post Nov 28 2007, 08:31 AM, updated 18y ago

1,424 posts

http://www.warlordsthemovie.com

Director: Peter Chan Ho Sun
Cast: Jet Li, Andy Lau, Takeshi Kaneshiro, Xu Jinglei
Release Date: 13 December 2007

The film is set in the 1860s, during the Taiping Rebellion in the late Qing Dynasty in China. The story, based on an unresolved crime, tells of three sworn brothers who turn against one another over a beautiful woman.

This post has been edited by hiroshi: Dec 20 2007, 07:22 PM
jdreamer
post Nov 28 2007, 10:47 AM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Definitely going to watch this movie!
SUSgogo2
post Nov 28 2007, 11:13 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Jet Li becomes highest paid actor, shatters own record

Beijing, (PTI): Shattering his own record, celebrated action star Jet Li could get 100 million yuan (about US$ 13.3 million), the highest ever paid to an actor in a Chinese film, for his role in an epic battle movie, its director said.

Nearly half the budget of the film 'The Warlords' went to the cast, with Li cornering a lion's share, followed by Hong Kong star, Andy Lau (16 million yuan), Takeshi Kaneshiro (12 million yuan) and actress Xu Jinglei (2 million yuan).

Li was a "guarantee" for the global sales of the film, according to the director Peter Chan, who said the actor could command the equivalent of 120 million yuan in Hollywood blockbusters but he accepted less because of his friendship.

"Without Li, we would not dare to invest US$ 40 million in a Chinese language film," he was quoted as saying by the Xinhua news agency.

The 100-million-yuan payday still broke the record for a star in a Chinese film that the 44-year old Li, a former national kung fu champion, himself held with 70 million yuan for the film 'Hero', he said.

Li made it big in the celluloid world with Hong Kong films in the 1990s with movies such as "The Legend of Fong Sai-Yuk" series before moving on to Hollywood.

'The Warlords', based on a Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) story about the killing of General Ma Xinyi, is an epic about three blood brothers and their struggle amid war and political upheaval.

The film is listed for release on December 13 in the Chinese mainland, Hong Kong and southeast Asia and from next March in North America.

Neiji
post Nov 28 2007, 03:29 PM

183 posts

Wow...that was awesome!!! 1 movie get so much paid!!! Jet Li really Jet Li,say dun wan act some action movie~~~~~~now i know why he wan to act liao!~
K81k
post Nov 29 2007, 12:18 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(Neiji @ Nov 28 2007, 03:29 PM)
Wow...that was awesome!!! 1 movie get so much paid!!! Jet Li really Jet Li,say dun wan act some action movie~~~~~~now i know why he wan to act liao!~
did he said he don't want to act in action movie?

he only said that HE DON'T WANT TO ACT IN CHINESE KUNG-FU LEGEND'S CHARACTERS ANYMORE, he acted as Wong Fei Hong, Fong Sai Yuk, Hong Hei Gun, Fok Yun Kap, Cheong Sam Fung, and many more...Fok Yun Kap was his last kung-fu legend's character
wayne_chen
post Nov 29 2007, 09:15 AM

HELL IS ABOUT TIME
2,150 posts

I love Jet Li playing in historical movie, coz he is suite to wear those Chinese historic suit more than Takeshi Kaneshiro...
cuebiz
post Nov 29 2007, 09:31 AM

992 posts

Saw the trailer in cinema and I must say it is quite awesome. I hope they don't censored too much the violence.
prez0n
post Nov 29 2007, 10:38 AM

48 posts

they said this is chinese version of The Lords Of The Rings. how u think?
i think i might be going to cinema to watch this movie.
oucheev
post Dec 10 2007, 10:33 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(prez0n @ Nov 29 2007, 10:38 AM)
they said this is chinese version of The Lords Of The Rings. how u think?
i think i might be going to cinema to watch this movie.
Not another comparison with LOTR. Anyway, saw the trailer and looks good but definitely historically inaccurate. How come Ching Dynasty soldiers fight in trenches. Looks more like World War 1 than Taiping Rebellion. blink.gif
beck_ken
post Dec 10 2007, 10:43 PM

