SAP Talk, A thread on everything about SAP

Frosty-Snowman
post Mar 29 2010, 03:09 PM

399 posts

Actually I noticed for the last 1.5 years, perm rates for core modules does not goes up except for some modules when you go around for job interview.

Most companies aren't giving perm slot but hiring core modules consultant on yearly contractual basis with slightly up perm rates.

Only if the consultant are doing ABAP, PS, BI, and any of the new dimension products that they need, it is almost contractual positions.

Unless you are lucky for contractual for core modules, it is easily break 10k per month.
Frosty-Snowman
post Apr 8 2010, 08:08 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(starfen @ Apr 8 2010, 02:19 AM)
hi everyone, i've read everything to page51. noticed that most of forumers here are from IT background. But i wish i could get some info regarding future prospect of accounting grads working under SAP FICO. Is the pay as good as those who from IT background? ERP sounds like an interesting option to me comparing to other paths like auditing and ordinary accounting,But i definitely dont want wasting my time if the pay is not as good. Hope to get some insights from you all. thx
If i recall, for accounting grad to do SAP FICO - first, you got to look for a company who is willing to train you in SAP FICO. Then again, your pay will be quite low cause you do not have any experience or knowledge on SAP FICO. It can be same pay grade like fresh grad auditors (company may deduct training expense from your salary). And they might impose about 3 to 5 years bond on you..

If you have read all the pages, some actually mentioned about it. The hours for sap implementation can be as bad-ass as auditor hours during the peak period.

Advice: Read all 51 pages first.
Frosty-Snowman
post Apr 8 2010, 04:10 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ Apr 8 2010, 10:02 AM)
BASF hiring SAP service desk and provide training ?
Yes - support role, BASF do provide training on-job and i think there is those training they will send the staff too if there is a need for new modules. But if I'm not mistaken, BASF tend to hire ppl with at least 1 yr support / implementation exp in SAP.

Added on April 8, 2010, 4:21 pm
QUOTE(starfen @ Apr 8 2010, 10:49 AM)
I understand that consulting firm like accenture hires accounting grads, just not sure what is the job scope or would them provide FICO training. Any recommendation for firms providing FICO training?

Any SAP consulting firm will provide FICO training. Only training is either SAP Academy or on-job training. Job scope - if fresh grad - you will do conversion first and they will ask you to read up on the documentation (SAP help and so on). If the firm see your potential, then they will send you to SAP Academy or attend in-house training for the module. Generally, consulting firm (usually) do not put you on the configuration position or front-line position.

So if i m so lucky enough to enter the field. Would i be treated alike IT grads who do sap modules like hr, crm, etc (from the aspect of career advancement opportunities and pay jump etc). FICO seems not so demanded as those modules.

Don't think too far first.. No experience in SAP usually is harder to get into. Easier you go get a certification if you intend to join Accenture. SAP FICO is high demand now especially IS-Banking implementation in Malaysia and companies doing upgrades and support. If you think about asking pay jump and so on before you even get into the line.... keep your 2 feet on the ground.. Plan where do you want to do, how to get there first. Once there, get the knowledge and plan the next step.

If you only want big money, don't do SAP implementation or support. Go do SAP Sales. I think the commission is quite good and perks too.

