Project Fahrenheit, Lian Li V600

TSianho
post Dec 6 2007, 08:43 PM, updated 18y ago

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeee. I got to play with a Lian Li again. This is gonna b a V600 again but this time in silver. The mods are mainly to improve the running temps hence the name Fahrenheit. biggrin.gif

Here's the new case still hiding in the box.

N here it is out of the box. A nice shiny silver V600. Untouched by the mad doctor.................for now. brows.gif

Here's the back. That stock PSU plate is gonna be changed to an intake fan plate like I did for Minime last time. This 1 is gonna be even better coz it'll be in silver brushed aluminum. I wanted to do it in aluminum for Minime but the owner wanted the bling of acrylic.

More pics comin right up. Time to go grab sum food 1st. Hungry, hungry, hungry..........

jchou87
post Dec 6 2007, 09:06 PM

213 posts

Wah, uncle ianho have a new project. So is the mod going to be similar to the project MiniMe or is it going to be slightly different?cant wait to get updated. hehe biggrin.gif
rainingzero
post Dec 6 2007, 09:13 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

those brushed alu so sexy la....wub.gif
this V600 can fit ATX mobo arr??
looking forward ur godlike modding skill for this casing...nod.gif
gmail
post Dec 6 2007, 09:58 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

uncle,
can the V600 install with the wheel found in V1000?

if yes, then it will looks like a little mover icon_rolleyes.gif
TSianho
post Dec 6 2007, 10:10 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(jchou87 @ Dec 6 2007, 09:06 PM)
Wah, uncle ianho have a new project. So is the mod going to be similar to the project MiniMe or is it going to be slightly different?cant wait to get updated. hehe biggrin.gif
Different from Minime.

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Dec 6 2007, 09:13 PM)
those brushed alu so sexy la....wub.gif
this V600 can fit ATX mobo arr??
looking forward ur godlike modding skill for this casing...nod.gif
Yes it takes ATX mobos.

QUOTE(gmail @ Dec 6 2007, 09:58 PM)
uncle,
can the V600 install with the wheel found in V1000?

if yes, then it will looks like a little mover  icon_rolleyes.gif
Sure can. Need to mod though. U need to screw the wheels to the bottom of the case.
TSianho
post Dec 7 2007, 01:50 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Wokeh here's the thingy I did today. The brushed aluminum plate to replace the standard PSU plate. Drawing out the size of the plate.

bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif Chop chop chop.

Rough cut of the plate is done.

The brushed aluminum plate is done. This is my favorite part of all in this Fahrenheit mod. Coz it's gonna look just like the factory made it like that as it blends perfectly into the back of the case which is brushed aluminum too. My mod is on the left, original Lian Li plate is on the right. I used 3mm thick aluminum plate for this so it's thick n strong.

I'm doing the PSU plug n wire soldering n stuff right now. Will update again once the plate, plug n wires are done.
contreasjun27
post Dec 7 2007, 02:57 AM

542 posts

respecto all engineer haha
convicted_knight
post Dec 7 2007, 11:46 AM

506 posts

working in the middle of the nite... huhhuhuhu...
Bigblock
post Dec 7 2007, 01:59 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

uncle ian is back on track now. sifu of all sifu...
TSianho
post Dec 7 2007, 02:03 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Good morning. laugh.gif I know it's a bit late n most of u r having lunch already but I spent the night finishing up the rear alu plate n resoldering again coz I forgot to shorten the wire n it was too long. laugh.gif

Here's the pic of the rear plate with the plug installed.

The rear plate with the super long wire all nicely soldered n heatshrinked. At this point I still didn't realise the wire was sooooooooooooooooooooo long. laugh.gif

After completing the rear plate n realising the wire was so long I took it off n did it all over again after shortening the wire. sweat.gif Pic still in the camera. Uploading now. Will be back with pics of the completed rear plate n side panel design after breakfast. Errrrrrrr.... I mean lunch. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Dec 7 2007, 02:05 PM
huh?
post Dec 7 2007, 02:34 PM

eh? ada 4 stars? lol
533 posts

excuse me mr ianho, may i know where did you get the brushed aluminium plate? and how much is the price? thnks smile.gif
Doom
post Dec 7 2007, 05:30 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hehehe ... looks like left over Lian Li or Silverstone aluminum plate cut out for window....

he probably got tones of aluminum pieces laying behind his garage....

huh?
post Dec 7 2007, 06:07 PM

eh? ada 4 stars? lol
533 posts

hehhe.. no wonder nobody replied my question...

