Buying CD online, Recommend some website
Nov 25 2007, 05:50 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
3,375 posts Joined: May 2005 From: MeeRee |
do u guys here buy CD online? can someone share with which website is good? was wondering if some CD not available locally can purchased online? pls share..thanks
Nov 25 2007, 06:05 PM
418 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tmn Desa K.L |
buying from amazon kinda okay..but the delivery is costly
Nov 25 2007, 07:06 PM
1,942 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Penang |
You can also contact Davis, he has "lubang" to bring in rare audiophile CDs
Nov 25 2007, 08:16 PM
8,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The music shops in Malaysia is in my mind the WORST!..compilation after complilation and 99% I can't find what I want..so its either used or from abroard...can't help it lah.. the record companies are probably manned by goons and idiots..
I buy from Amazon UK and USA or Ebay at last resort. |
Nov 25 2007, 08:42 PM
11,811 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
yea, amazon
Nov 25 2007, 08:52 PM
5,211 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Konohana |
Another vote for Amazon. Yes the shipping is expensive, even so I chose the most expensive/fastest shipping and it really satisfies me. Arrive within 2-3 days. Other thing I like when buying online is no more ORI stickers on the bloody jewel case or album art
Nov 25 2007, 08:53 PM
shipping expensive is how expensive?
Nov 25 2007, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(siauann @ Nov 25 2007, 08:53 PM) Read here:http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/dis...8&nodeId=596188 |
Nov 25 2007, 09:42 PM
671 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(Najmods @ Nov 25 2007, 09:07 PM) there are 2 costs, per-shipment and per-item, which one leh? |
Nov 25 2007, 09:50 PM
248 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Penang |
i buy online at yesasia and cdjapan.
Nov 25 2007, 10:04 PM
Nov 25 2007, 10:05 PM
Nov 25 2007, 10:06 PM
4,540 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: US > LOS > KL |
I vote for YesAsia, i prefer to Japan Music, and i can see the website seem has a lot i can get....i always brought the cd there if the title not available in malaysia retail shop
Nov 25 2007, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(Najmods @ Nov 25 2007, 10:05 PM) Why don't you read the whole thing? Why do people nowadays too lazy to read? haha..sry sry my bad..the payment method using credit card? if i dont have credit card can buy online?This is how it calculates: (Highest Applicable Per-Shipment Cost) + (Number of Items x Per-Item Cost) = Total Shipping Fee |
Nov 25 2007, 10:19 PM
4,540 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: US > LOS > KL |
Nov 25 2007, 10:44 PM
Nov 25 2007, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(fevercrash @ Nov 25 2007, 10:44 PM) Factually, many are "tolerating" useless Bolehland already with very poor financial conveniences that severely limits personal imports. Money order only available to certain countries but not to USA..if not mistaken..and other methods will incur rediculous bank charges that'll make you puke. There's also Western Union but its utterly expensive when you figure out the maths.Best to have a credit card..as for risks.. you're entirely on your own. Without a credit card...forget online purchases..till you can afford and qualify to have one. This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 25 2007, 11:02 PM |
Nov 25 2007, 11:12 PM
508 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Amazon is my usual choice for uncommon stuff (at least uncommon in Malaysia).Just beware of our beloved kastam because they love seeing Amazon boxes coming their way.
Nov 26 2007, 12:29 AM
945 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(fevercrash @ Nov 25 2007, 10:44 PM) There is a hottest debit card in town, check out www.tunemoney.com.There are several taiwan based online cd shop but usually quite pricey in shipping/handling and u must beware of the pressing country too. This post has been edited by airbag_grado: Nov 26 2007, 12:41 AM |
Nov 26 2007, 10:14 AM
2,394 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bristol, UK |
Buying online is safer than using your card at a store.
Nov 26 2007, 11:34 AM
2,491 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: KL |
QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Nov 25 2007, 10:06 PM) I vote for YesAsia, i prefer to Japan Music, and i can see the website seem has a lot i can get....i always brought the cd there if the title not available in malaysia retail shop i saw some CDs that i want at YesAsia too, but kinda troublesome to buy bring them in..@akabane, do you know where can i get m-flo's CD? doesnt matter if it's new release or previous release.. |
Nov 26 2007, 12:00 PM
Yesasia prices include shipping (minimum US$25 total purchase) to Malaysia..buy 2 or 3 max and it'll likely pass through customs no problem. Buy a big load and almost surely you kena tax. If pay by credit card..whats the problem or troublesome?..
