Asus P5N-T Deluxe nForce 780i Motherboard Preview

http://www.hardwarexl.com/reviews/mainboar...rboard_preview/

TSjinaun
post Nov 24 2007, 09:01 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

I should warn everybody now that the PCIe 2.0 bridge is actually a PCIe 2.0 to PCIe 1.1 bridge.

What does this mean?

Well, it means your PCIe 2.0 card will basically be bottlenecked at PCIe 1.1 speeds when communicating to the CPU. False marketing from NVIDIA.

Here's a simple diagram of their "bridge":

. PCIe 1.1 upstream port to HOST
..........______|_____
.........|..................|
.........|...."Bridge"....|
.........|..................|
.........|___________|
.............| | | |
. PCIe 2.0 downstream ports to PCIe slots.

The only improvement that you may see with this is that communicating between other GPU's through the PCIe slot will be at 2.0 speeds (which is highly unlikely because NVIDIA uses their SLI bridge connector, not the slot).

AMD has TRUE PCIe 2.0 so EVERYTHING will be happening at 2.0 speeds.

source: http://www.techpowerup.com/?45238
Liuteva
post Nov 25 2007, 03:51 PM

Empty.
2,991 posts

... Me 680i also havent try sad.gif .. So fast 780i appeared cry.gif
Renovatio
post Nov 25 2007, 04:51 PM

~ Enthusiast low on cash ~
1,942 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Nov 24 2007, 09:01 PM)
Wow... nvidia also cheats in mobo chipset?? That's even more "creative" than hacking video drivers to win more FPS. What's wrong with them?
vailance
post Nov 25 2007, 04:54 PM

wat??
841 posts

seems lik the stricker ex. better than this board le.. if the pcie 2.0 bridge is just a crap..tot of buying 1.. haih seh..
cstkl1
post Nov 25 2007, 05:29 PM

6,799 posts

ikan and empire23
where art thou

explain plss the significance of nvidia workaround and ati boards..

ty
Faint
post Nov 25 2007, 05:34 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

I'm still using Nforce 4, haven try Nforce 5 and 6. Now 780i... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
Terence573
post Nov 25 2007, 06:12 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

PCIE 2.0 card bottleneck at 1.1? How is the performance margin between using 1.1 and 2.0?
cstkl1
post Nov 25 2007, 08:55 PM

6,799 posts

ikan.. empire .. questions .. need to ask questions...

TSjinaun
post Nov 25 2007, 08:58 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

according to those discussion .. i would think that 780i is an updated 680i with extra pcie 2.0 bridge thrown in

the use of pcie 2.0 bridge is meant to increase intergpu communications and at the same time, it does not need to go through the northbridge.. while pcie 1.1 from 780i is sufficient to broadcast graphics data/command to those vga cards ...

right???? lol

this is sample diagram i understand from it.. (dun tembak me lahhhhhh, me noob)

i'm assuming the 680i's 2 pcie 16x goes through the bridge... for total of 32lanes??

update.. whoops.. i notice that 680i has onli 1 pcie 16x 1.1 from its northbridge...

This post has been edited by jinaun: Nov 25 2007, 09:25 PM

sHawTY
post Nov 25 2007, 10:05 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Calling for empire23.
Calling for Mr. empire23.
post Nov 26 2007, 02:36 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

lol....how much of this board would be ? kinda interest with it drool.gif , and i want to throw this to my friend and kick hiss striker extreme off..laugh.gif
cstkl1
post Nov 26 2007, 03:26 AM

6,799 posts

oh ikan
ikan ikan ikan
empire empire
where art thee now??

got questions to ask...
cause some ppl said that the 8800gt is not a pcie 2.0
there was a claim by some weird named nvidia partner in europe that they were the only pcie 2.0 8800gt...

whats ure take on this and the above also..

intothefantasy
post Nov 26 2007, 03:29 AM

1,561 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 26 2007, 03:26 AM)
oh ikan
ikan ikan ikan
empire empire
where art thee now??

got questions to ask...
cause some ppl said that the 8800gt is not a pcie 2.0
there was a claim by some weird named nvidia partner in europe that they were the only pcie 2.0 8800gt...

whats ure take on this and the above also..
if 8800gt is pcie 2.0...will it better in x38 or p35? since p35 is using 1.1...x38 2.0....will there be a different? alot?
bulibulizaimon
post Nov 26 2007, 06:23 AM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

Im still with nForece4 Ultra cry.gif
empire23
post Nov 26 2007, 05:04 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Reading up on it, but can't draw any conclusions before some pictars of the chipset itself are given with some relevant pin out data (the tracks are the easiest way to see the bus width)

Generally i can't be bothered to look for now as my exams are here tongue.gif. Go ask fishy.
jeremymoke
post Nov 26 2007, 05:11 PM

252 posts

Nice M/B .......... Who bought it ????
nagflar
post Nov 27 2007, 10:55 PM

1,813 posts

walau just buy 680i then 780i come out , @@ FS#$#@$#@
TSjinaun
post Nov 27 2007, 11:32 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Nov 26 2007, 03:29 AM)
if 8800gt is pcie 2.0...will it better in x38 or p35? since p35 is using 1.1...x38 2.0....will there be a different? alot?
in terms on computer world speed.. it would be faster.. but in human time.. i dun think u'll see any different.

eg.. pcie 1.1 can burst 512MB of data @ 125ms.. pcie 2.0 could probably do the same at 65ms...

can u feel that 60ms???

This post has been edited by jinaun: Nov 27 2007, 11:34 PM
clayclws
post Dec 4 2007, 10:08 PM

2,659 posts

Rare sighting. I just went to ATE at Lowyat.net. Saw that they have ASUS Striker Extreme 2 with 780i SLI on ther price list but the price is not written.

0.0218sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:30 PM