Retiring at 60 – a pipe dream for many now?, Would our generation have a retirement?
killdavid
Dec 10 2025, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(iGamer @ Dec 10 2025, 04:23 PM) Only noob follow the loan tenure, settled earlier save huge interest. For those pro investor who make more profit than housing loan interest saving, then the loan is never an issue. Last time i share my view to take full flexi home loan. The interest slightly higher than a static loan but i can dump money in and take out anytime, no movement restriction as long as no overdraft. I put in all my rainy day savings into it, including my save car down payment as i was still surveying. My kolik laugh at me, saying one can earn more with the liquid fund from the stock market. But i am glad i stuck to my plan. House was basically paid off 10 yr into 20 yr loan because all my safety net money offset the interest charged. I just let it sit there untill i have accumulated a bigger safety fund and settled it.
icemanfx
Dec 10 2025, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Dec 10 2025, 05:07 PM) A reality many don't realise.
KenM
Dec 10 2025, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 10 2025, 02:26 PM) House loan 30 years, how to retire earlier? just pay more every month or cut the loan period by half..the third and quite a painful option.. sell n move to a smaller house
saiga
Dec 10 2025, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 10 2025, 03:26 PM) House loan 30 years, how to retire earlier? Easy if don't keep taking 9 year car loan every decade lol.
soul78
Dec 10 2025, 08:15 PM
kalao pipe dream... biar isapping pipe jer la..  inb4 v Thats where they got the term 'Data Pipeline' This post has been edited by soul78: Dec 10 2025, 08:16 PM
Roadwarrior1337
Dec 10 2025, 08:19 PM
Most people cannot retire because of 1) children Charsiew need to pay education or lavish wedding or completely useless have to tanggung 2) extravagant living
Simple
This post has been edited by Roadwarrior1337: Dec 10 2025, 08:19 PM
blanket84
Dec 10 2025, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(KenM @ Dec 10 2025, 06:49 PM) just pay more every month or cut the loan period by half..the third and quite a painful option.. sell n move to a smaller house My work is almost stress free. All I need to do is read, analyse & execute, which is something I enjoy. I’m working from home so I have no stress of traffic jam. So, I am pretty happy to work until 60 years old. No need to take any painful options  The downside is only that I only be reaching /ktards minimum salary few years before I retire
kesvani
Dec 10 2025, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(iGamer @ Dec 10 2025, 04:26 PM) YouTube video claimed in PRC 35yo already no company wants…  My company they seem to retain those over thirty. Heck all my kolik and boss is 30++ near 40 plus minis same as me. Some even 50++. Even my boss call me back even though i near 40.
blanket84
Dec 10 2025, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(kesvani @ Dec 10 2025, 09:49 PM) My company they seem to retain those over thirty. Heck all my kolik and boss is 30++ near 40 plus minis same as me. Some even 50++. Even my boss call me back even though i near 40. Experience vs tokok gen. Some prefer experienced personnel, some prefer tokok youth.
poooky
Dec 10 2025, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Dec 10 2025, 04:17 PM) kek youngsters still thinking they have a choice in the matter. You will not be young forever. One day you will wake up, some one calls u unker. and a random ktard will kecam old unker slowing down the world from turning. It isn't you wanting to work after 60. It is whether anybody still wants you after 50. Not even 50. These days after 35 also difficult. Once hit 40, gg unless in GLC civil service.
TiramisuCoffee
Dec 10 2025, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 10 2025, 09:47 PM) My work is almost stress free. All I need to do is read, analyse & execute, which is something I enjoy. I’m working from home so I have no stress of traffic jam. So, I am pretty happy to work until 60 years old. No need to take any painful options  The downside is only that I only be reaching /ktards minimum salary few years before I retire  Downside ? Rm20k? That’s top 1% earner!
TiramisuCoffee
Dec 10 2025, 09:58 PM
65 yo retire …belum approved? Many countries dah extend.
blanket84
Dec 10 2025, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ Dec 10 2025, 09:55 PM) Downside ? Rm20k? That’s top 1% earner!  You misunderstood me. I’m not earning 20k now. Downside la. Take less stress job, celery also cannot be like /ktards earning 20k before 30 years old.
TiramisuCoffee
Dec 10 2025, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 10 2025, 10:04 PM) You misunderstood me. I’m not earning 20k now. Downside la. Take less stress job, celery also cannot be like /ktards earning 20k before 30 years old. Ktards semua v keng! 💪
renodiy
Dec 10 2025, 10:11 PM

QUOTE(killdavid @ Dec 10 2025, 06:40 PM) Last time i share my view to take full flexi home loan. The interest slightly higher than a static loan but i can dump money in and take out anytime, no movement restriction as long as no overdraft. I put in all my rainy day savings into it, including my save car down payment as i was still surveying. My kolik laugh at me, saying one can earn more with the liquid fund from the stock market. But i am glad i stuck to my plan. House was basically paid off 10 yr into 20 yr loan because all my safety net money offset the interest charged. I just let it sit there untill i have accumulated a bigger safety fund and settled it. wrong put in epf you earn much more
Ayambetul
Dec 10 2025, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 10 2025, 03:26 PM) House loan 30 years, how to retire earlier? Epf kan ade
blanket84
Dec 10 2025, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(Ayambetul @ Dec 10 2025, 10:26 PM) Epf kan ade  EPF 6% vs interest 3.85%?
Skylinestar
Dec 10 2025, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 10 2025, 03:27 PM) According to epf data, most private sectors employees need to work until they are too weak to work. you are telling me that I won't be fired at 60yo? more than 60yo still can find job? who wants to hire me (I only have spm)?
killdavid
Dec 10 2025, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(renodiy @ Dec 10 2025, 10:11 PM) wrong put in epf you earn much more Clearly you do not understand the whole concept. Would you ALL in your entire net worth into EPF rather than your home loan? Have you observe current BLR + bank interest? Epf beat the blr+bank interest ? You can't withdraw as you like from epf for personal needs.
Starbucki
Dec 10 2025, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 10 2025, 10:04 PM) You misunderstood me. I’m not earning 20k now. Downside la. Take less stress job, celery also cannot be like /ktards earning 20k before 30 years old. How old u r??