Xi Warns Against Chasing ‘Reckless’ GDP Expansion.

TSJohnL77
post Dec 16 2025, 12:23 PM, updated 2d ago

1,887 posts

Xi Warns Officials Against Chasing ‘Reckless’ GDP Expansion

Takeaways by Bloomberg AI

> Chinese President Xi Jinping vowed to crack down on the pursuit of “reckless” projects that have no purpose except showing superficial results.
> Xi called for quality in economic gains and listed examples of wrongdoing such as unnecessarily huge industrial parks and inflated statistics.
> Xi said officials shouldn’t only be assessed on the basis of the GDP growth rate, but also relative to their achievements in ensuring people’s well-being and maintaining stability.
Chinese President Xi Jinping lashed out at inflated growth numbers and vowed to crack down on the pursuit of “reckless” projects that have no purpose except showing superficial results.

“All plans must be based on facts, aiming for solid, genuine growth without exaggeration, and promoting high-quality, sustainable development,” Xi said last week, according to a report on Sunday in the People’s Daily, the Communist Party’s official newspaper.

“Those who act recklessly and aggressively without regard for reality, impose excessive demands, or deploy resources without careful consideration, must be held strictly accountable,” he said at the Central Economic Work Conference.

Xi used stark language to call for quality in economic gains and listed examples of wrongdoing such as unnecessarily huge industrial parks, disorderly expansion of local exhibitions and forums, inflated statistics and “fake construction kickoffs.”

The surprisingly direct and specific comments highlight the Chinese leader’s concern over the quality of growth in gross domestic product and the use of financial resources, particularly as rising local debt is constraining the government’s ability to spend.

Access to data in China can be sensitive and controlled, making it hard for observers to assess the health of the economy.

Xi said officials shouldn’t only be assessed on the basis of the GDP growth rate, but also relative to their achievements in ensuring people’s well-being and maintaining stability. What they do to lay a solid foundation for the economy in the long run is as important as what they do to stimulate growth now, he added.

China's Economic Slowdown Is Getting Worse as Year Ends
Industrial output, investment, retails sales disappointed in November

The remarks seem to suggest that Xi wants a revamp of the existing metrics used to evaluate local officials.

For years, the performance of the economy, especially measured by short-term growth numbers, has been a dominant factor in promotion decisions.

While helping China achieve rapid growth over the past few decades, the downside — such as a pile-up of local debts and overcapacity resulting from a rush into the same industries — only became more pronounced in recent years.

Speaking at the work conference, Xi called for making “the assessment system more targeted and scientific, so that it works effectively like a conductor’s baton.”

As positive examples of achievements with long-term benefits, Xi highlighted breakthroughs in technological self-reliance, an improvement in air quality and growth in renewable energy. He said progress in these areas was made possible through persistent efforts, according to the report.

The Chinese leader also warned that “inefficient” investment, which results in projects being abandoned as soon as they are completed, must be prevented. He urged officials to pay close attention to the recent slump in capital investment but asked them to deal with it calmly.

Fixed-asset investment fell 2.6% in the first 11 months of this year, putting it on track for the first annual decline since at least 1998, when comparable data begins.

The comments are similar to remarks Xi made earlier this year, when he rebuked local officials for crowding into the same emerging industries, and may indicate a growing frustration at the top with how policies are actually implemented.

When it comes to launching new projects, it’s always the same few things: artificial intelligence, computing power, new-energy vehicles,” Xi said in July, according to a People’s Daily article at the time. “Should every province in the country be developing industries in these areas?”

9m2w
post Dec 16 2025, 12:29 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Dec 16 2025, 12:23 PM)
Xi Warns Officials Against Chasing ‘Reckless’ GDP Expansion

Takeaways by Bloomberg AI

> Chinese President Xi Jinping vowed to crack down on the pursuit of “reckless” projects that have no purpose except showing superficial results.
> Xi called for quality in economic gains and listed examples of wrongdoing such as unnecessarily huge industrial parks and inflated statistics.
> Xi said officials shouldn’t only be assessed on the basis of the GDP growth rate, but also relative to their achievements in ensuring people’s well-being and maintaining stability.
Now some folks may say the fixed asset investment drop (which means lack of capex spending especially on machinery) as a red herring

They producing more cheaply because they are more skilled and more advanced.

