rfid block wallet

MR_alien
post Dec 12 2025, 11:05 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 12 2025, 11:04 AM)
If Google Wallet is not safe, is TnG safe?
google wallet use link card and tap

TnG u still need to physically take phone out, unlock and take picture of the QR code

it's not who is safer, it's the "method"

i always abide by 1 rule = "if it's hard for you, it's gonna be harder for the thief", "if it's easy for you, it's easy for the thief"

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Dec 12 2025, 11:06 AM
Pewufod
post Dec 12 2025, 11:08 AM

1,537 posts

bought bellroy on black friday and really love the wallet
touristking
post Dec 12 2025, 11:08 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 12 2025, 04:05 AM)
google wallet use link card and tap

TnG u still need to physically take phone out, unlock and take picture of the QR code

it's not who is safer, it's the "method"
You still need to physically unlock your phone, switch on Google Wallet to use.

Samsung Wallet. You need to physically unlock your phone. Then password to open Samsung Wallet.

I don't think it is less safe than TnG.

TnG common in Malaysia. When outside of country, Google wallet more useful

This post has been edited by touristking: Dec 12 2025, 11:11 AM
Zot
post Dec 12 2025, 11:52 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 12 2025, 10:51 AM)
i don't even link any of my card to any wallet app
1. i don't need it
2. i saw the risk behind it
3. the risk outweigh the benefit
I never give a thought about this,

Can you give a scenario in what condition this would be a risk? hmm.gif
MR_alien
post Dec 12 2025, 11:58 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 12 2025, 11:52 AM)
I never give a thought about this,

Can you give a scenario in what condition this would be a risk?  hmm.gif
delusional people or people that are not good in IT i guess will leave their NFC running 24/7, exposing themselves
who knows, even i that am good in IT knowledge also knew that there are many thing i also don't know

so to 100% prevent it from NOT happening, the best way is to not use it at all
because we never know what kind of tool thief has to steal anything from us

like i said a few post back, there is nothing to steal if there is nothing there in the 1st place laugh.gif
JohnL77
post Dec 12 2025, 01:46 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Dec 12 2025, 08:35 AM)
I am not quite following, do you mean a physical card blocker?
Yes. I tested it at petrol station by tapping my wallet to the card reader. With the RFID blocker in my wallet, my card couldn't be read, but it could be read after I removed the blocker.
submergedx
post Dec 12 2025, 01:50 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(bani_prime @ Dec 12 2025, 05:57 AM)
whenever i see rfid block wallet
for sure, this wallet is just a scam
how many case duit kena curi because card got being scanned? it just for marketing trick only
dont get influenced with apple phone steal money prank
people like to wear clothes
some people like to naked

nothing wrong just preference

you tak suka you keluar

OWAI
bansheelipsx
post Dec 12 2025, 01:52 PM

107 posts

inb4 TS bought a cheapo fake and got scammed ....

submergedx
post Dec 12 2025, 01:52 PM

1,132 posts

Doesnt care.

Apple pay works all the time
kitsunegeisha
post Dec 12 2025, 01:53 PM

250 posts

u not travel enough ...dont see big pic
Zot
post Dec 12 2025, 02:23 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 12 2025, 11:58 AM)
delusional people or people that are not good in IT i guess will leave their NFC running 24/7, exposing themselves
who knows, even i that am good in IT knowledge also knew that there are many thing i also don't know

so to 100% prevent it from NOT happening, the best way is to not use it at all
because we never know what kind of tool thief has to steal anything from us

like i said a few post back, there is nothing to steal if there is nothing there in the 1st place laugh.gif
I meant if the NFC is left active all the time, what can the pother party gain? Sniffing credit card data from your ApplePay or SamsungPay apps by using special apps in his phone?

I think this is unlikely to happen because you still need to initiate payment for data to be sent out

This post has been edited by Zot: Dec 12 2025, 02:27 PM
Zot
post Dec 12 2025, 02:31 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Dec 12 2025, 08:35 AM)
I am not quite following, do you mean a physical card blocker?
I think this probably just a metal in shape of credit card. This will effectively block RF signal from reaching antenna inside the credit card because a big metal piece is not tuned to receive the frequency transmitted.
netmatrix
post Dec 12 2025, 02:34 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Paywave attack means transaction is instant. You phone may have notification. But if you did not hear it or ignored it like my aunt did, you would be looking at a Rm 46.99 google moomoo.ai transaction in today's activities.
MR_alien
post Dec 12 2025, 03:40 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 12 2025, 02:23 PM)
I meant if the NFC is left active all the time, what can the pother party gain? Sniffing credit card data from your ApplePay or SamsungPay apps by using special apps in his phone?

I think this is unlikely to happen because you still need to initiate payment for data to be sent out
humans are like this
they always unlikely until it happened

thn they try to shift the blame to everybody else
thn the one that didn't use it at the 1st place is laughing at those people that uses it and got hacked for being stupid

it's always like this from what i saw

in my years experience with electronic and stuff, nothing is perfect...everything has a loophole/vulnerability...nothing beats mechanical shit
even on my "physical stuff", i still abide to a rule that's if it's hard for me, it's gonna be harder for the thief and thief don't like troublesome/hard things
nelienuxe_sara
post Dec 12 2025, 03:56 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

QUOTE(bani_prime @ Dec 12 2025, 05:57 AM)
whenever i see rfid block wallet
for sure, this wallet is just a scam
how many case duit kena curi because card got being scanned? it just for marketing trick only
dont get influenced with apple phone steal money prank
use la
buy shopee rm10 only
need to take out then can pay wave
Rusty Nail
post Dec 12 2025, 04:00 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 12 2025, 02:23 PM)

you don't need to initiate anything when tapping debit/credit card with those credit card machines with value less than RM250
JohnL77
post Dec 12 2025, 04:01 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Dec 12 2025, 03:56 PM)
use la
buy shopee rm10 only
need to take out then can pay wave
The RFID blocking card that I bought only RM1 or 2 per piece. Anyway like I said nowadays it's pretty normal for wallets to have RFID blocking feature.

0.0156sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:45 PM