Penang's Overclocker Club Official Thread V2, TT Section,H/W S/W discussion,Penang!!!

lohwenli
post Nov 25 2007, 04:46 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 25 2007, 10:20 AM)
morning good!!! rclxms.gif

today i decided to build another rig for my brother to do office work,is F3 good enough?
Thats Insulting...major overkill for an office PC..
Take my F2 also better..sell you for half the price of that F3..
lohwenli
post Nov 25 2007, 11:26 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Nov 25 2007, 10:15 PM)
not sure is F2 or F3,
he didnt tell me,
but he said only 2.4ghz, 2.5ghz is unstable...
This one almost 100% guarantee is windsor F2. If its a F3 it a super ultra screwed up one, can almost consider faulty already.
lohwenli
post Nov 28 2007, 12:48 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Nov 28 2007, 12:01 AM)
@meno,

y late again..teman lui go kai kai?  tongue.gif
No, she's not around..if not he can't come at all..

Count me in, need to collect my proc too.
lohwenli
post Nov 28 2007, 04:57 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(tapirus @ Nov 28 2007, 03:51 PM)
looks like u got that proc edi...epo pulled out right???
ya i agree with u..dun mind if u new@not...the most important thing we share the same interest...that kind of thing will bond us 4eva..

hope tomorrow not rain..if raining zero come along definitely not rain..because hujankosong.. icon_idea.gif

@rainingzero

u better come along for this TT...later when u have time maybe we all dun have...wait u there after u visited ur factory for FYP...
No @meno got his because epo pulled out.

-Rainingzero
Hey, if you still want to swap the ram, pass it to one of those going for the TT tomorrow if you're not going yourself. I'll pass the D9DPN to your friend there too.

LYN is slow, so contact me by my hp 016-4936208
lohwenli
post Nov 29 2007, 05:38 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Nov 27 2007, 09:22 PM)
staying in E park. No transport sad.gif
So pls take care of me ya  laugh.gif
QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 28 2007, 10:58 PM)
for Db i think i personally fetch him by car, as i am organize this TT.

so i have the responsibility protect him ( F3 )  laugh.gif

Now left 3 minute for vote, i think mostly will be McD ady~  nod.gif

Added on November 28, 2007, 11:01 pm

KC can u help me inform them~ icon_question.gif
I might be able to fetch him, but only if no one else can. Have to go down then come up again.

QUOTE(@meno @ Nov 29 2007, 01:28 AM)
Ya, free refill...
I have voted McD lar, why my vote not counted... hmm.gif
Gsan, looking forward to meet you in person. One of the Penang Legendary Overclockers...

KC, looks like we got some discussion to do now, on which mobo to take.
The TF560 A2+ looks quite good to me, but not much reviews bout the mobo out yet.

Anyone with good ATX AM2 mobo to suggest? Me and KC looking for full size ATX mobo to house our new F3.
Currently in my considerations are:
Abit KN9 SLI
Biostar TF560 A2+
Biostar T Force 570U(If still can find this legend)
Something around RM300 will be just fine for me, above that then have to consider d...
All are good, but the Biostars then to be horribly limited in vDimm. Memory overclocking is a pain in the ass. Don't bother getting D9GMH/D9GKX to use with these boards. Abit board got its perangai as usual, everything will work, but there will be something that just loves to go 'mogok' once in a while.

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Nov 29 2007, 04:42 AM)
3.5ghz or more laa..3ghz slow liao  tongue.gif

5am me bulum sleep  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif
How about 3GHz while undervolted? I'm planning on having the best power consumption/performance AMD set.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Nov 29 2007, 05:38 AM
lohwenli
post Nov 30 2007, 07:16 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(geekadoy @ Nov 30 2007, 09:10 AM)
My Internal Clock Speed is far below than it's supposed to be......
Its normal for a mobile processor. It only runs at the actual speed when the processor is under load, otherwise it reduces clock speed to lower power consumption.