This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 26 2007, 12:19 PM |
Nov 26 2007, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 26 2007, 12:00 PM) Yesasia prices include shipping (minimum US$25 total purchase) to Malaysia..buy 2 or 3 max and it'll likely pass through customs no problem. Buy a big load and almost surely you kena tax. If pay by credit card..whats the problem or troublesome?.. the problem is i dont have credit card.. do they accept paypal? or debit card?btw, the CDs will pass through custom so easily? i never bought CD from oversea but i remember tax for CD/DVD is quite high.. |
Nov 26 2007, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Nov 26 2007, 12:52 PM) Read here: http://global.yesasia.com/help/topic.aspx?...Id=1168&lang=enNearly all reputable sites list down their payment options and delivery terms. You'd have to access and READ CAREFULLY their help site where there's documentation on T & C. Sorry..but I've mentioned earlier that one needs a credit card to ease online transactions. Paypal may not yet be a facility to many online sites.. due to operational & cost reasons known best to the shop. Forget money order..you'll be disappointed. This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 26 2007, 01:00 PM |
Nov 26 2007, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 26 2007, 12:58 PM) Read here: http://global.yesasia.com/help/topic.aspx?...Id=1168&lang=en thanks for the info. i just checked, paypal is accepted by YesAsiaNearly all reputable sites list down their payment options and delivery terms. You'd have to access and READ CAREFULLY their help site where there's documentation on T & C. Sorry..but I've mentioned earlier that one needs a credit card to ease online transactions. Paypal may not yet be a facility to many online sites.. due to operational & cost reasons known best to the shop. Forget money order..you'll be disappointed. |
Nov 26 2007, 09:59 PM
1,346 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
I recommend Tower.com, I have bought few CDs from Tower and the CDs arrived within three weeks. Delivery cost per CD is USD 2.99, much cheaper compared to Amazon, take a look.
Nov 26 2007, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Nov 26 2007, 09:59 PM) I recommend Tower.com, I have bought few CDs from Tower and the CDs arrived within three weeks. Delivery cost per CD is USD 2.99, much cheaper compared to Amazon, take a look. thanks! |
Nov 26 2007, 11:32 PM
1,029 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: åƒé‡Œä¹‹å¤– |
QUOTE(auronthas @ Nov 26 2007, 09:59 PM) I recommend Tower.com, I have bought few CDs from Tower and the CDs arrived within three weeks. Delivery cost per CD is USD 2.99, much cheaper compared to Amazon, take a look. this is good |
Nov 26 2007, 11:51 PM
248 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Penang |
Nov 27 2007, 06:58 PM
Nov 27 2007, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Nov 27 2007, 06:58 PM) |
Nov 28 2007, 02:56 AM
1,645 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: London |
towers.com
looks nice i might consider it too LOL |
Nov 28 2007, 01:56 PM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
some of the taiwan online site got very good election of CD and cheap too
the shipping won't cost much also. try www.books.tw.com |
Nov 29 2007, 09:34 AM
2,343 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang / Sitiawan Job: Weed Agriculturist |
guys, when you bought from online oversea sites like yesasia, did the kastam tahan your cds?
Nov 29 2007, 09:55 AM
Nov 29 2007, 10:24 AM
Whatever it is..don't buy too many at one go and not advisable during X'mas season (EU or USA) where delivery MAY be longer than expected.
Aug 10 2008, 10:13 PM
I just ordered Diana Krall SACD at Amazon.com, it cost me total $38.98, i have received an auto-comfirmation email from Amazon after placing order and my cd will be ship on 11th August and to deliver not later than 15 or 16th Aug, can anyone clarify to me here that is it my ordered already approved as this is my first time buying from Amazon? How long will i be able to receive my cd? I choosed the most expensive shipping..
Aug 10 2008, 10:26 PM
1,630 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
wau. tough time for local CD shop.
good time for online shopper. Any recommended audiophile chinese CD online shop or not. I am looking for Hakka songs. |
Aug 10 2008, 10:31 PM
2,222 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Touch wood but I have never had my CD's / DVD's stopped by customs check.
I guess that's coz I don't buy in bulk |
Aug 10 2008, 10:38 PM
1,630 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
I hope to get this CD online.