My answer in red. And you didn't even read the first post at all.. All the question you want to know is at the first post by Chezzball.
This post has been edited by Frosty-Snowman: Apr 8 2010, 04:24 PM
Frosty-Snowman
post Apr 9 2010, 12:29 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(imax80 @ Apr 8 2010, 05:51 PM)
is it good joining BASF? where is the service center located?
The last time I know BASF office is near Menara Telekom. It could be changed to Cyberjaya. U need to ask them
Frosty-Snowman
post Apr 20 2010, 11:23 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(castelloz @ Apr 19 2010, 03:52 PM)
Btw, u hardly can find good abapers in sap consulting firm la, because consulting firm dont really need a good abaper
escpecially the small sap consulting firm. They just need 2,3 seniors and the rest juniors and teach them the basics
like sapscript, do reports in alv, smartforms, conversion program, some stuffs in data dictionary, and
some badi or function module exit.
Thats all. And repeat again and again for different projects.
Some functionals(not all) are so stupid to think being abaper is so easy. Try to be one la before talk so much.
Thats why some abaper can easily tapau functional folks salary if they really good in what they doing.
Ceh.
Just relax you all in the thread. No point to start a flaming war. Your posting really shows how low you are will go to hit below the belly. Nobody is perfect in SAP environment (everyone has his/her flaw). We work with our dignity and self-respect for one another. Not going around - trolling in forum and start blasting away.

I been working for over 7 years now with good ones and bad ones too (those who love to play politics, love flaming ppl @ work and in SAP forum) - both functional and abaper, basis.

It is important for both Functional and Technical to know each other modules. Functional will know more on the functional side (FICO, MM, SD, PP, etc), Technical will know more on the technical side (BASIS, ABAP, and etc). It can be situation, ABAPer will know more especially if the functional consultant is still junior or never been in the particular industry and vice versa.

True - ABAPer salary in this region is one of the highest (for very experience abaper) and if I'm not mistaken is follow by SAP PS or BI and follow by new dimension modules. But if you claiming that you are technical or functional but are not experienced enough, you tend to get burn by the client and the project - no matter how much you are earning.
Frosty-Snowman
post May 25 2010, 09:08 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(EnTaroAdun @ May 23 2010, 05:27 PM)
any sifu sifu here doing MM or SD?
i nid some overview on these module to prepare for my interview...
or can simply share any link where u guys frequently visit so that i can have more reference... thx in advance  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
u getting interview for freshie or experience? got difference one..

if freshie, u dont need to know SAP functionalities in detail. U need to know the physical logistics operations more. If experienced ppl, both functionalities and technical as well as business operations of logistics is a requirement.

Cause if you are freshie in industry, you dont want to be caught bs your knowledge after what u read from internet.. It is easy to be caught by de person interviewing you.
Frosty-Snowman
post Jul 27 2010, 04:32 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 27 2010, 04:12 PM)
want to ask about the SAP-ERP exam, I was told that the passing rate isn't high, which means passing isn't that easy

is that true?
Passing mark is 70%. U fail, u need to wait 30 Business working days to re-register. Fail 3 times in the row, you are not allow to re-take for 1 year. Not sure whether you need to do academy after 1 year or not.
Frosty-Snowman
post Jul 30 2010, 11:26 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(tansnguan @ Jul 30 2010, 10:25 AM)
I am not able to get a job. Any recommendation or suggestion? i sent my CV to all the partners in SAP last week. No response from them and most of the SAP jobs in jobstreet required experiences.
How much u asking for? If u asking too high for no experience, they would not even entertain the cv.. fresh grad with sap cert - u tend to get slightly higher than fresh grad without sap cert.. But u cannot go asking for experienced professional salary..
Frosty-Snowman
post Aug 2 2010, 10:39 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(tansnguan @ Jul 30 2010, 04:33 PM)
I put negotiable. By the way, i got one question. I am a system engineer which have quite number of years of experience in system development and implementation and i get paid nearly RM4k. Salary is not a major issue and I can work with lower salary. So, how much i should put in expected salary in order not to rule out potential employer?

Based on my case, how much is my market value? I am fresh SAP certified consultant with years of exp in development n implementation.

Any experts can give some advices here?
technically, if u dont have project experience for SAP, u cannot demand SAP market rate. No point pushing the fact u have years of exp in development and implementation in other systems. U will need to follow fresh SAP grad rates - around 2.2 to 2.5k.

Cause if you start asking for super high salary and when the company put u to a client which is demanding - ie u don't know what to do for the client using SAP, let put this way, your value goes down straight to drain. Everyone will see you as a braggart in the firm..