4,716 posts

Takeshi not cool in army costume...
he is modern guy look!
westthen
post Dec 10 2007, 11:54 PM

1,661 posts

looks great...must watch hehe
demio121
post Dec 11 2007, 12:09 AM

2,084 posts

I hope this one don't dissapoint. Looking at the fight scene, this may look messy.

there are not many chinese speaking director (apart from Zhang Yimou) that can make an epic movie with care. Most of them just lost it half way thru adn try to end it with some massive fight scene.

wayne_chen
post Dec 11 2007, 08:00 AM

HELL IS ABOUT TIME
2,150 posts

Tis week i will be pokkai jor...
Coz i nid to watch 2 movies, one is Warlords n the second one is I Am Legend...
Koross
post Dec 11 2007, 10:44 AM

185 posts

Is it me or most of the modern Chinese movies now always are about 2 or more brothers/ best friends, killing/ turning on each other because of the love of a woman?

Makes me think that the writers have a 'all-women-are-devils' complex or something.
firedauz
post Dec 11 2007, 12:46 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 28 2007, 11:13 AM)
'The Warlords', based on a Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) story about the killing of General Ma Xinyi, is an epic about three blood brothers and their struggle amid war and political upheaval.

From the trailer, it looks like Takeshi is the modern type that had return from oversea (possibly Britain), Andy looks like a family man, and Jet looks like a rebel.

Can someone quote a summary of the story of the actual killy of General Ma Xinyi event?
Looks interesting, would love to know abit about it before watching the movie smile.gif
Hou_JaI
post Dec 11 2007, 02:10 PM

1,129 posts

who is the pretty woman ??!?!?
oucheev
post Dec 11 2007, 04:37 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Dec 11 2007, 12:46 PM)
From the trailer, it looks like Takeshi is the modern type that had return from oversea (possibly Britain), Andy looks like a family man, and Jet looks like a rebel.

Can someone quote a summary of the story of the actual killy of General Ma Xinyi event?
Looks interesting, would love to know abit about it before watching the movie smile.gif
Well, if I am not mistaken the story is a remake of a 70's Shaw Brothers movie. I think its based during the Taiping Rebellion which nearly overthrow the Manchu's government until the the Ching Dynasty asked help from the western powers to quell the rebellion by setting up a modern army called "The Ever Victorious Army". OK enough of history, if this movie followed the old one, after the wars the three sworn brothers become generals and powerful in the government. At the end I think they fight each other because of a women. I forgot whether the women is the first brother or the second brother wife but basically one stole the others wife and killed him and the youngest brother came for revenge. Maybe this story will be different.
firedauz
post Dec 11 2007, 08:02 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(oucheev @ Dec 11 2007, 04:37 PM)
Well, if I am not mistaken the story is a remake of a 70's Shaw Brothers movie. I think its based during the Taiping Rebellion which nearly overthrow the Manchu's government until the the Ching Dynasty asked help from the western powers to quell the rebellion by setting up a modern army called "The Ever Victorious Army". OK enough of history, if this movie followed the old one, after the wars the three sworn brothers become generals and powerful in the government. At the end I think they fight each other because of a women. I forgot whether the women is the first brother or the second brother wife but basically one stole the others wife and killed him and the youngest brother came for revenge. Maybe this story will be different.
Hey, that doesn't sound bad at all -- its a great story indeed thumbup.gif

If my guess is correct (according to the trailer), then its gonna be:

I hope there's gonna be some special effects like in HERO (Jet Li).
Yes, I'm a huge fan of special effects and computer graphics movies thumbup.gif
wiNd
post Dec 11 2007, 09:15 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

gonna watch it on the pre-release..smile.gif

hopefully its up to expectations...biggrin.gif
amalost
post Dec 11 2007, 10:21 PM

798 posts

wanna watch this movie cause look interesting also will watch i am legend..

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:40 AM