It is Flamenco (by PEPE something). This album is widely used during the KLIAV show (Harbeth booth). At the climax, u can hear the leg tap/slamming on the floor that is so tappy. anyone know what album is this and where to buy. |
Aug 10 2008, 10:48 PM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Any items less than RM500 (plus shipping) won't be bothered by custom so no worries. I bought imported music CDs from local shop. I wanted to support them so they can bring in better titles in the future. I buy movie DVDs from Amazon (soon BDs
I always buy RC stuff from a shop in Wahington DC and always got them a week later so I don't know why the heck Amazon takes too long to ship |
Aug 10 2008, 11:20 PM
904 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: KUL (MYS) |
priority boxes they will just let go. I've been doing ebay buy and sell on hobby items .. been good all these while.
fevercrash, check if you get a tracing number then you'll see where is the package |
Aug 11 2008, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Aug 10 2008, 10:38 PM) I hope to get this CD online. Try tower.com, is it what you looking for?It is Flamenco (by PEPE something). This album is widely used during the KLIAV show (Harbeth booth). At the climax, u can hear the leg tap/slamming on the floor that is so tappy. anyone know what album is this and where to buy. Here is the link: - http://www.tower.com/flamenco-chano-lobato-cd/wapi/106654142 |
Aug 11 2008, 06:05 PM
I just bought 2 DVDs from Tower (never purchase from them before...this is 1st time trial) but I have to use Google checkout since Tower checkout does not has Malaysia listed as one of the countries.
The DVD price and shipping a bit cheaper than Amazon (even with Amazon so call offer price) but the mother of all question here is will the standard shipping much quicker than Amazon. If it is then it will be only Tower from now on. Hopefully it will be here in 2 weeks time. Amazon most of the time will take 1 month or more with standard shipping. This post has been edited by arremie: Aug 11 2008, 06:11 PM |
Aug 11 2008, 06:57 PM
478 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 06:05 PM) I just bought 2 DVDs from Tower (never purchase from them before...this is 1st time trial) but I have to use Google checkout since Tower checkout does not has Malaysia listed as one of the countries. Amazon UK is faster. Normal shipping can arrive in 5 days time based on my experience.The DVD price and shipping a bit cheaper than Amazon (even with Amazon so call offer price) but the mother of all question here is will the standard shipping much quicker than Amazon. If it is then it will be only Tower from now on. Hopefully it will be here in 2 weeks time. Amazon most of the time will take 1 month or more with standard shipping. |
Aug 11 2008, 08:55 PM
175 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 06:05 PM) I just bought 2 DVDs from Tower (never purchase from them before...this is 1st time trial) but I have to use Google checkout since Tower checkout does not has Malaysia listed as one of the countries. Do let us know how fast Tower.com stuff reaches you compared to Amazon. I'm planning to get Transformers and Pirates of the Carribbean Trilogy on Blu-Ray from them. The DVD price and shipping a bit cheaper than Amazon (even with Amazon so call offer price) but the mother of all question here is will the standard shipping much quicker than Amazon. If it is then it will be only Tower from now on. Hopefully it will be here in 2 weeks time. Amazon most of the time will take 1 month or more with standard shipping. I've compared the FINAL price with shipping between Amazon.com and Tower.com. Tower.com is cheaper by US$5! That's a RM 16.50 difference! This post has been edited by Exarkun: Aug 11 2008, 08:58 PM |
Aug 11 2008, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(Exarkun @ Aug 11 2008, 08:55 PM) Do let us know how fast Tower.com stuff reaches you compared to Amazon. I'm planning to get Transformers and Pirates of the Carribbean Trilogy on Blu-Ray from them. As mentioned in my earlier thread, it takes around 3 weeks for delivery. Tower.com is definitely cheaper. Last year, the shipping was only USD 2.99 per CD, this year they have increased to USD 4.99, most likely crude oil hike.I've compared the FINAL price with shipping between Amazon.com and Tower.com. Tower.com is cheaper by US$5! That's a RM 16.50 difference! This post has been edited by auronthas: Aug 11 2008, 09:13 PM |
Aug 11 2008, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 06:05 PM) I just bought 2 DVDs from Tower (never purchase from them before...this is 1st time trial) but I have to use Google checkout since Tower checkout does not has Malaysia listed as one of the countries. You are right. Now can only checkout at Google; there used to be Malaysia country code at tower.com until early this year they removed it. Dunno why? I wish to share my problem lately with tower.com, I have ordered three CDs last month at tower.com, but only received 2 CDs, still waiting for the 3rd one. I have made several emails (attached with their confirmation of purchase from tower.com) to tower.com since late last month but still no reply from them. This post has been edited by auronthas: Aug 11 2008, 09:15 PM |
Aug 11 2008, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(fentanyl @ Aug 11 2008, 06:57 PM) I want R1 DVD dude. I believed you'll get R2 DVD only from Amazon UK. Am I right?QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 11 2008, 09:03 PM) As mentioned in my earlier thread, it takes around 3 weeks for delivery. Tower.com is definitely cheaper. Last year, the shipping was only USD 2.99 per CD, this year they have increased to USD 4.99, most likely crude oil hike. That's correct. The shipping for 2 DVDs are USD9.98. Really 3 weeks is still acceptable. The fastest I got from Amazon so far is 24 days QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 11 2008, 09:13 PM) I wish to share my problem lately with tower.com, I have ordered three CDs last month at tower.com, but only received 2 CDs, still waiting for the 3rd one. I have made several emails (attached with their confirmation of purchase from tower.com) to tower.com since late last month but still no reply from them. This is where Amazon really shine. Their customer service is 2nd to none. If you made a complaint you didn't receive your purchase after 5 weeks, they will send again without any question asked. Never happen to me but a few of my friends received the original package after they received replacement package from Amazon Please take this as information only and don't "abuse" the info We don't want Amazon to barred Malaysians later This post has been edited by arremie: Aug 11 2008, 09:33 PM |
Aug 11 2008, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 09:32 PM) I want R1 DVD dude. I believed you'll get R2 DVD only from Amazon UK. Am I right? Used to but recently ordered audio CDs from them. |
Aug 11 2008, 10:28 PM
1,829 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Bolehland |
I bought CD online once from HMV HK. I could not find that album in Malaysia. So, I had to get it there. I chose the cheaper postage rate.