SAP is a small world in Malaysia..
Frosty-Snowman
post Aug 3 2010, 08:21 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 2 2010, 04:35 PM)
Innovative Associates? The guys in there were previously from E&Y MCS, then Cap Gemini .. They're doing some small projects around Malaysia and I guess China. Mostly doing PM, not that many SAP projects .. no idea how they're lately .. but I was with E&Y MCS and had a short stint with their SAP team back in 2004.
Then I might know u, Wiraone. I was with Innovative Associates since 2004 until 2008.

Their consulting FI lead, ABAP lead, couple of the senior prj managers are still there minus the big consulting boss - switch to IBM (all on speed-dial and g-talk).

Correction on projects - There's no project in China by IA Group. Middle-East yes, India yes, Pakistan -yes, Sabah yes.

They are now doing mainly Financial niche project (SAP Banking). very niche market catering only for firms who need sap banking in the firms.. They also got small support prj's around KL for the old clients which needed enhancements.

Added on August 3, 2010, 8:26 am
QUOTE(ataris @ Aug 2 2010, 03:01 PM)
anyone working or know The IA group ? Consulting company...
As far as i know with all my recent chat's with the senior's in IA, HR consultants are needed for some of the projects (short terms and couple long terms)..

This post has been edited by Frosty-Snowman: Aug 3 2010, 08:26 AM
Frosty-Snowman
post Aug 4 2010, 08:56 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 3 2010, 06:06 PM)
Ha .. ha.. okay, I was in the BSN project .. initial startup, went missing after the dev server was setup .. anyway, I thought Stephen heading a team that doing some project in China .. so, I might be wrong smile.gif .. the only thing that I now .. one of my friend is still stuck in Bank Islam project .. like .. err.. forever? smile.gif
Stephen project is not SAP. His project is those HRM system. IA Outsourcing not IA Consulting. Different altogether type of projects.

Bank Islam - forever lah that project. Bank Islam boss and IA Group boss good buddy.. So the project can last forever..

Frosty-Snowman
post Aug 4 2010, 01:51 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 4 2010, 09:53 AM)
Ah... he..he.. so my good buddy Hanapi, is he still doing SAP in IA? I was with them for SESB too during the E&Y days..
Hanapi is forever there.. He will never leave.. But he's doing all sort - SAP integration and stuff.. I was under him in 2004 for BSN - doing MM, also learn PS there too..

Frosty-Snowman
post Aug 5 2010, 08:20 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(starfen @ Aug 5 2010, 01:16 AM)
Actually, the choice is easy. I just have to make clear of something 1st. I know that it's definitely very hard to enter SAP consulting company without experience. But is it easy to enter a SAP end user company?? I've noticed quite a number of ppl taking the course costing rm10k+ end up jobless. I don't want to take the course and go into a SAP unrelated field later because fail to get a SAP job...
My experience as non-experienced, jobless last time

1) Took SAP academy, paid around RM20K+. Pass exam.

2) Start blasting resumes all over the consulting and end user firms doing SAP. Make all the phone calls, use all your networking friends to ask or send resume direct to the manager in charge. Easier if you have friends who have political clout in the firm which I don't have at all. (e.g. My first job - almost all fresh graduates who comes in to do SAP, knows or related to one of the bosses in the firm).

3) Pray.

Whether it is end user or consulting firm, it is all depends to either your luck (10% of the time) or your political clout (90% of the time ppl get into SAP line this way).
Frosty-Snowman
post Aug 6 2010, 09:04 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(starfen @ Aug 5 2010, 11:51 AM)
So u got how many interviews after blasting your cv? i have 0 political clout... tongue.gif
Actually after i got my first job (1 month after starting), phone calls for interviews comes in.. Some want to do buyout immediately when I barely started my job. But those buyout - bond to their company for few years (end users firm).

