2,800 posts

the new narnia movie trailer is out .

checkit out biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by rhoyo: May 3 2008, 09:46 PM
Christopher_LKL
post Dec 7 2007, 02:44 PM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,399 posts

wow, this narnia is indeed a good movie smile.gif looking forward to this new movie hehe
alexio
post Dec 7 2007, 03:22 PM

197 posts

Hey, thanks for the info.
Now can email this trailer to my fren.
ch@ich@i
post Dec 7 2007, 03:45 PM

330 posts

is this Narnia cont from the previous Narnia...
any relation...??
coz i saw diff actors were being acted xcept the lion...
btw it seems much more interesting than the previous movie...
Neiji
post Dec 7 2007, 06:11 PM

183 posts

It seems quite interesting from the trailer.....I remember last time narnia trailer also quite interesting but in the end,ends up with a huge disappointment!!!
Polar_012
post Dec 7 2007, 06:16 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(ch@ich@i @ Dec 7 2007, 03:45 PM)
any relation...??
The kids are the same no?
ccm123
post Dec 7 2007, 08:30 PM

579 posts

Hmm, the trailer seems quite promising.. will be looking forward for this movie biggrin.gif

oucheev
post Dec 7 2007, 10:20 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(Neiji @ Dec 7 2007, 06:11 PM)
It seems quite interesting from the trailer.....I remember last time narnia trailer also quite interesting but in the end,ends up with a huge disappointment!!!
Thats because everyone thought its going to be another LOTR. Just like Golden Compass. Anyway Prince Caspian is one of the darker stories in Chronicles of Narnia. Should be more action packed.
wayne_chen
post Dec 7 2007, 10:40 PM

HELL IS ABOUT TIME
2,150 posts

Hope tis episod will have more n more surprise than last episod...
karmakid
post Dec 10 2007, 04:04 PM

2,598 posts

narnia 1 is a good movie..not bad, but not the top notch either....

well, this narnia 2 movie looks far more darker and intense compare to the first one..hehe..must watch alridi...
Klesk
post Dec 10 2007, 04:35 PM

3,469 posts

oh gawd not another fantasy movie...
choyster
post Dec 10 2007, 08:25 PM

1,802 posts

looks like LOtr le
oucheev
post Dec 10 2007, 09:05 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Dec 10 2007, 08:25 PM)
looks like LOtr le
Please don't compare Narnia to Lotr. Narnia is a children's book whereas Lotr even though is aimed at young adult is much more heavier and complicated. Its the curse of Lotr. Every fantasy movie that come out, people compare it to Lotr. Why no battle scenes? Why no elves or dwarft? etc. I am a big fan on Lotr but Narnia is a different type of movie. I you want an action pack with lots of war scenes, Narnia definately is not.
mr mad
post Dec 10 2007, 09:17 PM

113 posts

no offence to any hardcore Narnia fans
I found that in the first movie, the acting was absolutely awful
At sometimes , i thought that the actors and actress were smiling all the time . doh.gif
Juz my opinion though icon_rolleyes.gif
-Adrian-
post Dec 10 2007, 11:21 PM

826 posts

its a child's show wat to expect XD

hola Raaj
jbb_lkh
post Dec 12 2007, 12:19 AM

452 posts

any relation...??
There is a relation between all 7 books & movies. If you're reading the books according to publication dates, then you'll get a flashback feeling at the end of 7th book (which in other words, that is what Andrew Adamson is trying to do.)

But if you're going to read it by the Author's choice, then you'll get from Head to Toe's reading... very normal.

It all depends on how you're connected to all 7 of these stories, all different books has different outcomes/feelings towards different individuals.
Interesting though... have a read...

This post has been edited by jbb_lkh: Dec 12 2007, 12:20 AM
TSrhoyo
post May 3 2008, 09:48 PM

-
2,800 posts

another two weeks and its time for narnia

skysherly
post May 4 2008, 09:49 AM

1,764 posts

Looking forward to it, seriously I love the lion so much, how I wish I can have it tongue.gif
chibi_tenko
post May 4 2008, 05:10 PM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

any relation...??
I read the book in chronological order last time when I was a teen. (refer to below). Of all the stories, I personally like Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

1. The Magician's Nephew
2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
3. The Horse and His Boy
4. Prince Caspian
5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
6. The Silver Chair
7. The Last Battle

I also agree with mr mad that the acting in the first movie leaves much to be desired but I hope they'll improve their actings this time round. The Stone Tablet scene was supposed to be very dramatic but Lucy's acting kinda spoil the effect a little. wink.gif
seydee
post May 5 2008, 11:10 AM

685 posts

If you want to enjoy the show, leave the LOTR expectation behind. Narnia is never meant to compare with LOTR. I did the mistake in the first Narnia, dropp off the LOTR when watching Golden compass and it works.....at least I enjoy the movie.
oucheev
post May 5 2008, 01:30 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(seydee @ May 5 2008, 11:10 AM)
If you want to enjoy the show, leave the LOTR expectation behind. Narnia is never meant to compare with LOTR. I did the mistake in the first Narnia, dropp off the LOTR when watching Golden compass and it works.....at least I enjoy the movie.
Unfortunately, most Malaysian thinks all fantasy movies should be like LOTR. They think all fantasy movies should have war and action scenes like LOTR.