Aug 12 2008, 01:32 AM
612 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: A Suburb To Hell |
tower.com not bad.. check out therir website.
Aug 12 2008, 09:16 AM
29 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
This is the response I get from tower.com regarding purchasing CDs. When I did a checkout Malaysia was not listed under countries..
Dear LL Saw, Thank you for contacting Tower.com. Due to consistent delivery problems we can no longer ship orders to: Malaysia. If you have any further questions, please reply to this email or forward your inquiries to info@tower.com. Sincerely, Sue Tower Team Member |
Aug 12 2008, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(llsaw @ Aug 12 2008, 09:16 AM) This is the response I get from tower.com regarding purchasing CDs. When I did a checkout Malaysia was not listed under countries.. U have to use Google Checkout.Dear LL Saw, Thank you for contacting Tower.com. Due to consistent delivery problems we can no longer ship orders to: Malaysia. If you have any further questions, please reply to this email or forward your inquiries to info@tower.com. Sincerely, Sue Tower Team Member |
Aug 12 2008, 10:14 AM
Aug 12 2008, 02:15 PM
1,339 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
cdbaby.com
Aug 12 2008, 02:18 PM
Aug 12 2008, 08:49 PM
2,028 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, MYS |
I would vote for YesAsia.com
Aug 12 2008, 09:03 PM
Aug 12 2008, 09:11 PM
Why there is still no reply from tower.com on my lost CD? Is it because i used google checkout? I have send numerous emails to orders@tower.com and reply@tower.com, no response so far.
If you say tower.com no longer deliver CD to Malaysia, why they still allow google checkout? This post has been edited by auronthas: Aug 12 2008, 09:11 PM |
Aug 12 2008, 09:44 PM
Bought these from Amazon UK and received today.
![]() |
Aug 12 2008, 10:30 PM
Aug 13 2008, 02:22 AM
QUOTE(fentanyl @ Aug 12 2008, 09:44 PM) Dude...I've been looking everywhere locally for Katie Melua Call of The Search but nowhere to be found. Looks like I will order from Amazon UK also since the shipment is roughly 1 week only. Thanks for the highlight |
Aug 13 2008, 05:52 AM
Aug 13 2008, 07:55 AM
Aug 13 2008, 08:56 AM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Shipping cost from Amazon are charged per shipment, and then per item. Check here for more info:
Amazon US http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/dis...8&nodeId=596188 Amazon UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/help/customer/d...8&nodeId=502482 Please note Amazon UK prices with VAT (17.5%) included for EU countires if you visit the website for the first time. Our prices will not include that. This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 13 2008, 08:56 AM |
Aug 13 2008, 09:04 AM
QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 13 2008, 05:52 AM) Amazon UK has only two options : Air Mail or Priority Express. Mine is the cheapest. CD and DVD will be 1.49 per item and 2.09 per delivery. I found out buying here is cheaper than buying imported CDs locally. |
Aug 13 2008, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 13 2008, 08:56 AM) Shipping cost from Amazon are charged per shipment, and then per item. Check here for more info: I browsed through the Amazon US webpages and it shows that any purchases above $25 will get free postage. Is that valid? or only for US?Amazon US http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/dis...8&nodeId=596188 Amazon UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/help/customer/d...8&nodeId=502482 Please note Amazon UK prices with VAT (17.5%) included for EU countires if you visit the website for the first time. Our prices will not include that. |
Aug 13 2008, 10:21 AM
Aug 13 2008, 11:09 AM
so does that mean Amazon UK shipping cost are cheaper than Amazon US and faster too? I have yet to recived my cd, it's estimated to arrived Malaysia on this 15th Aug..
