ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

stephanie0721
post Mar 7 2008, 04:42 PM

88 posts

Hi,i m a new member here.

i m going 2 pursue ACCA course in July.

Hence, i would like 2 know more about ACCA prior 2 becoming a ACCA student.

i hav heard lots of ppl said tat ACCA if the toughest exam as compared wif CPA ,CIMA,CAT and others.

My uncle suggested me to take a degree in accounting course rather than taking ACCA course directly.Upon graduation,i merely have 2 sit for additional 4 or 5 papers in ACCA and get the ACCA cert.

In most ppl's opinion, one needs 2 repeat the whole lesson once u failed one of the papers.is it true?

I wonder if ACCA is indeed the highest standard in accounting?

i chose 2 enrol wif FTMS. To my knowledge,the passing rate of FTMS in among the highest and there are quite some prize winners frequently.
Is it a better choice in comparison wif Sunway which is recognised as a platinum status?

The fees of Sunway is rather expensive. It's 2 far for me as well.

pls giv me some advice.thx a lot =) nod.gif

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Mar 7 2008, 05:08 PM
stephanie0721
post Mar 7 2008, 10:20 PM

88 posts

How will u decide how many papers of ACCA 2 sit in for am exam?

i've heard some of them said tat the maximum is sitting for 4 papers in an exam.

i wonder how 2 ensure tat our lecturers had covered up all the syllabus required in the exam papers and, how should i make a decision 2 sit for 1,2,3,or 4 papers in an exam?

Added on March 7, 2008, 10:24 pmMay i ask, what does OBU mean? Is it a neccesary for us?

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Mar 7 2008, 10:24 PM
stephanie0721
post Mar 9 2008, 09:57 PM

88 posts

May i ask,

is it the sooner u finish the 14-paper exam,the more capable u r?

or it is juz a misunderstanding?

i wonder if there r lots of theory 2 memorise in ACCA? Or it is emphasizes on calculation?

suppose i work hard in studying, is it a certainty 2 pass all the exam ?

thx for the advice given =)

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Mar 9 2008, 10:26 PM
stephanie0721
post Mar 9 2008, 10:31 PM

88 posts

i know pretty well tat ACCA is a rather tough exam.

i was told tat my ncle failed his paper of ACCA in England n came back 2 M'sia. Tat's why i m really uncertain whether i can perform well or not.

Is there always a fixed examination scope for ACCA? Or v need 2 attempt most of the questions based on our personal opinion ot thinking? i mean there is no any materials 4 us 2 study .. To b frank, i hav no confident 2 answer such questions. =(

stephanie0721
post Mar 10 2008, 02:23 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Mar 9 2008, 11:40 PM)
First off,stick to the facts. Ppl were saying equal salary. Who the bloody heck said anything about lower salary? sweat.gif Ppl like you like to blow stuff out of proportion.

Secondly,think long term. Is the starting pay all that matters to you in the world (or at least the working world) As ppl rise up,employers might need them to take professional courses anyways to get certain promotions. You would already have that in hand.

Go do some thinkin or asking around,I'm sure you can find other reasons why we are proud of having ACCA as you put it
P/s : In contrary to post above me,I do think personal opinion is important in exams,well,to a certain extent at least,especially at the professional level. If you're gonna answer everything from the textbook,well,your future employer would be better off buying the textbook than hiring you.
do u mean tat personal opinion is fairly important regardless in our exam or in the future?

By the way,is the textbook u mentioned above = theory?
stephanie0721
post Mar 11 2008, 03:47 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 10 2008, 09:14 PM)
93 for F7.
wa..wat an excellent result u get!!
Congratulations ^ ^

how i wish i can perform as well as u in the furture..

by the way, r there any secrets or remedies 2 share wif us in ur studies?

i admire u indeed~~ thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
stephanie0721
post Mar 12 2008, 06:14 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 11 2008, 07:23 PM)
XD hehe, no secret really, just constant practice, and try to understand the questions the first time it's taught. i don't like to keep doubts, and makes me sleep easier at night knowing that i've known what was taught.

but generally i think it's more due to luck. 93 is quite low for them to award a world prize. Usually hovers around 95-98
ya ya..I have the same feeling with you..

Suppose i dun understand what was taught in the relevant lesson, i wil keep on thinking until the question costs me many sleepless night.

i always believe tat practice mekes perfect.

93 is a tremendously high mark for me..u r so humble nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif
stephanie0721
post Mar 14 2008, 02:59 PM

88 posts

May i ask,

wat does 3-year experience mean?