Glad that you find Golden Compass OK and not as bad as everyone thinks. Unfortunately I don't think you'll get to see a sequel because of the bad American box office of GC.
maximus85
post May 6 2008, 10:57 AM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

a sequel is always possible if not in 2-3years time.... just that different director on the helm
nicole411
post May 14 2008, 06:52 PM

I watch the premier ytd nite in 1U....u guys better dun waste ur money on this stupid movie...I fallen asleep yawn.gif during the show...absolutely boring..no doubt the trailer is nice..but when comes 2 the movie...OMG sweat.gif
chibi_tenko
post May 14 2008, 10:16 PM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(nicole411 @ May 14 2008, 06:52 PM)
I watch the premier ytd nite in 1U....u guys better dun waste ur money on this stupid movie...I fallen asleep yawn.gif  during the show...absolutely boring..no doubt the trailer is nice..but when comes 2 the movie...OMG sweat.gif
Ok..to make things simpler - was it better than the first movie, similar or worse? sweat.gif
speedy
post May 14 2008, 10:52 PM

77 posts

I watch the premier ytd nite in 1U....u guys better dun waste ur money on this stupid movie...I fallen asleep yawn.gif  during the show...absolutely boring..no doubt the trailer is nice..but when comes 2 the movie...OMG sweat.gif
R u sure its not good??If it is so,thanks for sharing as i planned to watch d...But the trailer looks nice..Haha

Polaris
post May 15 2008, 05:08 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Me gonna catch this movie coz nothing else interesting is showing at the moment
zergg
post May 15 2008, 09:39 AM

383 posts

seriously its very awful ar?
im planning of watching this second movie since i wanna compensate the profoundly creepy scenes on he first movie..
kenny1807
post May 15 2008, 11:19 AM

164 posts

c the trailer quite nice
SUSvkeong
post May 15 2008, 11:47 AM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

this is somewhat expected.. recently some movies' trailers are well done but that's all about it.. the movie itself sucks.. the first Narnia.. the kids can't act..

i am still hesitating whether to watch it this weekend.. as polaris said there's no other worth watching movies available..
maximus85
post May 15 2008, 11:54 AM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

no other worthy movies until next week Indy4 drool.gif

so.... i'm still gonna watch it anyway...... biggrin.gif
lin00b
post May 15 2008, 08:05 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

just watch it.

i think its better than the 1st, although my memory of the 1st is rather fuzzy.

acting is below average but i think have improvement from the 1st (but like i say, memory fuzzy)
fight scene is sometimes good, sometimes not so good
direction is a mixed bag - some scenes worked, some dont
less talking animals
the mouseketeers are win.
the villian is fail.
i like the religious undertones, even though i'm not religious, i'm open minded enough
the battles are definately not epic, but can get the feel of a last stand.

that more or less it; my ratings 6/10 (for reference lotr1 is 9, lotr2 is 8.5, lotr3 is 8, lotr(book) is 9.25)
oucheev
post May 15 2008, 09:14 PM

433 posts

Just came back from watching it and find it better than the first movie. Most people forgets that Narnia is a "CHILDREN'S" book. So don't expect it to be the next LOTR and don't compare it to LOTR and you could enjoy it better. But if your choice of movie is kick ass action movies such as Iron Man, I think you should save your money and watch Iron Man again instead or watch Indy 4. For me, I enjoyed it because I find the directing this time is more tight and they tone down the religious part alot. Still its a children's movie and the action is geared towards children so don't expect limbs flying or blood splattering all over the place "ala Braveheart". Still I was shock that there were a beheading scene. I feel that this time the directors really changed the tone of the movie alot and tried to make it more grown up which I think they have succeeded. For me I give it a 7/10 and I think its one of the better children's book adaption for along time and it better than the last Harry Potter.
icypetals
post May 15 2008, 10:09 PM

324 posts

86% on rottentomato. wtf
Cheesenium
post May 15 2008, 10:32 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Definitely not watching this.Cant stand fantasy movies without epic war scene.

The first one was complete rubbish for me.
gs20
post May 15 2008, 11:12 PM

1,685 posts

Look like LOTR style, but with the Snow White feeling. Definitely a big No-no (ok, probably for time killing)
hoax
post May 15 2008, 11:15 PM

72 posts

better than the first one i guess...and it's a long show...
Reae
post May 15 2008, 11:54 PM

119 posts

i watched it.
and i personally think its better than the first movie.
u haf to accept that its a children's movie tongue.gif
if not. u will be dspointed.
like i did on the first movie.
although i didnt really like narnia.
but i thought i would just haf a go for this 1.
yup. no other better movie atm.
anyway. its gud and better than the first.
but u wont want to watch for the 2nd time for a looooong time. tongue.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post May 16 2008, 04:12 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

it is LOTR for kids .
enough said .

well , i enjoyed the show .
bonzaimy
post May 16 2008, 04:17 AM

1,009 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif i watched it yesterday..ist show at alamnda putrajaya..wow..impressing.Its better than the 1st one and mre thrill la...worth every penny u spend for the ticket rclxms.gif
fruitie
post May 16 2008, 06:14 AM

Rise and Shine
72,847 posts

Watched it just now, nice movie and worth for my spent RM 9. laugh.gif thumbup.gif
chibi_tenko
post May 16 2008, 06:50 AM

1,250 posts

I agree that it's not fair to compare LOTR with Narnia. The former's targeted at adults while the latter's targetted at children.

