Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Kastam tahan package from overseas, How to claim

refnulf
post Nov 8 2008, 04:11 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Depends on what item. If it's DVDs, CDs, etc then they probably won't accept any excuse. If it's a football jersey, same thing. Just depends on how much they're gonna charge you.They might drop from 40% to 30% but you'll still pay.

I personally just let the pos fellas negotiate. He'll go talk to them, come back with a value. I'll say still too high, he'll go talk again and try to get it lowered. But prepare to pay big if the item cost is high.

refnulf
post Nov 8 2008, 04:23 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(svage98 @ Nov 8 2008, 04:15 PM)
Thanks for your reply..but if dvd or cd why con't they accept any excuse? I mean unless they find I'm bringing in porno stuff I understand  tongue.gif
In the case of DVDs/CDs they'll normally ask why you had to buy it from overseas and not locally.

refnulf
post Nov 9 2008, 04:09 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Nov 8 2008, 08:47 PM)
Why I always buy Japanese and Korean album CD and DVD from YesAsia but I never face this problem?

But of course the seller write down the value US$10 only on the custom declaration form and usually I still can get within 2 weeks. The custom declaration there write down "CD". But still can pass the custom.
Depends on the customs, they will hold whatever parcel they want. CDs, DVDs, etc. Best to just put gift and nothing else on the package. The value doesn't matter. I've gotten taxed for parcels worth USD$30 before. Depends on what the sender does, sometimes if the value is really low the customs don't bother too much about it. But some senders will state the full amount on the package. But to be honest, they should only charge tax for anything worth RM500 and above because those items are considered low value and not taxable but with the post office items it's never like that.

0.0339sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:27 AM