FSB speed and the CPU voltage.. reset pc and that's it... |
Dec 28 2007, 06:59 PM
| Change to: | 0.0437sec