hi cutegurl,
what position are you applying for at cimb?
woking at CIMB bank
May 7 2008, 12:47 AM
1,504 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
hi cutegurl,
what position are you applying for at cimb? |
May 9 2008, 08:32 AM
hi cutegurl,
it can be both fast and rather slow. do you know how many candidates applying for the same position as you do? and how confidence are you at your first interview? in your own opinion, how the first interview went? how long did it took? why do you consider cimb as your priority? any reason(s)? QUOTE(cutegurl @ May 8 2008, 12:05 AM) Added on May 8, 2008, 12:07 am Im applying IT Vendor management. Do you have any idea how to fasten their process? Actually I ald rejected one MNC just waiting for CIMB response. CIMB still my priority.. Added on May 8, 2008, 12:08 am |
May 9 2008, 01:56 PM
hi cutegurl, unless you know the direct-extension / direct-line of the person to whom you'd like to speak to, it'll be very difficult to get to though their phone lines. you can try calling, but be ready to be given a run-around, as there are lots of roles/people in the hr doing different things altogether. you're one of the 16 there.. i'd say you might have a fighting chance (if anything above 20, you may as well move on). i wouldn't say 45mins is long (it also depends on the position you're applying for). if you can go beyond 1-hr, you chances will be greatly enhanced.. i speak from experience. i can't be absolutely certain that banks pays good kpi-based bonus.. if it's the fund mgmt/investment banking side, there's a higher probability of a high bonus happening, something like 8mths - 12mths bonus. banks are more structured, especially if you're under the retail/consumer side. however, there're other more interesting benefits that you can look forward to.. who in hr do you know? maybe i can lend you a hand? QUOTE(cutegurl @ May 9 2008, 10:30 AM) Hi lwb, Thanks for replying me. I saw 16 candidates under consideration, one of them is myself. About Confidence...50% 50% due to the scope they offer is similar to my job scope now. & I can answer all the quest pretty well. It took about 45 min for the interview session. May I know should I call them to ask my status ? I am really stress working in this company anymore... If Im going to call, will it influence their decision? good or bad.... really desperate.. My consideration : location, industry (bank), bonus (KPI based) not like some company...work like dog also have nothing... at least they pay for your hard work.. Job scope, benefit, prospect. DAPMPBAMCAuto liked this post
May 9 2008, 04:40 PM
hi cutegurl, oh dear, i hope you didn't accidentally pissed off your future departmental peers. even if the person is just an admin assistant, he/she can be a crucial gatekeeper for new staff. one thing that i've noticed, cimb hr seems to have reasonable clout at recommending candidates. so the right person for you to call is not the hiring department pic, but rather call into hr and enquire. be reminded again that their hr can be like a huge maze.. for instance, there can be 5 hr people handling one candidate (can you imagine the confusion?) of course, expansion of profit and reduction of cost, if can be executed both in harmony, are the best mixes any company would like to start off with. but it's always a difficult balance to keep.. just be realistic with your expectation there.. yeah? unless you're used to taking in fat bonuses, it's unlikely anything that'll thrill you (remember, bonuses are also a cost to the company, yes?) where will this position be stationed? which location i mean? for other benefits.. i look for something like 16% epf contribution (not many companies offer this).. and mind you, it's significant to me (at least).. this is to begin with. QUOTE(cutegurl @ May 9 2008, 04:01 PM) Hi lwb. Finally got a CIMBer here... I believe I will be in IT department (Vendor Management) under CIMB Group (IF kena la.. haha). Actually I have called them 2 weeks after my interview, straight to person who interview me, but kena shout... maybe I called at the wrong time (maybe she is busy? or I am annoying ). She said she dunno because she ald passed the info to her superior and HR to filter, she dont how's know how is the process. Thats why I dont know I need to proceed to call again or not, scare they will have bad impression on me. But HR I havent call lo..cos dont know call who also. BTW, mind to share whats the interesting benefits CIMB have? Whats in my mind is like this, department that help company to earn and cut cost probably will get fat bonus by the group, and the position now also looks like fits this criteria, so I choose CIMB lo... DAPMPBAMCAuto liked this post
May 9 2008, 05:59 PM
hi,
from what i gathered so far, you only have one question.. the ultimate question.. "am i the one?" ... the other questions are just axillary (like when and what) well, nobody should stop you from calling anybody in cimb. rhetorically, you can even call the ceo if you have his contact. what i mentioned to you is based on my observation and experience. for example, at my former company, the immediate supervisor has a very significant influence to the hiring candidates and hr just played the admin role. QUOTE(cutegurl @ May 9 2008, 05:36 PM) hpm...so u suggest me to call HR? Will they get annoyed if I keep pushing them ? And one more thing, do they know my status if my application form still in Upper level management 's hand? haha...sorry, too much questions here.....Kinda desperate .. nah, im not used to take fat bonuses, most is 1 month only, maybe still fresh (almost 2 years). I believe I will be station in Masjid Jamek there, hope is with CIMB group/or investment ...haha How about their staff FD rate, loan benefits? |
May 9 2008, 06:40 PM
hi chester,
are you sure about the 16% epf? or was it something like "i heard it from my friend" sort of situation? |
May 9 2008, 11:42 PM
May 15 2008, 11:29 AM
May 15 2008, 09:54 PM
hi cutegurl,
yes, the line can be very difficult to get through (especially during business hours).. i kept the "redial" button handy myself every time i call back then.. you just have to keep trying.. unless i know who's the hr person you spoke to, there's little that i can assist you.. QUOTE(cutegurl @ May 15 2008, 05:58 PM) |
May 21 2008, 09:23 PM
May 24 2008, 04:22 PM
chester is speaking about his level at cimb (e.g the annual leave days, epf%), just that, he's not revealing which location he is situated at..
