Dog died in one week...help please, distemper virus is the cause
stupidbump
Dec 2 2007, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 2 2007, 09:49 PM) Goodness... which petshop is that? Anyway, you ask your friend to go back to the shop, and explain. Print out your references as well. It also would be better if you could ask a vet to help you sign a letter about it too. My friend had 1 case before... tick fever and too serious till can't cure. Angry, my friend went back to the shop after a week he bought the dog, and told the owner. They said no refund. Angrier, he made a complain, wrote 2 letters to the SPCA and MKA, and forwarded to the shop. Scared, the shop quickly made a full refund and took back the dog. Distemper... normally petshop. Did they vaccinate the chow chow at the shop? but then will MKA n SPCA do anything about this matter? are they really reliable?
stupidbump
Dec 2 2007, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 2 2007, 09:58 PM) No lah... they can't do anything but it scared the shopowner. The petshop is actually very popular currently but not a shopping mall petshop. They got so scared, they actually went to my friend's home to pick the dog. The proper thing is doing a consumer report.... but I think it would take some time to clear lah. Making reports to the consumer's department also takes ages...this a DOG somemore...malay people where give a damn...
stupidbump
Dec 2 2007, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 2 2007, 11:26 PM) Let's not bring race into this. TS, get your friend's vet to write a letter and a report. If it is distemper, the puppy probably contracted it either at the shop or via transit. Strange though, i believe even imported dogs will have a vaccination card  Probably the store will be unwilling to give a refund, they'll probably be able to come to some sort of compromise... surely nobody wants their story (plus incriminating proof) to appear in the daiy papers... word spreads fast among the dog community, and being badmouthed is a surefire way to go bankrupt. Care to give us the name of the petshop, hopefully no other forumer will get scammed too. I too have lost a puppy before, and it really hurts  My condolences to your friend. Don't let this setback deter her from keeping another puppy. Nono..i not talking bout race here..but then its a dog and its HARAM to malays so i don't think they will like to handle this kind of cases.
stupidbump
Dec 2 2007, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 2 2007, 11:32 PM) Do not keep putting race or religion here. We as Malaysians must respect each other. Reporting officially to consumer department of course lah take time. There are legal matters. My point is to discuss with the shop owner, if nothing is done, you can give them a scare and see where it goes. Who knows what would happen.... but if what TS said about being gangster-like shopowner, then the friend has to be cautious about it. The best is of course ask the vet to print out the report and sign, then write a letter about complain and also discuss. Like what madmoz said, word of mouth can spread fast. Just mention the name, we can spread big word about the shop being untruthful about the pup's health. well...what was the petshop's name by the way?!!
stupidbump
Dec 2 2007, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Dec 2 2007, 11:52 PM) You are wrong, they are malays who keep dogs. TS, So sorry to hear the story.. and I feel pity for the dog! One question, imported dog shall be in quarantine? If the disease is there for around 14-18 days... I think the dog get it from the quarantine or something!? Or it stays long in the petshop before your friend bought it? Is it first vaccination is not enough to protect the puppy from this distemper? Normal vaccination can fight off most disease?
stupidbump
Dec 3 2007, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Dec 3 2007, 02:01 AM) Hah, Japan also so easy meh?? I heard from here Peninsular bring dog back Sabah/Sarawak also need 6 weeks quarantine leh....  really? so many procedures in malaysia itself?
stupidbump
Dec 3 2007, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(lilcatty @ Dec 3 2007, 02:04 AM) stupidbump: yeah, a whole lot of procedures to go through. been through that already >_< aiks...you send dog from where to where? can describe abit bout the procedures?
stupidbump
Dec 3 2007, 02:53 AM
doh...in JB izzit? then i will never need to worry...impossible will go there buy anything...haha
stupidbump
Dec 3 2007, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(lilcatty @ Dec 3 2007, 03:01 AM) i sent a MS back to sabah (my hometown)  from KL. yeah, like they said, u have to get a doctor to prove that ur dog is healthy, and the license that goes on.. documents and a whole lot of things @.@ which u need to spend like, roughly rm1k D: (sitting airplane back - have to go through customs) and then quarantines and stuffs. actually its a really long procedure @.@ i forgot how long did it take to finish up all the procedures @.@ 1000 for sending it back to sabah? worth it? better you buy one directly in sabah
stupidbump
Dec 3 2007, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(hyakushikki @ Dec 3 2007, 10:51 AM) yaya...i also wanna knw... since i plan to pet 2 cats...i'm indonesia chinese study in KL, so if i wanna take my pet back later....hw to go thorough the procedure..? thx wah  cats also wanna ship? somemore back to indonesia....2 somemore....surely cost you a bomb if like that.. Shipping a dog back to sabah within malaysia already RM1K.......