Probably they have found the mythical 25th hour to operate their machines . So fuck you Toyota JIT and Germany efficiency

whyamiblack
post Dec 16 2025, 12:31 PM

70 posts

While helping China achieve rapid growth over the past few decades, the downside — such as a pile-up of local debts and overcapacity resulting from a rush into the same industries — only became more pronounced in recent years.

such as a pile-up of local debts and overcapacity resulting from a rush into the same industries

overcapacity

What
marfccy
post Dec 16 2025, 12:37 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ Dec 16 2025, 12:31 PM)
[/size]

[size=9]

What
clear signs of what agenda they are promoting whistling.gif
TSJohnL77
post Dec 16 2025, 12:43 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Dec 16 2025, 12:29 PM)
Now some folks may say the fixed asset investment drop (which means lack of capex spending especially on machinery) as a red herring

Probably they have found the mythical 25th hour to operate their machines . So fuck you Toyota JIT and Germany efficiency
China's factories use warp drive to bend space time to give them more hours in a day! Yaoyaolingxian! China's (elderly population) will grow larger!

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 16 2025, 12:49 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 16 2025, 12:46 PM

3,681 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Dec 16 2025, 12:29 PM)

no lar... I suspect its simply their input materials is just too cheap....

cheap cheap export from russia and iran that the so called rest of the world refuse to import.
fixed asset investment? why pay extra for a machine from say GB when can get same machine cheap from CN?
ornehx
post Dec 16 2025, 12:46 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Dec 16 2025, 12:23 PM)
CCP kerajaan yg prihatin, kerajaan demi rakyat
9m2w
post Dec 16 2025, 12:48 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Dec 16 2025, 12:43 PM)
China's factories use warp drive to bend space time to give them more hours in a day! Yaoyaolingxian! China's (elderly population) will grow larger!
If you take everything some ppl say at face value

Their overproduction and price slashing (not just talking about shopee shit, also industrial consumables, machinery, fixtures, building material etc) is not loss making

Their operations are lean and costs are manageable but they are not underpaying or laying off workers nor are they stretching credit terms with suppliers

The quality is still good as they arent cutting corners

The only explanation is they did something like the above liao
9m2w
post Dec 16 2025, 12:51 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 16 2025, 12:46 PM)
no lar... I suspect its simply their input materials is just too cheap....

cheap cheap export from russia and iran that the so called rest of the world refuse to import.
fixed asset investment? why pay extra for a machine from say GB when can get same machine cheap from CN?
Yes and no

Some machines yes China already on par. Steel fabrication and steel machining industries in ASEAN have switched to China production lines running in parallel with older european ones. Some since covid because of the long wait for european machines.

But milling for high end product, nope no chance. You cannot beat European and Japanese milling machines. They're close but not close enough. Some industries you still these type of machines

And negative growth for capex investment is not good. Malaysia even during Covid records healthy imports of capex goods. If you dip it means some of your demand is gone liao.

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Dec 16 2025, 12:51 PM
TSJohnL77
post Dec 16 2025, 12:51 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Dec 16 2025, 12:48 PM)
If you take everything some ppl say at face value

Their overproduction and price slashing (not just talking about shopee shit, also industrial consumables, machinery, fixtures, building material etc) is not loss making

Their operations are lean and costs are manageable but they are not underpaying or laying off workers nor are they stretching credit terms with suppliers

The quality is still good as they arent cutting corners

The only explanation is they did something like the above liao
Eh wait, what happened to what he said last December? Now say overcapacity is bad?

“What’s so bad about deflation? Don’t people like it when things are cheaper?”
Wedchar2912
post Dec 16 2025, 12:54 PM

3,681 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Dec 16 2025, 12:51 PM)
Yes and no

Some machines yes China already on par. Steel fabrication and steel machining industries in ASEAN have switched to China production lines running in parallel with older european ones. Some since covid because of the long wait for european machines.