Is it a necessary for ACCA graduates?
stephanie0721
post Mar 15 2008, 03:32 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(VpIc @ Mar 15 2008, 12:42 AM)
3 years experience means that you need to work in an accounting related job for 3 years.

it is necessary if you are applying for full membership.

if you do not intend to apply, it is not compulsory.
Aren't we already a member of ACCA since we have registerd to sit for ACCA exam?

do u mean tat we can get the relevant experience as long as we work in any sorts of accounting job for 3 years ? as an ordinary account clerk?

Thx ^^

Added on March 15, 2008, 3:33 pm
QUOTE(besaid @ Mar 15 2008, 05:44 AM)
hi,i just finished STPM (Science),but i realise i dont like lab environment a lot.now i am considering to pursue accountancy for my next step.as i have no previous knowledge regarding accountancy,may i know what is it that a person should look for in oneself to be a good accountant?other than the math requirement.
i suppose it is diligence and total determination nod.gif

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Mar 15 2008, 03:33 PM
stephanie0721
post Mar 15 2008, 03:43 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Mar 15 2008, 03:41 PM)
when we register, we are called ACCA Student.. Member is given for people fulfill the 3 yrs experience, Affiliate/trainee is student after they finished ACCA exam..
As long the job is relevant to the PER..then it is called relevant experience.. icon_rolleyes.gif
oo..i c i c..

by the way, wat do u mean by PER?
stephanie0721
post Mar 17 2008, 10:29 PM

88 posts

it seems like majority of students r pursuing ACCA in either TAR or Sunway..

what about Ftms?

is it a reccmended college for ACCA?
stephanie0721
post Mar 20 2008, 12:58 PM

88 posts

May i ask,

which is the best revision course or where is the recommended revision centre for ACCA?

i haven't a clue about Kaplan , Bpp and so on..

is it a certainity tat our lecturers wil guide n assist us till v complete our14-paper exam? I hav been reading a business accounting book by Frank Wood commencing Mar n i wonder if it would help me in my future ACCA course hmm.gif hmm.gif

anyone has ever heard bout tat book?

please enlighten me on this subject.thx nod.gif nod.gif

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Mar 20 2008, 01:10 PM
stephanie0721
post Mar 22 2008, 07:15 PM

88 posts

rather sad..
no ppl replies to my posts sad.gif sad.gif
stephanie0721
post Mar 23 2008, 05:17 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(G[a)
rY,Mar 23 2008, 11:45 AM]Agree.. But generally last time i read the latest version n I think it was well written, good for understanding accounting basic compare to our acca textbook.. So, I will vote that as recommended book also.. smile.gif

i hav been reading the 10th edition( book 1)..i wonder if it is the latest version hmm.gif hmm.gif

i m going to buy Business Accounting 2 in late May..

did u exactly mean that the book wil help me in ACCA?

since it's only contains business accounting rather than other syllabus in ACCA e.g.taxation..

Added on March 23, 2008, 5:21 pm
QUOTE(coolly @ Mar 22 2008, 08:03 PM)
what are u asking about?soli,din have time to go back to read ur post..what u wan to know?
Yeah..thx for ur concern nod.gif nod.gif

i hav several questions..

which is the best revision course or where is the recommended revision centre for ACCA?

i haven't a clue about Kaplan , Bpp and so on..

is it a certainity tat our lecturers wil guide n assist us till v complete our14-paper exam? I hav been reading a business accounting book by Frank Wood commencing Mar n i wonder if it would help me in my future ACCA course

anyone has ever heard bout tat book?

it seems like majority of students r pursuing ACCA in either TAR or Sunway..

what about Ftms?

is it a reccmended college for ACCA?

tat was my posts formerly..

i fully appreciate all ur replies ^ ^

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Mar 23 2008, 05:26 PM
stephanie0721
post Mar 25 2008, 10:31 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(kuntaker @ Mar 25 2008, 09:17 PM)
u only study at Johor or u try to go KL also?^^
RM5500?
for whole course T1 to T10?
at KL only RM 3000+ for whole course excluding ACCA registration , exam fees , yearly subscription fees..
this college really full with professional lecturer..^^
which college is it full wif professional lecturers?
how about Ftms for ACCA?
stephanie0721
post Mar 29 2008, 04:36 PM

88 posts

May i ask, which is the best revision centre for ACCA?

what is the most common way for ACCA student to decide how many papers to take per sitting?

appreciate ur replies ^ ^
stephanie0721
post Mar 31 2008, 03:56 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Mar 29 2008, 07:33 PM)
Depend on what paper you take, cos difference college got difference good lecturer. But most of the student will go Kasturi or Mc Orange. So wat paper you plan to take this coming sitting?

For how many take per sitting, it is depend on yourself. Some student very smart, even work full time also can take 4 paper per sitting. Some student feel that very difficult, then only take 1 or 2 paper per sitting.

