8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Is migration a good choice ?, Migration (PR)

TSdr_luv
post Dec 6 2007, 11:58 PM

28 posts

Dear Folks,

Thanks a lot for feedback, anway how is the job prospects in Australia for banking/finance and telecommunication industry ?

We both lived and studied in Aust for couple of years. Part of the PR process, we have to live there for 3-4 years for next PR renewal or citizenship.

There are certain items which we are sure unable to obtain in Australia such as

1) Free flow or cheap mamak food at night/supper
2) Housekeeping Maids with affordable pay
3) Family closeness
4) Close friends hanging out
5) Variety of Massage, Facial parlour
6) Malaysia is heaven for food

Can't think of anything so far ! Do list if possible.

Regards
dr_luv rclxms.gif
annielee
post Dec 7 2007, 12:00 AM

294 posts

imo, if you qualify, why not try it ..if you dun like australia, you can always come back..

and if you have time, you can always apply the PR on your own..(that's what i did)..

there are lots of forums available that helped me a lot to go for the PR on my own..(PM me if you need the forum URL)

hope i can get thru by mid next year...
alex13
post Dec 7 2007, 09:12 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(GodsLove @ Dec 6 2007, 04:49 PM)
we do not know the true living environment and situation over in australia as we do not stay there long enough to know...other countries will always try to paint a nice picture of their own country. We know our country sucks bcoz we stay here long enough....
True,

I was there for 1 and a half year to study. Gotta say that they have their good and bad, just like M'sia. smile.gif

The good
1) Most of the people, at least from where I usually go (the restaurant, the shopping complex, the university and around the city) are friendly.
2) The environment is clean and more healthy, heck even the market's (Paddy's Market) washroom is so clean.
3) Oppotunities are everywhere, but remember it also comes with a cost.
4) The government technically raise your children (exp: AUD5000 when the child is born, no questions asked).
5) It's a developed country, so you can get a lot of stuffs that you wish to get easier.

The bad
1) It is not as safe as you think, at least it is safer is most part of M'sia (sad but have to admit it is true). Gangs are notorious if you are at the wrong place.
2) There are still people that think foreigners like you and me ruin their country.
3) Tax is sky high (15% - 45%) depends what you earn. On the other hand, you are entitled to the "aid fund" if you are jobless (this is only valid if you are a citizen).
4) Living standard is quite high if you stay in Melbourne or Sydney or even Brisbane. I think for a working class person, it would cost about AUD1500 just for living expense.
5) As a new immigrant, unless you got a good pay job (AUD4000 a month per person), you are subject to suffer for quite a while.
6) It might sound weird, but inefficiency is a problem that haunts Aus and New Zealand for quite a while.

Your own judgement
1) People are quite laid back, or maybe it's just they try to get a good time?
2) Normal entertainment here not equals to normal entertainment there.
3) Cars are not recommended
4) They are very down to earth and realist (personally I like this)

My plan is after I got enough money, I will apply for PR (I got an aus degree and working experience and score more than 100 points) on the PR test) but I will still work in the place which I called "Home".

Seriously, I got tears in my eyes the first time I came back from Australia and the flight attendants says "Welcome Home" through the PA.
kikurazz
post Dec 7 2007, 10:36 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

i'm workin in aus now. studied in aus, work in aus.
no question about better pay and working environment in aus. you would be doing the same job in kl but definitely not as highly paid as in aus. economy booming, unemployment rate lowest in years. almost all my frens got a job over here after graduation. so just look at the opportunities here now. no joke.
but it's not easy to change whatever you're having now.
decide urself. good luck
topmankl
post Dec 7 2007, 11:42 AM

31 posts

Check out this site by Malaysian immigated overseas.

Most people there are in Aus. There are some large threads with much info on migrate, settle, and living in Aus.
tinkerbel
post Dec 7 2007, 11:52 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Am I the only stoopid fool who gave up the Australian PR of mine? sad.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 7 2007, 01:30 PM
hatekiasuppl
post Dec 7 2007, 12:07 PM

77 posts

how to get australia PR easily?
kikurazz
post Dec 7 2007, 12:16 PM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

QUOTE(hatekiasuppl @ Dec 7 2007, 03:07 PM)
how to get australia PR easily?
if you have studied in aus for 2 years min, you can easily qualify, as long as u pass the 120 point mark.
since sept 1 2007, they just made it a wee bit hard, most of the changes are to the IELTS score, in which you have to score at least 7.0 on each component (not 7.0 avg)

not sure about other visa though.
as many would have know, check www.immi.gov.au

KVReninem
post Dec 7 2007, 12:21 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 7 2007, 12:58 AM)
Dear Folks,

Thanks a lot for feedback, anway how is the job prospects in Australia for banking/finance and telecommunication industry ?