However, I was kinda disappointed with the first movie because of the horrible acting that leaves much to be desired. If the 2nd movie is an improvement of the first, I might consider watching it at the cinema.
greyshadow
post May 16 2008, 09:30 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

why the hell almost everyone is comparing Narnia to LOTR ever since the first Narnia movie?
maybe the only similar thing between both of them are fantasy themed, but please don't forget LOTR is targeting adults while Narnia are based on children's book!

whoever stupid enough to expect LOTR style while watching it 10000% will be disappointed.

sinoffire
post May 16 2008, 11:07 AM

3,557 posts

watched it last nite....abit tad dissapointed with it...not as 'grand' and interesting as the 1st epi......well, just my 2 cents.
SUSFlizzardo
post May 16 2008, 11:24 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

POOR'S MAN LOTR BOOHOO
lin00b
post May 16 2008, 03:09 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

there is a beheading scene? didnt remember that - who got beheaded?

i'm only comparing to LotR cause its the most recent remotely comparable movie i know (didnt watch hp or compass)

or maybe this is better? narnia2 = 6/10 ; stardust 9/10? and maybe narnia1 = 5.5/10.

i am not looking for any huge 1000000+ cgi battle, but the feeling of an good fight. example, the ending worked (except for the river attack), the night attack didnt for me (except at the retreat part) - weird taste huh?
harnsheng
post May 16 2008, 04:08 PM

249 posts

anyone knows the name of the song played at the finishing part? like a little girl singing slowly one..
icypetals
post May 16 2008, 04:35 PM

324 posts

we nd to compare it to somethig ma.
if u compare the war scence with lotr, then....................noting can be said
jch
post May 16 2008, 07:36 PM

Stupid Luffy
545 posts

Just come back from watch this movie..
the movie was nice. Just i dont really understand about the story line..
maybe i hv to watch back narnia ep 1 then i can understand.. tongue.gif
ragereaver
post May 16 2008, 08:16 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ May 16 2008, 03:09 PM)
there is a beheading scene? didnt remember that - who got beheaded?

i'm only comparing to LotR cause its the most recent remotely comparable movie i know (didnt watch hp or compass)

or maybe this is better? narnia2 = 6/10 ; stardust 9/10? and maybe narnia1 = 5.5/10.

i am not looking for any huge 1000000+ cgi battle, but the feeling of an good fight. example, the ending worked (except for the river attack), the night attack didnt for me (except at the retreat part) - weird taste huh?
there is a beheading scene. if i'm not mistaken its the general... forgotten the name already. peter did the beheading after his duel with lord miraz.

This post has been edited by ragereaver: May 16 2008, 08:17 PM
chibi_tenko
post May 16 2008, 10:11 PM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(jch @ May 16 2008, 07:36 PM)
Just come back from watch this movie..
the movie was nice. Just i dont really understand about the story line..
maybe i hv to watch back narnia ep 1 then i can understand.. tongue.gif
Most of the stories in The Chronicles of Narnia are something like a stand-alone story with references to each other or the characters, etc. It's not something like... say Lord of The Ring where the story continues on from one movie to another.

The only main thing that connects the Narnia stories is Aslan. The rest goes back and forth in time and the characters that the kids meet are not the same ones that they met in the first movie/story. Judging from the online reviews that they wrote, I bet they must've cut off quite a lot of Caspian's story and straight-away casts him as 'Prince' Caspian..
Cheesenium
post May 16 2008, 10:26 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ May 16 2008, 04:12 AM)
it is LOTR for kids .
enough said .

well , i enjoyed the show .
Yeah,LOTR for kids.
Mage
post May 16 2008, 10:43 PM

20 posts

For me, they tried to make the movie sound philosophical but failed badly doh.gif I don't like how they made the epic scenes too. Yeah, maybe it just caters especially to 12 year olds
oucheev
post May 16 2008, 11:31 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ May 16 2008, 10:11 PM)
Most of the stories in The Chronicles of Narnia are something like a stand-alone story with references to each other or the characters, etc. It's not something like... say Lord of The Ring where the story continues on from one movie to another.

The only main thing that connects the Narnia stories is Aslan. The rest goes back and forth in time and the characters that the kids meet are not the same ones that they met in the first movie/story. Judging from the online reviews that they wrote, I bet they must've cut off quite a lot of Caspian's story and straight-away casts him as 'Prince' Caspian..
I think they did not cut a lot from the books. The book is quite short and its written in very simple to understand English and is targeted at kids. In fact, the battles are not really much described in the book and the directors have taken their liberty and added a lot more of action. Heck, they even made Susan into a female Legolas whereas in the books girls are not supposed to fight (some people says C.S. Lewis was a sexist especially if you take into account what happened at Susan at the last book).

If they are going to make another movie, a lot of people will be more disappointed because the most action packed book in Chronicles of Narnia was Prince Caspian. The next few books are more about exploration and discovering strange new places.
maximus85
post May 17 2008, 01:06 AM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

just watched it...

i would say its alot lot better than the first one...

more actions and less crap dramatic bullshit scenes......

but anyhow....the actings are still sucks in this one....

i would say its a fairly good movie..... the end battle scene is definitely better than the first one........coz its less army vs larger army and the underground strategy is pretty much unexpected.....
aoibhealFae
post May 17 2008, 07:37 AM

224 posts

I watch it yesterday. I dont care much whether it follows the book since I'm not that purist (look at what happen to Harry Potter? duh)

I love the movie, its a good entertainment, perhaps, sorely because Caspian is very much a king in shining armor. ahaha.. I got a crush on him too.. his hair looks a bit like my magician in Granado Espada... lol

Somehow, the movie makes me inspired to make a similar version of the movie's Susan/Caspian coupling. Some I was in a writing mood again. haha... It was very cute, but I think it will receive the same bashing as for Liv Tyler's Arwen's screen time in LOTR. (C.S.Lewis and Tolkien are both friends and both seems to be sexist to adult woman anyway)

Somehow it resemble Fantaghiro from the first scene... lol
dokidoki
post May 17 2008, 11:52 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(ragereaver @ May 16 2008, 08:16 PM)
there is a beheading scene. if i'm not mistaken its the general... forgotten the name already. peter did the beheading after his duel with lord miraz.
u mean in book or in the movie?...i just watch the movie ytday but the scene is not as what u said~..

