25 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Movies I AM LEGEND (Now with New DVD Alternate Ending), The Last Man On Earth... Is Not Alone

clayclws
post Dec 23 2007, 02:51 AM

2,659 posts

It's not bad but don't put too much hope in it. It has an anti-climax ending, but one of the best effort by Will Smith. Oh, and remember, it's VAMPIRES...not zombies. i hope you did not read the book though. It is very different. The studio tried to "contemporarized" it.

Added on December 23, 2007, 3:03 am
QUOTE(maximus531 @ Dec 21 2007, 02:21 PM)
I went through the audiobook version of the original book before watching the movie -> BIG mistake!

Ended up all I could think of when watching the movie was how different and weak (storywise) the movie was compared to the book version, they only have like 1% in common!

I whole heartedly recommend you go check out original book (or audiobook version, the narrator was good) AFTER you watched the movie because you don't have to worry that it'll spoil the story for you since you'd notice they are practically two different stories anyway.

In the end, I still have to be biased and say that the book version definitely rules!
The book version...had Neville became the "monster", of which, is not generally acceptable by the majority, that will include children and teenagers. They can't appreciate they thought processes behind the whole plot (of the original book)... I think this movie is like The Lost World. Lost in adaptation but still a Box Office success.

This post has been edited by clayclws: Dec 23 2007, 03:03 AM
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 23 2007, 03:05 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Dec 21 2007, 05:06 PM)
i mean when the monster attacking them, he open the spot light do wat ler? the spot light has no uv effect, he use boom also no use ma..
y not just make some uv light and put it around the house..
he did...didn't he? There are a lot of reasons why he can't turn it on 24h. First off, the whole idea is to hide from the darkseekers...not make more attention for them to find him. Secondly, if its used & 1 breaks or spoils...its over...they'll overrun his house for sure. Lastly...those lights can't cover everywhere. Darkseekers could just use something to throw at the lamp and overrun his house after that.

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 23 2007, 02:51 AM)
Oh, and remember, it's VAMPIRES...not zombies.
well, the monsters in the original classic were vampires...but in this show its not confirmed. They surely don't have the vampire teeth. You can assume its a vampire coz it can infect with a bite...but I think its the same for all kinds of virus.
clayclws
post Dec 23 2007, 02:16 PM

2,659 posts

The book says it is similar to vampirism...and Matheson was inspired by Dracula - King of Vampires.

This post has been edited by clayclws: Dec 23 2007, 02:18 PM
jinaun
post Dec 24 2007, 12:04 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

am i looking at resident evil?? or maybe house of the dead??

lol
mitodna
post Dec 24 2007, 02:26 AM

14,039 posts

Quite a good movie for the year,

It is very different from the Book, weird Hollywood, but the movies still rocks, quite slow pace, have some suspense, not car chase, but got some bang-bang-boom

top notch performance from Smith smile.gif , quite a good director, although , I expecting part 2.

Added on December 24, 2007, 5:34 am
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 21 2007, 12:40 PM)
Some pretty glaring plot holes that sort of ruined the movie for me

I know you're not supposed to think too much and just enjoy the movie but those plot holes are just way too obvious.
overall, nice science fiction

This post has been edited by mitodna: Dec 24 2007, 05:34 AM
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 24 2007, 08:50 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 24 2007, 02:26 AM)
overall, nice science fiction
he/she should run for president laugh.gif
but I think he'll lose whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Dec 24 2007, 08:50 AM
d(@@)b
post Dec 24 2007, 09:10 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 21 2007, 03:25 PM)
By that logic, Anna and child would not have survived the next day if they exited the hatch since darkseekers are still around, which clearly wasn't the case.

While the "lost his will to live" reason kind of works, why he chose to sacrifice himself still doesn't quite click for me.
I guess that's the typical Hollywood Tragic hero scenario.
nah. its so that in the end they can narrate how will smith is the legend and anna with the kid are his legacy. will smith death gives more ohm to the word "legend". not a typical good ending heroes movie but if he is still alive, i guess it would not be filled with emotion and the crowds would leave the theater and forget about the movie existence in like one night?
mitodna
post Dec 24 2007, 10:18 AM

14,039 posts

darkseekers are around, but it is MORNING, they are gone for a while, my guess is like that,

Hollywood, just use the name of the book, and some theme of it

This post has been edited by mitodna: Dec 24 2007, 10:18 AM
cyew86
post Dec 24 2007, 09:23 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

the story is average, 3/5
but will smith's acting is top notch thumbup.gif
flame13th
post Dec 24 2007, 09:48 PM

139 posts

I was saving the bacon!
DDSFan8
post Dec 24 2007, 09:51 PM

1,278 posts

The movie rocks. I enjoyed it but damn sedih
hungheykwun
post Dec 24 2007, 10:06 PM

1,058 posts

PM me if u wan to purchase the matheson book
TSfiredauz
post Dec 25 2007, 08:30 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Hohoho! Merry Christmas, Movies & Music sections thumbup.gif

Can you spare me 95 minutes and 40 seconds?

^ there's your Christmas present laugh.gif
Darkmage12
post Dec 25 2007, 11:42 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

hehe really not alone
stormyz
post Dec 26 2007, 12:58 AM

Thread Killer
595 posts

the movie is great...

the producer will b damn happy as the whole story onli few ppl involve in full casting.. therefore maximum profit ...

oh well.. sedih la..
Doctor Who?
post Dec 26 2007, 05:04 PM

339 posts

watched it,kinda same as resident evil just that the zombies are a lot faster haha but the movie is kinda short is it?
nakata101
post Dec 26 2007, 09:12 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(Doctor Who? @ Dec 26 2007, 05:04 PM)
watched it,kinda same as resident evil just that the zombies are a lot faster haha but the movie is kinda short is it?
N the zombie r more clever which know how to use the trap. Sad to see his dog n himself die... but not together.
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 26 2007, 10:00 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

dun forget their beastly strength...I just love it when they headbutt the car laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Dec 26 2007, 10:00 PM
flame13th
post Dec 26 2007, 10:49 PM

139 posts

Will Smith is indeed a legend. lol
kurikuraX
post Dec 26 2007, 11:35 PM

this section is optional
907 posts

just watch this movie. I like the deer

25 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top