thus, whatever was mentioned about cimb is not "just that", i'm sure when you're able to move up in the organization hierarchy, your benefits will be enchanced/added alongside with it. |
May 24 2008, 06:38 PM
hi chester,
need your insight/help.. since you did mentioned about reducing balance loan here, is it a monthly reducing balance or annually reducing balance type? does the bank allows pre-payment to your staff loan on top of your regular payment? QUOTE(Chester @ May 9 2008, 06:20 PM) actually if u havent really interviewed by HR, its kinda hard to know the status. so long as the department accepted u, hr shouldnt be of any problem. if up to u whether u wanna bug them or not, or who, bcoz anywhere u go.. u wouldnt know the ppl that you bug will like ur bug or not, some good some bad ppl out there, we just wouldnt noe. and for 16% epf.. no more lor under cimb ppl get 12%, 16 for those old staff oni as of now. fd rate u got +1%, conventional acc also +1%, loan is 4% on reducing balance(after calc its roughly 2.1%) |
May 26 2008, 12:56 AM
hi chester,
thanks for the pointer.. but wouldn't it be better to enquire from the branch/loan officer instead? i'm sure they can explain better regarding staff loan better than hr? (pardon my pun, but some hr has retorted to just admin role) a month waiting for processing is definitely worth the wait, considering the amount you can save/leverage here. at least you can put good capital to work harder.. i understand that you guys get additional 1% for deposits, how about foreign currency fd? are you guys given additional percentage or a waiver to the bid-ask spread (or the buy-sell difference)? QUOTE(Chester @ May 25 2008, 01:02 AM) for housing loan im not really sure but for car loan, if u ask hr they will say 4%. they wouldnt bother telling u its reducing balance. till when i want to buy a car, someone told me it must be reducing balance. upon checking with hr, i asked them to calc for me for the amt that i wanted to borrow and amt that i need to pay, i calculated its roughly 2.1% interest rate (after u take in the reducing balance). i dont bother taking loan from the bank anyway coz the process takes up to a month. i just drop by PBB and get everything done in a day |
May 26 2008, 01:01 AM
hi manglersji,
a staff loan is a benefit that falls within the purview of working in a bank, in this context, cimb.. am i right to say? nice to know that you work in cimb, which part of the bank do you represent? retail? islamic? or the group? QUOTE(manglersji @ May 25 2008, 01:48 PM) |
May 26 2008, 01:06 AM
hi thetraffic,
it's one thing about the long hours, but it's totally another thing about one capability to contribute in those grueling hours.. if you're dead serious about going into this field and able to swim along with it.. you might want to make it your own due diligence to read up about such role from more credible sources rather than just a "one-liner question" hearsay is as good as what you would like to believe in.. preparation is what puts you into better position. QUOTE(TheTraffic @ May 25 2008, 07:31 PM) |
May 28 2008, 09:28 PM
hi aa1985,
yeah, branch environment is never easy.. you have ridiculous targets to achieve and tight budgets to run the show.. the situation can be so tense, until alot of branch managers actually bail out.. which branch are you at? QUOTE(aa1985 @ May 26 2008, 08:30 PM) |
May 28 2008, 09:29 PM
May 29 2008, 08:38 PM
how about project optimus as compared to your current situation, which would you prefer?
May 30 2008, 07:47 PM
being p&c is one issue.. but my question is, would you prefer to be in optimus as compared to your situation right now?
Jun 2 2008, 07:07 PM
like he said.. it's p&c, and maybe he knows
| Change to: | 0.0192sec