aiyah. want to impress girl, get a PRADA la. tongue.gif
goldfries
post Jan 16 2008, 10:43 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(zzub @ Jan 16 2008, 09:42 AM)
I think Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 is a good alternative for kit lens  nod.gif  nod.gif
yeah la. nearly 1/3 the cost of EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS.
goldfries
post Jan 16 2008, 11:05 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you keep shy shy think you small fry, you won't improve!

i go fashion show shoot. i sit there with 350D (no grip) and a simple tammy 70-300. surrounded by all the big guns, don't care also.
goldfries
post Jan 17 2008, 06:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Jan 17 2008, 03:17 PM)
lens hood is to block sunlight one right?
lights in general. sometimes there's over the lens there's some light. bright or not, it MIGHT cause lens flare.
goldfries
post Jan 18 2008, 11:25 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i bought it for RM 1.7k a few months back.
goldfries
post Jan 18 2008, 11:37 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(weileongz @ Jan 18 2008, 11:26 PM)
yl also sell this price.

i tested..
the time i buy at RM 1.7k , YL was still selling at 1.75k. smile.gif

Added on January 18, 2008, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(hwchua @ Jan 18 2008, 11:28 PM)
why dont gave Canon 55-250 IS a try..... my opinion that lens better then Sigma... may b u guy prefer Sigma. Go download the latest Canon 400d firmware that recognize the Canon 55-250 IS n 18-55 IS kit lens. Just my opinion.

for walkaround, that range is a bit difficult when you want to snap wide / close range.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 18 2008, 11:38 PM
goldfries
post Jan 19 2008, 03:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

banyak burung ditembak. semua tak mati pun.

anyway we ended our session at around 1pm or so. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jan 19 2008, 10:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

got 17-55 kit lens?
goldfries
post Jan 20 2008, 12:41 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 DC OS still around RM 1.7k to 1.8k range.
goldfries
post Jan 20 2008, 10:10 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(xavierchan @ Jan 20 2008, 10:21 AM)
yaloh... around that range... but it is worth it, right? since it is considered as "All-in-one lens"...
i put it this way

to me, it's really great to have one. can go from 18 to 200 in split seconds. biggrin.gif

the bokeh not so great la, compare at 200mm vs F4L and such. even at 50mm you can't go f2.8 or higher.

however have to give and take la. IQ of course, sure cannot fight them L ranges but then it's not a sucky lens.

during the recent bird park outing, it was a whole day with the 18-200 OS. Yup! all the way. It has replaced my kit lens and my 70-300 altogether.
goldfries
post Jan 21 2008, 06:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

BG-E3 if you can get used unit, can go really low. i got mine for RM 350.

and it's brand new! brand new pre-owned but un-used. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jan 22 2008, 03:35 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jan 21 2008, 08:39 PM)
how to make bokeh(is this hokkien or photo term)?

biggrin.gif it's japanese term.

the bokeh effect is achieved by playing around with subject with it's distance with the background.

not only that. you'll try to use as high aperture as possible.

ISO / Shutter - up to you, as long as can snap the photo clearly.

lighting - this really depends on what you're shooting, ideally the environment must work well with your setup.

flash - not necessary. use if you have to.

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jan 21 2008, 08:39 PM)
eos 400D, speed lite 580ex II, lens 17-85mm ultrasonic, lens 100-400mm ultrasonic

ok let's start with the basics.

pair your 400D with the 17-85. smile.gif (actually if you pair the cam with 100-400 lagi best! i wish i have your 400mm during bird-park outing)

set your camera to AV, set the aperture highest and set the lens to 85mm.

set ISO to around 200 - 400 (assuming broad daylight)

go find a flower somewhere outside. if not then a pot la.

then angle yourself that the subject has a background pretty far away.

after that - SNAP!

Added on January 22, 2008, 3:36 am
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 22 2008, 01:05 AM)
UV filter not must or not must la.. just to protect your lens from scratches..