NoooBBBB...huhuhu smile.gif
vedder1979
post Dec 7 2007, 07:07 PM

168 posts

Like always, very-very fine cutting(Respect). Heck! I dare to say better than laser cutting
TSianho
post Dec 7 2007, 11:17 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 7 2007, 05:30 PM)
hehehe ... looks like left over Lian Li or Silverstone aluminum plate cut out for window....

he probably got tones of aluminum pieces laying behind his garage....
Hehehe. Ur partly correct. If I need small pieces then yes it will be taken from the storeroom. If I need big pieces then I will chop up brand new side panels which I buy just to use the alu panels only.

QUOTE(vedder1979 @ Dec 7 2007, 07:07 PM)
Like always, very-very fine cutting(Respect). Heck! I dare to say better than laser cutting
No lar. No laser cutting. Just using a pair of old hands and good ol Mr Orange. laugh.gif

Hang on ya. The pics I promised earlier still havent upload coz I went out after lunch. Went to buy sum aluminum diamond mesh for this Fahrenheit mod and after that I went to PC Fair. Just came home.
hypermax
post Dec 8 2007, 12:12 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 7 2007, 11:17 PM)
Hehehe. Ur partly correct. If I need small pieces then yes it will be taken from the storeroom. If I need big pieces then I will chop up brand new side panels which I buy just to use the alu panels only.
No lar. No laser cutting. Just using a pair of old hands and good ol Mr Orange.  laugh.gif
Hang on ya. The pics I promised earlier still havent upload coz I went out after lunch. Went to buy sum aluminum diamond mesh for this Fahrenheit mod and after that I went to PC Fair. Just came home.
You managed to find the aluminum mesh??
wow, can't wait to see the remaining of this mod.
Doom
post Dec 8 2007, 01:59 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

wow ... u buy side panel just to chop it into pieces for modding ??

I really solute u men .... no doubt ...

Can't wait to see how this turns out to be ...
TSianho
post Dec 9 2007, 01:31 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's a pic of top vent I plan to cut. It will use 2x120mm fans. Design is a big rectangular hole covered by aluminum diamond mesh.

Chop suey in prgress. biggrin.gif

Rough cut is done.

TSianho
post Dec 10 2007, 06:26 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

After the top vent was done. I went back to doing the rear intake plate coz I had to shorten the wires n solder everything all over again.

Here it is again. After shortening the wire. All done.

Then I realised the screws for the psu power cord were really long n ugly like in these pics.

So, out came the orange monster RTX1 again for the choppity chop. N here's how it looks after shortening the screws for a neater look.

Well, that's it for the pix that I uploaded that day. I'll update again as soon as I get the time to sort out the pics n upload them again. Got tons of pics in the camera which needs sorting. The mod was completed today actually but I'll be away on vacation this whole week so I'll probably sort out the pics while sipping a pina colada under a coconut tree on a beach somewhere. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Dec 10 2007, 06:33 AM
TSianho
post Dec 11 2007, 01:00 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Woooooooo. Finally sorted out all the pics. Will upload them all to Photobucket now so here goes. All in 1 update right to the end.

After finishing up on the rear intake fan plate, I drew out the design for the side panel. I measured everything so that the left side of the window will cover the ROM slots n also the PSU coz I'm gonna relocate the PSU to the place where the HDD cage used to be.

Chop chop chop n we haf a rough cut of the side window done.

Time to remove the HDD cage so I can relocate the PSU there.

Then I moved on to drawing out the acrylic for the side window.

Cutting the acrylic for side window.

Window acrylic rough cut is done.

Uploading to Photobucket right now. Will be back with more updates in a while.

This post has been edited by ianho: Dec 11 2007, 01:05 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:25 PM