Aug 13 2008, 11:26 AM
190 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
I normally buy from Elusive Disc in the US. Their packaging is superb and so far all my CDs and LPs have been delivered without any problems nor duties paid. Just make sure the value of your purchase do not exceed RM500 or so and you should keep the customs officer at bay.
Aug 13 2008, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 13 2008, 11:09 AM) so does that mean Amazon UK shipping cost are cheaper than Amazon US and faster too? I have yet to recived my cd, it's estimated to arrived Malaysia on this 15th Aug.. From Amazon US:Total cost for above CDs : US47.91 Standard International shipping : US20.95 Total : US68.86 = RM227.24 |
Aug 13 2008, 11:57 AM
Imported CDs have a better sound quality? The reason I want to buy from oversea is mainly bcoz I could not get the CDs at our local stores.
Aug 13 2008, 12:13 PM
Aug 13 2008, 12:54 PM
Aug 13 2008, 01:18 PM
OK. Good. I guess I will be doing online shopping soon.
Aug 15 2008, 07:40 AM
Haha, received my cd from Amazon yesterday, damn fast service..
Aug 15 2008, 04:05 PM
Those Used CDs featuring in the Amazon website can buy ah? Dunno they will refund if the discs' quality are not good.
Aug 15 2008, 04:17 PM
104 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Shah Alam |
Hello all, newbie here. First time posting.
Slightly off topic, but do you know if buying BluRay from AmazonUK or US can be played here? I tried to make comparison and seems cheaper from US - or maybe it depends on shipping option (?). Thanks. |
Aug 15 2008, 04:45 PM
4,300 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Your girlfriend's bed |
ebay is cheap. shipping is about US$10.
Added on August 15, 2008, 4:57 pmcan someone explain to me why CD "pressing" quality matters? I don't understand it as a software engineer point of view Let's say i have a binary data file, i put it in expensive CD and cheap cheap CD. both also will hold 100% of that data. "software" wise, quality of the CD does not matter. (assuming both are new) and what about Audio CD? Isn't Audio CD also holds pure binary data? Every modern CD reader will read data with error-detection mechanism and will have data buffering, so how will imported CD differ? please enlighten me cause I don't know. This post has been edited by zzzxtreme: Aug 15 2008, 04:57 PM |
Aug 15 2008, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Aug 15 2008, 04:45 PM) can someone explain to me why CD "pressing" quality matters? Read HEREI don't understand it as a software engineer point of view Let's say i have a binary data file, i put it in expensive CD and cheap cheap CD. both also will hold 100% of that data. "software" wise, quality of the CD does not matter. (assuming both are new) and what about Audio CD? Isn't Audio CD also holds pure binary data? Every modern CD reader will read data with error-detection mechanism and will have data buffering, so how will imported CD differ? please enlighten me cause I don't know. |
Aug 15 2008, 05:35 PM
819 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(fentanyl @ Aug 15 2008, 05:19 PM) Your point is valid...to me it is simple...junk in junk out.I'm no expert but the press process has to be good and most importantly the source used has to be good. Th source makes all the difference. I have a few imported CD's and exactly the same Malaysian pressed cd's. I can proof that the imported once (at least the ones i have) are better. You can hear more details etc... May be some one else can further explain... |
Aug 15 2008, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(gsdev @ Aug 15 2008, 05:35 PM) Your point is valid...to me it is simple...junk in junk out. I heard from a Hifi shop consultant that Malaysian pressed cd are lower quality pressed cd, which for example the Malaysian recording company bought a master copy of "ABC" album from US but lower grade one cos it's cheaper and they sell us RM50 and gained lots of profit from this..I'm no expert but the press process has to be good and most importantly the source used has to be good. Th source makes all the difference. I have a few imported CD's and exactly the same Malaysian pressed cd's. I can proof that the imported once (at least the ones i have) are better. You can hear more details etc... May be some one else can further explain... |
Aug 15 2008, 06:44 PM
819 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 15 2008, 06:12 PM) I heard from a Hifi shop consultant that Malaysian pressed cd are lower quality pressed cd, which for example the Malaysian recording company bought a master copy of "ABC" album from US but lower grade one cos it's cheaper and they sell us RM50 and gained lots of profit from this.. That maybe one reason for the issues...i wonder how long they will fool the Malaysian consumers??? |
Aug 15 2008, 07:43 PM
Aug 16 2008, 01:51 AM
The different between International service and local service,
