Ah beng’s civic fe changed 8 times steering rack, Every 3 months got problem, how

TSiOrange
post Yesterday, 08:45 PM, updated 8h ago

320 posts

Sos

I purchased a new Honda Civic FE RS on October 16, 2023. For the first six months, everything was fine, except for a few minor rattling noises inside the car. In the seventh month, I noticed the steering became difficult to control (affecting driving and safety). I went to the Honda service center to report the issue and was told the steering rack needed replacing. It took about two months for a replacement to be available (while driving with the problem for two months). About three months after the replacement, the same problem reappeared, so I went to the Honda service center again and requested another steering rack replacement. Again, it took about two months. Each warranty claim process was extremely cumbersome and time-consuming. First, they required me to bring the car to the service center for inspection and to have technicians take photos or videos to prepare a report. Then, the report needed to be sent to Honda Malaysia for approval before ordering and replacing the steering rack. Therefore, I had to visit the service center at least twice to resolve any issues.

Then in October 2024, I received a call-back notice stating that I needed to return to the service center to replace the faulty steering rack. I was told that after the call, the same problem would not recur. However, less than three months after the call, the steering rack started making strange noises again, and I went through the same tedious process of replacement. By November 2025, I had replaced the steering rack eight times, roughly every three months. Each time, I had to drive to the service center to have photos and videos taken before I could claim the replacement. After approval, I had to go back for another replacement, leaving my car at the service center overnight.

Then in November 2025, it started making strange noises again, and I requested a replacement. I waited about three weeks without receiving any updates. After calling Honda Malaysia, I received a call the next day from Honda Malaysia saying that the dealer service center would contact me. Then the dealer from the service center called to inform me that the replacement wouldn't be available until February 2026. This means I have to drive a faulty car until February of next year.

I don't understand why such a large company can be so irresponsible, selling a defective car and then replacing it eight times without solving the problem. The steering rack issue affects driving and safety. I asked Honda Malaysia if they could effectively resolve this issue, and they said maybe in six months, but they weren't sure when they would notify me; they needed notification from Honda headquarters. I asked for a refund, and they said no. I asked for a replacement, and they said no too. Their answer was that they could only keep replacing the faulty steering rack, which would keep recurring.

I don't understand why such a large company can't solve the problem for two whole years. I bought a new car hoping for fewer problems, but buying this Honda Civic has become a nightmare. It needs to be replaced approximately every three months. And every time I need to go to the service center, I have to take a Grab to work. I asked them to lend me a car, but they couldn't even do that simple request. I bought the car for commuting, not to go to the service center every three months. Whenever I call Honda Malaysia to complain, they just shirk responsibility and tell the dealer to follow up. But when I get to the dealer, they say I have to wait for instructions from Honda Malaysia before they can take the next step.

No wonder fe resale value so bad compared to fc brows.gif imagine after warranty ends every 3 months need to fix steering rack brows.gif
DogeGamingPRO
post Yesterday, 08:47 PM

169 posts

Honla best!!!
GTA5
post Yesterday, 08:48 PM

1,412 posts

Cannot be too perfect, later outsell all other brands

So Honda purposely put this flaw

It's an intended flaw to give other brands a chance
contagiouseddie
post Yesterday, 08:55 PM

308 posts

Memang flawed design. End if story. They ain't redesigning it. Tambah grease and give you same stick again and again. I won't be shocked they refurbished them also.
maxpudding
post Yesterday, 08:57 PM

165 posts

Saya sebagai owner fd2 cuma boleh kata kesian kepada mereka
MR_alien
post Yesterday, 08:59 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

other people is every year, this guy is every 3 month is crazy
MR_alien
post Yesterday, 08:59 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Dec 18 2025, 08:48 PM)
Cannot be too perfect, later outsell all other brands

So Honda purposely put this flaw

It's an intended flaw to give other brands a chance
their cars today has way more flaws than steering rack
their CVT is also the weakest among all brands
josh5671
post Yesterday, 09:01 PM

1,197 posts

last time i mention my friend crv change like 3~4time...people say i making the story up lol
MegaCanonF
post Yesterday, 09:02 PM

877 posts

Wadepak? How do u drive la?

Cukur ayam mia HRV ady 6month + nothing yet
danielmckey
post Yesterday, 09:03 PM

1,053 posts

LoL. You can stand for problem 8 times. 9th time your car might be in total loss. You better buy proton saga.
TSiOrange
post Yesterday, 09:13 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Dec 18 2025, 09:02 PM)
Wadepak? How do u drive la?

Cukur ayam mia HRV ady 6month + nothing yet
I find it’s weird that steering racks problems are more prevalent in honda premium models like civic and crv but not city and hrv
k!nex
post Yesterday, 09:20 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

Thts the thing. .go back to hydraulic steering rack laaa.. most issue is just leaking oil and easy to fix
k!nex
post Yesterday, 09:21 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(iOrange @ Dec 18 2025, 09:13 PM)
I find it’s weird that steering racks problems are more prevalent in honda premium models like civic and crv but not city and hrv
Because smaller cars weigh less. So less stress on the EPS probably.
Coldf3ar
post Yesterday, 09:23 PM

520 posts

No wonder got some "lady" here die die say kia is boring car.

Civic is definitely a fun one
jaapers
post Yesterday, 09:23 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(iOrange @ Dec 18 2025, 08:45 PM)
Sos
No wonder fe resale value so bad compared to fc brows.gif imagine after warranty ends every 3 months need to fix steering rack brows.gif
https://www.facebook.com/groups/iwnbahm/
I will not buy another Honda Malaysia group
alextan99
post Yesterday, 09:25 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

pretty sure he could file a claim with KPDNKK under lemon law
jojolicia

1,923 posts

Kesian la
kcchong2000

189 posts

Waiting kevin datang sini plotek plotek
kueks
post Yesterday, 09:28 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

QUOTE(jaapers @ Dec 18 2025, 09:23 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/iwnbahm/
I will not buy another Honda Malaysia group
only members can see

means sudah own honda, ada problem baru masuk rant

too late laugh.gif
k!nex
post Yesterday, 09:29 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(iOrange @ Dec 18 2025, 08:45 PM)
Sos
Different story. Resell value for FE is bad because Honda Malaysia give huge discount these days. RM12k discount for a new Civic this month. Since when Honda cars give so much discount in history ? PRC cars give them a run for their money.. thts y...

This post has been edited by k!nex: Yesterday, 10:47 PM

0.0163sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:57 AM