Spam Calls- Any Danger With Access Of Bank Details

arkasi
post Dec 9 2025, 08:03 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Dec 9 2025, 03:13 PM)
Ok thanks for the information. Hopefully the authorities will nab the head or mastermind of these scammers and put a stop to all this nuisance.
U can report their numbers but realistically don't expect the authorities to do much. At most, they just arrest a few low level goons for show but never the mastermind.

If the authorities really.wanted to put a.stop to this, they can easily start with arresting those owners of the numbers used & don't care whether they are involved or.just mules. Charge them in court so that people will think twice before renting out their ic to register new lines.

By right, the proposed 2 numbers per telco for locals should actually be max 2 only & anymore numbers needed must heavily scrutinised with documents needed & can only apply at large telco sc. Seriously, why would normal person need more than 2 for personal use?

Unfortunately this is a worldwide problem & if u go to scam reddit plenty of people from USA, UK report similar scams.

Only thing we can do on our end is to keep.up.to date with their mo & be wary in nature.
arkasi
post Dec 9 2025, 08:21 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(C_ST @ Dec 9 2025, 03:22 PM)
But last time, there are news that scammer call, victim answer phone and chat a while, then say scammer behind the line can overide phone to access SMS OTP.
Is this still applicable nowadays? I know banking apps use app token, but certain website/account still use SMS /whatsapp OTP.
I.am.not a expert & while it.may be plausible as honestly. Anything manmade can be crack open but this is mission impossible type of skills & resources needed.

I doubt scammers are going to waste that much time, effort & money to hack into any random bank account hoping to score big. They would need your bank login credentials, email as well unless your phone is compromised with malware. Otp alone is useless if they can't access your bank accounts.

Not saying it can't happen but unless u are Warren buffets, the scammer isn't simply going to spend that resources on a random person. They are cheaper ways to scam a nobody.

One thing we should do is to.keep a low profile & don't act like those baru kaya types want to show off especially on social.media.

Got one sohai ktard years back record his father cimb account want to show off on lowyat pretend the money is his. Kena kantoi by mother screaming at him in video asking what is he up to. Seriously, no one gives a damn about your wealth status.

Those who do give a damn are typically con artists & so called friends trying to.mooch of you.

0.0140sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:50 PM