We both lived and studied in Aust for couple of years. Part of the PR process, we have to live there for 3-4 years for next PR renewal or citizenship.

There are certain items which we are sure unable to obtain in Australia such as

1) Free flow or cheap mamak food at night/supper
2) Housekeeping Maids with affordable pay
3) Family closeness
4) Close friends hanging out
5) Variety of Massage, Facial parlour
6) Malaysia is heaven for food

Can't think of anything so far ! Do list if possible.

Regards
dr_luv rclxms.gif
sometime; you have to give up those for better good.. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 7 2007, 12:52 PM)
Am I only the stoopid fool who gave up the Australian PR of mine?  sad.gif
wat did you mean? you give up your PR?

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Dec 7 2007, 01:16 PM)
if you have studied in aus for 2 years min, you can easily qualify, as long as u pass the 120 point mark.
since sept 1 2007, they just made it a wee bit hard, most of the changes are to the IELTS score, in which you have to score at least 7.0 on each component (not 7.0 avg)

yea; true true..
not easy now doh.gif
TSdr_luv
post Dec 7 2007, 12:28 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 7 2007, 11:52 AM)
Am I only the stoopid fool who gave up the Australian PR of mine?  sad.gif
Tinkerbel, why gave up and any particular reason ?

Added on December 7, 2007, 12:40 pm
QUOTE(topmankl @ Dec 7 2007, 11:42 AM)
Check out this site by Malaysian immigated overseas.

Most people there are in Aus. There are some large threads with much info on migrate, settle, and living in Aus.
Really, very good website. we just realise eveything is expensive in Aust and everything we earn is just nice for paying with high tax and labour charges. No savings.

This post has been edited by dr_luv: Dec 7 2007, 12:40 PM
KVReninem
post Dec 7 2007, 12:45 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 7 2007, 01:28 PM)
Tinkerbel, why gave up and any particular reason ?

Added on December 7, 2007, 12:40 pm

Really, very good website. we just realise eveything is expensive in Aust and everything we earn is just nice for paying with high tax and labour charges. No savings.
actuallly yea in term of general..
but if yu know whr and whr to find cheap goods and do need to pay general price...u willl survive well.
provide u work hard a few years after u come in; im sure you can save..

i got a friend; whose about 30s below ...
he work hard and he can survive with his wife together..
of course u dont come and buy property straight away..
come and adapt and keep learning as wat u did when u just come out from unis ..
icon_rolleyes.gif
tinkerbel
post Dec 7 2007, 01:33 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@KVReninem,
Yes I gave up my Australian PR - i can still go back to fulfill the 2 Year term but i don't think the time is right, at least not now. My life seems to be happening here in KL so it's a little difficult to just abandon it and start anew again in Australia. Also, if I had left for Australia, I would be struggling having to start my career all over again in Australia - due to *in my opinion* age discrimation so for better or worse, I decided to stay back in KL (it'll be nice if i had another couple of years to decide.. who knows? i might just take up the offer then *grins*)

@dr_luv,
I think the above answers ur question too smile.gif
stupidbump
post Dec 7 2007, 01:42 PM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

IMHO....for god's sake...leave this country before all else comes falling apart!! being a seconded citizen there in australia is better than being a citizen here...we are being exploited in Malaysia
aurora1128
post Dec 7 2007, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(alex13 @ Dec 7 2007, 09:12 AM)
True,

I was there for 1 and a half year to study. Gotta say that they have their good and bad, just like M'sia.  smile.gif

The good
1) Most of the people, at least from where I usually go (the restaurant, the shopping complex, the university and around the city) are friendly.
2) The environment is clean and more healthy, heck even the market's (Paddy's Market) washroom is so clean.
3) Oppotunities are everywhere, but remember it also comes with a cost.
4) The government technically raise your children (exp: AUD5000 when the child is born, no questions asked).
5) It's a developed country, so you can get a lot of stuffs that you wish to get easier.

The bad
1) It is not as safe as you think, at least it is safer is most part of M'sia (sad but have to admit it is true). Gangs are notorious if you are at the wrong place.
2) There are still people that think foreigners like you and me ruin their country.
3) Tax is sky high (15% - 45%) depends what you earn. On the other hand, you are entitled to the "aid fund" if you are jobless (this is only valid if you are a citizen).
4) Living standard is quite high if you stay in Melbourne or Sydney or even Brisbane. I think for a working class person, it would cost about AUD1500 just for living expense.
5) As a new immigrant, unless you got a good pay job (AUD4000 a month per person), you are subject to suffer for quite a while.
6) It might sound weird, but inefficiency is a problem that haunts Aus and New Zealand for quite a while.