overall i will rate this movie 7.5/10!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
oucheev
post May 17 2008, 12:25 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 17 2008, 11:52 AM)
u mean in book or in the movie?...i just watch the movie ytday but the scene is not as what u said~..

overall i will rate this movie 7.5/10!! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
If I am not mistaken, the beheading scene was right after King Miraz was killed and one of the soldiers/bodyguard attacked Peter. The beheading was not very obvious because it just showed the heargear/mask fell to the ground with no blood. Its a split second scene because after all this film is geared towards kids.
dokidoki
post May 17 2008, 03:32 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(oucheev @ May 17 2008, 12:25 PM)
If I am not mistaken, the beheading scene was right after King Miraz was killed and one of the soldiers/bodyguard attacked Peter. The beheading was not very obvious because it just showed the heargear/mask fell to the ground with no blood. Its a split second scene because after all this film is geared towards kids.
u already say it...it's the headgear drop on the ground laugh.gif
norazwan79
post May 17 2008, 06:13 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

4/5
dokidoki
post May 18 2008, 12:28 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(harnsheng @ May 16 2008, 04:08 PM)
anyone knows the name of the song played at the finishing part? like a little girl singing slowly one..

shd be this song regina spektor - the call rclxms.gif
SUSvkeong
post May 18 2008, 01:44 AM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ May 15 2008, 11:47 AM)
this is somewhat expected.. recently some movies' trailers are well done but that's all about it.. the movie itself sucks.. the first Narnia.. the kids can't act..

i am still hesitating whether to watch it this weekend.. as polaris said there's no other worth watching movies available..
i take back what i said about prince caspian.. just watched it just now at TGV KLCC

it was nice from start till finish.. straight to the action.. the kids' acting have improved.. more fightings and this time it's better done than narnia 1. Even the fighting scenes have become more watchable.. not so kiddy smile.gif

The effects are done nicely.. especially when the white witch comes out.. when the trees attack the catapults.. and when the river god comes out.. fuyoh damn nice

I recommend this movie.. RM11 well spent
dokidoki
post May 18 2008, 02:20 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ May 18 2008, 01:44 AM)
i take back what i said about prince caspian.. just watched it just now at TGV KLCC

it was nice from start till finish.. straight to the action.. the kids' acting have improved.. more fightings and this time it's better done than narnia 1. Even the fighting scenes have become more watchable.. not so kiddy smile.gif

The effects are done nicely.. especially when the white witch comes out.. when the trees attack the catapults.. and when the river god comes out.. fuyoh damn nice

I recommend this movie.. RM11 well spent
haha...i spent rm12.5 le...for the middle seat in the cinema tongue.gif
cyew86
post May 18 2008, 03:22 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

i spent rm7, in 1U, upper middle seat smile.gif 7/10 from me, thumbs up for action, and above average storyline, but thumbs down for the almost none character development (except for Prince Caspian himself) and the plots that made no sense, maybe someone can enlighten me?

Reimao
post May 18 2008, 04:41 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

Watched it on Saturday nite and it was quite good to be honest..Although it lacked the fantastical-magical-enchanting image or feel which the 1st one successfully provided, the 2nd one is stillway better than the 1st one..

The movie did at points fail to connect the scenes and at times seemed out of sort, but it still managed to entertain the audience with its good storyline and plot with great visualization..The action part although not ala-LOTR ( obviously) it did managed to have its own style and clearly justified it as a much better sequel with better action/war scene..

Loved the Bear..kept on appearing towards the end of the movie..So cute and funny..However there are parts where i dun really understand such as what does it mean by da 2elder siblings are not coming to Narnia anymore?how about when the ppl cross thru da tree?is it like a metaphor to show that they embrace the religion?
harnsheng
post May 18 2008, 10:14 AM

249 posts

The call? i cant find in on Limewire... anyone has the song? tq
dokidoki
post May 18 2008, 12:22 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(harnsheng @ May 18 2008, 10:14 AM)
The call? i cant find in on Limewire... anyone has the song? tq
go buy OST la tongue.gif dun request illegal stuff here..will get warn~
norazwan79
post May 18 2008, 02:29 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

if u see the torchlight, automatically u will remember this movie. tongue.gif
catzlean
post May 18 2008, 05:59 PM

102 posts

i watched it last night, it was nice nice...i am impress with the story line, the battle scene and the mouse is so so so cute haha, he reminds me of cat in the puss ( shrek )... this is a movie that cant be miss...
SUScastelloz
post May 18 2008, 07:19 PM

181 posts

Ive watched it just now. Aih.
I give it 2.5 out of 5.
Dont waste ur money on this movie.
yaphong
post May 18 2008, 07:21 PM

659 posts

For some reason I don't really like this movie.
Hahaha, I don't really like the story plus I am totally against children taking up weapons.

Not bad but not good either. It is like 5/10
defaultname365
post May 18 2008, 09:29 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

64% on Metacritic, which is 'generally favorable reviews'.

6.8 out of 10 based on votes.

I quote
"...A glorious medieval war movie. It's about war as the ultimate pitch of conflict that tries men's souls, and women's, too..."

70% on RottenTomateos, which is 'fresh'.
I quote
"...Todd McCarthy of Variety felt Adamson's direction had a "surer sense of cinematic values" and praised the improved special effects, the "timeless" locations and production design..."

At least its way better than the horrendous 'Speed Racer'.

Will definitely catch this film soon.
icypetals
post May 18 2008, 11:29 PM

324 posts

the show was ok.
there werent hot chick.
lucy downblouse when she sat in the tomb in the stone table when she squat down to pick up something.

