Japan guy rates countries by their food

Taikor.Taikun
post Dec 13 2025, 03:48 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Dec 13 2025, 12:41 PM)
Tamil brahmin veg curry is the best, and indeed their other veg dishes are good enough to erase any need or craving for meat where I'm concerned.

The other day i had fish curry...and wondered how many years/centuries it took for them to hit on the combination of spices in the masala that is so flavorful and piquant while still allowing the taste of the fish to still shine through.
Travel anywhere in the world, can step in Indian restaurant for vegetarian foods, and tasty
amgh
post Dec 13 2025, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(salad said @ Dec 13 2025, 01:13 PM)
rofl, tell me u've only been on basic bitch trip in tokyo without telling me
Actually, Tokyo is the only place I didn't visit, except to take the flight back home. Shinkansen all the way from Sapporo to Kyoto and visiting other cities in between, with a 1 week JR pass.

I ditched all youtube and social media recommendations and went indie all the way. My only companions were my wife and Google translate. icon_rolleyes.gif
ihm11
post Dec 13 2025, 05:01 PM

62 posts

i eated kimchi food oni once n dat was the last
katijar
post Dec 13 2025, 05:05 PM

2,294 posts

Ini mesti orang kampung jepun
keyser soze
post Dec 13 2025, 05:06 PM

569 posts

at least Singapore didn't beat us.
RT8081
post Dec 14 2025, 02:08 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(NickedAsy @ Dec 13 2025, 02:35 PM)
Nice. Any recommendation? Since most of us are exposed with all those dirty street vendors, so would be a nice change to know what's available there.
Ya bro. Those are usually the videos we're shown. Plus my friend who was sick in his hotel for days simply coz he drank non bottled water from dunno what source outside a few years back.
Been a while since I visited Chennai. It was a vegetarian shop in OMR road

QUOTE(superbike @ Dec 13 2025, 03:20 PM)
People think lowly of Indian foods due to viral unhygienic preparation phenomenon that make it on the internet.

If only they could find the best Indian cuisine with hygienic preparation they would think how awesome Indian foods are.

There's a reason why Mamak (non vegetarian i know) and Banana Leaf Rice are so popular in Malaysia.
Yup, the good one all won’t be in Ang moh’s India YouTube lol
emburrar
post Dec 14 2025, 02:25 PM

14 posts

Bharat food no vera ka
Inb4 eat at high kelas place
h@ksam
post Dec 14 2025, 03:03 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(TongPakFu Dim Kristy @ Dec 13 2025, 01:41 PM)
Already say India got bestest food in the world. Especially their street food..
if you need to go toilet then eat there
Milupa
post Dec 14 2025, 10:24 PM

I agree with Turkish Food.
Kebab yummy
treblecase
post Dec 14 2025, 10:39 PM

IHI
779 posts

“A matter of opinion”.

One man’s meat is another man’s poison
marfccy
post Dec 14 2025, 11:46 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(amgh @ Dec 13 2025, 12:16 PM)
So Japan has "delicious and impressive" food?

I don't know...I also go to eat at Japanese restaurants... and there's nothing delicious or impressive about them. Once you've been to one Jap restaurant, the rest will be the same ... it's only the difference in the quality of rice and sauces used.

All they have are sushi, sushi and more sushi. And of course, sashimi. And almost all their food is mild. I mean, they just dip the raw seafood and sushi in shoyu and eat - how impressive can that be?

Udon/Ramen soup also mild and salty. Their hotpot soup is overly sweet. Curry also copied from India, and still, mild....

Not to demean their food, since I still go to Jap restaurants for a change of taste, and usually I just order cooked fish and kappa maki to go with the fish.

And I wouldn't actually call it "delicious or impressive."

Yes, he already wrote there it's his personal opinion.

But JAV - oh yeah, now that's impressive and "delicious".
yeah i agree with you on this, Japan has good and delicious food but nothing impressive once you past a certain level of them youll realise its more or less similar. like how their very essence for dishes uses soy, konbu, mirin, chinese and their holy trinity of garlic, ginger and spring onions, french and their onion, carrots, celery and so on..
xpole
post Dec 15 2025, 12:24 AM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

Talking about food. Since I learn to eat more Korean food recently, I feel like Korean food is much much better than Japanese.

More flavours and more variety. If you don't like vegetables, you're going to suffer eating korean foods.

Last time when I went out, I always eat Japanese food. Nowadays I explore more and more Korean restaurant places

I'm getting tires eating sushi and other japanese food. Even there are times I feel like want to puke when I smell the sushi or passby Jap restaurant.

This post has been edited by xpole: Dec 15 2025, 12:25 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0152sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:30 AM