Your own judgement
1) People are quite laid back, or maybe it's just they try to get a good time?
2) Normal entertainment here not equals to normal entertainment there.
3) Cars are not recommended
4) They are very down to earth and realist (personally I like this)

My plan is after I got enough money, I will apply for PR (I got an aus degree and working experience and score more than 100 points) on the PR test) but I will still work in the place which I called "Home".

Seriously, I got tears in my eyes the first time I came back from Australia and the flight attendants says "Welcome Home" through the PA.
to answer your bad points : -
1. the safety issue happens everywhere. you just need to be alert. but compare bout robery case I think msia is worse coz of u know about currently maybe 1 chinese feed how many XXXXX. 1 day if 1 chinese feed 5 XXXXX u know wat will happen and msia is talking more on kulit-fication and not qualification.
2. that racist thingy only happen in outskirt and not in city. I mean in melbourne sydney goldcoast etc man asians are flooding the area.
3. the tax 40% is if u are earning more than aud 150k per annum.
4. as long as u have a degree your pay won't get 4k. my starting pay is far more than that when I first came here
5. msia is I pay u 1 dollar u do a 10 dollars job. australia is I pay u 1 dollar maybe u do a 2 dollar job. and more time to relax. so if u like rush rush rush type or last minute on fire then msia is still better.

well the only good thing in msia is the damn bloody entertainment and nothing else. in australia entertainment is not that common. msia is hari hari contractor bring me out to u know.. so called "gentleman's club or health centre or overseas trip". so to me I just work in australia for couple of years and then maybe go back msia and continue enjoying my life. if you are young and no family then nothing to lose. but if got family then is hard to say I want to migrate and lets pack and go. I mean just give urself some options and you can only decide where and what kind of life you want. to me I will say entertainment and life comes first and money not an issue to me coz I have no financial problem in msia so I will just go back after I'm bored of here. but well I work in australia 1hr equal I work in msia 1 day if I convert and I can save easily rm8k-10k per month after spending and taxes etc etc. depends on mood of spending on the particular month of course

jamis
post Dec 8 2007, 09:46 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

20k RM can be earned easily in aus, if u have the budget and able to get a decent job in aus, go ahead, u wont need to be working like a slave here, but bare in mind that some aussie are s ho, as well.
TSdr_luv
post Dec 10 2007, 05:24 PM

28 posts

Maybe I will do a job transfer since i am in international bank and my spouse in international telco vendor. Let's say I am in Standard Chartered and my spouse is in Ericsson.

Will it be good choice ?

This post has been edited by dr_luv: Dec 10 2007, 06:22 PM
tishaban
post Dec 10 2007, 05:48 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 10 2007, 05:24 PM)
Maybe I will do a job transfer since i am in international bank and my spouse in international telco vendor.

Will it be good choice ?
dr luv this of course would be great, the ideal is if you stay in Malaysia and get paid in USD, GBP, Euro etc. Try and get an expat package if at all possible, you get free trips back to Malaysia etc. but unless you're in the oil and gas industry, the expat package is pretty much extinct.

TSdr_luv
post Dec 10 2007, 06:11 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 10 2007, 05:48 PM)
dr luv this of course would be great, the ideal is if you stay in Malaysia and get paid in USD, GBP, Euro etc. Try and get an expat package if at all possible, you get free trips back to Malaysia etc. but unless you're in the oil and gas industry, the expat package is pretty much extinct.
Thanks Tisban. Hmm not really sure if we are qualified for expat package as we still gaining working experiance hitting our 30's soon.

If either one of us get a job transfer than it will be great. Both of our working co has its branch and hq in Aust. Well lets see.
nyprinz83
post Dec 10 2007, 08:17 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Dec 7 2007, 02:16 PM)

The score of minmum 7.0 in each module for IELTS is not mandatory. Its only special because if you score at least 7 in each module you will qualify for bonus points i.e. 25 points straight away compared to 15 if you just meet the normal requirements. So in short those who are still short of points will benefit from extra points if they do well in ielts
cktwai
post Dec 11 2007, 09:46 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 7 2007, 11:52 AM)
Am I the only stoopid fool who gave up the Australian PR of mine?  sad.gif
i think so man.... laugh.gif

at the rate Msia is going any country is better than Msia...

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:09 AM