Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

toughnut
post Nov 25 2007, 08:06 AM

3,239 posts

locking GPS need half hour? better closed the program and restart it. mine lock in 5sec or less for hot lock. for cold lock, need around 1min.

btw, mine is N95-1 with latest firmware, A-GPS disabled

@HolyCross
i know N95-2 has better build but dont try to throw it on floor lol. the reason i prefer leather case to bag is it slipped out of the bag easily.

i saw for many times my friends slipped their phone from the bag straight to floor biggrin.gif
toughnut
post Nov 26 2007, 09:38 AM

3,239 posts

i thought the vertical screensaver is a new feature on N95-2 lol. didnt expect it to be a bug.

i read from some forums, the slider on N95-2 is better build, initially, until u start using it for 1week or more, the same problem start again.

anyway, i noticed that N95-2 have a "faceplate", compare to old N95-1. it's changeable? cuz the upper slider containing LCD is made out of 3 pieces of plastics
toughnut
post Nov 29 2007, 09:24 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 28 2007, 09:39 PM)
You can do that on your own, but have to accept the broken new firmware (no dictionary lol). Not sure if it'll be success I don't have much experience so RM30 to me is worth it. smile.gif
dictionary can be downloaded from nokia.com websites...

QUOTE(ResQ @ Nov 29 2007, 09:07 AM)
i very like la this phone .. but i have n95 classic .. shud i trade-in my n95 classic to these phone? or stick with n95 classic?
got N95 classic? time to upgrade it. not to N95 8GB but with new firmware. after u use N95 will new firmware, u probably will change ur mind:nod:
toughnut
post Nov 29 2007, 10:18 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 29 2007, 09:31 AM)
Uh, do yourself a favour to check what's going on with the "lost" of the dictionary...?
shocking.gif rclxub.gif it's removed... doh.gif

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 29 2007, 09:31 AM)
But...but...firmware cannot upgrade RAM and battery capacity and also screen size...Maybe the look as well... brows.gif
after update, more free ram but physically ram amount still paltry 64mb. enough for web browsing+music. anything more will be risky.

battery life improved a lot due to DVFS. N95-8GB battery can be used on N95-1 IIRC, that should boost more life.

screen size doesnt attract me. at 2.6in, i can clearly see pixel...

for the black sexy body, no comment icon_question.gif
toughnut
post Nov 29 2007, 12:57 PM

3,239 posts

N82 should be available soon since it's launched in Europe already. priced around N81 8GB
toughnut
post Nov 30 2007, 10:37 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(na.tech @ Nov 30 2007, 09:56 AM)
anyone tried MP4 big file like 13MB size on this phone N95 8GB ? its bcoz i tried on N95 n it says UNABLE TO OPEN sad.gif
pls advice anyone smile.gif
i guess it's codec incompatibility problem, nothin to do with file size.

i tried bigger file before, 180MB till 400+MB lol. no problem. btw, it's AVI, 640*480 with 128kbps stereo sound biggrin.gif
toughnut
post Dec 1 2007, 03:31 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(na.tech @ Dec 1 2007, 12:01 PM)
how to install the codec anyway ? im planning to buy this N95 8GB n i hav lots of this type of MP4's n it plays
fine in my SE P1i !
pls help ok thanks  thumbup.gif
no separate codecs. just install smartmovie or coreplayer. personally i prefer coreplayer for tweakings option.

QUOTE(Ash @ Dec 1 2007, 12:06 PM)
By the way, may I know how did you guys get all those mp4 to play in your phone? my phone has no songs(because i use my mp3 player) no movies , nothing

only some nice themes , rotateme and handy taskman app
refer above

QUOTE(pigcat @ Dec 1 2007, 03:13 PM)
More battery life report, since last charge that's 36 hours ago, with "GSM only" enabled, few short calls, few sms, video shooting for under 5 minutes, 10minutes music/video playback, now still remain full bar... shocking.gif

I thought I'd just confirm by switch off the phone and on again so it should be accurate, still full bar...I'm happy with the battery... biggrin.gif
sweat.gif u dont do justice to the phone. only 10mins of multimedia playback? blush.gif brows.gif
toughnut
post Dec 1 2007, 03:56 PM