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 30 2007, 07:04 PM)
wah~!! nice2...512mb somemore... thumbup.gif
quick2 post ur oced printscreen here... icon_idea.gif
nice price...maybe will grab one next month.. wub.gif
He will not be able to go above 862 for Core until the modded bios for 3850 is ready.
lohwenli
post Dec 1 2007, 06:57 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 30 2007, 07:21 PM)
oic....last night u said even 3850 able to keep up with 8800gt right?? thats involved ocing with modded bios??
QUOTE(tapirus @ Nov 30 2007, 08:57 PM)
i think he said for 3870....
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 30 2007, 09:26 PM)
he do said both, 3850 and 3870 if i not mistaken...nod.gif
Modded bios only available for 3870 now, by techpowerup. They're still working on the bios for 3850. 8800gt and 3870 (modded bios) both at full overclock on stock cooler and no voltmods, perform roughly about the same.

Btw, I have a correction to make, at stock speed the 3870 will still lose to the 2900pro/XT under certain settings that utilise heavy memory bandwidth. But for most cases, the 3870 wins. At stock speed the 3850 will lose in all benchmarks to the 2900XT (not sure about 2900pro), but when both are overclocked, the 3850 and 3870 will pull up even with the 2900XT, perhaps even win (even without modded bios, but on stock cooler).

The 3850/3870 use a 256 memory bus instead of the 512 bus found on the 2900pro/XT, thats why they don't leave the 2900s in the dust.
lohwenli
post Dec 2 2007, 07:32 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Oh yeah guys, those who want me to try replace the caps on your stuff please drop your stuff with me together. That way I can just go shopping for the caps all at one shot, don't want to make multiple trips hunting for caps.
lohwenli
post Dec 2 2007, 08:38 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Dec 2 2007, 09:21 AM)
when can i meet u?
Well, I'm at home most of the time, doing a lot of clearing up of my PC stuff. Hardnut is also sending me some stuff to repair (caps also). Give me a call when you want to call over. I think you roughly know where I stay, if not I can direct you on the phone.

Added on December 2, 2007, 8:39 pmDamn, I missed PC fair again..

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Dec 2 2007, 08:39 PM
lohwenli
post Dec 2 2007, 10:50 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Looks like a whole gang of broke fellas here..supposed to go work at PC fair but no time to even go asking, never mind actually working there..
Don't even have enough money on hand now to pay for a decent meal..gotta get my garage sales going..
lohwenli
post Dec 3 2007, 09:36 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Dec 3 2007, 07:15 AM)
yeah...we can form a gang, then rompak lehteck coz he is the most rich bulker here. or maybe karom also ok what...nod.gif laugh.gif

They are the one who so noob actually, wanna sell their hardware, but with twisted info... doh.gif
Pro wannabe?? even at LYF also have...still if at outside, they think like we are stil living in jungle... laugh.gif
Haha, we must be the stupidest robbers ever then..discuss plans where the victims will hear about it..

The other day I baru taruh the guy at Swisspac, went there to get pricelist, he come and ask me what I'm looking for..to humor him I named some stuff I'm looking for my friend's upcoming C2Q setup, and I was careful to mention each part very specifically (Like XMS2, I asked for version 1.x only, cos its the only one using Micron chips). He was standing there totally gaga.. mega_shok.gif
lohwenli
post Dec 4 2007, 07:02 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Dec 3 2007, 07:47 PM)
or we can sneak into KC house, then downclock his rigs as lowest as we can. let him suffer... brows.gif

thinking of getting Lian-li Pc007. so beautiful la this casing... wub.gif
waiting for my allowance... brows.gif

