The Canon EOS 350D/400D Thread, Digital Rebel XT/XTi/KISS Territory~

CutieLynette
post Dec 1 2007, 11:30 PM

214 posts

Yay, finally! a thread dedicated to 350D/400D!

I got my 400D early November and loving it, though I have not fully master it and I still take blur pictures (SIGH), I'm really having fun with what the camera does wonders to lovely pictures.
CutieLynette
post Dec 2 2007, 12:13 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 1 2007, 11:44 PM)
maybe we can start with macro lens..coz it seems hard to snap a macro pic using standard kit lens (bundled with 350D while brought it). so..any advice?

btw...i think i'm start loving my 350D since until now i'm till haven't finish explore it. so many features tongue.gif
You might want to try playing with a 50mm f1.8 lens. It's very affordable compared with other lens and it produces great pictues (of course don compare it with a f1.4 la). If you're good at bargaining, you could get it a little lesser than RM300 with UV filter.

I'm getting mine next week. smile.gif
CutieLynette
post Dec 3 2007, 12:46 AM

214 posts

Err... I want to be added to the list also la.

CutieLynette: 400D with Kit lens. So far. Bought at RM2100 (10 day-old second-hand from a forummer elsewhere)
CutieLynette
post Dec 3 2007, 01:22 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Dec 3 2007, 12:49 AM)
haha the family's getting bigger smile.gif

welcome!
Hello there! smile.gif

For me the decision to buy a DSLR came when I was doing my photojournalism subject (i major journalism) last year. I was so inspired and all but didn't had the money to get one. I got through all my photoJR assignments with a panasonic prosumer.

Now that I've finally got one, I find that the leap was rather drastic (my previous cam was a Canon Ixus 500) and I'm having major handshake issues. I can't seem to get sharp pictures.

I'm just wondering if any of the newbies have had such problems too.
CutieLynette
post Dec 3 2007, 02:23 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(ptyap @ Dec 3 2007, 08:33 AM)
What setting(s) do you normally use?
I normally shoot in M mode with my kit lens. I change my ISO according to the lighting.

I took this picture on my cousin's wedding, as you can see, it's not as sharp as I wanted it to be. sad.gif

Picture is edited (photoshoped for curves and resize)

f3.5, 1/30s, ISO 1600 Canon 400D kit.

QUOTE(Alpse @ Dec 3 2007, 11:59 AM)
Hi guys,

Another Canon 400D user reporting in. smile.gif

I'm struggling with the handshake issue a too after converting from a prosumer with anti-shake features. Slowly getting the hang of it though.

Does any of you find the photos to be a little underexposed ? I keep finding myself having to bump up the ev for almost every shoot.
Hey Alpse, your name sounds very familiar to me. I think I know you! LOL

CutieLynette
post Dec 8 2007, 01:27 AM

214 posts

Hi all,

I just bought my 50mm f1.8 from a very kind forummer of another forum for RM220. Just want to share a few snap shots I took with it.

I know my pictures are not as crispy as it's supposed to be. It's not the problem with the lens, it's me and my shaky hands.

I hope I can have that steady hands soon as I practice!
CutieLynette
post Dec 9 2007, 05:24 PM

214 posts

A TT sounds great!

Any other girls here? Don't tell me I'm the only girl here! *Panic*
CutieLynette
post Dec 9 2007, 07:51 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 9 2007, 07:02 PM)
buaya alert..!!
haha.. tongue.gif
Me, buaya? LOL
CutieLynette
post Dec 9 2007, 08:32 PM

214 posts

Speaking of that ah, fcbarcelona-my, can you please update for me? I just bought a 50mm f1.8 lens.

