Is DotA being marginalised?, Yes or No?

ellimist
post Nov 25 2007, 07:06 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

In no particular order :-

1.The lack of support by a major game developers.

2.Length. Dota games these days last somewhere within the hour,which is still considered pretty long unlike other games which are generally divided into rounds etc. Plus early game is usually dull and revolves around farming (though there are major teams who gank real early) which further derails spectator value.

3.It's still an evolving game. Other games,despite patches,dont evolve so much,u generally get fixes and minor add ons if any. So argue as much as you want,dota is not particularly the world's most balanced game =p Despite the 89 heroes, (minus the new ones which are not used in league modes) you still see teams generally opting for certain "powerhouse" heroes to be amongst their lineup.

4.Dota is a map (which isn't necessarily bad,but ppl would argue that it lacks variety in terms of map adaption)

Casual play and competitive play are 2 very different things.Just because we enjoy the game,it doesn't mean it'll be a good competitive one.But I do think that dota has the potential to make it,probably in due time.And that sums up my random thoughts laugh.gif
ellimist
post Nov 25 2007, 07:42 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(TeckPeow @ Nov 25 2007, 07:35 PM)
Blizzard still actively maintains the map editior

Some other games also take forever to finish

No, DotA is balanced. Learn to play

CS is also a map yet its in WCG for so many years.
1.You might as well comment on how Blizzard has included dota in the Blizzcon.But I was referrin to support as in how Valve "supports" CS

2.Main games which are featured in worldwide tourneys dont. There's a reason why changes such as no regen on towers, ward costs, aegis changes etc were made. But admitedly,the whole long farming in lane is evolving to quick ganks. Virtus.Pro is the best example of this.

3.Lol you don't seem particularly opened to comments do you.It's balanced,but not superbly balanced as some games are *cough starcraft*.If it were,you wouldn't have needed major nerfs on Bristleback and Akasha (and even Obsidian's ulti) to name a few.Top teams in the Dota scene comment on this issue now and then which is simply the fact that it is decently balanced,but still evolving. Besides,I was also pointing the fact that in competitive play,despite having 80+ heroes,around 20 or so heroes are generally chosen (and I quote MYM|Merlini for this point,since I have no credibility myself)

4.CS has multiple maps mind you.Dota has one

Don't get me wrong,I'm not shooting Dota down.I'm just pointing out the reasons why u still don't see it in major tourneys

This post has been edited by ellimist: Nov 25 2007, 08:05 PM
ellimist
post Nov 25 2007, 09:15 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

TeckPeow,I assume you're trying to say that Blizzard is supporting Dota because they maintain the map editor?

Well,you have to get your facts right as well,they don't maintain the map editor because of Dota.

And that was not the kinda support we were discussing in the first place.
ellimist
post Nov 26 2007, 09:12 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Nov 26 2007, 12:43 AM)
A malaysian saying that DotA is as mainstream and popular in other part of the world as it is in Malaysia is like a Korean saying that sc is the most popular esports in the world. sweat.gif

I dont mind if DotA made into WCG. But if it is at the expense of less popular game in Malaysia like Starcraft, in the name of Khala, ill bring parang with me to WCG next year. Ill cut those dotards head and present it to the conclave.
Haha don't wry,SC has been there since the beginning of WCG right up to the present one. But yea,I'll join in on ur parang fest should somethin like that happen laugh.gif
ellimist
post Nov 26 2007, 12:22 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Nov 26 2007, 11:43 AM)
Well to be fair, it started out as a mod and when WCG adopted it, it was still just a mod.

So, assuming TeokPeow meant "mod" instead of "map", I will say that CS is the exception to the rule since how many mods out there are being used in international tourneys?
Correct me if I'm wrong,but I believe Valve announced that they were cooperating with the CS developers in year 2000,and the first WCG was in 2001.
ellimist
post Nov 26 2007, 02:20 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Nov 26 2007, 12:29 PM)
ZOMG ZERG RUSH.
QUOTE(jiaxun @ Nov 26 2007, 12:51 PM)
nono, zealot rush... parang you see?
OffTopic : While playin SC with a noob friend,he once shouted "Help,alot of zergs in my base". Another friend of mine sent some reinforcements only to find zealots there laugh.gif

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Nov 26 2007, 12:37 PM)
Well, that doesn't really change the fact that its a mod. Hell, even when it was released as a standalone game, it still was a mod for Half-Life (Its basically a mod sitting on top of a stripped down Half-Life that had no single player content). Anyway, it always had the community backing it up rather developer support that made it become an entry in WCG.

And this further bolsters the point that it is just an exception to the rule that mods don't do well in international tourneys.
Also, I'd like to say that a mod is no less of a game just because its a mod. Whether its getting official support from the devs or not. DotA IS a mod and anyone who just calls it a "map" is either incredibly ignorant or arrogant. Calling it a map is like saying "de_dust is just a map". You're selling it awfully short.
I'm not saying Dota is a map from an arrogant perspective.I'm just stating the fact that it has only one map and is probably another reason why "dota is marginalized" as per topic.
I play Dota casually myself laugh.gif
ellimist
post Nov 26 2007, 04:47 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Who in this thread has mentioned a hate for Dota? =.=
ellimist
post Nov 26 2007, 04:56 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Nov 26 2007, 04:49 PM)
Hey ellimist go study la. laugh.gif

In my opinion, the single biggest obstacle for DotA being a full fledged competitive sporting event is the average length of one game.

Logistically, it'll be a nightmare to schedule DotA matches.
Cannot focus,as usual.Happens every sem laugh.gif

QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ Nov 26 2007, 04:51 PM)
just a question.
Oh ok,lol
ellimist
post Nov 26 2007, 06:30 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Nov 26 2007, 05:15 PM)
No, the biggest obstacle for DotA is the game is not a spectators sport.
Watching DotA can be as boring as watching baseball or cricket game.
I agree with this. The lack of spectator value is actually partially due to the length of the game (for an e-sport,it's considered pretty long atm) I also think your comparison is pretty; (though baseball is not boring laugh.gif) ppl without a proper understanding of the technical side of the game or interest in the game itself won't get the game when viewed from spectator mode.

@Master Alvin : Watching it from a spectator mode isn't too boring if you like out for map control,teamwork in ganks and what nots,but yea,it's like watching baseball laugh.gif
ellimist
post Nov 29 2007, 09:08 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(MasterAlvin @ Nov 26 2007, 09:43 PM)
that's the thing... dota doesnt have that many engagements.
troops that actually matters dun die that often, so the shifting in dominance happens quite late in the game and quite slowly.
that's why it kills the spectatorship.

the original WC3 is different. once the first engagement starts, fights are often and shift of dominance happens constantly until the game ends.
now that's why they have lots of downloads.
Actually, engagements are more frequent in Dota games these days,I think tongue.gif Watch Virtus.Pro replays,especially the 2nd game in the finals of MYM Pride.Loadsa engagements right from the early parts of the game.

And yea,I'd agree with RtP|DEV that SC indeed has amazing spectator value,even to the casual gamer laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Nov 29 2007, 09:09 AM
ellimist
post Nov 30 2007, 09:14 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Haha yea,a lil off topic,but I do agree with you (though I didn't see it in such detail tongue.gif)

Basically I thought the balance was shifted to the toss early on,but then the balance shifted over to the terran as he invaded. I did think he was gonna win,but the carriers were thumbup.gif

0.0535sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:11 AM