But milling for high end product, nope no chance. You cannot beat European and Japanese milling machines. They're close but not close enough. Some industries you still these type of machines

And negative growth for capex investment is not good. Malaysia even during Covid records healthy imports of capex goods. If you dip it means some of your demand is gone liao.
u were talking about fixed asset investment drop... which is just a number in stats....

it says nothing about quality or quantity... or type.

like how malaysia should recently have a lot of fixed asset investment rite?
9m2w
post Dec 16 2025, 12:55 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Dec 16 2025, 12:51 PM)
Eh wait, what happened to what he said last December? Now say overcapacity is bad?

You sell at 1.05 but your cost is 1.00 you sell 1 million units and your profit is.....

Imagine if you sell at 0.95 and your cost 1.00... but you manage to make it a paper cost by stretching a supplier here, banking on export credit to make a return and dimissing machine depreciation as just jargon...yes you can still practically survive but you heck as sure aint thriving

Fun fact machine depreciation is just western jargon is an actual phrase a factory manager told me before. i'm like KNN your boss find out you get fired man
ozak
post Dec 16 2025, 12:56 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Dec 16 2025, 12:51 PM)

Some hint that CCP is closing the tap.
bill11
post Dec 16 2025, 12:57 PM

303 posts

that why you see their property market is bleeding.
maybe it is good for future ppl but current one all is crying now even sell now have to top up also but dont sell cannot afford to pay installment.
9m2w
post Dec 16 2025, 12:58 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 16 2025, 12:54 PM)
u were talking about fixed asset investment drop... which is just a number in stats....

it says nothing about quality or quantity... or type.

like how malaysia should recently have a lot of fixed asset investment rite?
We can guess as the graph is about industrial output and also industrial fixed asset invesment

Big ticket for fixed asset investment is plant and machinery. machinery being the biggest most frequent mover of the needle.

If its logistics then it would be transport

If mining mining equipment

Industrial manufacturing big ticket item is machinery
TSJohnL77
post Dec 16 2025, 01:01 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Dec 16 2025, 12:55 PM)
Fun fact machine depreciation is just western jargon is an actual phrase a factory manager told me before. i'm like KNN your boss find out you get fired man

QUOTE(bill11 @ Dec 16 2025, 12:57 PM)
that why you see their property market is bleeding.
maybe it is good for future ppl but current one all is crying now even sell now have to top up also but dont sell cannot afford to pay installment.
FOMO buyers only have themselves to blame. They see the price crazy high doesn't make sense but they still buy because FOMO.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 16 2025, 01:01 PM

3,681 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 16 2025, 12:56 PM)
Some hint that CCP is closing the tap.
Later will shout that china is exporting inflation to rest of the world..... Like how last time complaining china buying up everything... From lobster to LV.
TSJohnL77
post Dec 16 2025, 01:03 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 16 2025, 01:01 PM)
Later will shout that china is exporting inflation to rest of the world.....  Like how last time complaining china buying up everything... From lobster to LV.
I think you are jumping the gun. Very hard to go from deflation to inflation.
river.sand
post Dec 16 2025, 01:10 PM

3,816 posts

CCP set GDP growth target at 5%. Now Xi is saying they should not be chasing GDP expansion.

If the local officials can't meet the KPI, they will be sacked. That's the reason they do everything to meet the KPI.
9m2w
post Dec 16 2025, 01:19 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Dec 16 2025, 01:03 PM)
I think you are jumping the gun. Very hard to go from deflation to inflation.
Perversely it's somewhat true

China conquering the rare earth space has seen them freeze out European suppliers. Semi conductor related industries hoarding this material and export curbs have actually caused tungsten apt to spike.

It's also affecting the world and Chinese manufacturers alike. Tungsten apt is a crucial component in tungsten carbide related production. Machining related industries like mine rely on tungsten carbide tools to machine and have been faced with spiking tool costs

Some jigs and conveyor belts also use carbide roller and fixtures, so industries that uses these have seen their costs also gone up.

So yeah very ironic to see inflation and deflation happening at the same time.

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Dec 16 2025, 01:19 PM

0.0152sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:28 AM