I went to a local cd shop to order a cd but after 1 month still no news from the boss, called the boss cos tired of waiting for his call and he said they have ordered but due to supplier OOS they have to wait till it's available! Then i tried the Amazon.com and it took me less than a week to receive the cd with a cheaper price and faster service.. so from now onwards, I am not going to support any local cd shops anymore..well i don't think they care anyway of losing a small customer like me .. |
Aug 16 2008, 04:10 AM
QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 16 2008, 01:51 AM) The different between International service and local service, I have checked few imported CDs such as Madeleine Peyroux - Half the Perfect World, i bought it for RM 40 (Imported from Rounder Records, US), but both Amazon UK and US are selling at £9.98 and USD 13.99 respectively (haven't included shipping cost) which are extremely expensive.I went to a local cd shop to order a cd but after 1 month still no news from the boss, called the boss cos tired of waiting for his call and he said they have ordered but due to supplier OOS they have to wait till it's available! Then i tried the Amazon.com and it took me less than a week to receive the cd with a cheaper price and faster service.. so from now onwards, I am not going to support any local cd shops anymore..well i don't think they care anyway of losing a small customer like me .. I would only buy CD online whether in tower.com or amazon (wow, the delivery time is damn fast compared to tower) if the CD is really difficult to find locally or old published CD. |
Aug 16 2008, 10:11 AM
U mean Amazon UK right? Faster than Tower...
Aug 16 2008, 02:26 PM
4,300 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Your girlfriend's bed |
QUOTE(fentanyl @ Aug 15 2008, 05:19 PM) thanks for the infobut that thread does not explain why pressing quality matters in technical sense it only says "i hear difference". hope someone can explain technically. how can digital data be lost by different pressing? |
Aug 28 2008, 06:07 PM
418 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sabah |
Hi guys! For those who have shopped with Tower.com before, how long did it take for your stuffs to arrive? I placed 3 orders with them on the 13th Aug and I received 2 of them today, which were shipped on the 13th and 14th respectively. So it took about 15 days (including weekends) to reach my hands, and it's by International Priority. From the stamp on the box, it's released by KLIA custom on the 25th. Sad thing was the postman just left it in the pos box, lucky didn't get stolen.
Aug 28 2008, 06:17 PM
You ordered from Tower.com on August 13th? I tried to order yesterday, but even though my account was created last year, it keep asking me for a new address. What really stopped me, there is no more option to select Malaysia as the country. I guess they no longer ship to Malaysia, maybe starting this week?
This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 28 2008, 06:18 PM |
Aug 28 2008, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 28 2008, 06:17 PM) You ordered from Tower.com on August 13th? I tried to order yesterday, but even though my account was created last year, it keep asking me for a new address. What really stopped me, there is no more option to select Malaysia as the country. I guess they no longer ship to Malaysia, maybe starting this week? Did u use Google checkout? |
Aug 28 2008, 06:27 PM
I order 2 DVD from Tower on 11/8. One shipped on 13/8 n the other on 14/8. Until today nothing yet...pucik. See tomoro or Saturday how. My 1st time also. All this while always order from Amazon. Average 1 month for cheapest shipping rate
Added on August 28, 2008, 6:28 pmI use Google checkout This post has been edited by arremie: Aug 28 2008, 06:28 PM |
Aug 28 2008, 06:31 PM
Oh, I tried to checkout from tower.com, but Malaysia is not in their country list. Have to choose google checkout. Then google will send you a Google Checkout Order Receipt, follow by an email from tower.com.
Aug 28 2008, 06:37 PM
They did have Malaysia when I last order from them. Maybe this time we can only use Google checkout now.
How come priority shipping takes so long? |
Aug 28 2008, 09:23 PM
Yes, I suppose that's the only checkout option we can use. For the shipping part, this is what it says in the email:
Shipping Information for Domestic Orders: · Standard Shipments are expected to arrive within 8-15 business days upon shipment. · Expedited Shipments are expected to arrive within 5-7 business days upon shipment. · Priority Shipments are expected to arrive within 2-4 business days upon shipment. For all three services, we will allow up to twenty-one (21) business days for delivery. *For International Customers, please allow 5-15 business days upon shipment for your package to arrive. For those items shipped internationally, we will allow up to thirty (30) business days for delivery. I find the last statement quite confusing. They allow 30 days for Priority Shipments?? Might as well I use Standard or Expedited. |
Aug 28 2008, 09:27 PM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
Do local cd shop have Andrea Bocelli's: Vivere (cd + dvd vers.)
