19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

New Mylars showdown!, X3i vs XBi

TSwalabies
post Nov 22 2007, 10:10 PM, updated 18y ago

Jaben Network.. A headphones store with teddy bears...
6,934 posts

It's me again. Time to give some poisons again laugh.gif
I am sure some of the forumers has gotten the chance to test it out, this is just a humble review of it.

First and foremost, some photo poisons first. There are currently two prototype for the X3i and XBi, the "red-blue ring" and "silver ring". The silver ring looks gorgeous but a lazy man like me prefer the red blue for the ease of usage. Just remember "R"ed for "R"ight and blue for left. smile.gif

As you can see, the X3i and XBi is labeled on the cable.

The package includes all the thing you need now. The cable manager, airplane adapter, S, M, L size soft flex and the double flanges! shocking.gif . The new packaging also looks nicer.

Before I begin, let's talk about the build quality. For this "i" version, it does not only focuses on improving the sound quality, they also put a lot effort on the some QC problem we had. blush.gif By the look of it, many would say the new shell is small and looks weird to fit in. In fact, it's more comfortable than the previous version (as least to me) as it's freaking light weight, you don't feel anything sticking into your ears. cool.gif The new flex is softer and it will just slid in your ears, good seal is promised, we have a lot of choices too right? (double flange etc).
And all hail to Iphone users, look at the plug used!!!

The mesh used in this new version isn't the metal mesh you always seen in the normal IEM right now. It looks more fragile but more elastic. I don't dare to touch a lot. laugh.gif Just take a look.

There's a small 'air hole' in the back of the shell, I guess that's the reason this version sounds very airy, and transparent.

Another humble small review on the SQ for these little creatures. I only manage to burn in 8 hours and I hope it suffice.

Songs tested:
Faye Wong - Tian Kong unplugged
The Eagles - Hotel California live
Jewel - Enter from the East
Norah Jones - Don't know why
Jay Chou - Qing Hua Chi
Johannes Linstead - Hour of the lamps
Utada Hikaru - First love
FF9 sound tracks
Some classical tracks
Some pop songs

Overall they could handle incredibly well nearly all genres I have picked. Classical, vocals, pops, rocks, instrumentals.
The first impression on X3i is: bright but soothing, detailed, tight bass, has good extension to treble, good stagging.
while XBi I have a feeling of: warmer sounding, bassy but doesn't lose a lot details, good 3D imaging, dynamic; again, like previous version, scales well with amplification.

I was having a shock on this IEM when I tested it at Uncle Wilson's store, I had a blind test last time and I thought X3i was XBi!!! Bass is strong ang tight; but OMG the details are still amplified. I couldn't believe my eyes that the label there was X3i. So now the X3i is the previous X3 + XB type of music. The bass isn't lacking at all this time. Micro details again, improved with the large leap in both ends.
The XBi, has lots of bass, at first it really muds the details in highs, but I brought it and let both of the unit had a burn in it kindda tames down. Details are better and amplified, most of them say the new XBi is previous XB+XB. But I give it a tag of XBi = XB + XB + X3 . cool.gif It has good details and it deserve that. The bass now has kick, punchy, energy and runs deep. Drums are articulate in pervious XB, so do this.
In this "i" version, the staging and transparency between instruments are h3ll shocking. Airy feeling like the KSC75 I had. I can even feel the resonance of air between singer and instrument played. Or between the fingers and the guitar strings plucked. I think it would be the small air hole doing the trick? (Is it? blink.gif ) The XBi seems to have better 3D imaging to me, gotta consult the experts and ask their opinions. laugh.gif

Still doing more burn in...

Update on 20 hours mark of burn in cool.gif :
Both creature already exhibiting the smooth flowness of the music.
The XBi reminds me a bit of the HD650 bass. Not totally similar though.
The XBi bass is quite strong, too strong for me and I feel a bit fatigue after long hours of listening. Too much PoM POM laugh.gif
While the X3i smoothen the brightness, and edgy ends, adding a bit more punch on the bass again. thumbup.gif
I feel there's more potential later on smile.gif

This post has been edited by walabies: Nov 23 2007, 12:19 PM
yuheng
post Nov 22 2007, 10:20 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

Hi guys, after 30 hours burn in, i think this is the right time for me the review this X3i and XBi...it come to my tough time as i finally found that i m not really a good reviewer coz i have to make sure i m fair to giving most accurate views after my listening, and thus i decide to change my style for reviewing by compare it with songs....rather than criticizing which are good and bad...

and let me give some introduction, x3i is claimed to have warmer signature while xbi having dark signatures, pls do mind that xbi do have the better response of low frequency which is BASS, but pls do not think that x3i doesn't perform well with low frequency(bass) as this is wrong, this new model x3i do have a very good bass impact and personally i found that it is more than enuf for every single ordinary users who excluded hard-rock,metal :S..so u might ask me, what is the point of having x3i since it bass loss to xbi, as my thought, M'sia tend to overly influences by those philips,sony brand which brought us the view that high bass=good sounds, i extremely disagree with this as those unquality bass does nt sound sweet to me ( i have found that what kind of bass is quality, this incurred learning of "listening" as to every single sound), as i m not really going to comment all others stuff, so i will stop criticizing others products biggrin.gif

ok, let's start my own evaluations...