stupidbump
Dec 3 2007, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 3 2007, 11:27 AM) Out of topic already but I will answer this. After this, please do not bring up this topic as it is about a dog from a petshop. You need to get a permit of import from Indonesia and an export permit from Malaysia. Air travel is by MAS airlines. You really need to plan. The cost could be Rm2k and above, also the quarantine can be anything from a few weeks to a few months. The paper work is alot, it could take you about 3 months or more to clear all the paperwork but you should not do this alone. Get help from a petshop or advice from a vet clinic. You need an agent to help you. I have never ship any pets in or out but I roughly know what to expect. Find the information yourself as if you PM me, no use also as I got no contacts. Sooooo..... search this forum. Someone already opened a thread about shipping. People love their pets, that is why they bother. Each individual care for their pets differently, so if we love our pets, price is nothing. Anyway, just a reminder, stay with the topic. Do not stray. but then if quarantine, will the authorities take good care of the pets? are we able to monitor them or we will be in tha dark?
stupidbump
Dec 3 2007, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(Neshimaru @ Dec 3 2007, 12:42 PM) If the pet shop owner said they did vaccination on the pup, they should have the vaccination card as prove and should be given to your friend to follow up with any future vaccination requirements. The pet store can't even provide the vaccination card, it is kind of obvious that they just crap out the story just so your friend will buy it confidently. Do what's best to fight. Cause if we as consumer do not stand for our rights, more pet shop owners will neglect these issues and who knows, more innocent animals will die! It makes me feel so angry to hear such pet shop owners are so irresponsible to these details and tried to avoid refund. vaccination got provide medic cards? As far as i know, i only got an MKA Cert when i bought my MS last week. that also haven't ready and the shop claimed it will post to my address.. If really there is a vaccination card, i am going to meet the shop owner to demand for one also...
stupidbump
Dec 4 2007, 05:30 AM
QUOTE(babymiki @ Dec 4 2007, 05:14 AM) my bf's colleague bought a pomeranian recently and the poor dog died within a week too. complained to the pet shop, and they accused him of not feeding the dog  not sure which pet shop but he lives in puchong  din feed? then wat was the cause of death?disease?
stupidbump
Dec 4 2007, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(jtl @ Dec 3 2007, 11:24 PM) I apologise for going off topic but I need to clarify some accusations made. I am certain you were given a vaccination card. Please do double check as the girl who bought the dog was also briefed on when the next vaccination is based on the card. In fact, the dog was scanned with a microchip reader to show the microchip number and this number was verified against the sticker on the vaccination card. As for the MKA cert, it has been informed that the cert will only be ready after the dog is 4 months and above. yaya..i double check with my gf and she confirmed you gave her the card...lol...sorry sorry...cos she didn't mentioned bout it..keke...sorry bro...
stupidbump
Dec 4 2007, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 4 2007, 08:54 PM) Just like when I got Moonie, every 4 days go vet one time, imagine the bill! And that's just after I paid for buying her, then the bill come stacking up along with her toys, cage, extra food, bowl, etc. Take leave from work also bring her go vet. I agree with you totally, just except for one part, if I'm ill I would not go to a vet, I'd go to a doctor... Hahaha... kidding, I am sure everyone get your point! i was also reading thru and nearly fell off my chair laughing...keke...go to Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam lo if wanna save some pennies...its like the General Hospital in Malaysia. Private Vets are like Gleneagles, SJMC...etc..right?
stupidbump
Dec 4 2007, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(johnkor @ Dec 4 2007, 09:27 PM) lol ! i am new as well but not active in this subforum only! seriously duno why my first dog aslo the same and that dog my sis bf buy for her one den 3 weeks the dog start to like bark brark den run den go bang on the wall still nothing when we bring to Vet the doctor said put to sleep ! i was like crying like hell ! seriously! WHAT YOU MEAN? he bark bark then run around...then bang on wall..then need put to sleep? WHY? Was it because of the bang? Or he got sickness which made him sot sot?
stupidbump
Dec 4 2007, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 4 2007, 09:49 PM) Darn, I was so worked up that i said i go to the vet when i'm ill  hahha....you are seriously one funny funky person madmoz...
stupidbump
Dec 4 2007, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Dec 4 2007, 09:58 PM) i'm curious too....  aiks...this fella offline dy...came..post a thread...then left us with whole bunch of question marks
stupidbump
Dec 5 2007, 10:02 PM
wah...?? puppies also know how to commit suicide? i starting to worry liao nih...if my pup act like that then i pening lah
stupidbump
Dec 6 2007, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Dec 6 2007, 04:26 AM) Dog infected with rabies and become crazy like in 28 weeks later?  not rabbies lah...maybe suffering from depression or hypertension!