Aug 28 2008, 09:37 PM
I used std shipment for my Death Cab for Cutie - Transatlanticism CD. Took bout 16 days to crack and the front cd case was cracked. Sigh.. Guess I can bear with the longer shipment times and potential damaged CD casing due to the really compact shipping packaging when the shipment is about USD3 less compared to Amazon.
Aug 29 2008, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 11 2008, 09:13 PM) You are right. Now can only checkout at Google; there used to be Malaysia country code at tower.com until early this year they removed it. Dunno why? Finally i received the 3rd CD. The CD was mailed with hard cover package, it was opened by Kastam as there's a Kastam seal tape. That's why there was two weeks delay than the other two CDs. I wish to share my problem lately with tower.com, I have ordered three CDs last month at tower.com, but only received 2 CDs, still waiting for the 3rd one. I have made several emails (attached with their confirmation of purchase from tower.com) to tower.com since late last month but still no reply from them. Something still puzzle me, why there's no response from tower.com on my emails.??? |
Aug 29 2008, 06:59 PM
They usually do that when there's to much problem with that particular country (customs, missing shipment, etc).
Same thing with StarWarsShop.com, I emailed them asking why they no longer ship to Malaysia, the above is the reason they gave me. |
Aug 29 2008, 07:06 PM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
can buy online with pay pal?
Im looking for Bocelli's Vivere, but cant find imported vers. at cds shop. This post has been edited by yehlai: Aug 29 2008, 07:08 PM |
Aug 29 2008, 09:28 PM
252 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Nov 2 2008, 04:35 PM
36 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Has been waiting for my CD from Amazon for the past 7 weeks. I guess the CD being taken by the custom. This is the reason a lot of online CD shops stop shipping to Malaysia. This is my first order with Amazon and it was really a bad experience. With YesAsia no problem. Really wondering why ?
Nov 2 2008, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(storm7752 @ Nov 2 2008, 04:35 PM) Has been waiting for my CD from Amazon for the past 7 weeks. I guess the CD being taken by the custom. This is the reason a lot of online CD shops stop shipping to Malaysia. This is my first order with Amazon and it was really a bad experience. With YesAsia no problem. Really wondering why ? Try HMV Japan, i received my order within 3-4 working days, pretty fast and secured. I am also waiting for my CD from Tower.com for almost 2 months, they claimed the CD i ordered are not in stock and yet to ship, very slow in response, that'll be my last order from tower.com. |
Feb 16 2009, 01:56 AM
252 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Anyone got buy CD from this website: Sensasian.com?
Sep 6 2009, 03:19 AM
274 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
im thinking of getting purchase a CD from Tower or Amazon US.. are there any changes since the last posting? tq
Sep 8 2009, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(alankhoo @ Feb 16 2009, 01:56 AM) I buy CDs almost weekly from Amazon UK. Out of the 30+ CDs bought I had 2 gone missing but Amazon has shipped me replacements at no additional cost when I reported the issue. You have to wait bout 1-2 months though as Amazon will need to confirm if the items are really lost before sending replacements. |
Sep 8 2009, 10:22 AM
6,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 5 2010, 08:15 PM
245 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
I found a M'sia based music cd / dvd online store. I have not purchased from them before. Free postage above RM100. This is the site:
http://www.asiahomecd.com/ Anyone here tried them before? |
Aug 19 2012, 12:48 AM
4 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Come across this website http://www.musicwoorld.com Malaysia based online store, you will get 15% discount code after you make a FB share on one of an album which is not hard and free delivery for order above 100 otherwise RM4.5 delivery charge to all location within Malaysia le.
