Proton Saga MC3 - Premium, Asking for advice

TSSotsotzaii
post Yesterday, 02:55 PM, updated 15h ago

2,539 posts

Hello, I plan to get the saga as my first car ownership. In the past until current, I've only been driving secondhand cars that me / my dad bought, for example a 06' volvo S60, 06' Mitsubishi Outlander VRX, Toyota Avanza, all of the cars that I've driven isn't new, and it's at least more than 15-20 years for some.

Recently, I thought of getting a new car, mainly because my mitsubishi fuel consumption is really bad, just for an example, it's a 2.4cc car, if I pump let's say RM 20 today, just by going to a few places in total of 30-40 KM, the fuel light will have already light up, either that or the fuel gauge will already reach empty, that's how abnormal it is. Anyway, the main point here is to talk about the new Proton Saga, I've read a lot of reviews and seen all the videos that is available, it seems really value for money and the best of car if not one of the best to get under RM 50K.

Perhaps it'll be easier for you guys to provide me with your opinion and advice on whether I should get this car based on my requirements.

- Must be fuel-saving
- I mainly drive around town, my daily route is about a total of 20-30 KM, sometimes more, mainly going from Place A to B as fix, then running some errands.
- I would love to drive the car for outstation occasionally, from JB to Melaka, or KL, please advice if this saga is suitable in terms of comfort / NVH / power, of course not comparing with other segments, just in general.
tvcat
post Yesterday, 03:08 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,899 posts

Fuel saving - Can only tell after people running it on the road for at least 6 months.

As for other things, go and test drive, it is free. Take your time, no rush, and compare to other similar priced car.
Bassraptor
post Yesterday, 03:13 PM

386 posts

Saga would be a safer car, Bezza more economical… one Grab driver, she told me… Saga tends to heat up a bit in traffic (perhaps new version not so much), Bezza gearbox wears out faster. But go test drive for yourself…. 30k bookings for new Saga already and Bezza is in top 3 for sales volume.
cakoilembutgebu
post Yesterday, 03:16 PM

150 posts

Saga MC3 looks good on paper. If u decided to get, just remember to immediately change the tyres to Michelin XM2+
TSSotsotzaii
post Yesterday, 03:36 PM

2,539 posts

Thanks for all the advice, will be going for a test drive soon. Based on current data, anyone can comment whether it's suitable for occasional long drive on the highway ?
FrogBlob
post Yesterday, 03:41 PM

460 posts

wait for actual owners review dulu. and have to wait for the owners to get over their honeymoon period also, so thats gonna be quite a while.

cuz when it comes to proton, fuel consumption is a toss-up.

but fuel-saving is relative. maybe 10km/l is good when you come from a 6km/l car, but it's still bad to everything else.

on paper the mc3 is good but everything is good on paper. and most current online videos are sponsored journalists, of course they're gonna say it's good, they're not the owners.

if you don't need a boot myvi fits in the budget as well. confirm fuel saving. but for me, i need a big boot so hatchbacks are not my first choice.

bezza is an elongated axia, it drives like if you take a small piece of dough and stretch it to be bigger and expect it to be as firm. it doesn't. it drives good in-city, if you highway a lot, it will be tiring. if you drive in-city exclusively, bezza is great. huge utility points. it gets the job done well enough, but wont wow you with anything other than fuel consumption and boot size. the rear seats arent great but you're the driver anyways lol.

outside of p1 and p2, really not much option for new cars under 50k.

used cars on the other hand, a lot of choices but will require some knowledge on cars and quite a bit of luck. best if you know the car and the owner directly.

i think a lot of people will recommend you to wait for the actual reviews from owners before pulling the trigger, and that's my recommendation as well. while you're waiting, word on the grapevine is that bezza will be having facelift as well, but likely sometime in 2026. let's see if the facelift will require monthly payments or not lmao.
GamersFamilia
post Yesterday, 05:05 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,782 posts

tvcat
post Yesterday, 05:21 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,899 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Dec 4 2025, 03:36 PM)
Thanks for all the advice, will be going for a test drive soon. Based on current data, anyone can comment whether it's suitable for occasional long drive on the highway ?
Should have no issue, people have been driving a car that is a class below new Saga for long distant.

However, it may not be as good as your current and previous car for long distant travelling, mainly in the aspect of comfortability and stability.
littlefire
post Yesterday, 05:52 PM

2,716 posts

Saga - A segment which is a city car
If want fuel savings this is not the priority (proton cars never heard fuel savings very good when compare to like Perodua) unless your willing to upgrade to EV like Emas5
Long distance driving? With your previous car ownership any of the older car also more better except for the Avanza. If long distance, usually people will recommend at least Segment C above rides.
ktek
post Yesterday, 06:53 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Dec 4 2025, 03:41 PM)
wait for actual owners review dulu. and have to wait for the owners to get over their honeymoon period also, so thats gonna be quite a while.

but fuel-saving is relative. maybe 10km/l is good when you come from a 6km/l car, but it's still bad to everything else.