May be if you study full time, I prefer you try 3 or 4 paper lah. But if you part time student, I prefer you better take 1 or 2 paper per sitting.
i appreciate ur reply ^^

Is Kasturi and Mc Orange a recommended revision centre? Where is Mc Orange located?

err..actually i only start my ACCA course in the 1st of July.I m going to study full-time,so u wil encourage me to take 3-4 papers per sitting?
May i know the reasons please?

Thx nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

Added on March 31, 2008, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(happie @ Mar 29 2008, 09:28 PM)
Taking 4 papers in one sitting is very hard. Your time management is very important. I think 3 papers/sitting should be alright..
3 papers per sitting, then we wil b able to complete ACCA course within 2 and a half years rite?

Added on March 31, 2008, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(c2v4l @ Mar 29 2008, 10:20 PM)
Went to FTMS and MCO today. Most likely I'm going to start my ACCA studies there. Will start this July.

Anyways, I went there and I was told that there will be a preview for ACCA at 12. I went to MCO and came back exactly 12 and then she said it just over. I dont think its really important but I kinda pissed since I was rushing to find MCO and then coming back again.
r u going to b a student of FTMS? ^^

Added on March 31, 2008, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(Joel718 @ Mar 31 2008, 12:06 PM)
u noe y they can produce so many brights d la???
other colleges oso produce a lot of prize winners, but they do not advertise as widely as sunway ba liao...
hehe... brows.gif  brows.gif

Added on March 31, 2008, 12:17 pm

may i know which r the colleges that provide prize winners too?
Thx ^^

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Mar 31 2008, 04:11 PM
stephanie0721
post Mar 31 2008, 08:56 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Mar 31 2008, 04:40 PM)
Most of the student in KL will go Kasturi or Mc Orange, except for some paper. For eg, P6 - Advanced Taxation, student will go to SEGi if Kwai Fatt run the class.

So I think it is a good recommendation for you lah!

Mc Orange is near to Muzium Telekom, KL.

I'm encourage you take 3 - 4 paper b'cos you as full time student got more time to study. If you really feel hard to hadden, then go for 3 paper lo! You better finish as fast as possible as you study full time.

thx for ur information^^

i wonder y it's better for me to finish as soon as i can?

err,

how can we know that which lecturer is running a revision class?

Mmm..i wil b studying in Ftms. If i remember aright, there r also revisions provided there before exam.But i dunno whether it's true onot.

Is it enough for me to attend revision class at my own college?

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Mar 31 2008, 08:58 PM
stephanie0721
post Apr 1 2008, 02:40 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Apr 1 2008, 12:43 AM)
For which lecturer running a revision, you need to refer to your college. For June exam, normally the time table for revision class will out around March-April. For Dec exam, the time table for revision class will out around Sept-Oct.

June exam - Lecturer will run the revision class in May, Dec exam - Lecturer will run the revision class in Nov.

For attend revision class at own college, also depend on yourself. Some of the ppl feel that their lecturer unable to give them good exam technique, so they will choose other college to attend la!

My advise was you try your own college lecturer at normal class and thinking can him/her give you a sufficent study material for exam. If not, then try difference lecturer at other college la!

Lastly, what paper you planning to take in next coming sitting (June or Dec), so may be I can give you some recommendation for the lecturer.
i c..

err.. i onli start my ACCA course in July~hee

Mayb i wil seek information from u in the future~ good lecturers, exam techniques n so on~

ya ya~everything depends on individual~

Anyway, thx for ur reply ^^

Added on April 1, 2008, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(z3171600 @ Apr 1 2008, 01:44 AM)
You're going to start in Part1 ACCA? Same as me. Im also planning to study in FTMS this coming July. Currently looking for places to stay (room for rent) as i live outside KL.

Well, If you're doing Part1, I dont think you have to worry too much about getting the best lecturer. Once you get to difficult paper (part2 onwards) If you're not satisfied with ur previous college/lecturer you can always change to other lecturer classes. As carlosandy said that all these colleges is within 10-15 mins from each other.
uMmm..

i m same as u~ studying in Ftms in this coming July~ nice to meet u ^^

This post has been edited by stephanie0721: Apr 1 2008, 02:46 PM
stephanie0721
post Apr 1 2008, 03:00 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Little_Angel87 @ Apr 1 2008, 02:48 PM)
i m stpm students.. no acc basic..
better go for CAT 1st or juz go to acca part 1??
any suggestion?
err..

suppose i hav the same problem as u, i wil prefer taking up ACCA course directly since the part one is a foundation.

i hav once asked my dad," should i study CAT ?" and he replied tat it is merely a waste of money n time.

Mmm..juz some suggestion ^^

the final decision depends on u ! nod.gif nod.gif

0.0537sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:47 AM