7/10 from me. it was good. but nothing much to brag about
oucheev
post May 19 2008, 01:28 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(Reimao @ May 18 2008, 04:41 AM)
Watched it on Saturday nite and it was quite good to be honest..Although it lacked the fantastical-magical-enchanting image or feel which the 1st one successfully provided, the 2nd one is stillway better than the 1st one..

The movie did at points fail to connect the scenes and at times seemed out of sort, but it still managed to entertain the audience with its good storyline and plot with great visualization..The action part although not ala-LOTR ( obviously) it did managed to have its own style and clearly justified it as a much better sequel with better action/war scene..

Loved the Bear..kept on appearing towards the end of the movie..So cute and funny..However there are parts where i dun really understand such as what does it mean by da 2elder siblings are not coming to Narnia anymore?how about when the ppl cross thru da tree?is it like a metaphor to show that they embrace the religion?
If you read the book, you'll know that Narnia could have been all been just the kids imagination. Therefore, the 2 older siblings will not be coming back to Narnia because they have reach an age whereby you do not believe in such things anymore and move on to something else. Its like you reach a certain age and do not believe in Santa Clause anymore.

As for the tree, its just a portal into our world. The Telmarines were actually from our world and Aslan just sent them back to our world but not the same timeline as the 4 kids timeline.

Reimao
post May 19 2008, 04:05 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

ah i c...its much clearer now with a proper explanation..I was having few assumptions bout tis movie at 1st but now its settled..

thanx alot for the explanation mate..Btw can u tell me in which scenes did the movie sumhow tried to convey its messages based on Christianity?Since it is a Christian book..
icypetals
post May 19 2008, 10:51 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(Reimao @ May 19 2008, 04:05 AM)
ah i c...its much clearer now with a proper explanation..I was having few assumptions bout tis movie at 1st but now its settled..

thanx alot for the explanation mate..Btw can u tell me in which scenes did the movie sumhow tried to convey its messages based on Christianity?Since it is a Christian book..
son of adam and eve?

LOL obviously
Calvin871989
post May 19 2008, 03:56 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

well i watched it on friday at klcc and what else can i say for this movie non other then the movie itself it a whole lot better then the 1st one and this time it was nice how they fight and stuff you know something like lord of the rings wink.gif
jason991
post May 19 2008, 09:55 PM

is all about the money, money, money
1,189 posts

yup..
the god of the river....those trees..n the catapult is quite similiar to lord of the rings....
but is quite of my expectation tat this movie is quite good...
btw...the trees is totally own with streching its root...^^
kawa_e
post May 20 2008, 12:18 AM

383 posts

watched with my friend today. The second movie improved a lot. It a lot better than I expected. I love the mouse in hat. Haha very cute. There were couple of scenes made me and my friend very touching lol. Overall bravo to sequel. Cant wait for the third rclxms.gif
xavier7
post May 20 2008, 12:22 AM

546 posts

Yes this is the movie you should catch.

Just came back watching it. Better than the 1st one.

Cute animals, battle clashes. Its great.
bomberkenny
post May 20 2008, 12:43 AM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

frankly I don't like this movie.
the title of the movie is Prince Caspian, the posters displayed the prince and Aslan, but these 2 characters are the least important compared to the 4 siblings in the movie. They can fight yeah... but is it logic that these school kids can battle against well trained soldiers?
Again, like most American movies, they love to bring out "miracles" when they are about to lose.... it's quite expected, almost like nuclear bombs in all zombie movies....
not even mention, this time Aslan only shows up in the end. And even when he appears, he had the super powers that he didn't have in the first episode. It's cool to awaken the sleeping trees, but it's not cool to summon water God (and this water God doesn't resembles anyone in the movie, i tot it was resembling Caspian's father but it wasn't).
seriously i was disappointed with their storylines
goldfries
post May 20 2008, 12:53 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

use spoiler la next time.
smacky
post May 20 2008, 12:55 AM

154 posts

i personally don't quite like this movie. cuz first of all, i'm not so into fantasy line, which doesnt really make any sense -.-''
i prefer love fantasy stories, but not all these. maybe its bcuz i din watch the first narnia? i don't know..i don't like those actors/actress.. and don't like that lion either.. dry.gif don't know whats wrong with me, maybe its bcuz of the smal kid keep on jumping in the cinema interrupt my mood, or maybe its bcuz of the malay girl sitting in front of me laughing for nothing.. i don't quite enjoy that movie.. but my sister said its nice cuz she like fantasy stuff..
so its all about self preference laugh.gif
hamsterz
post May 20 2008, 11:24 AM

133 posts

good movie... but Susan Pevensie 1300 years older than Caspian?? WTF? ahaha
SUSFlizzardo
post May 20 2008, 11:52 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ May 20 2008, 12:43 AM)
the title of the movie is Prince Caspian, the posters displayed the prince and Aslan, but these 2 characters are the least important compared to the 4 siblings in the movie. They can fight yeah... but is it logic that these school kids can battle against well trained soldiers?
Again, like most American movies, they love to bring out "miracles" when they are about to lose.... it's quite expected, almost like nuclear bombs in all zombie movies....
not even mention, this time Aslan only shows up in the end. And even when he appears, he had the super powers that he didn't have in the first episode. It's cool to awaken the sleeping trees, but it's not cool to summon water God (and this water God doesn't resembles anyone in the movie, i tot it was resembling Caspian's father but it wasn't).
seriously i was disappointed with their storylines
hmp hello ? the 4 siblings had been living for 1300 years in narnia as kings and queens .. of course they had masterry in combats...
Calvin871989
post May 20 2008, 12:16 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

yeah man this is just the movie. if you want to know how they were living 1300 years till now. i suggest you start reading the book then wink.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: May 20 2008, 12:17 PM
aoibhealFae
post May 20 2008, 01:57 PM

224 posts

they arent 1300 years old... its just a metaphor that Susan used to make out like you've fallen for a great-grandmother. And its just an additional scene.