Political clout - eilek.. If got also, i also don't want to use it cause if u do badly in the job, it makes whoever who brought u in looks bad.

Better earn with merit not political clout. amen to that.
Frosty-Snowman
post Aug 9 2010, 02:31 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(den @ Aug 8 2010, 04:46 PM)
hey camsel. i was also an RF engineer last year, and this year, i've joined the SAP industry.
any hint on which project you were working on previously?

anyway, Accenture also accepting fresh grad now? 0.0
Accenture always accept fresh grad but they can be gender bias during hiring.
Frosty-Snowman
post Aug 10 2010, 10:24 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 10 2010, 10:22 AM)
66 pages to read on what job prospect there if you go for the job camp .. go ahead .. read them page by page .. and good luck! smile.gif
QFT.

Frosty-Snowman
post Sep 21 2010, 02:18 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Sep 20 2010, 06:11 PM)
Just a little curious, does HCL AXON provide any internship opportunities? I'm currently studying Accounting and E-Commerce and very interested in pursuing SAP in the future as my career...

Also, I've recently got an internship position at PwC in the Risk Assessment Services team. Does that have anything to do with SAP, or would it help me in the future?

Thank you.
Risk Assessment Services does not do anything with SAP unless their client use SAP. But then again, you do not access the system like system configurator / functional consultant.

You just access the system to assess the potential risk, threat and provide the client a work around solution to be proposed to the implementator or support team.

Added on September 21, 2010, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(Sap-py @ Sep 13 2010, 11:45 AM)
Yes, we are still hiring. Please refer to the following online advert. Interviews are currently going on.

Pm me if you need more info.

http://www.jobstreet.com.my/jobs/2010/7/de...099527.htm?fr=J

There was also an advert in The Star.

Though the advert on Jobstreet is closed, you can still send in your CV.
HCL Axon - they lost quite a number of the senior consultants and managers. I mean huge, sorry. Those from JSPC left and rejoin Bright something (ex-JSPC director owned). Those from pre-Axon purchase JSPC left to Deloitte and Accenture. Those who are not local, left to join IBM, Shell and etc.

This post has been edited by Frosty-Snowman: Sep 21 2010, 02:23 PM
Frosty-Snowman
post Sep 24 2010, 10:45 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(sparda @ Sep 23 2010, 03:53 PM)
From what I see in my company, your accounting background isn't enough to count for much, although doing IT is a help, especially if you are thinking of doing the functional side of SAP. If you could study more accounting and maybe get an ACCA cert or something I think it would help you quite a lot.
Not actually... I seen those with accounting background doing SAP FICO also does not know head or tail of Finance that they suppose to do.

Frosty-Snowman
post Sep 27 2010, 02:48 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(chuan_81 @ Sep 27 2010, 02:35 PM)
hi guys, is there anyone doing SAP PM module?
our company is hiring for senior position....please PM me....if interest
u want local or foreigner?
Frosty-Snowman
post Oct 12 2010, 08:47 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(optyx_spider @ Oct 7 2010, 01:55 PM)
I'm not sure if it has anything to do with it but I really think you should go. PwC is a big company and having them in you CV can be really2 helpful
Not actually if you want to do SAP. PWC is more audit firm than a consulting firm doing SAP support or implementation.

Added on October 12, 2010, 8:51 am
QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Oct 9 2010, 12:50 AM)
Thanks alot for this reply, it really does help.

I just have one last question I want to ask, I foresee that my career ahead of me involves around SAP FICO.

I recently got another internship offer from Deloitte under the SAP department. Should i go for PwC System, Process Assurance, or Deloitte SAP?

Sorry to be asking so many questions in this section, I'm really facing a huge dilemma.
I think you already answered your own question / dilemma. Of the 3, only 1 can provide you the access to do SAP. The other 2, don't unless you are working for end-user firm that uses SAP.

This post has been edited by Frosty-Snowman: Oct 12 2010, 08:51 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0376sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:26 AM