on paper the mc3 is good but everything is good on paper. and most current online videos are sponsored journalists, of course they're gonna say it's good, they're not the owners.

if you don't need a boot myvi fits in the budget as well. confirm fuel saving. but for me, i need a big boot so hatchbacks are not my first choice.

bezza is an elongated axia, it drives like if you take a small piece of dough and stretch it to be bigger and expect it to be as firm. it doesn't. it drives good in-city, if you highway a lot, it will be tiring. if you drive in-city exclusively, bezza is great. huge utility points. it gets the job done well enough, but wont wow you with anything other than fuel consumption and boot size. the rear seats arent great but you're the driver anyways lol.

used cars on the other hand, a lot of choices but will require some knowledge on cars and quite a bit of luck. best if you know the car and the owner directly.

i think a lot of people will recommend you to wait for the actual reviews from owners before pulling the trigger, and that's my recommendation as well. while you're waiting, word on the grapevine is that bezza will be having facelift as well, but likely sometime in 2026. let's see if the facelift will require monthly payments or not lmao.
survey old altis
danielmckey
post Yesterday, 06:59 PM

1,052 posts

Fuel already cheap, what is the concern about fuel consumption, right?

Simple P1 power > P2 power. You just need to test a car going up hill. You will know that car is useless if slow up the hill. Learn from atuk Khong. Why everytime he test Genting. LoL.

This post has been edited by danielmckey: Yesterday, 07:02 PM
ktek
post Yesterday, 08:10 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(danielmckey @ Dec 4 2025, 06:59 PM)

Simple P1 power > P2 power. You just need to test a car going up hill. You will know that car is useless if slow up the hill. Learn from atuk Khong. Why everytime he test Genting. LoL.
his vid semua useless one lah.
amscouzach57
post Yesterday, 08:48 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Dec 4 2025, 03:41 PM)

Bezza & myvi facelifts would not be coming in 2026. They are expected to be launched in 2027.

What's left from Perodua for this year is Perodua Traz. The twin of Toyota Yaris Cross.

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Yesterday, 10:10 PM
FrogBlob
post Yesterday, 09:16 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Dec 4 2025, 08:48 PM)
Bezza & myvi facelifts would not be coming in 2026. There are expected to be launched in 2027.

What's left from Perodua for this year is Perodua Traz. The twin of Toyota Yaris Cross.
really ke. i dont follow too much of car releases now. kinda dissapointing. and i thought it was called the Nexis.

tbh i have little hope for p2 now ever since their qve. but should wait and see if this traz will fare better.
FrogBlob
post Yesterday, 09:27 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 4 2025, 05:52 PM)
Saga - A segment which is a city car
Long distance driving? With your previous car ownership any of the older car also more better except for the Avanza. If long distance, usually people will recommend at least Segment C above rides.
yes, very much agreed. it will drive well, for an A segment car. comfort wise ts will miss the older cars.

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 4 2025, 06:53 PM)
survey old altis
can also look at civic fb (facelift) but all are >10 cars if within 50k budget. lately i looking at mazda 6 2.0L. 10 year old d segment looking not bad also, but have to prepare wallet for big spend just in case. sad.gif

QUOTE(danielmckey @ Dec 4 2025, 06:59 PM)

p1 > p2 when its not using punch cvt. i had better experience with dcvt especially during downhill. punch keeps pulling the rpm 3k when it detects the car is descending. the sound always sound like its going to break itself. would prefer the saga in 4at but only for the low and mid spec so sad.

amscouzach57
post Yesterday, 10:13 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Dec 4 2025, 09:16 PM)
really ke. i dont follow too much of car releases now. kinda dissapointing. and i thought it was called the Nexis.

tbh i have little hope for p2 now ever since their qve. but should wait and see if this traz will fare better.
Yeah. They decided on Traz instead of Nexis.

It might be powered by the 1.5L NA engine & DCVT combo.

Just think of it as a Myvi sized SUV.
danielmckey
post Yesterday, 11:24 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 4 2025, 08:10 PM)
his vid semua useless one lah.
Common sense, if vid useless still got plenty of people watch his video including you watch it. LoL.
danielmckey
post Yesterday, 11:26 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Dec 4 2025, 09:27 PM)
yes, very much agreed. it will drive well, for an A segment car. comfort wise ts will miss the older cars.
can also look at civic fb (facelift) but all are >10 cars if within 50k budget. lately i looking at mazda 6 2.0L. 10 year old d segment looking not bad also, but have to prepare wallet for big spend just in case. sad.gif
p1 > p2 when its not using punch cvt. i had better experience with dcvt especially during downhill. punch keeps pulling the rpm 3k when it detects the car is descending. the sound always sound like its going to break itself. would prefer the saga in 4at but only for the low and mid spec so sad.
Going downhill not for you to speed. Cvt is correct. Actually I saw many car going downhill speeding. Not sure the reason.

0.0137sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:44 AM