Anyway, The movie didn't satisfies me with the question on how could an adult (they reign in Narnia for years right?) and become a kid again and not been affected by it. (Well.. the early scenes are the director's impressions on differentiating Peter's level of maturity compared to Edmund's. And they do it splendidly anyway.. but not that subtle) However, I like the story more if Lewis question the inner battle of a woman trapped in a little girl's body... like Anne Rice did

haha... I guess, it might not sound like a children's story anymore...

This post has been edited by aoibhealFae: May 20 2008, 02:01 PM
The Rated R Superstar
post May 21 2008, 01:51 AM

125 posts

The movie is quite nice i think .. really lived up to the previous one ..in fact this wan have actually set a new height for the narnia movies ...
smacky
post May 21 2008, 04:27 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(hamsterz @ May 20 2008, 11:24 AM)
good movie... but Susan Pevensie 1300 years older than Caspian?? WTF? ahaha
XD she pretty or not?
bomberkenny
post May 21 2008, 09:16 PM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

she's ugly.....
especially the scene where she shouted the archers to shoot... her face totally got smacked by ugly stick....
-Panadol-
post May 22 2008, 09:22 AM

60 posts

This movie's quite okay, maybe because I have a thing for the fantasy genre.
I feel the first movie was more kiddy, but the mood in the second movie was darker and grittier, which is better!

I believe a couple of years in the real world = 1000+ years in Narnia?
So, Susan's right in saying she's 1300 years older than Caspian.

The water god is one of the highlights in the movie and I loved it. Aslan is the "king" of the magical creatures, so nothing wrong if he can summon them to do his bidding.

The part I cant understand is why Aslan only choose to appear in the last possible moment (after so much people died). I guess he just want to feel important and wanted. biggrin.gif
soccervideo2u
post May 22 2008, 07:15 PM

QUOTE(seydee @ May 5 2008, 11:10 AM)
You can watch Narnia online at 101vdo.com

This post has been edited by soccervideo2u: May 22 2008, 07:16 PM
oucheev
post May 22 2008, 11:04 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(-Panadol- @ May 22 2008, 09:22 AM)
I feel the first movie was more kiddy, but the mood in the second movie was darker and grittier, which is better!

The water god is one of the highlights in the movie and I loved it. Aslan is the "king" of the magical creatures, so nothing wrong if he can summon them to do his bidding.

The part I cant understand is why Aslan only choose to appear in the last possible moment (after so much people died). I guess he just want to feel important and wanted.  biggrin.gif
Why does Aslan only comes at the end. People do not believe in him anymore but with the return of the 4 kids brought back the Narnians faith in Aslan. Remember what Lucy said everyone couldn't see Aslan because they do not believe in him anymore. Its a question of faith. Thats why the Narnians books are based on Christian ideology. And the reason why Aslan can summon all the magical creatures is because he created Narnia its in the first book. Aslan is supposed to be like Jesus/God.

As for why the 4 kids know how to fight. They were actually adults when they left Narnia in the last movie. They ruled Narnia for sometime and the time of their ruling is the Golden Age of Narnia and they were involved in wars during their rule even though its only briefly mentioned in the book. Thats why you see the frustration in Peter when fought Caspian and found out that he is younger and weaker than Caspian. Thats why he wanted to prove himself with the night raid. Also, thats why he got into a fight at the beginning of the movie at the subway station because he's frustrated for being trapped in a teenager's body.

The only thing that can be considered ad error is at the end where Lucy said she will never understand the "thing" between Caspian and Susan but this can be explained as she did not fell in love before even when she's an adult. After all, in the books, none of the 4 kids got married.
chibi_tenko
post May 23 2008, 08:53 AM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(-Panadol- @ May 22 2008, 09:22 AM)

The part I cant understand is why Aslan only choose to appear in the last possible moment (after so much people died). I guess he just want to feel important and wanted.  biggrin.gif
No, it doesn't work like that. Everytime the children re-enters (meaning any of the 4 Pevensies, not ALL together at the same time as in the two movies smile.gif ) Narnia, the time that has elasped varies.
-Panadol-
post May 23 2008, 09:03 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(oucheev @ May 22 2008, 11:04 PM)
The only thing that can be considered ad error is at the end where Lucy said she will never understand the "thing" between Caspian and Susan but this can be explained as she did not fell in love before even when she's an adult. After all, in the books, none of the 4 kids got married.
So they're 1000 year old virgins? tongue.gif

Read somewhere that the third part will only feature 2 of the siblings. Caspian and Reepicheep (the rat) will be joining them as well.
I wonder what the movie director is going to do with the other 2 siblings? I guess no gaji for these 2 actor/actress...
oucheev
post May 23 2008, 01:25 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(-Panadol- @ May 23 2008, 09:03 AM)
So they're 1000 year old virgins?  tongue.gif

Read somewhere that the third part will only feature 2 of the siblings. Caspian and Reepicheep (the rat) will be joining them as well.
I wonder what the movie director is going to do with the other 2 siblings? I guess no gaji for these 2 actor/actress...
The 2 older kids will not be coming back anymore. Peter only appears at the end on the last book which I doubt will be made into the movie. As for, Susan she moved to America and will never go back to Narnia. The next story will have Caspian, Edward, Lucy and Reepicheep on a sea vovage together with a new kid. No more huge battles or war scenes and more of an adventure story.
ellimist
post May 23 2008, 03:10 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

I've never read the books and didn't watch the first movie.

