Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Kastam tahan package from overseas, How to claim

hellokitty82
post Jul 24 2012, 10:03 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Jun 4 2012, 02:02 PM)
Just helped a friend bought something (Car parts) from Ebay. Item came from italy. Item only cost RM407.  Item sent by seller via Fedex. Suddenly Fedex mentioned that there is a charge by customs of RM290+  in order to release the item. Was told that Car parts will generally charge 30% + 10%(on the 30%) = (122.10(407x30%)+12.21(122.10x10%) = RM134.31 , so if customs want to charge tax should be around that figure... but kena RM290+ !!!  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

Fedex said new rule from kastams...  for every country there's a minimum charge for freights. Called TACT rates, and apparently if from Italy the min charge is the RM290+

Totally absurd!!!!

Anyone care to share if they had a similar experience?
so do you able to reduce the RM290 then?

I have similar experience.

I bought value of RM640 from Japan and fedex sms said duty and custom is RM138.82? shocking.gif about 22% of my value man!!!

i tracked the status from fedex website, saying that my items are in guangzhou china "in transit"..while actually im buying from japan, and items originally shipped from japan...
hellokitty82
post Jul 24 2012, 10:26 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(fgt @ Jul 24 2012, 10:20 AM)
I think it's more because that includes Fedex's charges to sort it out with the customs. If you use normal post as in Pos Malaysia delivers to ur house, u can choose to go to LCCT to sort it our urself or appoint Pos Malaysia as ur agent for a fee (can't remember how much, between 50-100 i think). I think that's the kind of fee Fedex is charging you on top of the duty.

Call up fedex and ask if you can settle it urself with the customs. You can also negotiate for lower duty (yes, legally and not under the table stuff) when u r there. Just make sure u ask before they print out the duty report. HOWEVER, be warned that certain items will cause you more headache for example car parts. Car parts and electronic devices requires SIRIM approval and sometimes AP from MITI. That can be a humungous hassle!

Hope this helps!
hi fgt, thanks for your infor.

but my items are from japan and i bought those bento stuffs like food picks, sandwich cutters and all those plastic ware wor... unsure.gif
i only received sms from them saying how much the custom duty only. they have not call me yet. will they send to me and how now? as per status now, the items now "in transit' guanzhou cn. unsure.gif
hellokitty82
post Jul 24 2012, 10:41 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(fgt @ Jul 24 2012, 10:35 AM)
There is also a rule of duty applicable to stuffs valued more than RM500 including shipping (how much is shipping costs btw?). I'm not too sure what stuff exactly and it seems your items are in the same category.

I think they hold it in CN so that they could send it back just in case you refuse to pay. Fedex or any private express courier service doesn't go through the normal process like national postal services do (ie, USPS or Royal Mail) and so I doubt you can settle it yourself. You'd just have to pay the amount I guess.

To make things clearer for you, you can call them to ask the specific details of the charges, they will tell you. Do call them up, their CS is quite pro as far as i know.
hello again.
thanks for your reply.
yes..my items are more than RM500, to be exact, it is RM640. shipping cost is free (paid by supplier), so i dont know how much.

yea..looks like my items are all in same category. if im not wrong and see correctly from the custom table, plasticware is 5%. but RM138.83/RM640 is about 22% already! shakehead.gif

hold in CN? but my items are actually ship from japan wor. they only sms me telling me the charges, didnt ask me want to pay or not wor. when should I pay anyway?

firstly, I called the no they provide, it is 1-300-63-63. the stupid guy kept telling me say they appoint agent to deal with, etc..ask me call another no. so i called another no. and the guy did tell me that the calculation includes freight charges. fine. then i asked him about the rate, he asked me to email fedex-kul-import@fedex.com mad.gif mad.gif and i emailed them this morning and im still waiting thier reply.

first time buy things from overseas. and before i buy, i did check the custom rate. so i tot is 5%. then OK...then only i proceed to buy. mana tahu...so expensive..beyond my expectation. vmad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif
hellokitty82
post Jul 24 2012, 11:11 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(fgt @ Jul 24 2012, 10:46 AM)
Ah so it is going to be taxed in the first place? Yeah it's always a hassle when it involves tax and duty. Percentage stated does not include the hassle that you have to go through. I'd avoid buying stuffs overseas if it's on that taxable list. tongue.gif The hassle is just not worth it, for me personally at least.

Don't worry. Be patient and just take it as learning experience. biggrin.gif

Good luck with that package!
omg..they classified my items under kitchenware/plasticware and tax me at 20%... mad.gif mad.gif

anyone can double check for me the HS code for 392310000, import duty is how much and what is the description? icon_question.gif bcoz i see...it looks like under veterinary category leh.... shakehead.gif

http://tariff.customs.gov.my/

0.0133sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:46 AM