House Renovation - Extension, Drawing by architect needed?
Jul 2 2008, 09:16 AM
1,523 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Puchong... |
my master bed room balcony i want to do it as room space,do i need to submit? |
Jul 16 2008, 11:36 AM
2,110 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
hi anybody know how does the MPSJ standard plan look like ?
i mean the design thanks |
Jul 30 2008, 08:00 PM
914 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
we plan to do renovation, rumah teres extend kitchen onto backyard (break old wall + new wall)[2 weeks work]. Heard from contractor these days DBKL come kacau in the housing area (including wet market) so, should i apply permit & what else? how much it cost? can't find any nfo in dbkl website. thanks sifu
Jul 31 2008, 10:10 AM
14 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Frankly, our local town council and city hall websites are really lacking in information about renovation guidelines.
I've managed to find some home renovation guidelines at the link below. There are for: Dewan Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur (DBKL) Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya (MBPJ) Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya (MPSJ) Majlis Perbandaran Seremban (MPS). MPS's site has the best info... and its in English! http://renoku.com/index.php/local-town-cou...guidelines.html The best way to know for sure what the guidelines are to ask the town council/city hall themselves. Cos if the authorities find anything that is not in accordance with the law, the owner gets into trouble. Not the contractor. And not the folks who posted their advice on the forum. Added on August 1, 2008, 11:11 amFor those who are wondering whether their renovation requires town council approval, here is MPSJ's (Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya) guideline from The Star. Note that other town council's guidelines might differ. MPSJ’s definition of proper building extensions or renovation: * Any demolition work done to the original building * Any extension work done to the original building (enlarging floor area) * Any renovation work done to the internal building layout * Construction of car porch, fencing wall, and waste chamber. * Any other extension or renovation as prescribed in Act 133, Road, Drainage, and Buildings Act 1974 Added on August 1, 2008, 11:13 am QUOTE(skippro @ Jul 30 2008, 08:00 PM) we plan to do renovation, rumah teres extend kitchen onto backyard (break old wall + new wall)[2 weeks work]. Heard from contractor these days DBKL come kacau in the housing area (including wet market) so, should i apply permit & what else? how much it cost? can't find any nfo in dbkl website. thanks sifu Extending kitchen to backyard will need a permit.This post has been edited by finn@renoku: Aug 1 2008, 11:13 AM |
Aug 3 2008, 06:53 PM
any1 know the procedure to acquire permit & costs from DBKL? Really worry as some say its ok but one other contractor suggest i do the new wall first (if kacau'e pay them off RMXX.00) then wait *a while* before hacking the old wall but i want to do it straightaway. how ah? thank u.
Aug 4 2008, 12:22 PM
804 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
please dun do that way
u r taking the risk.... for what? troubling urself on and on? might as well...get advice directly from DBKL go there... approach the officer in charge... ask whatever question u have in mind pertaining ur plan for renovation.... then u will get true picture avoid la this "suap2" thing.... its for your future maaa... suap2 but later....no insurance cover etc...u will get the problem in future... |
Aug 5 2008, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(myhat @ Aug 4 2008, 12:22 PM) please dun do that way ur mistaken, that thing is what the contractor suggested to me, i didnt say i want to kasi suap ler as i do not condone such acts & i am presently seeking to acquire permit. if cost is too high (i.e need architect drawiings), i cannot afford to pay lor. I plan to visit dbkl office, branch can ar? U mention insurance , i don't have home insurance, whats that gotta do with it anyway care to explain ....me newbie & very confused.u r taking the risk.... for what? troubling urself on and on? might as well...get advice directly from DBKL go there... approach the officer in charge... ask whatever question u have in mind pertaining ur plan for renovation.... then u will get true picture avoid la this "suap2" thing.... its for your future maaa... suap2 but later....no insurance cover etc...u will get the problem in future... This post has been edited by skippro: Aug 6 2008, 01:44 AM |
Aug 6 2008, 02:50 PM
804 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
costing wise...depends on how much do u want to renovate your house...
but what i know...standard charges for architect that I've asked so far is approx RM900 per job thats only for his drawing skills other charges involve processing charges (submitting plan and deal with the relevant authorities etc)...mine around RM100 then the charge for renovation area involve in job... this part will differentiate your total cost with others the bigger the sqft involves in your renovation job, the more you need to pay.... and then cost for "tong sampah" for all the debris or rubbish resulted from the renovation job approx RM200-300, depends on the waste disposal company that provide the service... i guess thats all... mine... i think around 350sqft involve in renovation total cost including all the above item i mentioned plus another drawing for RC or what i can't remember...which around RM300 for MPKj - Kajang RM2050..... about that insurance let say u build new structure for your house... additional room or wall... once collapse.... if no legal permit given by relevant authorities for that job... insurance won't cover you for all the damage happen la... thats the connection... This post has been edited by myhat: Aug 6 2008, 02:52 PM |
Sep 4 2008, 03:23 PM
33 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
According to the website in MPSJ, we need a architect to draw a plan. IS THIS A MUST??