But one thing I noticed is that they only carry Sony Music album, maybe later will include other label. I made an order once, response not bad, got my CD in 2 working days. QUOTE(siauann @ Nov 25 2007, 05:50 PM) |
Aug 20 2012, 01:47 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(dinodd @ Aug 19 2012, 12:48 AM) Come across this website http://www.musicwoorld.com Malaysia based online store, you will get 15% discount code after you make a FB share on one of an album which is not hard and free delivery for order above 100 otherwise RM4.5 delivery charge to all location within Malaysia le. did a quick search, and yeap pretty much just sony music from the quick glance. they have the recent FLOW and kalafina malaysia only CDs LOL! (due to the recent anime festival asia - Malaysia promo)But one thing I noticed is that they only carry Sony Music album, maybe later will include other label. I made an order once, response not bad, got my CD in 2 working days. |
Dec 5 2012, 12:12 PM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
I plan to buy some Taiwan cds from books.com.tw
Will i get custom tax on it? The total worth of the cds should be around rm200. Anyone has experience? |
Dec 5 2012, 01:59 PM
Dec 5 2012, 02:12 PM
Dec 5 2012, 02:16 PM
Dec 5 2012, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 5 2012, 02:16 PM) np. do keep in mind the rm500 limit includes shipping fees too (eg shipping rm100, items rm500 = total rm600 = exceeds limits = ~10% tax which will nett you ~rm660 ha! mine is NTD 1805 ard rm200 after include shipping fees.Hope that the custom officer knows the diff between NTD and RM. |
Dec 5 2012, 03:59 PM
Dec 6 2012, 09:24 AM
10,859 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
may i know how do i know whether it is locally pressed or imported? let say i bought Taylor Swift Red from speedy for around rm49.99, this is local press?
This post has been edited by ben3003: Dec 6 2012, 09:31 AM |
Dec 6 2012, 07:00 PM
909 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Kerteh - KL - Ipoh - KB |
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 6 2012, 09:24 AM) may i know how do i know whether it is locally pressed or imported? let say i bought Taylor Swift Red from speedy for around rm49.99, this is local press? on the back cover at the bottom, check the address of the distributor. If got local's address, means local edition. If got oversea's address, that's imported one. That's how I recognize it. |
Dec 6 2012, 07:29 PM
60 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: Bront Palabatas, Penang |
WOW HD US
WOW HD UK -Different region, different currency, different price (you have to compare between region site for the cheapest). -Free shipping on everything. What else could you ask for? -Bought few album and one of them got crack on the case. Amazon also sent me a cracked case also This post has been edited by Bront Palabuto: Dec 6 2012, 07:29 PM |
Dec 6 2012, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(Bront Palabuto @ Dec 6 2012, 07:29 PM) WOW HD US how many days they took you before getting the parcel?WOW HD UK -Different region, different currency, different price (you have to compare between region site for the cheapest). -Free shipping on everything. What else could you ask for? -Bought few album and one of them got crack on the case. Amazon also sent me a cracked case also |
Dec 7 2012, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Dec 6 2012, 07:00 PM) on the back cover at the bottom, check the address of the distributor. If got local's address, means local edition. If got oversea's address, that's imported one. That's how I recognize it. is it at the plastic before u open? there say diedarkan oleh universal music malaysia de, means local pressed? but i tot even imported one they also have local distributor?nice sharing Bront Palabuto, free shipping to malaysia so nice.. yeah can share how long it takes to arrive in msia? This post has been edited by ben3003: Dec 7 2012, 04:31 PM |
Dec 7 2012, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 7 2012, 04:29 PM) is it at the plastic before u open? there say diedarkan oleh universal music malaysia de, means local pressed? but i tot even imported one they also have local distributor? what i noticed, if it's locally pressed, there will be something like "manufactured and distributed by" followed by local address ON the cover back. Or else, if the writing on the back cover say manufactured oversea but then got distributor sticker OUTSIDE the case, mean it's not pressed locally. The sticker is just to tell who distribute it in here. But sometimes there's no local distrbutor sticker. So i just checked if there's any local address written on the back cover.nice sharing Bront Palabuto, free shipping to malaysia so nice.. yeah can share how long it takes to arrive in msia? |
Dec 7 2012, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Dec 7 2012, 04:50 PM) what i noticed, if it's locally pressed, there will be something like "manufactured and distributed by" followed by local address ON the cover back. Or else, if the writing on the back cover say manufactured oversea but then got distributor sticker OUTSIDE the case, mean it's not pressed locally. The sticker is just to tell who distribute it in here. But sometimes there's no local distrbutor sticker. So i just checked if there's any local address written on the back cover. oh... but taylor swift red din say anything lol.. but got say big machine records address la.. no say where manufacture, say cannot distribute outside south east asia, maybe is singapore pressed. |
Dec 7 2012, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 7 2012, 05:18 PM) oh... but taylor swift red din say anything lol.. but got say big machine records address la.. no say where manufacture, say cannot distribute outside south east asia, maybe is singapore pressed. LOL. never bought such album. So far all my physical albums got that. |
May 10 2014, 05:38 PM
700 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
megapbumpppp... wanna buy Qu Wanting's CD.. where is the cheapest place to get CDs now ? lol.. custom got kacau?
| Change to: | 0.0502sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:00 AM |