CutieLynette
post Dec 9 2007, 08:49 PM

214 posts

Yeer! The cat very cute leh!~ biggrin.gif
CutieLynette
post Dec 9 2007, 09:07 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 9 2007, 09:01 PM)
can.  nod.gif  . so..u got ur 50mm lens?  brows.gif  how much?
RM220. 10 months warranty left. No filter la.
CutieLynette
post Dec 9 2007, 09:24 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Dec 9 2007, 09:13 PM)
new? post sample pic here..wanna see da performance brows.gif
I posted some previously but it wasn't nice la.

These are the nicer ones.

CutieLynette
post Dec 9 2007, 10:31 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Dec 9 2007, 10:21 PM)
the background looks very familiar... u student of SEGi college a?
Picture 1, 2 and 3 are taken in my church, which is actually near SEGi in Kota Damansara.

Picture 4 taken in Armada Hotel, PJ.
CutieLynette
post Dec 9 2007, 10:47 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Dec 9 2007, 10:39 PM)
ooo, hehe sorry, it just looked familiar, my bad sweat.gif
ayo... then when u can come to kl do tell us la smile.gif

Guys, here are some pictures to share during my early days of photography, using the Canon 350D as my main camera, though its not mine, but i had alot of fun with it nod.gif

Very nice for your early days! Mine was like, "BLUEAK". I don't even want to look at it now.

Added on December 9, 2007, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 9 2007, 10:41 PM)
no.. not u..
i can smell buayas coming.. haha..

count me in if there's a TT..
i'm @ wangsa maju..
I'm in Kepong area. smile.gif

This post has been edited by CutieLynette: Dec 9 2007, 10:51 PM
CutieLynette
post Dec 10 2007, 12:03 AM

214 posts

I ain't no pro, therefore I think they're cool. smile.gif

This post has been edited by CutieLynette: Dec 10 2007, 12:04 AM
CutieLynette
post Dec 10 2007, 12:21 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Dec 10 2007, 12:06 AM)
lol thanks for the kind words. smile.gif

just got my 400D not too long ago. slowly playing with the settings. one thing i dislike is that the flash keeps popping out when in auto mode, even when i'm snapping pics in broad daylight. doh.gif

any solutions to this? tongue.gif
I hardly used my auto mode, I'm not sure if the flash-popping is a normal thing. Have you tried using P mode to shoot instead? It should solve your problem. But then again, I'm no pro. tongue.gif
CutieLynette
post Dec 10 2007, 01:01 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Dec 10 2007, 12:40 AM)
TT Details

Venue: Midvalley (Xmas tree), KLCC / around Bukit Bintang / Zoo Negara / Bird Park / suggestion
Date: 16 Dec 07
Time: 11am ( sounded weird for a TT, open for suggestion )

Theme: poison session, the idea is to TT, and have something to shoot and there's when the poison got injected.

I will need those interested to vote/recommend a place and suggest time date if you can't make it.
I'm fine with anywhere within KL/PJ area. I'm working on Saturdays so 11am is out for me. I'm only free on weekend nights. sad.gif

Let's look at the majority la.
CutieLynette
post Dec 10 2007, 01:17 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 10 2007, 01:08 AM)
16th dec is a sunday, no?
but during daytime, sounds more like a meet-up than TT...  tongue.gif
zoo negara/bird park would be good for a day shooting trip..
Oh, yea, you're right. It's a Sunday.

I can't make it anyway at 11am. I'll still be in church.
CutieLynette
post Dec 10 2007, 09:50 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Dec 10 2007, 04:52 PM)
hmm well since I definitely gonna be there, let me start it off then.

Comics Fiesta @ Times Square
Date: 16/12
Time: 11am - 7pm

1) valho
Count me out. I'm not too much of a anime person, plus I am not free. sad.gif

Have fun, guys. smile.gif
CutieLynette
post Dec 11 2007, 12:50 AM

214 posts

Erm, guys, sorry but I got a noob question here...

What exactly is the functions of a battery grip? Store extra battery and have the dial and shutter vertically? Does adding the grip adds more weight to the person holding the cam? Or does it just help the photographer have more steady shots, since camera is heavier?

It is really necessary?

0.0396sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:07 PM