Thought this particular one was pretty cool. Wasn't expecting much,so just went in,sat back and enjoyed the adventure. smile.gif Nice medieval battles,cool magic,nice effects, cute lil rats/mice which u just have to love laugh.gif
Come on,it's a fantasy movie. Lighten up a lil and don't take it too seriously and u'll enjoy it tongue.gif

Added on May 23, 2008, 3:19 pm
QUOTE(bomberkenny @ May 20 2008, 12:43 AM)

This post has been edited by ellimist: May 23 2008, 03:21 PM
Calvin871989
post May 23 2008, 06:38 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

no huge battles in the 3rd movie? ah damn it. it better not be a slow and boring movie since two guys already left and will be appearing at some part of the movie. but any how this second part of narnia was just simply better then the 1st one wink.gif
ccm123
post May 25 2008, 12:40 PM

579 posts

I give 9/10 for this movie.. and everything XD
whatsupbro
post May 25 2008, 12:50 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

I know narnia is a good movie but I dunno why I rather wait for it to be on HBO or StarMovie.. :l
clemong_888
post May 25 2008, 03:18 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(oucheev @ May 22 2008, 11:04 PM)
Why does Aslan only comes at the end. People do not believe in him anymore but with the return of the 4 kids brought back the Narnians faith in Aslan. Remember what Lucy said everyone couldn't see Aslan because they do not believe in him anymore. Its a question of faith. Thats why the Narnians books are based on Christian ideology. And the reason why Aslan can summon all the magical creatures is because he created Narnia its in the first book. Aslan is supposed to be like Jesus/God.

As for why the 4 kids know how to fight. They were actually adults when they left Narnia in the last movie. They ruled Narnia for sometime and the time of their ruling is the Golden Age of Narnia and they were involved in wars during their rule even though its only briefly mentioned in the book. Thats why you see the frustration in Peter when fought Caspian and found out that he is younger and weaker than Caspian. Thats why he wanted to prove himself with the night raid. Also, thats why he got into a fight at the beginning of the movie at the subway station because he's frustrated for being trapped in a teenager's body.

my thoughts exactly, i think lewis wanted to bring the faith theme but somehow the director kinda failed to emphasize on it more.faith and temptation. i felt that they should have done better with the scene with the white witch. but still a pretty good movie nonetheless.
tech_frix
post May 26 2008, 10:17 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 18 2008, 03:22 AM)
i spent rm7, in 1U, upper middle seat smile.gif 7/10 from me, thumbs up for action, and above average storyline, but thumbs down for the almost none character development (except for Prince Caspian himself) and the plots that made no sense, maybe someone can enlighten me?

read LOTR novel 1st bro... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
each time Legolas took one arrow, then magically it will add 2 more arrows...
if Legolas took 2 arrows, it will add 4 more...and it continues....
dat is elf's power...lol...
read it 1st then condemn....for narnia....i dont have any clues... laugh.gif laugh.gif
defaultname365
post May 27 2008, 12:05 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Finally managed to watch this film, and I must say, it really is epic. It pretty much lived up to everything I'd ever hoped for, and even more, it was better than the first film.

The scope and scale of the film is much bigger and darker than the first film.

I'd give it an 8.5 out of 10.

LA Times :

"The film's pronounced split between violence and softness notwithstanding, Prince Caspian is finally a more polished effort than "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe" and squarely in the tradition of the kind of teenage movies the Disney organization used to make before teens discovered horror and gore."

cyew86
post May 27 2008, 12:45 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ May 26 2008, 10:17 AM)
read LOTR novel 1st bro... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
read it 1st then condemn....for narnia....i dont have any clues... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
well, i am no big fans of novel, thanks for the clarification anyway
btw, it's not condemning, just curiosity wink.gif
chibi_tenko
post May 27 2008, 11:07 AM

1,250 posts

read it 1st then condemn....for narnia....i dont have any clues... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I'm going OT a bit here.

In the LOTR novel, it was mentioned that Legolas recycles his arrows by retrieving it from enemies.
tech_frix
post May 27 2008, 11:10 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ May 27 2008, 11:07 AM)
I'm going OT a bit here.

In the LOTR novel, it was mentioned that Legolas recycles his arrows by retrieving it from enemies.
which episode u read??
OT TS... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

my bad....
just take and read back d 1st novel and yes...legolas take it back from d dead orcs!! sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
sory for bad info...cuz i felt like i read it!!!
maybe different magical novels!!! sweat.gif sweat.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by tech_frix: May 27 2008, 11:29 AM
SUSvkeong
post May 27 2008, 11:10 AM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

if you question the logic of unlimited arrows, then maybe you shouldn't watch any fantasy themed movies like LOTR/Narnia tongue.gif

Since they don't make sense in our real world either! Where can I see a real dwarf??

Just enjoy the movie la k wink.gif
aoibhealFae
post May 27 2008, 01:45 PM

224 posts

Well... its a fact that Susan got the bow and arrows from Father Christmas. Maybe they have magical influenced... hahah

Anyway, right now... I dont see it is relevant to label narnia as a kid's story (the way it is written, yes but the storyline... not that 'childish' enough. Well, people (or parents) finally see that point when the Pevensie kills people around. Its not their fault anyway.. they are adults in kids body right? They already rule Narnia and been into wars... duh... sleep.gif (Some parents said, they shouldn't allow the movie to be Umum rated because the kids is killing people... err....) (another flaw... you can't actually put 18PL anyway)

Same with Harry Potter... I'm still irked when people still claiming Deathly Hallows as kids story... errr.... people dying all around...

real "dwarf"... err... its ok if some people with it are ok with it but if you said that to achondroplastic that word... they would truly launch a fit since its still a sensitive topic to emphasize on their conditions. I thought there's achondroplasia in malaysia...