QUOTE(valho @ Jan 22 2008, 01:06 AM)
UV filters is more to protect your front element rather than make your photos looks better, so of course it still works wonder. Just becareful not to accidentally poke anything on your front element though, UV filters are cheap, but the lens are not.

you guys should come join me paintball snapping. smile.gif

using 2 layers of UV filter for protection.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 22 2008, 03:36 AM
goldfries
post Jan 22 2008, 04:01 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. my team has games quite often.

quite scary cos

1. paintball hit you - it hurts
2. paintball hit your camera - it may hurt......... your wallet

sometimes newbie mistaken me for opponent. then i see lotsa orange colored "marbles" coming my way.
goldfries
post Jan 22 2008, 07:14 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

snap inside better mah. snap outside you're blocked by the mesh. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jan 22 2008, 12:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jan 22 2008, 08:47 AM)
wahhh u play paintball and shoot same time kah? lolx kidding!
goldfries, does the 2 layer protection helps? Have u ever gotten hit before on the cam? lens ok?
I may want to shoot some paintball action as well in future, just starting to
2 layer protection will help, cos in the event 1 filter break it doesn't damage your lens.

not easy to get 2 filters broken la, cos you must be damn unlucky then only happen. hehe.

the camera isn't something easy to hit, your body get hit more often.

the lens rarely gets hit unless you sway sway walk through the line of fire. smile.gif

btw the 2 filter protection was advice given to me from a pro-photog from SG, so happen to be a paintball player as well (he uses EOS 1D mkII + 70-200 F2.8L IS USM in paintball field)

QUOTE(valho @ Jan 22 2008, 09:25 AM)
they see you with a bazooka sure they think your are an opponent, then shoot loh biggrin.gif
paintball hit you get bruis, paintball hit your lens your wallet get a big hole biggrin.gif
bleh, newbies shoot anything that stands on 2 legs and wears a mask.

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 22 2008, 10:27 AM)
goldfries,
when we meet up for TT, i'll tell you a way how to protect your cam and lens while shooting paintball... waterproof feature and it's not bulky.. DIY method
so far my towel protection works well enough. rarely kena splatter cos usually it won't burst unless it hit something hard (like my mask) then only some splatter happens. vegetable oil.

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jan 22 2008, 11:08 AM)
Best don't wear red.
hehe. i wear dark blue la. still kena. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jan 22 2008, 05:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(weileongz @ Jan 22 2008, 12:52 PM)
i wont go that place ... if lens got hole , mean my wallet got hole too !! blink.gif
hehe. if people dare go in with F2.8L IS USM + EOS 1d MK II, then we should have no problem la. only diff is that expensive combo is weather sealed. biggrin.gif

not likely to hit your lens la. the pellets his also burst at most. your hood protects your lens front a lot already. 2 filters protect the impact. some more when you see pellet coming, you just point it downwards la.

QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 22 2008, 03:11 PM)
Wear comouflage? Lol.. maybe those newbie think they are smart enough to spot someone in stealth, then shoot you like hell.. haha....

you camo also no use, cos if the pellet bounce also will hit you (ricochet la). the pellet don't fly straight cos gravity pull. then of course the pellets spin, so it could sway any direction too.

some times happen to be at cross fire angle la. hehe.

QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 22 2008, 03:11 PM)
@ goldfries.. hmmm.. cant camp with referee along ah? or just tell them those wearing blue shirt or highlighted vest are camera man la... so they wont shoot.. haha... =P just an idea..

cannot, them refs (called marshals) run around wan. they get hit plenty times.

usually if you snap SPEEDBALL games, getting hit is lesser la. cos those players will know who to hit wan.

newbies in recreation field, aiyoh they see as long as resemble human, whack only.

FYI they all know a camera man in the field, just that when in the state of panic / adrenaline rush - they shoot on sight. hehe.

you can check out my gallery of PB games la. sometimes try to get nice composition also quite scary.
goldfries
post Jan 22 2008, 06:12 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ah? i go in as part of my team mah.

btw you don't use the gears / pellets, should be able to arrange for snapping experience. biggrin.gif the only thing you need is a mask.

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0484sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:11 PM