Iriver H120
Ibasso D1 DAC
Ibasso D1 AMP
CrossRoads Mylarone XBi
CrossRoads Mylarone X3i

Susan Wong - Close to you
In this songs, i found that x3i have very good instrument response with very good separation, and yes the vocals really sweet to me, and it enable me to enjoy on the "wet" vocals of the singers. Come to xbi, it have slightly dark signature where you can exactly felt the story of the songs, but with less lively kind of presentations, but this is more closer to those Hi-fi systems, which i found quite numbers of hi-fi systems having very dark signatures, the bass response is superb here and u can exactly felt the drum impacts here.

Susan Wongs - Killing me softly
let start on xbi firts, yeah, the xbi signature defintely present better on this songs as it faithfully represents how sad the singers are, having very good separations but yet it give you impact each instrument accurately. as for x3i, u can exactly focus on the vocals of susan and u can even listen her breath in the beginning, with more refined vocals "shadow", sufficient low frequency response with more lively presentations, giving the totally different feels on this songs which compare to xbi.

Emi Fujita - Best of my love
x3i having quite good synergy with this songs, the background instrument is very refined, u would c alot of instrument at the background, which i felt soundstage wider than xb. go to xbi, i felt it is pretty not suit as slightly forwards signatures with narrow soundstages which compare x3i.

Martin Monoit son Portian au Marche
the high frequency of xbi in this songs really surprises me, almost go near to my hd580 at my memory, i was like omg once it reach the high frequency. however, x3i do perform quite well, having almost same level which compare to xbi, but due to laid back signature, thus the excitement of the songs is like slightly worse off which compare to x3i, but both of this new model really shock me as previous mylar doesnt perform well in high frequency.

Norah Jones - Not too late
x3i seen to have better seperations but xbi do perform very well on the impact of instrument, due to well perform of mid low frequency.nothing surprises me but i was quite enjoy with the sound on xbi due to slightly dark signatures, it really suit this songs very well.

Jay Chow - The longest story
x3i do perform very well in this songs, the vocals from x3i do giving u the feeling of sad, and u can exact feeling like jay chow is very very sad while recording songs, and due to good sources, first time i found that jay chow sang really well, and he do really improve alot of singing skills, ops out of topic ald, change to xbi, i do find it perform equally good but not as to the style i like,it is another kinds of feelings when xbi wear in, and u can get the feelings of sadness, but i do really enjoy of clear and touch vocal for Chinese pop songs.

in conclusion, i can tell u guys that i myself really hard to choose among this, that's y so many ppl in spore actually buy 2 in order to avoid the selection, both are equaly good, the mose common method to say that u like vocal take x3i, u like bass take xbi, which i felt it might not be accurate but we are forced to say so.actually x3i do perform well in low frequency(bass), just not as strong like sbi, and sbi do have a very good vocal, just not as good as x3i, so i have to say that, if i were to select this 2, i will get 2. it is really really hard to choose rclxub.gif notworthy.gif

added on svi and lbi

as promised , this is my comparison on the new lbi and svi...

alrite, let me talk about what shall i compare 1st, i will compare

x3i vs svi
x3i vs lbi

* i do not compare lbi and xbi as it is really similar, very similar, the only differences is the bass level icon_rolleyes.gif

before start, let me introduce on the new lbi and svi.

svi is the low bass version of x3i, which sound similar to etymotic, having a bright signature, but clear seperation.
lbi is the low bass version of xbi, having less bass than xbi, but still retained its dark/cool signatures.

x3i and svi.

i do not going to compare it songs by songs as to the proper review format, but i will tell on general, what is the differences, i felt this shall be more appropriate as they sound is pretty similar, it is not like an apple and oranges, so i dont think i need to tell any single details for both. All rite, the svi is basically low bass of x3i, having the same little laid back signatures, with the new svi, i felt it similar to etymotic signatures, which give u clearer separations than x3i, with less but accurate bass. but most of us shall forsee that bright signature doesn't give lively involvement, i do have to admit so but to be honest, it give a real, and accurate involvement rather than bass bumping. svi having better separation, this might resulted as remove of low frequency distortion. without focus on low freq, it giving clear vocal(clearer breath sounding), and greater drum impact. svi giving greater details but i shall say, it is the mind sets problem, coz when bass is focus, some mid-range details shall be ignored but when bass isnt focus, u could actually pick up all the details easily. it is a good start for entry level guys, who keen to furhter their purchases on etymotic, u can get that and try how was the signature, who know somebody might love that after that, it is more neutral, the bass is accurate, when it is not there, u wont listen any bass, i shall sound abit like IM716. svi do sound good after adding an amp, it is more obvious when compared to x3i but provided the amp is good enuf to push this easy drive IEM. it make more airy, rounded bass and warm down the signature by adding my RA The Secret thumbup.gif