3,239 posts

@na.tech

for browsing, nothin beat a touchscreen. but the new browser in Nseries improved a lot since the old one.
toughnut
post Dec 2 2007, 08:28 AM

3,239 posts

to all N95 user, time to download FlashLite 3 DevEd, this time free and no need to sign ohmy.gif

LINK
toughnut
post Dec 2 2007, 10:03 AM

3,239 posts

@mstr583

its seem like it unable to open any of my flv/swf. either it's broken or i'm dumb.... sweat.gif
toughnut
post Dec 2 2007, 01:27 PM

3,239 posts

@ddww

This installer only supports standalone content and cannot be used to view SWF files that are embedded in a mobile web browser or to test any type of personalization content such as wallpapers or screensavers.

i'm not testing it with embedded media or testing it with wallpapers/screensavers. i tested it with swf/flv and nothin work..
toughnut
post Dec 4 2007, 08:29 AM

3,239 posts

@lchen39

the private folder is hidden. visible if u browse the card with "view hidden file" or something close to that (varies with each file browser). it's visible on pc too

try ActiveFile (free)
toughnut
post Dec 4 2007, 01:22 PM

3,239 posts

@missgeek
try malsingmap. updated monthly. use with garmin/mapking navigation software.
toughnut
post Dec 5 2007, 05:17 PM

3,239 posts

check the Righmark Audio Analyser(RMAA) results for Walkman series. that will change ur mind if u think W is superior in audio quality. actually it SUCK. nokia and samsung actually are better in audio department for some selected models. currently phone with best audio quality are nokia N91 and samsung i450

for RMAA results, go to mobile-review.com

edited for grammatical errors doh.gif

This post has been edited by toughnut: Dec 5 2007, 05:20 PM
toughnut
post Dec 7 2007, 01:50 PM

3,239 posts

@pigcat
N95 30fps
Viewty 120fps

it's 4 times the fps brows.gif
toughnut
post Dec 9 2007, 02:45 PM

3,239 posts

@lanusb
For n95-1 and n95-2,
If u wan big screen+8gb memory,go for n95-2.other than that,no major advantages.for microsd,8gb already available.

bigger battery capacity being used by big screen n double ram,so battery life only a bit better if under heavy usage.

For d ram,wit new firmware on n95-1,i never encounter low memory anymore:) demand paging implemented and my ram never run lower than8mb

Ps:this post typed n posted via n95 on wifi:)

Added on December 9, 2007, 2:52 pmbtw,forgotten1major differences between d2 n95.

8gb version is in black body n do not hav camera lense cover

This post has been edited by toughnut: Dec 9 2007, 02:55 PM
toughnut
post Dec 10 2007, 08:52 AM

3,239 posts

@missgeek
the pouch actually included only on original APAC set IIRC. but since last few months, they didnt include it already.
toughnut
post Dec 12 2007, 08:43 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(lanusb @ Dec 12 2007, 01:10 AM)
1. so anyone can share the rotateme here?? oh ya it works for this version also rite??

2. How fast is the transfer speed for the 8gb? feel abit slow......7mb per sec??

3. camera can silent or not??
1. google....

2. 7mBps? sweat.gif it's 10x slower, my dear. 650kBps to be exact. so happy transferring 8GB of files...

3. depend on firmware and region. APAC, afaik, all unable to silent the shutter sound
toughnut
post Dec 14 2007, 08:22 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Dec 13 2007, 09:01 PM)
By the way anyone succesfully play a 640x480 Xvid video on this phone? I tried Smartmovie Coreplay Divx player all cannot play smoothly...Sad I think need to convert liao... sad.gif
i use CorePlayer, adjust the picture quality to medium. usually i watch Heroes and Prison Break on my N95 biggrin.gif actually it will only lag a bit during opening credit on high quality setting.
toughnut
post Dec 14 2007, 09:43 AM

3,239 posts

@pigcat

time to adjust the advanced setting. in coreplayer, the customization is 1st rate but quite intimidating for first time user.

on my phone, video/audio sync properly. fast forward, rewind, etc all worked. tested with various anime, tv series, movies all without the need to re-encode it to 320*240. fresh from internet straight into my memorycard thumbup.gif

i only wish longer battery for video playback cry.gif

0.0250sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:14 AM