This post has been edited by aoibhealFae: May 27 2008, 01:50 PM
cyew86
post May 27 2008, 04:19 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ May 27 2008, 11:07 AM)
I'm going OT a bit here.

QUOTE(tech_frix @ May 27 2008, 11:10 AM)
which episode u read??
OT TS... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

my bad....
just take and read back d 1st novel and yes...legolas take it back from d dead orcs!! sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
sory for bad info...cuz i felt like i read it!!!
maybe different magical novels!!! sweat.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
swt, so now no more magical arrow and elf? doh.gif and u asked me to read the novel first laugh.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(vkeong @ May 27 2008, 11:10 AM)
if you question the logic of unlimited arrows, then maybe you shouldn't watch any fantasy themed movies like LOTR/Narnia tongue.gif

Since they don't make sense in our real world either! Where can I see a real dwarf??

Just enjoy the movie la k wink.gif
nah, i dun mind abt those stuffs, i fancy fantasy themed movies more than any other genres smile.gif
both narnia and LOTR are good, but of course we know who is the big winner when both of em are compared to each others nod.gif

This post has been edited by cyew86: May 27 2008, 04:21 PM
tech_frix
post May 27 2008, 04:23 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 27 2008, 04:19 PM)
swt, so now no more magical arrow and elf? doh.gif and u asked me to read the novel first laugh.gif tongue.gif
nah, i dun mind abt those stuffs, i fancy fantasy themed movies more than any other genres smile.gif
both narnia and LOTR are good, but of course we know who is the big winner when both of em are compared to each others nod.gif
just lol at me... sweat.gif sweat.gif
i admit it...my mistake here.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
chibi_tenko
post May 27 2008, 05:16 PM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 27 2008, 04:19 PM)
Again, I think it is not fair to compare Narnia and LOTR.

LOTR's target audience are young adults and adults. Narnia's targetting tweens/teens. If you put aside the killings going on in Narnia, you can see that the way the author wrote the book - it is intended for kids ( the jokes/comments made in the storyline in brackets and etc ).

There is no way that a kid in his/her teens will be able to understand the complexity and appreciate the richness of the world in Tolkien's book but in Narnia, it's a different story. I have read both books before the movies were out and I frankly say that I enjoy both of them in their own way.

Also, most of classic children's stories (like Brothers Grimm) involve killing, mutilation, decapitation and etc etc as well. The authors back then were not as... 'child-sensitive' as the modern authors, so death and killings in those stories aren't a surprise.

This post has been edited by chibi_tenko: May 27 2008, 05:27 PM
cyew86
post May 27 2008, 05:44 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ May 27 2008, 05:16 PM)
Again, I think it is not fair to compare Narnia and LOTR.

LOTR's target audience are young adults and adults. Narnia's targetting tweens/teens. If you put aside the killings going on in Narnia, you can see that the way the author wrote the book - it is intended for kids ( the jokes/comments made in the storyline in brackets and etc ).

There is no way that a kid in his/her teens will be able to understand the complexity and appreciate the richness of the world in Tolkien's book but in Narnia, it's a different story. I have read both books before the movies were out and I frankly say that I enjoy both of them in their own way.

Also, most of classic children's stories (like Brothers Grimm) involve killing, mutilation, decapitation and etc etc as well. The authors back then were not as... 'child-sensitive' as the modern authors, so death and killings in those stories aren't a surprise.
i ain't comparing, and i never said that narnia is bad in comparison. as the matter of fact, i think narnia is quite good, better than the first movie
but IF reli wanna compare (as many of the forummers here did, at the beginning of the pages), LOTR suits my taste better, but that does not make Narnia bad, as i understand that the target audience are different for both books, 1 is like adult-fantasy themed while another is kids-fantasy themed

This post has been edited by cyew86: May 27 2008, 05:45 PM
icypetals
post May 27 2008, 11:14 PM

324 posts

actually, when they walk pass a dead body with an arrow, they will pull it up and put in back( if u watch LOTR extended version).

but susan dnno la, but not pretty, get annasophia robb to act in narnia la, sure many pedophliedes watch
dehumanization
post May 27 2008, 11:21 PM

43 posts

i watch narnia last friday and it was really great movie plus i watch it at gardens really enjoy it very much thumbup.gif
there is a scene where the cat were tied up.haha.really cute tongue.gif
RViN
post May 28 2008, 12:59 AM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

Well this is aimed at kids rather than adults. LOTR on the other hand is an adult oriented movie with much more character development.

LOTR was a masterpiece while this kiddy fantasy movies are just trying to reap in the profits and success of the franchise. The trailer is very misleading. Its a fun movie but not worth the money to watch it in the cinema. Better to just rent a dvd once its out.
EightPhantomz
post May 28 2008, 10:45 AM

1,766 posts

Watched it last nite.

Not bad. After reading alot of bad reviews on the movie, I went in the cinema without any expectation.
Boy, am I lucky. Really worth my 10bucks.

The movie is better than the first one. Tho I like the fantasy(christmas feeling)like in the first one. Hehe.
The thing that irk me, well a bit lah... is the tree and water creature that appeared on the last fighting scene. Hard to not see the similarities to LOTR.
I havent read the book yet, so I dont know if it mentioned about these creatures.
Beside all that, it is a good movie!
BabySmurfy
post May 28 2008, 01:32 PM

42 posts

it is worth the 10 bucks..
i'll give it a rating of 10/10!!
Narnia rocks!!!!!!!!!
blackburry
post Jun 7 2008, 07:06 PM

104 posts

Am I the last to watch Narnia ? sweat.gif hell its a GREAT movie !!! I love it sooo much! And Susan look so cool with her archery stuff!!!!

Anyway, who know where can I download the soundtrack?? I love it so much !!!

0.0488sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:18 AM