Buying Advice [WTA] eos 350D / S5 IS, which one?

TSchrysler
post Nov 30 2007, 09:36 PM, updated 19y ago

182 posts

i was jz wandering which wan to target for...i'm a amateur photographer...i was thinkin...dlsr wud coz me alot of $$$ if i spend on the lens....why dun i try on a prosumer cam first??? so wats ur opinion.....n my budget is below 1.5k
zzub
post Nov 30 2007, 10:24 PM

Jalan-Jalan
2,044 posts

350D is a good DSLR camera.. and the current second hand price for it is not mistaken is around rm1.5-1.8k depends on shutter count and also the body condition....
if u really concern about the lens price.. well just go for prosumer... nod.gif
empire23
post Nov 30 2007, 11:39 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Trust me, if you're partially serious into learning how to shoot, take the 350D, the manual feature is invaluable at teaching one the ropes of the science of good pictures.
TSchrysler
post Dec 1 2007, 12:47 AM

182 posts

cz i was thinkin tat S5 IS oso can add on sum lens....better than using more $$ on lenses for dlsr....cz my budget quite low...im still a student....thx for ur comments...did think of my future years with photography....but i dun hav too much $$ to play nw...i think i'll go with S5 IS
zombie
post Dec 1 2007, 06:31 PM

Died
685 posts

Low budget then just take S5 lar, unless you can stick to the kit lens for the 350D which has been reported to be sucky.

But if I were you, I'll go for 350D. Much better for portraits.
TSchrysler
post Dec 1 2007, 06:44 PM

182 posts

watta bout the olympus 560 uZ?
NasiLemakMan
post Dec 2 2007, 02:28 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

In my opinion, better go with S5 if your a beginner. DSLR sometimes could get tedious coz you don't know how the shot would look like through the vf until after you press the shutter. Prosumer LCD live view helps you easier in settings before you shoot plus the variety of focals in one lense. Olympus is good too but with canon prosumer, you might it find easier to sell later on when you want to migrate to DSLR. 2 sens icon_rolleyes.gif .

This post has been edited by NasiLemakMan: Dec 2 2007, 02:29 AM
goldfries
post Dec 2 2007, 02:53 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Dec 1 2007, 06:31 PM)
Low budget then just take S5 lar, unless you can stick to the kit lens for the 350D which has been reported to be sucky.

people say only sucky. take pictures with it and you'll see pictures are still nice. smile.gif

Added on December 2, 2007, 2:54 am
QUOTE(chrysler @ Dec 1 2007, 12:47 AM)
cz i was thinkin tat S5 IS oso can add on sum lens....

more appropriately, they're called converters.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Dec 2 2007, 02:54 AM
TSchrysler
post Dec 2 2007, 09:43 PM

182 posts

thx for the info. goldfries....kinda nub to terms tho....i think s5 IS will me on my 2nd wishlist ...for nw, psp first!..XD
lordmint
post Dec 2 2007, 10:46 PM

37 posts

if you're getting the prosumer, might as well get a dslr right away. the price of an entry level dslr does not differ much compared to prosumer nowadays. if you're worried about having to buy lenses, dont worry. the kit lens performs well. some amazing shots are taken using kit lenses.

just think of it this way.. dslr offers you extra flexibilities you can explore which prosumer cameras can't. buying lenses is your own choice, not an obligation.

i purchased my 350d in sept '07 and i have no regrets at all. I love my slr!

TSchrysler
post Dec 2 2007, 11:12 PM

182 posts

thx for ur advices...cz my budget low...n then s5 IS gt sum cool functions...so i'm staying with s5 IS
goldfries
post Dec 2 2007, 11:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(lordmint @ Dec 2 2007, 10:46 PM)
if you're getting the prosumer, might as well get a dslr right away. the price of an entry level dslr does not differ much compared to prosumer nowadays. if you're worried about having to buy lenses, dont worry. the kit lens performs well. some amazing shots are taken using kit lenses.

just think of it this way.. dslr offers you extra flexibilities you can explore which prosumer cameras can't. buying lenses is your own choice, not an obligation.

i purchased my 350d in sept '07 and i have no regrets at all. I love my slr!
i disagree. one must always consider his / her style before jumping to DSLR.

a kit lens is limited as it is. your zoom is pretty must limited to 55mm / 70mm usually (not calculated with crop factor).

prosumers also have options for shutter, sensitivity, WB, aperture. but one good thing is it comes with macro + tele and some with super macro modes.

even now if i compare my DSLR on it's own with my S7000, my S7000 still wins in terms of overall package / flexibility.
mindkiller6610
post Dec 3 2007, 05:30 PM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

QUOTE(chrysler @ Nov 30 2007, 09:36 PM)
i was jz wandering which wan to target for...i'm a amateur photographer...i was thinkin...dlsr wud coz me alot of $$$ if i spend on the lens....why dun i try on a prosumer cam first??? so wats ur opinion.....n my budget is below 1.5k
if u not always having to shoot on lowlight and light challenging situations,

s5 is a better choice. the 12x zoom is really helpful.

post Dec 4 2007, 03:04 PM

29 posts

i also plan to have this canon IS5. i think it suit the level i have now!

0.0163sec    0.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:50 AM