saw kucingfight selling OEM 2140, 2160 and 4300. he said most of the 2140 is MO stepping. i wonder the performance of this E21XX series oced compared to my x2 3800.
tried tomshardware CPU chart, the performance is similar at stock clock, but oced dunno la...
wanna try intel pulak.... biggrin.gif
On full overclock, the E2xxx will make your F3 look like child's play..30% faster clock to clock..at a typical 3GHz the E2xxx will be roughly equivalent to a 3.9Ghz Windsor..
lohwenli
post Dec 4 2007, 09:50 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Well, to put things into perspective, a fully overclocked F3 or C2D/PDC is already enough to not bottleneck any graphic card currently available today. For a gaming system, either processor combined with the best graphic card money can buy is effectively among the best gaming systems available today. Even quad cores don't give much improvement in most games over the dual cores I've mentioned.
lohwenli
post Dec 4 2007, 02:38 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Got around to overclocking my F3 finally..damn its fun..
Gonna post up my OC log today or tomorrow, its a pretty long one, should I post it here or at the AM2 board?

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Dec 4 2007, 02:39 PM
lohwenli
post Dec 5 2007, 10:55 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Use speedfan or everest. Speedfan you'll have to identify most readings individually (it shows lke fan1, fan2, vcoreA, vcoreB, temp1, temp2).
lohwenli
post Dec 7 2007, 10:23 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Dec 7 2007, 07:22 AM)
Haha, nice catch cschun86. Really curious abt it.

Btw, HD3870 price almost same with 512version 8800GT, which one is better to grab?
8800GT is better if you want performance without overclocking, 3870 is better when overclocked (need modded bios though). Or you could just get a 3850 with good video ram and overclock it, its pretty much identical to the 3870 except the clock speed is set lower (but can easily clock to 3870 speed or more thumbup.gif ).

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Dec 7 2007, 10:05 AM)
8800GT is quite hot which comes great performance & lots space overclocking , HD3870 better in terms IQ, lots space for overclocking & CF setup dual ratio is better SLi
maybe next year u can aim for 9series already, work harder to grab more angpows wink.gif i've seen some review 256MB & 512MB almost the same unless u crank expecting gaming on hi-res.
8800GT is quite hot yeah, anyone seen the new NV92 8800GTS yet? Looking at the official spec by Nvidia it looks all set to kill possibly even the 8800 Ultra. But 8800GTX confirm mati liau mega_shok.gif And its way below RM2k shocking.gif (then again, I can go ahead and dream that money fall from the sky cry.gif )
lohwenli
post Dec 7 2007, 12:32 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 7 2007, 10:55 AM)
bro lohwenli,

how pro your soldering skill? tongue.gif are you possible to solder something connected with the super tiny small capacitor on the mobo?
Can la..last time the voltmod repair I did on a board I sold to shahril chin..pretty tough cos got 3 tiny resistors side by side and I only want to solder to 1 of them..

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Dec 7 2007, 11:58 AM)
his soldering skill is godlike... brows.gif
Not quite yet..but maybe someday..
lohwenli
post Dec 7 2007, 02:36 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Well, 800mhz ram is cheaper, and often they use the exact same components as the 1066Mhz version (in fact, its quite possible to find 667Mhz ram using chips found in 1066 ram). 1066 ram is just already overclocked versions of 667/800 ram. As long as the components are the same, the overclocking end result is more or less the same regardless of the original speed.. This also applies to all other PC components like CPU, GFX, mobo.

You may need to increase the NB voltage, but only as a last resort when the fsb will not go high enough to achieve your desired ram speed.
lohwenli
post Dec 10 2007, 11:38 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Dec 10 2007, 08:31 PM)
someone is bulk the value with D9GMH

1gb only RM85~
Jy14 is selling some nice D9G**, I think its sourced from an A-data batch (includes pics of ram chips). Check his thread, I can't on the internet connection I'm on right now.

Added on December 11, 2007, 12:29 amUploaded the first part of my OC adventure with the F3. Will put up more this weekend, dad's laptop batt dying now.

Decided to revive an old thread..
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=14603277

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Dec 11 2007, 12:29 AM
lohwenli
post Dec 13 2007, 02:21 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

If there's a TT, count me in.
Might need transport this time though, will be in USM already, no more car..

0.0485sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:40 AM