my contractor is asking for Rm2.2K, will return us Rm1.3K after everything is done. This is for permit fee and dustbin fee. Is this the usual process? This post has been edited by MayWong: Sep 4 2008, 03:24 PM |
Jul 13 2009, 02:40 PM
520 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Aug 2 2009, 04:07 PM
603 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
for extension of upstairs rooms for a mere 3 feet space, do we need to get approval?
Aug 4 2009, 11:40 AM
28 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
anyone please email me the contact of the draguhtman that can draw the plan and get it approve by MPSJ?
Anyone who have such conatct pls email to jyyoong@yahoo.com |
Aug 4 2009, 12:21 PM
603 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
i was told that if reno more than 15% of the total area, then have to get approval
so if i just extend my room by 2 to 3 feet, no need to get permit |
Aug 4 2009, 02:41 PM
28 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
MPSJ mention to me if you knocked the wall then need to get plan drawed
Aug 5 2009, 02:31 PM
1,475 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Paradise |
QUOTE(jyyoong @ Aug 4 2009, 02:41 PM) if i apply for renovation permit only can ? then do whatever i want.or need to cincai choose 1 plan from them ? how about the tong sampah, it is actually apply from DBKL or contractor will get it ? |
Sep 28 2009, 12:40 PM
42 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Anyone can share the fees (draughstman, MPSJ, etc) involve to extend the backyard with tiled roofing (16 x 10) and just build a wall with a door?
Do you think it's better to use the architects provided by the MPSJ? Thanks! QUOTE(dvinez @ Aug 5 2009, 02:31 PM) |
Jan 20 2010, 11:42 PM
21 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(finn@renoku @ Jul 31 2008, 10:10 AM) Frankly, our local town council and city hall websites are really lacking in information about renovation guidelines. Anyone done extension works in PJ area? Do you have any idea how much it would cost for a standard 5ft kitchen extension? Need some feedback on this....What is the procedure and what documents required.I've managed to find some home renovation guidelines at the link below. There are for: Dewan Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur (DBKL) Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya (MBPJ) Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya (MPSJ) Majlis Perbandaran Seremban (MPS). MPS's site has the best info... and its in English! http://renoku.com/index.php/local-town-cou...guidelines.html The best way to know for sure what the guidelines are to ask the town council/city hall themselves. Cos if the authorities find anything that is not in accordance with the law, the owner gets into trouble. Not the contractor. And not the folks who posted their advice on the forum. Added on August 1, 2008, 11:11 amFor those who are wondering whether their renovation requires town council approval, here is MPSJ's (Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya) guideline from The Star. Note that other town council's guidelines might differ. MPSJ’s definition of proper building extensions or renovation: * Any demolition work done to the original building * Any extension work done to the original building (enlarging floor area) * Any renovation work done to the internal building layout * Construction of car porch, fencing wall, and waste chamber. * Any other extension or renovation as prescribed in Act 133, Road, Drainage, and Buildings Act 1974 Added on August 1, 2008, 11:13 am Extending kitchen to backyard will need a permit. |
Jan 21 2010, 09:13 AM
1,818 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ocu888 @ Jan 20 2010, 11:42 PM) Anyone done extension works in PJ area? Do you have any idea how much it would cost for a standard 5ft kitchen extension? Need some feedback on this....What is the procedure and what documents required. My area is under MPSJ. I paid RM2.5k TOTAL.This is including everything .. until approval -runner fee -alam flora -architect drawing & approval -etc My neighbours paid 3K total. Basically, the whole process should be less than 3k. This post has been edited by zeese: Jan 21 2010, 09:15 AM |
Jan 22 2010, 11:02 AM
5 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Does this approval thing only apply to landed property? or is it required for condominiums too?
Jan 23 2010, 01:58 AM
21 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(Aphroditee @ Jan 22 2010, 11:02 AM) For condo, you would need to get approval from your building management as it would be related to building structure itself. Any changes to the condo structure / wall would eventually would need to be carefully studied.As for house, you need get approval from local majilis. Went to MBPJ today to inquired: Total cost to obtain the permit is Rm1.8k, including 500 for 2 x bins, 350 refundable deposit, 500 for RC plan, etc..etc Anyone done kitchen extension without a permit? What are the cost and impact? |
| Change to: | 0.0171sec
5 queries
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:37 AM |