Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?
vorchiel
Apr 2 2008, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(alsree786 @ Apr 2 2008, 06:58 PM) my friend wants to buy a PS3 set here in malaysia, but since he lives in Australia, he is wondering whether the Australian games will work on the PS3. I understand the PS3 is region free, but being a real noob, i have no idea as to anything wif regard to consoles and its terminologies. Help... If he is using HDTV or monitor that supports 720p and above there will be no problem with PS3 games. But if he is using SDTV, check this thread
vorchiel
Apr 8 2008, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(Revamperz @ Apr 8 2008, 04:35 PM) Heavenly Sword. Region 3. Same as North America? , amirite? America is region A/1
vorchiel
Apr 24 2008, 01:09 PM
FAT32 only for now. Not even NTFS filesystem is supported by PS3.
vorchiel
Apr 27 2008, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(MarcoYee @ Apr 27 2008, 10:12 PM) a stupit question here, maybe ardy have answer but i never saw it (cos i lazy check all 74 page) Will PS3 kick the bucket if i play it for 3~5 hour? And PS3 got case same as the 3ROD? thk for giving help...thk all sifu... My PS3 have been running Folding@Home almost 24/7 if the machine is not used for playing games/media/etc since I bought the PS3 a year ago.
vorchiel
Apr 27 2008, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(edvpc @ Apr 27 2008, 10:20 PM) huhuhu nice... i think u should quote that for ur siggy so anyone can read it...  Err I rather not to By the way my unit is CECHA00 (60GB JP model) Dont know about newer 40GB models » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 40GB models have less heat generated then the older 80/60/20GB models if I recalled correctly.. So there is less chance of killing it by just turning it on
vorchiel
Apr 28 2008, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(TENAXIS @ Apr 28 2008, 08:03 PM) ohhh dude, i been doing that for 6 months then one day me PS3 broke. I play it once in a while but the point is i never turn off my PS3. one day, my PS3 was blinking red lights, i click it then it become red, click it, becom green then yellow the back to flashing red lights. i suggest if want to do 24/7 folding, give it a rest at least twice a week, two nights is enough. i'm sending my PS3 to a shop to get it fix. Made in Japan/made in China? Not that it matters though I left it folding during summer last year as well
vorchiel
May 6 2008, 05:26 PM
transfer using network
vorchiel
May 6 2008, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(hackwire @ May 6 2008, 05:34 PM) i did not get any answer to my question yet so i BUMP this again... http://www.edepot.com/playstation3.html
vorchiel
May 6 2008, 11:35 PM
HK set can play both NTSC & PAL
vorchiel
May 7 2008, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(ahhuat @ May 6 2008, 11:41 PM) but just now the salesman saying hk ps3 is using ntsc. and also in malaysia , if there is anyone who can mod it in order to play ps2 game or *ahem ahem game? Salesman > all No need to ask around this forum anymore QUOTE 1.60 update: DVDs that are recorded in the PAL video broadcast standard can now be played. sourceQUOTE Hi I'm a french gamer and i have two playstaton 3 ntsc asia. -One of the first produced,a 20 gb bought in november 2006 (works with asia ps2 games but doesn't have the wifi) -And one of the latest 40 gb asia white bought in january 2k8 (wifi, but not ps2) I have a video game store,and ...... The old 20 gb asia can't read (error 80028F10) the PAL games blacklisted here with YUV RGB SDTV,(but it works with any other game) and,on the same screen, the new 40 gb asia reads EVERY PAL games using the same cables source
vorchiel
May 7 2008, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(ahhuat @ May 7 2008, 12:13 AM) But the info above only describes no PAL & NTSC restrictions for PS3 games and DVDs. PS2 and PS1 games still have that restriction I think... I'm not sure whether the NTSC &PAL restriction for PS1 & PS2 games can be bypassed or not using the swap method.
vorchiel
May 15 2008, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(Riddhy @ May 15 2008, 12:14 AM) sorry for noob question again but can u post any pics or tell me step by step how did u do it? i mean u need a DVI or HDMI Switcher like this http://www.pprsb.com/GameSwitch.htm to operate both PC and PS# at same time right and in your case is ur PS3 connected to monitor or is it connected to your graphics card??? component cables comes with graphics card right?  i am really confused how u did it plz post pics or tell me steps by step how u connected each stuff. The question is how many inputs does your monitor have? HDMI? DVI? VGA? And the tv tuner thingy have what type of input & output?
vorchiel
May 15 2008, 06:08 AM
QUOTE(Riddhy @ May 15 2008, 05:38 AM) Well my monitor is DVI and its not tv tuner thingy its a DVI switcher that enables you to operate both pc and ps3 together without turning any components off u can ran ps3 while pc is running in background vice versa. but my question is how did he keep the pc monitor connected to both the PS3 and computer without having to constantly switch the cables back and forth? Same for the audio Using VGA? without switcher its impossible he just used a cable The only way to use different devices without using an external switcher nor switching cable is if the monitor has more than 1 input that's why I asked about the amount/type of input your monitor. And also about the TV tuner because you stated that earlier along with the PS2 in the previous post (post #1602) but nvm it isnt related to this discussion unless you want to use similar setup with the PS2 but of course the img quality will be lowered if the tv tuner only supports 480i/576i instead of 720p. edited to remove some punctuations. This post has been edited by vorchiel: May 15 2008, 06:15 AM
vorchiel
May 16 2008, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(h_bib @ May 16 2008, 07:33 AM) Hi, Just got my PS3 yesterday, I already download demo game using F@H method. now I try to install second one,its have error (80023300). I already update to 2.35 since the 1st demo ask me tu update. help me please. Try to 'activate' the .pkg first by initiating the download normally at the PSN store for that .pkgh and then cancel when it began downloading. After that use the F@H redirection method.
vorchiel
May 16 2008, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(h_bib @ May 16 2008, 02:22 PM) OMG, I should install all 1st before update. what a waste..now just can heat my ps3 with direct download... Hope theres a way to overcome it.. Have you tried using another URL to redirect instead of F@H? Just an idea
vorchiel
May 16 2008, 02:33 PM
Downloading DBZ demo with my PC. Will report result in 10-15mins
vorchiel
May 16 2008, 02:57 PM
Okay I managed to download+install using the proxy method.
I redirected the original .pkg URL to the .pkg in my computer. I can't use F@H URL because I have it installed.
vorchiel
May 16 2008, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ May 16 2008, 03:29 PM) ^so we need to go to PSN store, find something to download, start it then pause it, then go to PS3.Proxy.Server log and replace with our .pkg on the PC, correct? no more using the F@H button That's how I do it all the time
vorchiel
May 16 2008, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ May 16 2008, 03:33 PM) i see, can i start a download on say DBZ demo, but use proxy to point to GT5P-JPN-demo.pkg for instance? i will test it tonight and update the FAQ on 1st page Encountered error 80023300 when trying to redirect Overlord demo URL to the DBZ .pkg just now. I guess they have implemented filesize-check or checksum or history or whatever in the new firmware.
vorchiel
May 16 2008, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ May 16 2008, 04:12 PM) wait a minute, rmb that huge 2GB GT5P-JPN specII patch? i wonder if we could have used the proxy program to redirect the patch and save lots of time?? too bad my game is patched, kenot test the proxy redirecting  The patch was delivered in small individual files. I remembered some files were only in hundreds of KBs. Moreover we have to edit the redirection table to include hundreds of URLs & files