External HDD & Mac, What type to get?

sonnettech-asia
post Jan 25 2008, 10:34 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(baby26 @ Jan 8 2008, 01:40 AM)
Good for you to go for the iMac.

I use an external hdd (2.5") as a backup and clone it with CCC. Normal SATA enclosure will do with usb. There has been a lot of advice about SATA enclosure with firewire , if u find one let me know. Nevertheless if u want to boot from the external drive using usb is fine as well. I have not tried Leopard yet though.
we have the external SATA for 2.5 & 3.5 enclosures. One of it is posted earlier at the link below
both comes with 1X Firewire400 port, 2X firewire800 ports, and 1X USB 2.0.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=557607&hl=

jwho28
post Jan 26 2008, 10:21 AM

24 posts

haha, tis casing is $$... anyway, any casing will work fine under mac.
vintec
post Jan 26 2008, 12:51 PM

404 posts

just a side question, are the sata connectors on both 2.5 and 3.5" the same? i might need to back up my old 3.5" sata drive, so i was thinking of getting sonnettech-asia's enclosure or something similar if they are the same
xaw5126
post Jan 26 2008, 01:52 PM

3,488 posts

vintec
i have the SonnetTech casing here in 1U. you wanna bring your HDD and we can do a 'belajar sambil memasang' session here? smile.gif
vintec
post Jan 27 2008, 09:20 AM

404 posts

i'd love too but too bad i'm in brisbane and wont be going back any time soon sweat.gif i was planning to shop around and ask a friend in kl to get it for me

so i assume you're saying that they are both identical connectors?
sonnettech-asia
post Jan 27 2008, 10:16 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(vintec @ Jan 27 2008, 09:20 AM)
i'd love too but too bad i'm in brisbane and wont be going back any time soon  sweat.gif i was planning to shop around and ask a friend in kl to get it for me

so i assume you're saying that they are both identical connectors?
yes, they are both the same amount of Ports. If you are interested, please ask your friend to go to 1U maccity or Amcorp Maccity. They will be able to assist you.

mugenfoo
post Jan 29 2008, 12:42 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

Ah yes .... MacCity bought over MacAsia ... coz MacAsia was about to go Zhup Lup liao..

xaw5126
post Jan 29 2008, 10:24 AM

3,488 posts

that's not accurate ler... MacAsia "zhup lup" is not MacCity's problem at all smile.gif
Mac Asia "zhup lup" first, then Mac City took over the shop lot and the staff.
lil twist
post Jan 29 2008, 11:13 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

do u guys think its good to buy the external brand buffalo and the one they sold in machines?? sweat.gif
sonnettech-asia
post Jan 29 2008, 12:47 PM

602 posts

you need to know the specs on the items you are interested. In the market, there are many brands, I think for the Apple stores most of them are very particular about the reliability and quality of the products. That is why, its usually more expansive compare to the PC market.

At the same time, you need to know the your own requirements. What are you going to use the HDD for?
if you are doing some home video, I believe with the Firewire800 connector, its sufficient. I think its good for you to speak to Machines technical support to find out.

If you are planning to go into HD video editing, I will say, most of the common enclosure will not do the job. teh only way to go is using SATA raid. At lease a 4 HDD to raid into 1 volume. you can do Raid 0,1.

For your info.
those that who are in Advertising, Graphic Design and Photographer
with a Semi Pro Raid selutions of 4 HDD, you can open up a 1GB Photoshop files, drag the image around live, no delay for opening up file or file saving. That is why most of the professional Photographer will go for it.

Video editor and Animator.
if you are doing DV format, Firewire will do the job. but please take note, do not copy big chunk of files. You will loose data of the system will hang while copying. Do not copy 100GB at 1 go to be saved.
if you are doing professional Video such as HD, I would suggest you start to look into External Raid. if you need to know more about the HD Video editing storage, please visit
http://www.sonnettech.com/product/fusionfamily/index.html.

This post has been edited by sonnettech-asia: Jan 29 2008, 12:48 PM

0.0147sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:18 PM