x3i vs lbi
allrite guys, i will say, lbi is equally good when compare to x3i, as being read so many review, i assume that u guys understand how xbi sound, it is dark/cool signatures, same as lbi, it is same dark and cool, it is more on forward signatures, which give u super involvement feels as darken sound. it suit to listen on hi-fi songs as for darker feelings. Back to the topic, when it compare to x3i, on the bass level, i shall say still lbi is one small little tiny step up from x3i, it is not as strong as xbi, but the bass level is more than enuf for most of the users. lbi having a clear forward sound, with less focus treble, meaning less digital but more analog sounds. it give u different kinds of feelings when u listen on x3i and lbi, i will not conclude which is good, which is bad, but i clearly have to tell u guys, it is honda and toyota, it is really hard to tell , which is good, as it greatly depend on ur preferences. as for x3i, i think i do not talk much on that, as u can refer that on the sales record and customer feedbacks. When i done all this comparison, i shall always remind u guys, when i said xbi or lbi bass good, i do not implied that x3i bass lousy, no bass. I don't know why most of the users always make assumption that x3i having a low or lousy bass. but as for non-basshead users, x3i confirmed to have enuf bass for you. Most of the customer asking me that, how come x3i having this good bass.......so , pls do not assume that....xbi/lbi good in bass, x3i lousy in bass.... wink.gif

this is the bass level ranking
xbi>Lbi>x3i>svi

thks for ur time.

This post has been edited by yuheng: May 2 2008, 09:51 PM
Ginryu
post Nov 22 2007, 10:28 PM

65 posts

How come the XBi sounds "better" than the X3i in every way?

TeOtq
post Nov 22 2007, 10:33 PM

839 posts

huhu,here come the review!
must hv a try since is the combination of previous successfull model of xb n x3
Wolf516
post Nov 22 2007, 10:41 PM

589 posts

LoLz thumbs up for both, I would love to get both but just cant afford it haihz *_*
nles
post Nov 22 2007, 10:47 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

I like last time where they have this crossroads label on the mylar1 cable and it's not rubber.
PcWork
post Nov 22 2007, 10:51 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

aiyo. ur camera cannot lah
bring to my room. i use white box and snap photo for u.

yeah_guyz
post Nov 22 2007, 11:17 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Nov 22 2007, 10:51 PM)
aiyo. ur camera cannot lah
bring to my room. i use white box and snap photo for u.
wow, new mylar looks so cute,
the package very nice too, i like the case

aiyo,bro wala shooting skill obviously improve than previous time la tongue.gif
TSwalabies
post Nov 22 2007, 11:50 PM

6,934 posts

hAHA, night time ma. What to do. Already take 100 photos. Last time use K750 use photo lousy la.
TeOtq
post Nov 23 2007, 12:00 AM

839 posts

the focus of the cam run away,try focus n focus by micro mode.
ohya,price not list yet is it?
TSwalabies
post Nov 23 2007, 12:55 AM

6,934 posts

I already using the most noob setting. Auto mode.
Haiya why end up discuss photo?! sweat.gif
nles
post Nov 23 2007, 01:46 AM

2,125 posts

Got a feeling there's people wanna poison wala with cameras
shw24
post Nov 23 2007, 09:41 AM

74 posts

Waaa... the initial review looks promising....
TSwalabies
post Nov 23 2007, 12:12 PM

6,934 posts

I am immune to cameras. I dont feel anything when nice photos are shown to me.
But anyway, continous burn in is done and review is updated. smile.gif
jacklsw86
post Nov 23 2007, 12:58 PM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

hoi can exchange my cracked mylar3 and add some cash to get x3i ar? tongue.gif
songhan89
post Nov 23 2007, 02:21 PM

-Hankerchizf-
1,104 posts

Looks pretty cool. The previous mylars 3 had terrible QC problem. How's the pricing ?? taiko.. give us some lovely discount!
nles
post Nov 23 2007, 02:24 PM

2,125 posts

Wala, if you're free can you briefly compare the sound signature of those IEM with recabled ksc75 and mylarone?

Cause already got a pair of those two phones, don't wanna get something that ends up with the same sound signature.
TSwalabies
post Nov 23 2007, 02:25 PM

6,934 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Nov 23 2007, 12:58 PM)
hoi can exchange my cracked mylar3 and add some cash to get x3i ar? tongue.gif
Gotta consult yuheng also first...

QUOTE(songhan89 @ Nov 23 2007, 02:21 PM)
Looks pretty cool. The previous mylars 3 had terrible QC problem. How's the pricing ?? taiko.. give us some lovely discount!
Returning customer got discount. smile.gif
Ginryu
post Nov 23 2007, 02:44 PM

65 posts

Does that mean I get good discount? I bought 2 Mylarone and 1 Mylar X3 biggrin.gif
TSwalabies
post Nov 23 2007, 04:39 PM

6,934 posts

Sure will do. Hey we already sold 8 units today even the bulk hasnt started. Selling like hot cakes. laugh.gif

19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:36 AM